BBB Accredited Business since

Appliance Depot, Inc

Phone: (651) 454-5995 8980 Jefferson Trl, Inver Grove Heights, MN 55077 http://www.appliancedepot.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Appliance Depot offers refrigerators, stoves, washers and dryers, furnaces, central air conditioners, water softeners and other products. We also provide new and used appliance parts through our online catalog.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Appliance Depot, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Appliance Depot, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Appliance Depot, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 21, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1955 Business started locally: 01/01/1955 Business incorporated 10/03/2000 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ron Zeien, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ron Zeien, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Appliances - Used Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Appliances - Small - Dealers Appliances - Small - Supplies & Parts Appliances - Installation Appliances - Small - Service & Repair

Refund and Exchange Policy
Parts: Return Policy for All Parts Returns
ADI retains the exclusive and sole right as to whether an item may be returned, exchanged or order cancelled. ADI thus encourages customers to use caution when placing an order, as once placed the order can not be cancelled, nor the item returned or exchanged unless ADI expressly consents.

In order to obtain a refund or exchange, prior approval must be given a return authorization number by ADI. Please notify ADI by email at buy@appliancedepot.com or telephone @ 651-454-5995 (8:30AM-4:00 PM, CST, Monday through Friday).

Generally, ADI will consider returns within thirty (30) days of purchase. Refunds are for the cost of product only; shipping and handling charges are not refundable.
All items must be packed in the original bags and boxes.
Sticker labels must be in their proper locations.
Please call 651.454.5995 or email buy@appliancedepot.com to receive a RETURN AUTHORIZATION NUMBER (RAN#) before returning any items.
Our Returns Department must receive your return within 14 days after you received your RAN Number.
RAN# must be visible on the OUTSIDE of the package. If RAN# is not visible on the outside of the package, Appliance Depot Inc. Shipping Department will refuse the package, and it will be returned to sender at the expense of the sender. *** Refusals must show same day as attempted delivery. Refunds for refusals will not be given until customer contacts ADI through email verifying refusal. There is a 30% restocking fee for any package refusal.***

NEW / USED ITEM RETURNS
We will take back any new or used electrical/mechanical part over $25 (listed price). New Electric or Mechanical parts are subject to manufacturer warranty; in this case, customer needs to call ADI for details on exchange. No refunds. Non-mechanical parts are non-returnable. Please contact us before sending your purchase so that we may issue you a RETURN AUTHORIZATION NUMBER (RAN#).You must call Monday through Friday, between 8:30am and 4:00pm CST within the warranty. If you have misdiagnosed your problem, that part will not be considered for a RAN # or refund. New/uninstalled item purchases can be sent back to us at purchaser's expense for a refund minus the initial shipping charge on the purchase. All new returns are subject to a 30% Restocking Fee. Parts must be received to ADI within 7 business days of receiving the RAN#.

DEFECTIVE RETURNS ON MECHANICAL PARTS ONLY
All used parts are pulled from working units. Buyer is protected against DOA and all items carry a 30 day warranty. Buyer has 30 days from date of delivery to report DOA/Defective claims. If you are having trouble with your purchase, please contact us as soon as possible and we will issue you a RETURN AUTHORIZATION NUMBER (RAN#) and work with you to resolve the issue. Restocking Fees do not apply to DOA/Warranty Returns. Parts returned to ADI will be tested and if defective will be exchanged with an identical part. No refunds. If part is found working it will be sent back to the customer at the customers expense.

Returns Policies may vary for other Appliance Depot Inc. Stores. Details can be found by clicking the Returns Policy link at the bottom of each Appliance Depot Inc. Store's page.
Service Area
Appliance Depot, Inc provides their services in MINNESOTA.Appliance Depot, Inc provides their services in AFTON, ANDOVER, ANOKA, APPLE VALLEY, ARDEN HILLS, BAYPORT, BLAINE, BLOOMINGTON, BROOKLYN CENTER, BROOKLYN CTR, BROOKLYN PARK, BURNSVILLE, CARVER, CEDAR, CEDAR E BETHL, CEDAR EAST BETHEL, CENTERVILLE, CHAMPLIN, CHANHASSEN, CHASKA, CIRCLE PINES, COLUMBIA HEIGHTS, COLUMBIA HTS, COLUMBUS, COON RAPIDS, CORCORAN, COTTAGE GROVE, CRYSTAL, DAYTON, DELANO, DELLWOOD, EAGAN, EAST BETHEL, EDEN PRAIRIE, EDINA, ELKO, ELKO NEW MARKET, ELKO NEW MRKT, EXCELSIOR, FALCON HEIGHTS, FALCON HGTS, FARMINGTON, FOREST LAKE, FRIDLEY, GOLDEN VALLEY, GREENWOOD, HAM LAKE, HAMEL, HAMPTON, HASTINGS, HEIDELBERG, HILLTOP, HOPKINS, HUGO, INDEPENDENCE, INVER GROVE, INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, JORDAN, LAKE ELMO, LAKE ST CROIX BEACH, LAKELAND, LAKELAND SHORES, LAKELAND SHRS, LAKEVILLE, LANDFALL VILLAGE, LANDFALL VLG, LAUDERDALE, LINO LAKES, LITTLE CANADA, LONG LAKE, LONSDALE, LORETTO, MAHTOMEDI, MAPLE GROVE, MAPLE PLAIN, MAPLEWOOD, MEDICINE LAKE, MEDINA, MENDOTA HEIGHTS, MENDOTA HTS, MINETONKA MLS, MINNEAPOLIS, MINNETNKA MLS, MINNETONKA, MINNETONKA MILLS, MINNETRISTA, MOUND, MOUNDS VIEW, MOUNDSVIEW, N SAINT PAUL, NEW BRIGHTON, NEW HOPE, NEW MARKET, NEW PRAGUE, NEW TRIER, NO OAKS, NORTH OAKS, NORTH SAINT PAUL, NORTH ST PAUL, NORTHFIELD, NOWTHEN, OAK GROVE, OAK PARK HEIGHTS, OAK PARK HGTS, OAK PARK HTS, OAKDALE, ORONO, OSSEO, PINE SPRINGS, PLYMOUTH, PRIOR LAKE, RAMSEY, RICHFIELD, ROBBINSDALE, ROCKFORD, ROSEMOUNT, ROSEVILLE, SAINT ANTHONY, SAINT LOUIS PARK, SAINT PAUL, SAINT PAUL PARK, SAVAGE, SHAKOPEE, SHOREVIEW, SOUTH SAINT PAUL, SOUTH ST PAUL, SPRING LAKE PARK, SPRING LK PK, ST CROIX BCH, ST CROIX BEACH, ST LOUIS PARK, ST MARYS POINT, ST MARYS PT, ST PAUL PARK, STILLWATER, SUNFISH LAKE, VADNAIS HEIGHTS, VADNAIS HTS, VERMILLION, VESELI, VICTORIA, W LAKELAND, W SAINT PAUL, W ST PAUL, WAYZATA, WEST LAKELAND, WEST SAINT PAUL, WEST ST PAUL, WHITE BEAR LAKE, WHITE BEAR LK, WHITE BEAR TOWNSHIP, WHITE BEAR TP, WILLERNIE & WOODBURY, MN.
Alternate Business Names
Appliance Depot
Products & Services

According to information provided by the business, Appliance Depot, Inc.,offers sales & service, for major appliance brands such as, Maytag, GE, Frigidaire, Whirlpool, Kenmore, LG etc. They also carry thousands of new parts and used parts at half the price of new.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Appliance Depot, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8980 Jefferson Trl

    Inver Grove Heights, MN 55077 (651) 454-5995

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I searched for a suitable replacement part on their website, and purchased one of the items presented as compatible with the range model number provided. When I received the part, it was the incorrect part and not compatible with the range. ADI states that the error is not related to their processing and indicates that if I wish to return the item, they will do so but will charge a 30% restocking fee. They're happy to sell me a new part if I were willing to cooperate with this extortion. I choose not to cooperate and consider the quality of service and product representation to be appalling. This is not the way I would expect a better business A+ agency to respond and I would like to formally request that this rating be subjected to another review.

Desired Settlement: I want to return the device for a full and unconditional refund of all charges to my account. If it were not for the store site confirmation I would not have ordered this part. I would not buy another product from this source if they held the last one on the planet.

Business Response: After reviewing the customers order it appears they ordered the incorrect part number for their model. Our website states in multiple places including the checkout process, that the customer is responsible for contacting the manufacturer to receive the correct product numbers for their appliance. Many model appliances use different variations of products that use different part numbers but share the same model number. This is why the customer would need to contact the manufacturer to be sure they are ordering the correct product. Per the return policy on our website, all electrical products have a 30 day exchange warranty only for the same product however we are willing to waive that and allow the customer to send the product back per the 30% restocking fee and no refunds on shipping (which is also in the check out process and you cannot proceed to check out unless you have checked a box that stated you have read, understand and accept the return policy). We are still willing to accept a return for a partial refund, minus the 30% restocking fee and no refunds on shipping.

Consumer Response:

 I am rejecting this response because:

I searched using the part number provided in three manufacturer reference on the vendor site and purchased one of the items returned from their inventory.  If it is not a compatible part, it should not have been returned as an option. Because it was, I am being penalized for a deficiency in their site. 

I  don't really care about the amount or the difference in price. It's more about the presumed advantage and opportunistic predation of the flaw that bothers me.

 

The business's policy and rigid fixation on the routine seem to bear witness to their intentions.

 

 

Business Response: Our policy is posted in many places on our website as well as the checkout process. As I stated before, you cannot order a product without checking the box that states that you have read, understand and accept the return policy. In the return policy, it clearly states you will need to verify your part numbers with the manufacturer before placing your order. We have been selling these products for just over 60 years and are always working at perfecting our policy as well as our inventory. We cannot change how the manufactures list their product numbers and model numbers and because they have multiple variations for the same parts, it is crucial the consumer checks their product numbers with the manufacturer directly. Again, normally we do not accept returns for electrical products. They are exchanged based only for the same product number. We understand that sometimes finding these products can be confusing to the consumer when there are many variations of the same part. This is why we ask customers to check with the manufacturer to receive the correct product numbers and that is why we are willing to accept a return per our return policy with a 30% restocking fee and no refunds on shipping for your order.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Appliance Depot, Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart