This business is not BBB accredited.

Appliance City

Phone: (701) 845-1634 Fax: (701) 845-3047 View Additional Phone Numbers 1118 W Main St, Valley City, ND 58072


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Appliance City include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Appliance City
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 23, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1990 Business started locally: 01/01/1990
Business Management
Daryl Stensland, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Daryl Stensland, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Dealers Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1118 W Main St

    Valley City, ND 58072 (701) 845-1634 (800) 378-1634

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought full set of kitchen appliances 3 years ago. Problems with all but fridge. Repeated requests for service bring little action. Bought stove, oven, micowave, dishwasher, and fridge about 3 years ago. All LG--matched set. Dishwasher wouldn't wash. Appliance City did not believe us. Took six months of complaining before they finally admitted there was a problem and fixed the dishwasher. Range has broken, was fixed. Oven has broken, took them over three months to fix. Microwave has broken 3 times. The first time, we took it in. They fixed it, but scratched it in the process. Second time they fixed at our house. This time I reported the problem a month ago and have checked up on it in person every week. ******* tells me ***** isn't there, not sure if part has been ordered, will call him and call me. Never calls. Friday I stopped in again and found out that the part hadn't even been ordered yet. The service and customer service are the worst I have EVER received. I feel as if I have been swindled--sold inferior products with an extended service contract that means nothing.

Desired Settlement: I feel that if the company cannot provide timely service and stand behind their product and extended service agreement, then I deserve a complete refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/11/07) */ To whom it may concern: Case # ******** *********** *********** called us to fix her microwave. She told us what was wrong with it. Our serviceman knew what part she would need to fix it. So we ordered it . It had to come straight from the factory since the part was a warranty item. It was on backorder for quite a while. She inquired a couple of times and both I and one of our other employees had checked on it and they said it was still on backorder. I told her we would call her as soon as it was in. Well, she came in one afternoon to ask about it again. She got angrier and angrier as she spoke. I told her I would call the company and check again. She threatened me and said if she did not hear from me by 4:30, she would put us on face book and call the Better Business Bureau. I felt bullied by her. As she was flying off the handle, another customer came in the door. She said to him in a very loud voice, " If I were you, I would not shop here!" She stormed out the door. The customer made a comment about her and not having a good day. We have it all on our security system. I was able to take care of my customer and then call the part company to see when her part would be here. They told me it was still on backorder for 3-5 more days. I called her at 4:10. I was afraid to tell her that it was still on backorder, but I did. As soon as the part came in, we set up a time to go to her house to fix the microwave. Her microwave works fine now. Her husband was there and HE was very kind. Well, I found out she wrote some pretty nasty things on face book and also called you which she said she would only do I we did not call her by 4:30. ***copied and pasted from email. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 21, 2014/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I was not told the part was backordered until after my third visit. The first visit, **** left a note for the part to be ordered. The second and third visits, ******* (owner's wife) could not remember who I was, or what the problem was, and she couldn't find any record of whether or not the part had been ordered. I was very angry when I left, after the third visit. I told her I would be reporting the company to the BBB if I did not hear from them by 4:30 Friday. In my anger, I also turned to another customer, on the way out, and told the customer that I would think twice about buying anything from them, because my experience had been that they don't stand behind their products and their service is slow. The customer said he was only there to pick up a small part. I left the store. I did get a call from *******, at about 4:27 Friday. ******* told me the part had been ordered and it was on backorder. That information would have been most helpful if I had been given it on one of my previous visits. Still angry at the lack of service I had received, I went ahead and filed a report with the BBB. ***** (owner) called me a week or two later and told me he'd received a complaint from the BBB. He then told me that he had a video of me telling a customer in his store that their service was poor, and he said he wanted me to call the BBB and tell them the issue had been resolved because, he said, "You don't want that to go out." He repeated again that I didn't want the video to be out there. I perceived that as some sort of threat--blackmail??? In the meantime, my LG dishwasher broke. The repairman eventually came out and fixed the microwave. I called and scheduled an appointment for the dishwasher. The day before the dishwasher was to be fixed, ***** called and said they would not be coming, and that Appliance City would not be handling the repairs. He did not tell me why. He referred me directly to LG for all future services. Have my issues been resolved? Appliance City fixed the microwave, again (for the same problem that has presented and been repaired several times in the short time we have owned it). That issue, then, has been resolved--for now. Appliance City did not fix the dishwasher; they turned responsibility over to someone else. I now seriously wonder if Appliance City will fix the microwave the next time we have the same problem, or if Appliance City will fix any other issues we have with the other appliances. The refusal of Appliance City to fix my dishwasher speaks loudly to me as a customer. That issue has not been resolved. The issue of customer service has not been resolved. I remain dissatisfied with the quality of the product sold to me by Appliance City. I remain dissatisfied with their alleged commitment to stand behind their product. I remain dissatisfied with the level of customer service I received. I would not buy another product from Appliance City, nor would I recommend this store to others. When we first bought the appliance from Appliance City, part of the "sales pitch" was that we would have in-town, timely support from the Appliance City service department, whereas if we bought appliances from a big box dealer such as Home Depot or Sears, we would have longer wait times and potentially have to pay more for service. I guess we fell for that sales pitch, hook, line, and sinker. I'm so sorry that we did. Additionally, I gave my support to a local company--even though the prices were higher than big box prices--because I felt it was the right thing to do. Unfortunately, the situation with Appliance City will cause me to think twice--and ask many more questions of "the locals"--before spending a significant amount of money at a local business. I am also amazed at how many locals have empathized with my woes at Appliance City by telling me of similar experiences. In the future, because of my experience with Appliance City, I will do much more homework rather than trust a local business simply because it is local, though my goal is still to buy locally if I receive enough recommendations from others that the business will stand behind its products and customer service.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Appliance City
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)