BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Prange's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Prange's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Prange's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 30, 2010 Business started: 08/26/1999 Business started locally: 08/26/1999 Business incorporated 08/26/1999 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Joan Prange, Co Owner Larry Prange, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Joan Prange, Co Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heat Pumps Heating Contractors Geothermal Heating & Cooling Air Quality Service Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment

Products & Services

According to the information provided by Prange's Heating and Air Conditioning, this company offers products, installation and repair for heating, ventilation and air conditioning. Serving residential and commercial customers. These include furnaces, boilers, air conditioning, air handlers, air quality control, garage heaters, heat pumps and controls.

Industry Tips
Tips to Consumers for the HVAC Industry

Additional Locations

  • 302 Main St

    Madison Lake, MN 56063

  • Po Box 488

    Madison Lake, MN 56063 (507) 243-4190 (866) 385-5193

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are charging to much for the work performed.and didn't do any of the work originally requested. I hired prange's to install 2 garage heaters that I purchased from menards.the first one needed to finish the gas line I already started . And to hook up the exoust. The second one needed to be hung and gas line ran and the exoust to be hooked up.they said it would cost between $400.00 to $600.00 . When they came to start the job they said they couldn't do anything until I got a gas regulator for the main supply line from the gas company. They were only here for 30 minutes that day. When the gas company came to install the new regulator . Pranges was here also to put another regulator on my house furnace so it would work with the gas change pressure. They ran about 16 ft of copper line from the main to the house furnace and hooked up a new regulator to the house furnace. They were here for an hour . And said I would have to make an appointment for the original work to be done for the garage furnaces witch I ended up installing myself. When Prange's called I told them that so they said they would bill me out for the work performed. When I revived the bill it was for $560.00 . Witch I believe is to much money for the work performed. I contacted them and asked how could that be . They said that's what they came up with. I asked them if they would have done the original work to be performed also that it would have been twice as much. They said no it would still been the same amount.

Desired Settlement: I wouldn't have a problem paying a fair price for the work performed

Business Response:

The price we quoted was a ball park figure over the phone. We billed him time and material rate. After talking with the customer and going over the material cost he understood and paid the agreed amount.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Prange's Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)