BBB Accredited Business since

Laney's, Inc.

Phone: (701) 237-0543 Fax: (701) 237-9767 View Additional Phone Numbers 55 27th St S, Fargo, ND 58103 http://www.laneysinc.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Laney's Inc. is a locally owned plumbing, heating, cooling, electrical, indoor air quality, and sewer maintenance company that has been providing quality home and business comfort services to the Red River Valley area for more than 50 years.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Laney's, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Laney's, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Laney's, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 09, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1957 Business started locally: 01/01/1957 Business incorporated 12/27/2002 in ND
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

North Dakota Secretary of State
600 E Boulevard Ave Dept 108, State Capital, Bismarck ND 58505
http://www.state.nd.us
Phone Number: (701) 328-2900

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Kevin Wolf, President
Contact Information
Principal: Kevin Wolf, President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Electricians Heating Contractors Mechanical Contractors Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning Duct Cleaning Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment

Service Area
Laney's, Inc. provides their services in ABERCROMBIE, ABSARAKA, ALICE, ARGUSVILLE, CASSELTON, CHAFFEE, CHRISTINE, COLFAX, DURBIN, EMBDEN, FARGO, FINGAL, GARDNER, HARWOOD, HICKSON, HORACE, HUNTER, KINDRED, MAPLETON, NORTH RIVER, OXBOW, PAGE, REILES ACRES, RIVERSIDE, WEST FARGO, WHEATLAND & WILD RICE, ND.Laney's, Inc. provides their services in ADA, AUDUBON, BAKER, BARNESVILLE, DETROIT LAKES, DILWORTH, DOWNER, GEORGETOWN, GLYNDON, HAWLEY, HENDRUM, HITTERDAL, LAKE PARK, LOCKHART, MOORHEAD, ROLLAG, ROTHSAY, SABIN & ULEN, MN. Greater Fargo-Moorhead, West Fargo area
Products & Services

According to information provided by the business, Laney's Inc. offers plumbing, heating, cooling, electrical, and indoor air quality services for residential and commercial customers.

Industry Tips
Tips to Consumers for the HVAC Industry

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Laney's, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 55 27th St S

    Fargo, ND 58103 (701) 237-0543 (701) 369-4701

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called Laneys because basement sewer was backing up regularly. Laneys designed a plan to alleviate the problem. Sewer still backs up. Last spring-summer we called Laneys to alleviate the issues of our basement sewer backing up often. Laneys developed an extensive plan to correct our issues. Some of the contracted plan involved jack hammering our basement open and replacing sewer lines all the way into the street. Months after the extensive repair work was completed ($8400-9400) our sewer lines backed up again. Our sewer lines have backed up at least 4 times since the repairs (average repair bill is 300-$400 each time we need to clear the lines. Often we are told it must be something we are flushing or putting in our drains, which we are incredibly conscious of. After calling the departments of Laneys and even the owner of Laneys, the end result and final comment from Laneys was "We completed the work we stated on contract and Maybe you need a different vendor other than Laneys". Laneys has accused us of flushing "clorox wipes" down the drains, which may actually be true on one occasion. But the 2nd, 3rd and fourth time we backed up after that we realized Laneys was fabricating these details because we removed every single such product from our home (even the last Laneys employee we had at our home for repairs exclaimed he absolutely found nothing but toilet paper in our drains - we will omit his name at this point int time., and of course wanted to do everything from have crap fill our basement, not to mention the $300-400 to clear out the drains. Not until having Home Heating and other vendors camera our sewers did we learn of the real issues that are causing our drains to back up. So, now we have to jackhammer our basement floors open and do the work that Laneys neglected to do to provide a solution for us in 2015. We were shocked to learn that Laneys did not want to do anything at all to rectify the problem. Now if this job cost us $800 I would understand - This job totaled $8400 - 9000+ to complete and we are still backing up in the location the repairs were made for. Id be happy to clarify these details further for anyone. Rarely do I submit negative feedback, but this was a huge job that went wrong, without any service or help beyond the completion of the "work".

Desired Settlement: would be nice is they would back their work in any form or fashion. or pay for a real company to make the repairs they couldnt seem to manage.

Business Response:

Complaint Response:

By Kevin **** – President of Laney’s Inc.

In early March of 2015, we were contacted to take a look at the sewer of **** ***** at *** **** ****** ***** in Fargo.  Mr. ***** had just purchased this older home and was experiencing sewer issues.  After inspection of the line from the house to the city hookup in the street, it was discovered that Mr. *****’s sewer needed to be replaced.  Mr. ***** went back after the prior homeowner, Mr. *** ****** and pursued him to pay for these repairs.  In the end, Mr. ****** agreed to pay for 70% of the cost of this repair.  The contract amount for the job was for the amount of $8,250, of which Mr. ****** paid $5,575 and Mr. ***** was billed $2,475.

Week of 03/29/2015.  As per the contract, Laney’s replaced the line from just inside the home out to the city main sewer line.  Carpet was pulled back in lower level and concrete was removed to expose the 6” cast iron line.  A new sewer pipe was installed from the house to the excavated location on the boulevard tying into the existing line in the house to the city main sewer line in the boulevard.  A new cleanout was installed.  Concrete was replaced inside the home and carpet was reinstalled.  The boulevard was backfilled and sod was replaced.

During the process, Mr. ***** complained to Joel that he thought the process caused more dust than he expected. To satisfy Mr. *****, Laney’s hired a cleaning company to clean their basement.

Replacing that section of the sewer eliminated the sewer backup problems that were being caused by that section of Mr. *****’s sewer line.

08/07/2015 (4 months after job).  We received a call from Mr. ***** claiming that his sewer was once again backing up.  As we do in all cases, we stand behind the work that we do and if the cause of the backup was something that resulted from us not performing our work as stated or in an erroneous fashion, it would be rectified at no cost.  However, when we went to the call we learned that the ***** family had placed an abnormal amount of Clorox wipes into their sewer system, causing it to back up in their laundry room, which is inside of the house and not involving any of the piping that we had replaced.  Putting items such as these wipes into your sewer system will cause problem no matter the condition of the sewer line.

Technician’s Ticket Notes:  “Drain in laundry room was full of ‘flushable’ and Clorox wipes.  I had to auger drain four times and camera it multiple times.  Then I had to pull washing machine and backwater valve to access pipes.  I installed everything back together and also cleaned backwater valve, and showed **** and *** that they can’t let wipes etc. go down drain.”

This sewer backup occurred in an area of plumbing in their house that was in a different location than where we replaced their sewer and was caused by the actions of the homeowner in what they placed in their sewer, so they were charged $350 to open their drain.

01/30/2016 (10 months after job).  We received another call from Mr. ***** claiming that his sewer was once again backing up.  It was and after-hours call and the message he left with our answering service said he just spent $10,000 on a new sewer and he was very upset. They had also just had a fire and they were very stressed.  Technician found in-house blockage in cast iron and found a lot of scale.  He cleaned out the line and opened up the blockage.  He also informed Mr. ***** that the PVC was cracked on the house side of the backflow preventer.  The sewer line that Laney’s worked on that went from the house to the city main was total clean and clear and contained no issues.

Again, the sewer backup occurred in an area of plumbing in their house that was in a different location than where we replaced their sewer line.  They were charged $323.10 to open up the sewer line.

Working through the issue with Mr. *****.

Mr. ***** tracked me down on 01/30/2016 through LinkedIn on the internet.  I was in Minneapolis when I received the message I responded immediately.  The next week, I again contacted Mr. ***** so I could talk through the situation with him.

Mr. ***** was angry in that he claimed he paid $10,000 for this new sewer line and that it should have eliminated sewer problems forever.  Although the fact was that the prior owner paid for a majority of the initial job, I wanted to make sure Laney’s handled this properly for Mr. *****.  I calmly explained that when this situation arose in March of 2015, we addressed the known issue at hand and addressed the requested correction of that problem in the bid that we presented to Mr. ***** and Mr. ******.  We by no means did a complete analysis of the home’s plumbing further back into the home, because at that time, the sewer issue was from the house to the street.  It is not a practice of Laney’s to look for more work or ‘pile on’ in a situation like this.  We were confident in what we bid that it would correct the damaged portion of the sewer from the house to the street, but by no means gave Mr. ***** any indication that they would never experience a sewer problem anywhere else in their home again.  There is no way we could give that guarantee not knowing the exact condition of every single plumbing drain and sewer line in the home.  So simply stated, we presented a price to fix the portion of pipe that was in ill-repair at the time of their initial problems.

Throughout our discussions, Joel *******, our plumbing manager did misspeak to Mr. ***** in that he thought that the second blockage was also due to placing Clorox wipes down the drain.  After further internal investigation with our service technician, it was verified that Clorox wipes weren’t found on the second backup, it was just normal toilet tissue.  Mr. ***** told me he felt Joel lied to him about this.  I told him that I would address that accusation with my employee, but in the end, the cause of the sewer backup was not caused by anything Laney’s did.  Mr. ***** continued to feel that if we fixed the line from the house to the street that they should never ever have another sewer issue again.  That is just not realistic or practical thinking – especially in an old house.

After continuing to talk through this with Mr. *****, it was becoming clear that his main motive was to find blame for something that we just can’t control.  He told me directly that he would have been better off if we did suggest back at the time of the initial job that we replace all of the sewer in his home so that the prior own would be on the hook for the extra expense – not him.  I explained to him that is totally against our ethics.  I then told him quote; “I am sorry you feel the way you do about all of this.  It appears that we consistently fall short of your expectations.  Maybe we just aren’t the right company to meet your needs.  I don’t like saying that because it means we failed with you but maybe another company would serve you better in the end.”  I said this to Mr. ***** because I knew in my heart that we would never be able to satisfy him.

Another area which has made it very difficult to work through this issue with Mr. ***** has been the lack of accuracy in some of his statements.  A couple examples of this come directly from this complaint.  They are as follows…

Mr. ***** - Months after the extensive repair work was completed ($8400-9400) our sewer lines backed up again.”

Again, the job amount for the sewer repairs we made were $8,250.  As stated above, the next visit back for a sewer backup was 4 months later caused by them placing an extraordinary amount of Clorox wipes down the drain.

Mr. ***** – Our sewer lines have backed up at least 4 times since the repairs (average repair bill is 300-$400 each time we need to clear the lines.

As I explained earlier, Laney’s has been out to Mr. *****’s home twice, not four times since we completed the original job (invoices attached) and both times the sewer had backed up in locations in their house different than where we replaced their sewer line.  The amounts of the two invoices were $350.00 and $323.10.

Mr. ***** – We were shocked to learn that Laneys did not want to do anything at all to rectify the problem. Now if this job cost us $800 I would understand - This job totaled $8400 - 9000+ to complete and we are still backing up in the location the repairs were made for.”

Again, the job amount was $8,250, $2,475 paid by Mr. ***** and $5,775.00 paid by Mr. ******, the prior owner.  And no, Mr. ***** is not telling the truth in his statement that they are still backing up in the location the repairs were made for.  This is simply untrue.  Their sewer has never backed up in the section of pipe that Laney’s replaced during the job we were hired to do.  It has only backed up in other pipe locations in their home, which we did not work on.

Laney’s takes pride in the fact that we consider ourselves an ethical company with our goal always to not only satisfy our customer, but to exceed their expectations.  Once in a while we run into a situation that is very difficult and this is one of those situations.  In hindsight we probably should have proposed initially to camera the entire plumbing system in their home, not just the damaged pipe and provide them with a proposal to rectify all potential future plumbing problems.  However, something like that would not be reasonable or ethical and would have cost over double or more of what Mr. ****** and Mr. ***** paid for what was fixed.  And as far as Laney’s standing behind our work, well if at any time during this situation Mr. *****’s new sewer line that we installed caused this sewer to back up, we would have taken care of it at no cost to Mr. *****.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Laney's, Inc.
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart