This business is not BBB accredited.

Legacy Mechanical Services

Phone: (763) 314-0877 114 Thomas Cir Ste 106, Monticello, MN 55362


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Legacy Mechanical Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Legacy Mechanical Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 27, 2011 Business started: 01/19/2010 Business started locally: 01/19/2010 Business incorporated 01/19/2010 in MN
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Business Management
Dustin Craig, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Dustin Craig, Owner
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish Water Leak Detection Pipe Cutting & Threading Pipe Fittings Pipe Lining & Coating Pipe Thread Protector Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air Duct Systems Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Electric Heating Elements Furnaces - Industrial Heating Equipment Water & Sewer Line Protection Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Boilers - Repair & Cleaning Heating Contractors Pipe & Boiler Covering Contractors Pipe Hangers Pipe Line Contractors Pipe Pushing Plumbers Plumbers - Commercial Plumbing Plan Services Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Water Main Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
Legacy Mechanical Services LLC
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Legacy Mechanical Services, this company offers a wide range of residential and commercial services including plumbing, heating, cooling and air conditioning.

Industry Tips
Tips to Consumers for the HVAC Industry

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    114 Thomas Cir Ste 106

    Monticello, MN 55362 (763) 314-0877

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Legacy Mech Services has NOT refunded us $186.90 for two Delta Stainless Steel Tissue Holders returned to Legacy in June 2015. Background: We purchased 13 plumbing fixtures from Legacy Mech. Services (LMS) for remodeling at ********************* (UNIT # ***), Spring Park, MN 55384). However, weRETURNED two items and were told we would receive a refund check, and to date we have not. COMPLAINT: is that Legacy Mech Services has NOT refunded us $186.90 for the two (2) Delta Stainless Steel Tissue Holders (model # 41450 SS) that we returned to Legacy in late June 2015. Legacy Mech. Services Owner, Dustin *****, had told us he would send us a refund and he has NOT done so. Since July 2015 we have called the LMS office and Dustin ***** multiple times requesting the refund. Dustin ***** has not sent us a REFUND as promised and has not returned our recent telephone calls. Contact information for Legacy Mechanical Services are as follows Office ************, Dustin ***** ***********, ***********@legacymech.com, www.legacymech.com. PLEASE assist us in getting the REFUND which should be in the amount of $186.90. Thank you for your assistance, Dale & Deborah Jorgensen, Home ************ ********************* - UNIT # *** Spring Park, MN 55384

Desired Settlement: COMPLAINT: is that Legacy Mech Services has NOT refunded us $186.90 for the two (2) Delta Stainless Steel Tissue Holders (model # 41450 SS) that we returned to Legacy in late June 2015. Legacy Mech. Services Owner, Dustin *****, had told us he would send us a refund and he has NOT done so. Since July 2015 we have called the LMS office and Dustin ***** multiple times requesting the refund. Dustin ***** has not sent us a REFUND as promised and has not returned our recent telephone calls. Contact information for Legacy Mechanical Services are as follows Office ************, Dustin ***** ***********, dustin.****@legacymech.com, www.legacymech.com. PLEASE assist us in getting the REFUND which should be in the amount of $186.90. Thank you for your assistance, ************************* Home ************ **********************************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/10/09) */ Legacy Mechanical Services has resolved this issue and has mailed a full refund to our customer

3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Overcharging of material, failure to provide warranty, and improper installation on multiple levels as well as workmanship issues. Around September 1, 2014, I contracted Legacy Mechanical to provide the installation of all the plumbing and HVAC for the build of our home in Chaska, MN based on the plans I had provided them. We had an agreed price of $30,530. Through the first part of the project (rough-in),*************, the owner, had recommended that I put 3 zones in the home based on my home's size. We verbally agreed that it would cost an additional $2000, which I was in agreement. When it came time to pick out our plumbing fixtures, ****** had told us that we needed to meet with a sales person at Ferguson. (a retail/wholesale supplier of HVAC and Plumbing Fixtures). After our initial meeting with Ferguson I realized that the budget he provided me was far lower than what the fixtures actually cost. My wife was finding the same fixtures online for up to 60% cheaper. I called ****** and informed him that we would buy our own fixtures and complained to him that his budget for fixtures would not work. He told me not to worry because he would give us his discount, which would be comparable to buying the fixtures online. He also explained that he would not install or warranty the service, if any should be needed, on any product other than a product from Ferguson. There were however, a few fixtures that we did want to upgrade and were willing to pay the difference. During the project, Legacy Mechanical failed multiple inspections from the city and had to make many corrections in order to pass the state code, including the radon pipe from the basement that I ended having to repair myself because of Legacy's improper placement in the attic. They had failed the inspection 2 times. When Legacy didn't show up to fix the pipe, I went up on the roof and cut in the pipe from the attic while the inspector was present in order to pass the radon portion of the plumbing inspection. Legacy also attempted to install the flu and exhaust for the fireplace, which also failed inspection, creating a potential fire hazard. I bought new parts for the chimney exhaust (since they cut and ruined the originals) and made the repairs myself so it would be in compliancy with the state building code. On the final inspection, for my occupancy, Legacy failed another inspection in the Master bathroom because they did not install an exhaust vent in the proper location. They also failed because they installed a clean-air intake pipe too close to the furnace exhaust, which would have allowed carbon monoxide to flow into the home. We have lived in the home for 2 weeks now and there are multiple things that require a service call and/or repair, including but not limited to; *The main floor level will not heat over 70 degrees (the ducts are blowing out very little air)*There is damage to the marble sinks where the plumber used a razor to remove the poor caulking job.*Scuff marks on the kitchen ceiling where the HVAC hood was installed. (Needs paint repair) *Drywall repair where the Radon pipe was installed improperly *Exhaust pipe for the dryer was installed incorrectly, which caused improper fitment of the dryer. *The water softer was never turned on and does not appear to be working correctly.*The make-up air unit has ice and water dripping all over the basement floor. (The manufacturer advised me that the ductwork needed to have a moisture barrier and a damper at the wall.* Main Level bathroom toilet runs constantly.*The humidifier will not produce more than 30% humidity. I contacted the manufacturer. The manufacturer informed me that the unit was too small and not recommended for the size of my home. Thus, using more water than intended and incapable of reaching desired humidity levels. *3 floor vent covers will not fit correctly into the ductwork tin*Hard Wood Floor damage in front of the dishwasher from the plumber sliding the rough edges of the dishwasher in and out. *Cracked kick panel in the kitchen (custom cabinets) from improper install of vent cover.

Desired Settlement: I am willing to overlook a few of these items or even do some of the repairs myself if Legacy would simply complete their work, address their mistakes, and refund me the $2500 they overcharged me for fixtures. I was promised a 1 year workmanship warranty. Legacy has been paid nearly $41,000 and refuses to address any of their mandatory repairs that are needed to complete their work on our home. I have sent 4 texts, 2 emails, and left 3 voicemails.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/03/18) */ The fixture allowance on the original bid was $4,700.00. After visiting with ******** at the Ferguson Showroom 5 times the Homeowner selected $10,082.01 of plumbing fixtures after a $217.10 discount from Legacy the new fixture allowance was $9,865.00. Exceeding the allowance of the original bid by $5,165.00. The flu and exhaust for the fireplace was installed incorrectly by Legacy Mechanical Services. But this service was not part or our proposal or agreement with the homeowner. Per our proposal we agreed to just install the gas line to the fireplace. Legacy Mechanical Services was trying to help the homeowner as a good gesture to keep their project moving. Legacy Mechanical Services made an agreement with the homeowner to discount the final bill to pay for this mistake. Regarding the bathroom exhaust fan in the master bathroom and clean air intake. Legacy Mechanical Services proposal was to install 3 bathroom exhaust fans.At our Mechanical Rough-in inspection the Chaska mechanical inspector did sign off on the placement of the bathroom exhaust fans. Then upon final inspection the Chaska mechanical inspector required an additional fan be put in the master bathroom. Legacy Mechanical Services did not charge for this. The intake and exhaust pipe was a mistake made by Legacy Mechanical Services and was corrected immediately. Regarding payment - Legacy Mechanical Services received a check for $18,870.00 on 11/25/15 from ************ this check was to pay invoice 1469 which included all of the plumbing for the project including $9,865.00 of plumbing fixtures selected at the Ferguson Showroom. On 2/6/15 Legacy Mechanical Services received a check for $20,000.00 from ************ to cover a portion of invoice 1470 which is the HVAC invoice for this project. Upon completion of the punch list Legacy Mechanical Services received a check from ************ for $3,000.00. Per ****** and *****'s conversation at Caribou Coffee this final check was to be $3,500.00. ***** did not inform anybody at Legacy Mechanical Services of the reason for holding back $500.00. ****** tried to call ***** a day or two after to get clarification but was not able to connect with him. Regarding Service / Warranty - Legacy Mechanical Services repaired and/ or serviced all of the above noted repairs on 3/13/15. Legacy Mechanical Services will provide a 1 year workmanship warranty effective 2/10/15 - 2/10/16. However we respectfully decline to refund the requested $2500.00. As stated previously the plumbing fixtures selected totaled $9865.00. Legacy Mechanical Services paid $7704.58 for the selected plumbing fixtures. Legacy Mechanical Services strongly believes this is a fair mark up for providing, installing and warranting these fixtures.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Legacy Mechanical Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)