This business is not BBB accredited.

Five Star Heating and Air Conditioning, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (651) 338-3020 View Additional Phone Numbers 12578 Dover Dr, Apple Valley, MN 55124 http://www.fivestarheatingandcoolingmn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Five Star Heating and Air Conditioning, LLC include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Five Star Heating and Air Conditioning, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Five Star Heating and Air Conditioning, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 07, 2012 Business started: 04/25/2012 Business started locally: 04/25/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry
443 Lafayette Rd N, Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.dli.mn.gov
Phone Number: (651) 284-5005
dli.contractor@state.mn.us

Minnesota Secretary of State
180 State Office Bldg, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., Saint Paul MN 55155
http://www.sos.state.mn.us
Phone Number: (651) 296-2803

Business Management
Pavel Vdovchenko, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Pavel Vdovchenko, Owner
Business Category

Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair Furnace Sales & Service Furnace Cleaning Heating Contractors Heating & Air Conditioning

Alternate Business Names
AMA Corp
Products & Services

According to the information provided by Five Star Heating & Air Conditioning LLC, this company offers services in heating and air conditioning.

Industry Tips
Tips to Consumers for the HVAC Industry

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Five Star Heating and Air Conditioning, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12578 Dover Dr

    Apple Valley, MN 55124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    525 Diffley Rd STE 2090

    Eagan, MN 55123 (612) 852-8675

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7675 Highway 13 W Ste B

    Savage, MN 55378 (612) 260-7924

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paul came to my home to fix my air conditioning unit. Instead complained about how far he had to drive to my home and said if we did not chose to allow him to fix the so called problem right now that he would REFUSE to come back. That we would have to contact another company. We have a home warranty that selects the company. They chose company's based on their service areas. If this company does not wish to drive this far, they should not agree to it in the first place. Do NOT argue with the client who is just trying to get their unit fixed.

Desired Settlement: I want the service fee refunded and I want a sincere apology from the owner of the company.

1/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: they installed a furnace on 2/27/15. When I call them to fix as it is not working now, they do not respond to my calls for 4 days now. AMA installed a new furnace on 2/27/15- I was required to use this company as my home warranty set up the initial furnace repair call. The furnace could not be repaired and a new one was installed on 2/27/15. I turned the furnace on this november and it is not working correctly- making bad noise and not heating the upstairs. I called for repair work as this is still under warranty. I have been calling and leaving messages since 11/6/15 with no call back from AMA. I cannot locate a website for them and contacted the home warranty company to see if they could help get me in contact with AMA, but they are no longer working with this company. So We called the furnace manufacterer and they will cover parts and gave us contact information for companies in my area to fix. But now I will have to pay labor costs on something that should be covered. I saw on youe website that the address and phone for AMA are now listed as 5 star heating and repair. the license #******** and HVAC license #**** for the company

Desired Settlement: refund of labor costs to have another company come out to repair furnace

12/22/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Permit was never pulled on furnace installation. Contract said customer must do this but have to have HVAC license in Minneapolis to get permit. On 11/28/14 FiveStar staff, Serge ********* came to my home at the recommendation of my home warranty company. They checked my furnace and confirmed a cracked heat exchange. I was given an invoice ******* at the time and told the new furnace would be ordered and I would be contacted about installing it. On 12/13/14 the new furnace was installed by FiveStar. I signed an invoice to authorize the work but was never given a copy. I assumed the permit to install the furnace had been attained by FiveStar. At no time did any FiveStar employee tell me to get the permit myself before installation. The furnace seemed to operate fine until the air conditioner was operating in the summer and it was discovered the water retention tray was installed incorrectly. It was corrected by another company. This incident made me realize a city inspector never inspected the furnace after installation. I reviewed the 11/28/14 invoice in October 2015 to see what remedies were available to me. on the back were Terms and Conditions in small print. The following language is in the terms and conditions. 5) LICENSE, PERMITS AND FEES A. CUSTOMER shall furnish and pay fix at their own expense, all taxed, permits and license fees required to legally perform the repair in accordance with this agreement. I called Minneapolis 311 on 10/23/15 to inquire about purchasing a permit but was told only HVAC licensed people can get permits to install a furnace. They suggested I contact the installer to get them to pull the permit. I called FiveStart on 10/23/15 and left a message explaining the situation and asking for a return call. No one called back. I emailed the company through their website on 11/7/15 and received an automatic response saying they had received my email and someone would respond within 24 hours. As of 11/13/15 no one from FiveStar has responded to my request. I want FiveStar to get the permit from the installation on 12/13/14 so I can have a city inspector complete the required inspection.

Desired Settlement: I want them to get the permit for the furnace they installed so I can have a city inspector complete an inspection to ensure the safety of my family.

6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vendor sold 2-Stage Gas Furnace w/EMC which did not function. Replaced with cheaper Single-Stage Furnace. Did not compensate difference, nor respond. I contacted Five Star via phone, text, letter, and registered letter to resolve the discrepancy between the fee that we were charged for the purchase of the 2-Stage Variable Speed Gas Furnace with EMC CVC96 & MVC96 on October 13, 2014 and the actual cost of the Single-Stage Gas Furnace MSS9 & CSS9 that Five Star installed in our home in early January 2015 when it was clear that the Two-Stage Variable Speed Gas Furnace with EMC CVC96 & MVC96 was not able to heat our home beyond 65 degrees F. On October 11, 2014, **** from Five Star, proposed two options for us to consider when we needed to replace our broken furnace. We based our decision on the most energy efficient option among the choices offered. The Two-Stage Variable Speed Gas Furnace with EMC was installed on October 13th. After the evening installation of the 2-Stage Gas Furnace with EMC, the furnace required a full day to heat the house to 69Ëš. As outside temperatures dropped it would not surpass 65Ëš. We informed ****. He came in the evening to look at the furnace and suggested that the Nest Thermostat was causing the problem and that we should not use the automatic feature of this thermostat. We turned off that feature but did not experience any improvement. When we contacted **** he returned and stated that the problem was related to drainage - that we would need to purchase a pump to pump the water from the furnace to the drain. After observing ****'s drainage process, I was able to re-direct the drainage hose to allow the water to take advantage of gravity to flow into the floor drain. But adequate drainage did not fix the problem. **** returned. This evening he determined that the issue was airflow restriction caused by the section above the furnace that filtered cool air from the air conditioning unit. He gave us two options: replace this section or remove the filter structure inside to solve problem. We decided to choose the second option, to remove the filter structure inside to solve problem. When he came to resolve the problem with this new solution, he then decided that the problem was now with the ductwork and vents. Suddenly he decided that we needed to replace the furnace - that the one that he initially specified and installed would not work in our house. On another extremely cold night he sent two people to remove the Two-Stage Gas Furnace with EMC CVC96 & MVC96 and to install the Single-Stage Gas Furnace MSS9 & CSS9. Again we accommodated an evening schedule. Soon the entire house was without power because the people installing the furnace short-circuited the main electrical supply to the house. It was now dark and cold. They were not able to locate power switch and had decided to wait several hours for Xcel Energy to arrive. I contacted **** and then located the main switch myself. When he arrived we turned the power back on and they continued installing the Single-Stage Gas Furnace. This new Single-Stage Gas Furnace worked and after more than a month of inadequate heat from the Two-Stage Gas Furnace this new furnace responded to the thermostat, heating the house well beyond the previous limit of 70 Ëš. I assumed that **** would discuss the difference in price between the more expensive 2-Stage Gas Furnace with EMC CVC96 & MVC96 that we paid for and the less expensive Single-Stage Gas Furnace MSS9 & CSS9 that he installed after removing the 2-Stage Gas Furnace and returning it under its warranty. When I not hear from ****. I called, email, texted and received no response. I called many times and when I spoke with ***** in the office he assured me that the owner would resolve the situation and get back to me. Another week passed and I did not receive a call. When I spoke with ***** again he said that actually **** was the owner and that it was his decision and that he had received my messages. I contacted Five Star via phone, text, letter, and registered letter to resolve the discrepancy directly. No reply.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a refund of the cost differential of the fee that we were charged for the purchase of the 2-Stage Variable Speed Gas Furnace with EMC CVC96 & MVC96 and the actual cost of the Single-Stage Gas Furnace MSS9 & CSS9 that Five Star installed in our home when it was clear that the Two-Stage Variable Speed Gas Furnace with EMC CVC96 & MVC96 that Five Star initially installed was not able to heat our home beyond 65 degrees F.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Five Star Heating and Air Conditioning, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart