The Minnesota Health Department passed several laws which you should be aware of as you shop for a hearing aid: - State law requires hearing-aid sellers to offer consumers a 45 day written money-back guarantee. The guarantee permits the buyer to cancel the purchase for any reason during the 45 day period. Sellers may keep a $250.00 cancellation fee. If the aid needs to be repaired, remade or adjusted during the 45 days, the running of the guarantee period is suspended by one day for each 24 hour period that the hearing aid is not in the buyers possession. - Hearing aid sellers need a state issued certification and pass an examination in order to conduct business in Minnesota. A seller may be a hearing-aid dealer, a hearing instrument dispenser, an audiologist, a medical doctor or a person using other names or titles. Sellers are required to place their certification number on all contracts, bills of sale and receipts used in the sale of hearing aids. - State law prohibits sellers from obtaining money, property or services from consumers through the use of undue influence, high pressure sales tactics, harassment, duress, fraud. - State law prohibits sellers from presenting false or misleading advertising. - Federal law requires sellers to provide prospective hearing-aid buyers with a brochure describing the use of the aid that is considered for purchase. The brochure must contain a statement advising prospective hearing aid users to consult promptly with a licensed physician (preferably an ear specialist) before purchasing an aid. - Federal law requires sellers to provide a medical waiver form to adults who decide not to have a medical evaluation of their hearing before purchasing a hearing-aid. Hearing-aid dispensers are required to advise consumers that signing such a waiver is not in the buyer's best health interest and that its use is strongly discouraged. THE BBB ALSO PROVIDES A PAMPHLET ON HEARING AIDS THAT WE CAN MAIL OUT TO YOU AT YOUR REQUEST.