BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/22/1994


Phone: (901) 681-0888Fax: (901) 681-0166View Additional Phone Numbers5075 Macon Rd, MemphisTN 38122-1912 Send email to Rooter-Man

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Rooter-Man is a full service plumbing and drain cleaning company, family owned and operated. Residential and commercial service available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/22/1994

BBB has determined that Rooter-Man meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB verifies that BBB Accredited Businesses have required competency licenses when they apply for or renew their accreditation and encourages you to re-verify them. BBB does not routinely check licensing requirements or status on non-accredited businesses and recommends that you do so.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Rooter-Man

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
03/03/2015Problems with Product / Service
05/01/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

bad customer service and business practices
i hired them to come to a home to run a camera line down a sewer in a home. Thy did so and determined that the house needed a new sewer. They wrote an estimate. We had a second opinion and the other company said that the sewer line was under a drive way so the repair would involved taking up a drive way. Therefore, their bid was was higher. They showed mye with their locater equipment that the line was under a concert driveway. I called Rooterman back and asked them if they would come back and locate the actual line and give their opinion. They told me they would charge me again. I asked to speak with a manger and the receptionist said she could help me. She would not let me explain that was trying to give them a shot at doing the work because their bid was so much cheaper. She talked over me and indeed got me furious. She then told me to call someone else and hung up on me. So basically, the 325.00 a paid them was a waste of money and it is obvious they know they made a mistake and didn't want to come back. Very Very rude.

Desired Settlement
I at least want a manager or owner to call me so I can explain to someone in a position other than someone that answers the phone to hear me out. I would also like a refund since their estimate was way off and they did not accomplish what I needed which was a real estimate that was properly researched.

Business Response
I have called and apologized to Mrs ******* and refunded her money in full and will take disciplinary action against my employees involved. ***** ********** Rooter-Man

11/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Ineffective plumbing work
Date of service: 10/21/14
Plumber: Chad
Payment amount 151.50
I have tried to call the company, but couldn't pass the dispatcher. They never returned my calls.
Our kitchen sink got clogged up. The two bathroom showers + bathroom sinks linked to it are still working great. The first plumber from a different company worked on it for half an hour, couldn't resolve. So he cleaned up everything real well, recommended this company, without charging me, even when I offered to pay. The plumber from Rooter-man worked on the drain for 3min x 3 times, no changes in the clogged sink, and charged $151.50. Worse, he flashed sewer water inside the cabinet, spread it on the kitchen counter, the floor, door knobs in our rooms with the working gloves when he "inspected" other rooms. He swiped dry the water inside the cabinet, but left a bigger mess. He also poured the blacked sewer water he pumped out back in the sink. When I asked, he said it was just water.
I questioned the professional ethics of this company, charging for work that is ineffective, and unfinished.
He offered to come back, with more charges, to cut out the wall, to work on the pipes there.
On the side note, I suspected he was intoxicated, at least with marijuana. (I worked in the medical field). But that is between him and his employer and the law)
So I called a different company, explained the whole situation. The plumber promised a no charge estimate, and would not charge without having it fix. He worked on it for 10min, had it fixed! And he charged me $89. He said the other company probably said the ran the snake down the line, but didn't, and they ripped me off.
I need to make sure I can prevent as many people as possible to go through the experience I had with Rooter-man.

Desired Settlement
Full refund.
Compensation for contaminating my house.
Practice changes: Not charging customer for ineffective work.
Re-exam their professional ethics.

Business Response
I am extremely disappointed to have to respond to these ridiculous accusations from someone who has no problem fabricating a story to get something for nothing. first she called back wanting her money back ( no complaint other than the line was still clogged ) and wanted my personal phone number when my dispatcher told her I was at a Doctors appointment. the next day I called October 23rd and left her a voice mail and she did not call back till the 24th, I listened to her rude and insulting comments about my employees and our company and agreed to refund all but an $ 80.00 service call and the check has been sent. funny this list of accusations came after being told we had no free service, before the work began she was told the price to work on the drain for up to one hour for $ 151.50 and signed the work authorization prior to the start of the work. maybe it's just me but if someone came to my house "intoxicated " and gave me an estimate and I had to sign a service order to approve the work I would tell them I would call back if I wanted the work done and get them out of my house. Our dispatcher logs the time when we arrive and leave and our service tech was there one hour and nine minutes. as stated above this has been resolved. my desired resolution would be for her to refrain from making any more libelous statements about us but I doubt that will happen.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. which part of my statement is fabricated?
2. The main complaint was and still is that the work was not done, the line was still clogged.
3. I didn't expect them to work for free. I expected them to work right. I had not asked them for the money back. (That was a fabricating statement) My guess is that was their assumption from my remark about the first plumber. I was waiting to see how they dealt with the complaint. I asked for full refund when I filed this complaint with BBB.
4. I did not ask for anyone's personal number. On the 21st, the day of the service, the phone operator said the person is charged was not in the office, she took my number and said he would cal me back. I did not ask where he was at nor she told me he was at the doctor's office. (That was a fabricating statement). The next day I called back, still couldn't get pass the phone operator who stated she couldn't address the issue, and again, he would call me. He did leave a message on the 23rd and I returned the call on the 24th.
5. What were the rude and insulting comments I made?
6. I trusted this company's plumber (2nd plumber) at first because the company's number was given to me by the first plumber, who has a high professional ethics. I also had the 1st plumber explained what he thought was the problem to the 2nd plumber. The 2nd plumber then stated with confidence that they mostly got the job done. And I was really hoping it got fixed.
7. They can test their employee for THC. It is still their for at least 4 weeks after use.
8. I timed the time he put the machine through the drain.
9. I do not make fabricating nor libelous statements in public or private settings.

Final Business Response
I have no further comment, God Bless

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 03/10/1994Business started: 11/01/1990
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian McLaughlin (President)Ms. Christine McLaughlin (Vice President/Alt. CARE)
Business Category

Water Heaters-Repairing, Plumbers, Septic Tanks & Systems Contractors & Dealers, Leak Detection, Water Leak Detection

Products & Services

RooterMan offers a wide variety of plumbing services, including faucet repairs or replacements, water heaters, drain cleaning both inside and outside, septic service, video line inspection, hydro-jetting & water leak repairs.

Service Area

Rooter-Man serves West Tennessee, North Mississippi.

Alternate Business Names
A Rooter Man, A Rooter-Man, A Rooterman, A Mrs. & Mr. Service, A Mrs. & Me Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Rooter-Man

5075 Macon Rd

Memphis, TN 38122-1912

To | From


1 Locations

  • 5075 Macon Rd 

    Memphis, TN 38122-1912(901) 371-0940
    (662) 429-9920
    (901) 681-0888

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Rooter-Man is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (901) 371-0940
  • (901) 363-1010
  • (901) 278-4344
  • (901) 398-4040
  • (901) 756-7333
  • (662) 429-9920

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Water Heaters-Repairing


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.