BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Frankie's

Phone: (901) 332-1333Fax: (901) 373-9846

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

Customer Complaints Summary

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service18
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints23

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (23)BBB Closure Definitions
05/23/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I financed a 2003 ***** on march 1,2014 sales stated that 3000 would be my down payment on vehicle went to bank got the 3000 dollars come back now it's 3500 dollars then offered me time to pay it ok didn't get a date for when to pay at That time but signed promissory note now today observed that after I signed it there was a date added underneath where we signed the form below money already paid then I went to finance department and manager stated first car note on 31st I said of March he said no April 31 now they saying he's fired took my car in for service work they kept it then called me later saying its a hold on it till they get promisarry payment now car note date is all of a sudden due on the 31st of March and supposed to be due on the 31st of April. This is ridiculous now I find out that my truck was financed under a leased plan instead of a purchase when I asked they say its to protect them from clients filing bankruptcy oh my God where are the people's right to know please advise me on my next sstep
Product_Or_Service: 2003 *****

Initial Business Response
On March 1, 2014 Ms. ****** entered into a**** ******** ***** Agreement with *** ********** The lease indicated $3500.00 due at inception when she signed it. She did not have that much so we allowed her to sign a promissory note for two weeks. Lease payments are set at 30 days, which makes her first payment due on 3-31-14. There is no April 31. All the paperwork she signed clearly states she is leasing the vehicle. We do not feel that we should refund anything to her since she freely leased the vehicle.

04/15/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: Frankie"s auto dealers selling its customers bad vehicle.
I purchased a car from Frankie's on the 28 of February. And I was told before buying the car I could bring the car back if there was anything wrong. And being told that I took it to a mechanic to check the car. and there were number of things wrong with it. So I called my sales consultant and he told me to set up a appointment to get it fix. The day was for March 7. So I take it that morning and later that day I received a phone call for Frankie's service Center Saying there nothing wrong with the car. Which there was a bunch of things wrong. So i called my consultant and told them what they've said about the car. He told me to leave the car up there and he was going to let me select a car. So today on 3/10/2014 go to select a car that I was promised since the other one had to many issues. I talk to my consultant and he tells me to talk to the general manager. He says i should've been promised to request and he won't fix the previous car and won.t let me select another with I was promised. The problem is they aren't doing anything they promised me and trying to stick me with a not functioning car.

Initial Business Response
********* ******* entered into a Net Consumer Lease Agreement with *** Finanical on February 24, 2014. The vehicle was leased AS IS-NO WARRANTY. Mr. ******* brought the into our service department complaining of several things. We were unable to duplicate most of the things he said the vehicle was doing. We did replace the water pump at no charge to the customer. We are unable to correct conditions if we can not duplicate them.

02/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Dear BBB,

On February the 20, 2014, I purchased a 2005 STS ******** from this business. Didn't drive for 10 miles and broke down on the hwy.

I purchased a 2005 STS 4DR ******** from Airport Auto on February the 19th 2014. A lady by the name of ***** sold me the car. The vehicle ID number is 1G8DC67AXXXXXXXXX. I made a down payment of $3300.00 with a $200.00 deferment. After going to get Full coverage insurance, an extra $217.00, I returned to pick up the car to head in for work. Upon making it to work (10 miles or less). The car quit on me. I was never able to restart it. Went through great heights to get them to com and tow it. They did not want to give my money back. Told me it was As Is and that he did not have to do anything to this car if he did not want to. He was very rude and so were his employees. Keep in mind I have 3 little girls and 2 jobs that I need to get to everyday. They did not want to give a loaner and left me with nothing but tears. I work in customer service and there is absolutely NO WAY that we could do his to our guest. It's not fair to have them running a business selling lemon cars to the public robbing them for their money. They were asking $10,400 for the car which is way to much to start with. After giving them my money saw that I was being charged $14,734 to have the car financed. ***** **** book was 8,900.

11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: This business has taken too long to issue tags for my vehicle. Nor do they seem to care about the inconvenience, time and money it has cost me.
On Sep 4, 2013 I brought in a check from Credit Union to purchase a F-150 pick up truck. I received the vehicle on that day and was ensure I would have my tags within a week. After not hearing anything else about it on the 14th I inquired about the tags. They were not in at that time. I called back on the 17th and was transfered to a lady in finance who then placed me on hold. She went and spoke with a ******* who promised he would have them in by Friday 20 September 2013. On that day I called and spoke with the same finance lady and she placed me on hold again. She came back to the phone to say ******* said he would call you back when they come in that day. ******* calls me back thirty minutes later to tell me he doesn't have everything he needs to send the paperwork in for to get my tags. He explained my address on my driver's license is different from the address I put on my application. He asked which one is correct? I stated the one that is on my application. He told me he needed a monthly bill that has that address on it. At the time I was at work and didn't get off until 3:30pm that day. It takes me thirty minutes to get home. Then I had to pick up the bill and travel twenty more minutes to get to the dealership. My issue is why has it taken this long before you figured out you needed this paperwork? Why are you just now processing the paperwork to get my tags. He could have told me all this on the 17th I could have carried it with me to work and dropped it off on the way home. Needless to say when I got there around 5:00pm the tag office was closed for the day and wouldn't open up again until Monday. I called Monday to speak with ******* about my tags. He stated he has all the paperwork in order and he is just waiting on a runner to go retrieve the tags. So apparently there is not a specific time or person in place for this system of getting tags. There is also no other way to bypass this process to do it yourself. (I ask ******* if I could go myself and he told me no) I then asked to speak with a manager about my issue. When ***** (Manager) got on the phone he stated he had other things to do but he would look into it and should call him back later. This is not how you treat a paying customer with referring power. I am very disappointed with the tag system and now customer service. A response is needed and very necessary.

Initial Business Response
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have reviewed procedures and made changes accordingly.

10/25/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a car from this company and in lest than a month I had problems with the radiator.
I bought a 2002 Buick Century from this company on August 29, 2013. On September 24, 2013 my radiator started to run hot. I called to make an appointment on September 26, 2013. The service representative told me to bring it in on that Monday which was the 29th of September. He said the cost was going to be $350 but all I had to pay was half which was $175. For them to fix on my car he also told me I had to pay my insurance first which was $192. I asked if I could pay half and bring that rest a later time he said no I had to pay the full amount right then and there for the radiator. I just wanted to see why I have to pay for the radiator if the car was giving me problems under the 30 day law.

Initial Business Response
On August 28, 2013 ***** ***** entered into a Net Consumer Lease Agreement with *** ********** The vehicle was leased AS IS-NO WARRANTY. Additionally, *** ***** declined to purchase an extended service contract. We were under no obligation to pay for any repairs, yet we offered to pay for half of the cost of the repairs. We do not feel that we could offer better service than that. We would also like to know what the 30 day law is that he references.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 4
09/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used 2001 Toyota Celica from Frankies also doing business as *******************.They reported their in-house service center replaced the transaxle with a used transaxle. This repair would have required removing the engine compartment bottom enclosure panels. Upon inspecting bottom of vehicle for flapping and scraping sound found one panel of 3 was being forced to the ground by air flow because 6 of 8 retaining bolts were missing from this one panel. At this time found 2nd of 3 panels was completely missing and the 3rd panel also missing half of its bolts. Now Frankies service manager claims his shop did not leave any bolts out. Also upon further inspection found 1 of 3 bolts holding the rear of the transaxle support bracket missing. The dealer also stated and provided service report that their in-house service center replaced the valve cover gasket which was leaking oil. While under the car looking at bottom panels also found oil dripping from above. Investigation found valve cover still leaking oil from passenger side rear corner of valve cover. Service manager also denies any responsibility for this item.
Product_Or_Service: used vehicle
Order_Number: dealer stock 20625

Business' Initial Response
Mr. ****** purchased a 2001 Toyota Celica on 7-23-13. The vehicle was purchased AS IS-NO WARRANTY. Mr. ****** also declined to purchase an extended service contract. The transaxle repair was performed by ******** ************ in March 2013 and they gave a 12 month 12,000 mile warranty whichever comes first on the transaxle. We do not feel obligated to perform repairs on a vehicle that was purchased AS IS.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

Frankies service dept knew the car had issues---they made no effort to resolve any of the issues which would affect any future owner---they made no effort to inform me as the buyer ---rather they hide behind 'sold as-is'-----
Frankies in this instance represents the worst of used car sales companies and refuses to make any effort to support their customer

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

09/03/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/15/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/12/2012Problems with Product / Service
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.