BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2013

DeSoto Auto Sales, LLC

Phone: (662) 890-7184Fax: (662) 890-7191View Additional Phone Numbers5704 Goodman Rd, Olive BranchMS 38654-9707 Send email to DeSoto Auto Sales, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/2013

BBB has determined that DeSoto Auto Sales, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB verifies that BBB Accredited Businesses have required competency licenses when they apply for or renew their accreditation and encourages you to re-verify them. BBB does not routinely check licensing requirements or status on non-accredited businesses and recommends that you do so.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered DeSoto Auto Sales, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised DeSoto Auto Sales, LLC's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on DeSoto Auto Sales, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
11/11/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The trade ran hot. Dealer threated the contract to force me to pay for the repairs on the trade. I was harassed to sign a promissory to get my tags.
I was in the market to get a car up grade. I went to visit with **** ***** on May 30th since she sold me the 2001 BMW 3series I was currently driving. I immediately learned that Cornerstone Automotive had been bought out by Desoto Auto Sales. Nina and I found that the 2008 Lexus ES350 would be the best choice for my needs. She turned me and my situation over to ****** Ray ***** who was the Finance Manager. When you have lessed that perfect credit with a car dealer, you have to fight to stay in control of what they put on you. I present the trade in BMW and that I would be able to put 2,000 cash down next month. I was clear that I did not come that day to purchase a car. I was just looking. He drove the BMW and the Mississippi credit rep was in the dealership at the time and *** established what the payoff amount was. He said let me do some # crunching and for me to come back later that day. He insisted that I had to do the transaction that day instead of him letting me put something to hold the car. He said they donot hold cars anymore. Asked how much cash did I have that day. I said I will have 400.00 on that Friday 31. He asked when could I pay the 1600 balance. I said by the end of June. He got financing through **** **** and accepting the verbal terms that I would bring him 400.00 on Friday 31st, he accepted the BMW as a reasonable trade, and that I would pay the balance of the downpayment when I pick up the car. The pickup date was to be June 29th were I would pay the 1600 balance for the down payment. We signed all documents on May 30th as a complete transaction. He advised me that a Representative from Ally bank would call me to do a interview of the sale. He told me to be sure and tell the bank that I had paid the downpayment in full and that I had possession of the Lexus the next day. I did what was instructed to do. I was to continue driving the BMW until I picked up the lexus. In my mind I saw no issues coming at that time. On Tuesday June 25th, the BMW ran hot. I immediately stopped and park the car. Nothing that I was aware of was happen before that. It just happened out the blue. I went to let ****** ***** know the next morning that I need them to com tow the car. He had no empathy at all. He said Mr. **********,I don't believe we are going to accept your car as a trade. He went on about is they cant get at least 3000 for the car in sales that I would have to be responsible for it. I was ****** at his moment because it immediately shifted from service to threats as if I did this. I reminded him that we have already signed the papers and accepted this car as a trade. I did not see any contract guidelines on what if the broke down. I realized that I had made mistake at the moment and that I had to defend myself. I asked him to call his boss for a resolution. I got the run around for 2 days before I got a response on them picking up the care and getting a resolution. I finally got a call from ****** boss ******* ****** while I was at work. He immediately started out with the threats that I was going to he held responsible for the repairs on the trade in and that I had not fulfilled my contract obligations. He also, threatened to call the Bank and retracted the contract. That's where I stopped him in his tracts and he was to do not such thing or I would no choice to get legal help. From this point out He was very opologetic and we can work this out. The result was he blamed all this on the owner that I new this was wrong but the owner was greedy and they were being forced to do this. I feel I was forced to sign a promissory note in other to get my tags and keys to pay for repairs on the trade. To this day I have received personal items left in the trade, nor I ever met Mr. ****** in person because he always made sure he did have to face me and he was a devout Christian man, well i'm not. Now I am getting calls from some lady almost everyday about when am I going to pay for repairsI not seen a bill.Next for me legal.

Desired Settlement
I would like to file all complaints first with BBB and the commission to see if this is legal and let a Attorney decided because this experience put a lot of fear and trust issue I didn't deserve. The car sale is way over priced and they are talking about not making enough money. All my rights as a honest consumer was taking and I want them back. If legal? Ok. However, the abuse, lies, threats etc.. was not ok. I am emotionally scared from this. I have to pass this dealership everyday to and from work. It bothers me everytime. Lastly, I think the greedy unintouch ownership should look into his business practices. This statement came from his employees I don't want anyone I care about to have this experience and believe me I am putting the word out on social network, Andy Wise and what ever outlet legally possible

Business Response
October 11, 2013
MEMORANDUM FOR: Better Business Bureau of the Mid-South
Subject: Response to Case#XXXXXXXX

To whom it may concern:
I am writing in response to the above listed case.
Mr. ********** is receiving collection calls because he is in default of a promissory note that he agreed to and signed.
This dealership, in good faith, paid for repairs to a vehicle that he had used as a trade in. He was allowed to continue to drive his trade in until he paid the required down payment on his new purchase. He was allowed this courtesy because he had purchased a vehicle from the dealership before, and had proven himself trustworthy. By his own admission, the trade in was damaged while still in his possession. Again, in good faith, we agreed to pay for half of the repairs. When he stated that he would have to pay his half in installments, this dealership set up the payment plan outlined in the attached promissory note. To date, he has made no effort to pay anything towards this debt.
No one has threatened Mr. ********** in any capacity. We are simply trying to collect a debt through the least intrusive and least expensive means available. I will not take the time to address the rest of the rhetoric due to its irrelevance.

I have attached a copy of the bill for repairs, a copy of the check for the repairs, and a copy of the promissory note.

It is the desire of this company to provide your office with any information legally available to ensure your understanding of our intent to provide excellent service to any customer doing business with us. Should you need further assistance, please contact the store's General Manager, ******* ****** at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Respectfully,

****** H. ********, Jr.

07/03/2013Problems with Product / Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/16/2009Business started: 03/06/2008
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Robert H. Johnston Jr (Managing Member)
Contact Information
Mr. Charles Golden (General Manager)Ms. Debra McClain (Accountant)
Business Category

Used Car Dealerships

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for DeSoto Auto Sales, LLC

5704 Goodman Rd

Olive Branch, MS 38654-9707

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5704 Goodman Rd 

    Olive Branch, MS 38654-9707(662) 890-7191
    (662) 890-7184

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*DeSoto Auto Sales, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (662) 890-7191
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Used Car Dealerships

Used Cars
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.