BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2010

Masters Roofing

(901) 871-7663View Additional Phone Numbers154 Timber Creek Dr Ste 5, CordovaTN 38018-4252 Send email to Masters Roofing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2010

BBB has determined that Masters Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB verifies that BBB Accredited Businesses have required competency licenses when they apply for or renew their accreditation and encourages you to re-verify them. BBB does not routinely check licensing requirements or status on non-accredited businesses and recommends that you do so.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Masters Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Masters Roofing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
12/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Didn't get ideal claim money from adjuster, dropped the ball, no call, no show
We were assured over and over we'd be contacted after the estimate that came back from the insurance adjuster "too low." We were told Masters roofing was going to appeal to **. **** and ask for more money and we'd be called either way. It's been over 2 weeks since that day and we've not heard a word from Masters roofing. My wife called **. **** and learned they were in fact asked for more money and that claim was denied. We were never contacted by Master's roofing with this new information so I'm left to suspect that because they didn't get the money they wanted they just completely dumped us and left us with a leaking roof. Now we have to start this processes all over again. Very frustrating.

Desired Settlement
I want to work performed, even if all of it can't be done for the money given by **. ****. At very minimum, the shingles should replaced and the current roof leak can should be repaired.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****** / Owner
Contact Phone: ************
We have attempted to contact this home owner multiple, multiple times. Left messages with no returned calls. We conducted this claim process as we have done with the 3000 other claims processed and built in the Memphis area. We have not left this or any other homeowner hanging in the wind, ever. I would like the Mid South BBB to let this homeowner know that we have had thousands of inquiries into our company and the 3-4 complaints we have received over the years were from jobs we have never even built. What is the BBB's protection process for frivolous and unwarranted claims against a reputable company? There isnt one. How about a call to our office, stop by our office, go to our website or any of the other multiple ways to contact our company with any questions you may have?

06/21/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
04/10/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
08/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Feel i was lied to just to get me to sign a contract. Saleman said they would contact me within 3 days took them 25 days to give me a call back
We had roof leaks and were looking for a roofer to do the repairs. I contacted roof masters for an estimate on the roof and damages. The contractor came out to the home and gave me an estimate but also had me sign a piece of paper that they will be the ones to complete the job. I signed the paper because I was satisfied with the estimate that he gave to complete the roof. Once I got everything complete with the insurance company and it was a go to do the roof the contractor met me at my home May 3, 2014 to discuss the type of roof and what would be complete. He asked me for my insurance paperwork and instantly the price jumps up 5,000.00 more than the estimate that he gave me. He also wanted to do the simple repairs that I could have done myself but he stated that insurance would not pay for the work unless someone or a business with a valid license could only do the repairs. I then told him that I would find someone else. He stated that because I signed this paper on his first visit out that I had to go with his company or pay a 10% fee. I thought that was ridiculous. So I maintained and went along with what he said to keep from confrontation he went on talking about what he will do and it just wasn't making sense for the amount of money that they were asking for. My wife and I felt as though our backs were against the wall now that he is talking we would have to pay a fee if we didn't go on with the transaction. I signed the contract. He stated that we would hear something from the company in three days to setup a date for them to come out and start on the roof he said everything would be done before the holidays (Memorial Day) because it would only take one day to do everything. We didn't hear anything from this company until Wednesday May 28, 2014 (25 days later) in which they left a voice mail and my wife called them right back and the receptionist took her information and stated that she will leave a note in the system that the call was returned. We didn't hear anything back until Wednesday June 4, 2014 in which I told them I found someone else to do my roof. He got upset over the cellphone and stated I would hear from their lawyer and I would have to pay them 25% of the total cost even if they don't do anything. He also went on to say he know his salesman didn't tell me my house would be done by the holidays and the reason he gave me for not calling us was that it had been raining (can check the weather out for Memphis it didn't start raining till after the holiday) and if I wanted to know what was going on all I had to do was look over the contract and find his number. They wanted to schedule me 2 wks or more from this date. I feel like they first are over charging me, secondly they didn't schedule me when they said that in three days I would here from someone regarding scheduling nor did I get an explanation as to why I haven't been contacted until now.
Roof masters price gauged me then suckered me into signing this statement to just have a look at my roof. I will never refer anyone to this company and I definitely will not be doing any future business with them.

Desired Settlement
To get out of the contract and to owe this company nothing.

Business Response
Mr. ***** was not lied to. He signed a contract that stated if insurance approved his roof Masters Roofing would be the company preforming the repairs. His only out of pocket money would be his deductible as well as any upgrades. Maters Roofing has built over 2600 across the******** area. We do not give specific build dates due to the weather in the******** area. Over the last 90 days we've had a 40% chance of rain or better on at least half the days. We always error on the side of caution. If weather says 60% and it does not rain we have no control over that. We take no down payments so if we are not building roofs we are not making any money. I did call Mr. ***** to schedule roof replacement and was told he was having someone else build it on Friday. Per out executed contract if it was approved Masters Roofing would build the roof no exceptions. Masters Roofing never lied to Mr. ***** . This is the reason we do not accept down payments because we can not control the WEATHER.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have a weather report for the month of May which show from May 3 - 31 only chance of rain was from the 12 - 17 with only 0.70 chance it didn't start to rain till June 5. I'm not saying the company itself lied to us but the sale man said we would hear from then within the following week to get our repairs scheduled which didn't happen. Plus he stated that we could not do the repairs to the garage or in our master bedroom our-self that they or someone with license would have to do the repairs.

Final Business Response
Masters Roofing did everything that we not only stated we would do but also what was written, and gone over line by line on contract and signed by homeowner. Mr ***** is not the exception, we have measures in place to make sure every single customer receives the exact same level of professionalism as the next. Masters Roofing will not "release" Mr. ***** from his obligation to our company and we will pursue actions necesarry to recoup financial losses and fulfill contractual obligations.

01/13/2015Advertising / Sales Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/05/2010Business started: 04/01/2009Business started locally: 05/01/2010
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ronald Itnyre (Owner)Mr. Tony Itnyre (Owner)Ms. Nichole Lonkard (Office Manager)
Business Category

Roofers, Contractor - Commercial, Siding Contractors, Contractors - Gutters, Gutters & Downspouts, Drywall Contractors

Products & Services

Masters Roofing offers roofing, siding, and gutter services.

Alternate Business Names
Elite Southern Construction, LLC
Industry Tips
General Contractors/Home Improvement Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Masters Roofing

154 Timber Creek Dr Ste 5

Cordova, TN 38018-4252

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 154 Timber Creek Dr Ste 5 

    Cordova, TN 38018-4252(901) 871-7663
    (901) 754-8430

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Masters Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (901) 754-8430
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.