BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1997

American Home Shield (Headquarters)

Find a Location

(901) 537-8000View Additional Phone Numbers889 Ridge Lake Blvd, MemphisTN 38120View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1997

BBB has determined that American Home Shield meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB verifies that BBB Accredited Businesses have required competency licenses when they apply for or renew their accreditation and encourages you to re-verify them. BBB does not routinely check licensing requirements or status on non-accredited businesses and recommends that you do so.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Home Shield's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4388 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4388 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1751 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues80
Billing / Collection Issues332
Delivery Issues23
Guarantee / Warranty Issues746
Problems with Product / Service3207
Total Closed Complaints 4388

Additional Complaint Information

American Home Shield is headquartered in Memphis, TN but has locations throughout the United States. The company has requested that all complaints be centrally processed, so this customer experience record includes complaints from all of its locations.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Home Shield

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 7 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4388)BBB Closure Definitions
12/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company did not provide their service when I need it, and does not allow me to cancel the contract with tem.
Sep 23,2014 My water heater stop working. Called AHS to request for service repair. No body called me back, no company showed up to fix the problem. Called again after 5 days, They gave me another company name. The company told me that will come to my house 6 days later. One day before the visit they wanted to reschedule. I was tired to wait for them . I paid somebody else to do the job. Customer service left me waiting for 45 minutes every time I called them. They promise the manager will call me back.Nobody called me.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back. They money that I paid every month 56.33 a month since dec 2013 to November 2014. They failure on their service . $ 627 amount I paid.

Business Response
November 18, 2014

Ms. **********
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: ****************, AHS Plan No. 140896852; BBB Case No. 40100966

Dear Ms. *****:

American Home Shield ("AHS") is in receipt of your letter advising of the above referenced complaint. Your letter has been forwarded to me for review and response.

AHS does apologize for Ms. *******' frustration regarding this matter. In an attempt to amicably resolve this matter, AHS has cancelled Ms. *******' AHS plan for a full refund of the paid contract fees. Ms. ******* will receive a $57.33 credit to her Visa card and she will receive correspondence directly from AHS' Cancellation Department regarding this matter. Therefore, it appears that this matter has been resolved and AHS will be closing its file.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD CORPORATION




**** ******
Customer and Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist






Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I want to have a full refund of $ 630.63, the money the I paid over 11 months and cancelation as of today.
****************

Final Business Response
December 2, 2014

Ms. **********
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: ****************, AHS Plan No. 140896852; BBB Case No. 40100966

Dear Ms. *****:

AHS is in receipt of your letter dated November 24, 2014, enclosing additional correspondence from Ms. *******.

Ms. *******' AHS plan became effective on December 31, 2013 and was set to expire on December 31, 2014. Ms. ******* requested to cancel her AHS plan on October 29, 2014. Section L-4 of the AHS plan states that if the customer or AHS cancels the contract after the 30th day following the beginning of the contract term: (a) if AHS has not provided any services, the customer will receive a pro rata refund of the contract fees paid for the unexpired term; (b) if AHS has provided services and the amount of the service costs incurred by AHS is less than the contract fees paid, the customer will receive a pro rata refund of the contract fees paid for the unexpired term, less the service costs incurred by AHS; (c) If AHS has provided services and the amount of the service costs incurred by AHS is greater than the contract fees paid, the customer shall pay AHS the lesser of (i) the amount by which the service costs incurred by AHS exceeds the contract fees paid; or (ii) the amount by which the annual rate listed on the Contract Agreement pages exceeds the contract fees paid; and (d) Additionally, customer shall be responsible for an administrative fee of the lesser of (i) your Plan Fee for one month of coverage under this contract or (ii) such amount as is permitted by law. Therefore, Ms. ******* was credited in the amount of $57.33 for the October 31, 2014 payment that was received.

In a final attempt to amicably resolve this matter, even though not liable to do so, AHS will reimburse Ms. ******* a total amount of $630.63 representing her total paid contract fees. Ms. ******* will receive correspondence directly from AHS' Cancellation Department regarding this matter. Therefore, it appears that this matter has been resolved and AHS will be closing its file.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD CORPORATION




**** ******
Customer and Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist



12/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have not had my water softener replaced, I have not had my toilet fixed, and one of the contractors fixed my water heater without request.
I recently purchased a home over the summer. I decided last minute I was going to get the home warranty because I figured with my first home it might come in handy. We added our fridge, stove, and our water softener to the contract. About a month in a half after we moved in I realized that my toilet was cracked, and also that the water softener was not working correctly, by the way my clothes and hair were being washed. I called the home warranty system and they sent out *** ****'s company. He was very unprofessional by texting saying he was not going to come, so I called American Home shield and they called him again and he came out. When he came out he said that the filter was messed up in my water softener, unplugged it and said I would need a new one. He also said my toilet needed replaced and that he would do that. Two weeks later after he finally came out, he out my new toilet in. I asked him if there was any leaking below the toilet before he put it in so that I would not have a bigger problem. He told me it was not leaking and that it was fine. I noticed that the toilet would move when I would sit on it, and I thought it was leaking out the back. I called the company to get him back out since it was leaking, about three weeks later and he never responded for two more weeks, finally they sent some other company out. That company came out and he shut the water off to my toilet and said I can not use my toilet because the floor is rotted. I called the warranty place and I was explaining this to the staff, they hung up on me after I was accused of being a liar about the situation. I currently have not toilet in my upstairs to use, I have taken pictures of my rotted floor, that my dad had to replace and we had to pay 200.00 of our own money, not including what we have to pay for a new floor. American Home shield said that was not their problem and I had to fix it on my own. Also my water softener was not on *** ****'s ticket when he came to my house, so he fixed a nozzle on my water heater at no cost and with no ticket. I called the warranty company and they said he was not specified to deal with water softeners, but they sent him out to look at the water softener and my toilet. They sent another company out to look, which when they came it was unplugged and all the salt had been drain from**** **** looking at it. They said they didn't know what it was because it was not a working water softener. American Home shield, instead of getting me a new water softener, they said they do not fix them. This warranty has caused me so many problems. I will never use this company again, and am thinking about getting a civil rights lawyer. I should never be hung up on when I am calling about a problem, and if I pay for something to be added on, it should be fixed. I would like to cancel my warranty, and get the money back that I paid for it. If this is not possible I think I should get the money back for replacing my floor, and someone needs to replace or fix my water softener. I am very disappointed.

Desired Settlement
I want my money to be given back to me for the whole warranty and the service fees. If this can not be done I want the money for having to replace my floor, and my water softener replace. I have never been treated so badly by anyone.

Business Response
November 25, 2014

Ms. **********
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: **************, AHS Plan No. 151779582; BBB Case No. 40101163

Dear Ms.******:

American Home Shield ("AHS") is in receipt of your letter advising of the above referenced complaint. Your letter has been forwarded to me for review and response.

AHS' computer records indicate that*********************** Services found Ms.*********'s water softener was not properly installed for diagnosis. It was reported that the unit was unplugged, the drain line was not connected and that there was no salt in the unit. Section A-2a of Ms.*********'s AHS plan provides that covered items must be installed for diagnosis. Therefore, the claim was denied.

With respect to the toilet,**** ****, Inc. reported to AHS that the second floor hall bathroom toilet was cracked and leaking due to normal wear and tear and that the toilet needed to be replaced. AHS authorized the service contractor to complete the covered repairs. It appears that the floor was rotted and needed to be replaced. AHS does not provide coverage for secondary damages. Section I-8 states that AHS is not responsible or liable for secondary, incidental, and/or consequential loss or damage resulting from the malfunction of any covered item, or a service contractor's neglect or delay in providing, or failure to provide, repair or replacement of such item, including, but not limited to, food spoilage, loss of income, utility bills, additional living expenses, personal and/or property damage. Section I-6c provides that AHS is not responsible or liable for water damage. Section I-4c states that AHS is not responsible or liable for restoration of any wall or floor coverings, cabinets, counter tops, tiling, paint, or the like. Therefore, AHS denies any further liability with respect to this matter.

Ms.*********'s AHS plan became effective on June 12, 2014 and is set to expire on June 12, 2015. Section L-4 states that If the customer or AHS cancels the contract after the 30th day following the beginning of the contract term: (a) if AHS has not provided any services, the customer will receive a pro rata refund of the contract fees paid for the unexpired term; (b) if AHS has provided services and the amount of the service costs incurred by AHS is less than the contract fees paid, the customer will receive a pro rata refund of the contract fees paid for the unexpired term, less the service costs incurred by AHS; (c) If AHS has provided services and the amount of the service costs incurred by AHS is greater than the contract fees paid, the customer shall pay AHS the lesser of (i) the amount by which the service costs incurred by AHS exceeds the contract fees paid; or (ii) the amount by which the annual rate listed on the Contract Agreement pages exceeds the contract fees paid; and (d) Additionally, customer shall be responsible for an administrative fee of the lesser of (i) your Plan Fee for one month of coverage under this contract or (ii) such amount as is permitted by law. Please advise if it is still Ms.*********'s intent to cancel her AHS plan and I will forward her request to AHS' Cancellation Department for processing according the above-referenced provisions. Ms.********* may also contact AHS directly at 1-************ to request the cancellation of her AHS plan. AHS does apologize for Ms.*********'s frustration regarding this matter.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,
AMERICAN HOME SHIELD CORPORATION


***********
Customer and Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist


12/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
November 5, 2014 American Shield sent ************** and ******* out to fix my washer. The washer was leaking. The tech said he would try to tighten the packing nut that connected the washer but it didn't work. He said he would have to come out and remove some of the plumbing. I would be responsible to move the washer. He checked the water pressure. He said I needed to install a 3/4 pressure reducing value. He said he would have to report it to American Shield for approval. I called American Shield and they are denying the repair. American Shield said they will not cover it. The tech said it was just normal wear and tear of the plumbing.

Desired Settlement
I would like the repair to be approved and fixed.

Business Response
November 26, 2014

Ms.***** *****
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: ***********; AHS Home Protection Plan No. 155808012; Complaint Case No. 40101168

Dear Ms. *****:

American Home Shield ("AHS") is in receipt of your letter dated November 19, 2014, advising of the above referenced complaint. The letter has been forwarded to me for review and response.

On November 1, 2014, Mr.***** placed a leak claim and AHS dispatched******* A/C, Heating and Plumbing LLC to diagnose the leak problem in the home. On November 6, 2014, the technician reported to AHS that the cold water line to the laundry was leaking due to high water pressure. Section I-6c of Mr.*****'s AHS plan provides that AHS is not responsible or liable for repairs or replacements when the malfunction is due to excessive or inadequate water pressure. Therefore, AHS is rightfully not responsible or liable for the repair of the cold water line.

Mr.***** disputed the diagnosis and in order to resolve this matter AHS offered to run a second opinion service request. Mr.***** declined this offer. Therefore, based on the information in AHS' possession, I find that the leak claim was rightfully denied.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD CORPORATION


**********
Customer & Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist


12/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Repair unfinished for 3 weeks.

Begin forwarded message:

From: **** ***** <******@muyexclusivo.com>
Subject: Complaint - 3 weeks without resolution + mistake by AHS- ref #304-334-982
Date: November 13, 2014 1:57:17 PM GMT-03:00
To: ******.*****@servicemaster.com, ***************@servicemaster.com,*****.*****@ahs.com, m*****@ahs.com
Cc: *****************@servicemaster.com

To whom it may concern:

-Oct 24 reported major flooding in the house due to a water coil that broke inside the heat unit

-Took 12 HOURS for the A/C contractor to show up.

-Contractor diagnosed problem and AHS sent email to us confirming repair and replacement of unit.

-We paid the contractor $625 additional for "modifications needed" not covered by AHS

-Nov 6 contractor informed AHS shipped the wrong piece of equipment, awaiting for new equipment to arrive

-Nov 12 Contractor informed that now AHS decided to close the case and send me the money to do the repair bec it exceeds limit???


This is completely unacceptable corporate behavior and disaster customer service. You had ALREADY approved the repair and almost 3 WEEKS later you decide that you will not do the job and send me money?

I just talked to your customer representative*******, and she could not even tell me what is the amount you cover an when to expect payment?

I informed several times that I am currently out of the country and needed to be contacted by email, and have not received any communications.

There is a single mother with a 7-month old child that has been out of the house for 3 weeks living in a hotel.

At this point we will not wait furthermore, and expect an answer from you in the next 3 hours otherwise I will report you to the Better Business Bureau, Nevada Chamber of Commerce and kept the right to pursue legal assistance.

You can reach me by email or by phone +****************.


Sincerely,



MUY EXCLUSIVO
HOTELES & LIFESTYLE

**** *****
Director

Argentina: *************
USA: ************
Email: ******@muyexclusivo.com

Desired Settlement
Full completion of work ASAP, without ANY additional payments.

Compensation of lost rent in the house for $965

compensation of $625 paid to contractor for"modifications"

Business Response
November 19, 2014

Ms.***** *****
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: **** *****, AHS Plan No. 156210222; BBB Case No. 40101097

Dear Ms. *****:

American Home Shield ("AHS") is in receipt of your letter advising of the above referenced complaint. Your letter has been forwarded to me for review and response.

AHS' Executive Relations Department is currently working directly with Mr. ***** in an attempt to amicably resolve this matter. The Executive Relations Representative will continue to follow up directly with Mr. ***** until the matter has been resolved.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD CORPORATION



***********
Customer and Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist







12/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract # 151892112, regarding iilnvoice 682748442. I agree that the solar valve was not covered under the contract, but I was still billed for $100
I have paid the contractor Leasure Time water in full for the repair cost of $265 accordint to their invoice. They do not require the additonal payment of $100. I have called AHS many times, but I do not get any help. The $100 service fee for the not covered contract should be credited back to me. attached is the bill
Note; I am very disapointed in the way AHS customer service has been handling this issue.

INVOICE NUMBER: 14082701COD
CUSTOMER NAME AND ADDRESS: ******* ********
************, Ca., 92029

QTY UNIT PRICE TOTAL PRICE
1 ea GVA 24 Solar valve actuator $190.00 $190.00

LABOR RATE NUMBER HOURS TOTAL LABOR
$75.00 1 $75.00

TOTAL PARTS $190.00
TOTAL LABOR $75.00
SERVICE FEE
TOTAL INVOICE $265.00

Desired Settlement
I would like AHS to contact******** time water, clear this issue and refund me the $100 service fee I have paid to AHS. According to their invoice the total amount owed for the repair service is $265.00 (not covered by AHS)which I have paid in full including service fee.

Business Response
November 12, 2014

Ms. **********
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: ****** ********; AHS Home Protection Plan No. 151892112; Complaint Case No. 40100942

Dear Ms.******:

American Home Shield ("AHS") is in receipt of your letter dated November 7, 2014, advising of the above referenced complaint. The letter has been forwarded to me for review and response.

I have reviewed AHS' records regarding Mr. ********'s pool claim. AHS dispatched Leasure Time Water to diagnose the problem with the pool plumbing. On September 2, 2014, the technician reported to AHS that the actuator on the solar pool plumbing failed. Section I-1e of Mr. ********'s AHS plan provides that this contract does not cover solar systems and components. Therefore, AHS is rightfully not responsible or liable for the repair of the actuator for the solar pool plumbing.

Section D-1 of Mr. ********'s AHS plan states that the plan holder is required to pay a trade service call fee for each trade service request the plan holder submits to AHS. The $100.00 trade service call fee was rightfully due on this plumbing claim. However, as a one-time courtesy AHS has waived the $100.00 trade service call fee for this claim. AHS is refunding the $100.00 trade service call fee Mr. ******** paid to AHS and he will receive the check in the amount of $100.00 in approximately four weeks. Therefore, it appears this matter has been resolved.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD OF CALIFORNIA, INC.


***** ****
Customer & Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like to speak to the AHS customer resolution specialist, to be cleared of the response. As I mentioned on my original claim, I have paid the ***************** in full which is includs the service fee. If AHS is not responsible for the service, why have I been charged with the service fee. My phone number is (************)

Final Business Response
November 25, 2014

Ms. **********
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: ****** ********; AHS Home Protection Plan No. 151892112; Complaint Case No. 40100942

Dear Ms.******:

American Home Shield ("AHS") is in receipt of your letter dated November 20, 2014, regarding the above referenced complaint.

Please be advised that the AHS trade service call fee is rightfully due on each service request placed under the AHS plan whether the service is approved or denied. However, as stated in AHS' letter dated November 12, 2014, AHS has waived the $100.00 trade service call on the pool claim and Mr. ******** will receive a refund check in the amount of $100.00 in approximately two weeks.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD OF CALIFORNIA, INC.


***** ****
Customer & Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist

Page 1 of 699
11/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Under my new home warranty with AHS, I am covered for repair of my double ovens which have been out for months now. I immediately reported to AHS.
As soon as my oven stopped working, I called AHS and they dispatched****** technician to come to house. He did and did not think the problem would be fixed by his first option but we agreed to try it. He ordered a new part, came back and part sent was incorrect. He ordered another part and came back-still incorrect. He followed up with service dept and they do not make the color we have any longer. I called AHS to tell them and to request that we file a claim to get a new one. When I did not hear from them, I called again and AHS person said they would have to contact sears. Again no follow up. Called again-salesperson insisted she would call sears and contact me immediately-again no call. I called again today after months of no oven in my home-she promised to call sears and call me back today. Under my warranty, I should receive a new appliance regardless of the age of mine. I have a feeling that this will be put off by AHS until my warranty expires next month. I have tried to resolve via website and phone (which I am often on hold for up to 1/2 hr before someone calls on the line.
When I called for a leak in the roof on another occasion, I was told that they would send out a plumber-I explained this was a roof leak not a plumbing issue. The AHS rep proceeded to call a plumber who when I told him the issue, laughed at me and of course did not make a service call.I was told the water damage would be covered by AHS by the rep bit when I called back again after the plumber refused to make a service call, I was told that in fact this was not covered. When my dishwasher was acting up, I was then told this appliance was not covered. Net I am not able to receive reliable and accurate info from the AHS call center and no resolution to a problem which IS covered.

Desired Settlement
I am entitled to a replacement on my double ovens or at least a sizeable portion of replacement costs if I choose to upgrade this appliance.

I would also like clarification on my dishwasher coverage since I was under the impression that kitchen appliances fridge, oven, range, etc. are covered items.

Business Response
October 21, 2014

Ms. **** *****
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: ***** ******; AHS Home Protection Plan No. 140941002; Complaint Case No. 40100305

Dear Ms. *****:

American Home Shield ("AHS") is in receipt of your letter dated October 14, 2014, advising of the above referenced complaint. The letter has been forwarded to me for review and response.

I have reviewed AHS' records regarding Ms. ******'s oven claim. On May 18, 2014, AHS dispatched ***** to diagnose the problem with the oven. No diagnosis was reported to AHS by *****. In order to resolve this matter AHS has transferred the service request to ********************** LLC to verify the diagnosis on the oven. Once ********************** LLC has completed the diagnosis on the oven, AHS will advise Ms. ****** of AHS' position regarding the oven claim.

On May 18, 2014, AHS dispatched******** ***** Plumbing and Heating LLC to diagnose the leak problem in the home. The service request was cancelled as the problem was a roof leak and not a plumbing issue. Roof leaks are not covered under the plumbing coverage. Additionally, AHS does not cover for the repair of or compensation for any water damage. Section I-6c of Ms. ******'s AHS plan provides that AHS is not responsible or liable for repairs or replacements when the malfunction is due to water damage. Therefore, AHS is rightfully not responsible or liable for the repair of a roof leak or any secondary damage that incurred as result of the roof leak.

Please be advised that the appliance coverage Ms. ****** purchased under the AHS plan is for the dishwasher, range hood exhaust fan, trash compactor, cook top/range, oven, and microwave.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD CORPORATION


**********
Customer & Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
After the initial oven complaint, I called AHS no less than three additional times to resolve the issue. Each time I was advised that AHS would contact ***** ASAP and return a call to me updating me of status. No such call was made and I was responsible for following up.***** appliance set up an appointment and was a no show. They called a week later and did assess the oven. I have received no call or update from AHS on the status of this call. I feel that we are in a vicious cycle here as with *****.

Final Business Response
November 14, 2014

Ms. **** *****
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: ***** ******; AHS Home Protection Plan No. 140941002; Complaint Case No. 40100305

Dear Ms. *****:

American Home Shield ("AHS") is in receipt of your letter dated November 11, 2014, regarding the above referenced complaint.

AHS does apologize for Ms. ******'s frustration; however, please be advised that no extension of the coverage period will be provided to Ms. ******'s AHS plan. Ms. ****** chose to proceed with the rebuild of the control board for the oven. The rebuild requires that the control board be pulled and sent to the specialist for rebuild. Once the specialist completes the rebuild the control board is sent back to be reinstalled. Section I-8 of Ms. ******'s AHS is not responsible or liable for secondary, incidental, and/or consequential loss or damage resulting from the malfunction of any covered item, or a service contractor's neglect or delay in providing, or failure to provide, repair or replacement of such item, including, but not limited to, food spoilage, loss of income, utility bills, additional living expenses, personal and/or property damage. Section I-9 of Ms. ******'s AHS is not responsible or liable for any delay in service or failure to provide service caused by conditions beyond AHS' control. Therefore, AHS admits no liability with respect to any delay in the service.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD CORPORATION


**********
Customer & Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist

11/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
HI,

I have used AHS for my AC unit. I had them come 4 times within a 6 month period fixing the same unit just on separate occasions.
I called to get my AC unit repaired, the guy came out and fixed one part of the outside upstairs unit and said the freon level was fine, exactly 62 days later the unit went out again, the same company came out again and fixed the same part again and than replaced an additional part and than said your freon level is low, so we filled it up (We had to pay the service charge again and had to pay the bulk cost of the freon level too). Again about 70 days later the unit went out again, same system and same outside machine. He came out and said your freon level is low and needed to be filled, again we pay to refill the unit and again 2 days later the machine stopped working again, I told him what was happening he basically just walked right to it without checking anything went in there and replaced another part in the same system. He basically knew the issue but wanted to charge me for the freon again as he said that would fix the issue. Took 3 service charges and 9 lbs of freon filling and 4 visits to fix the system which should have been done on the very first trip. They just keep coming out and changing one part at a time. I am seeking reimbursement for two of the trips and the freon charges as I feel since AHS does not cover that item, every AC guy comes out to say freon level is low so you can pay them the money to fill it up. Every time a person came out, they tried selling you a new unit, "oh you should upgrade, we have a special for $100/month etc" I tried contacting customer relations and left them 4 voicemails in the last 2 weeks with no return call.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking 2 service charge refunds at $75ea and 9 lbs of freon repayment as the issue had nothing to do with the freon but with the actual unit that needed the parts to be fixed. The companies you guys send are not tested for accuracy which you guys need to do as it affects your customers pocket. If I paying you guys $700/yr plus I have already paid $700 in AC unit repairs with companies that come out and try to sell you a new unit every time.

Business Response
November 12, 2014

Ms. **** *****
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: *********************, AHS Plan No. 152071212; BBB Case No. 40100885

Dear Ms. *****:

American Home Shield ("AHS") is in receipt of your letter advising of the above referenced complaint. Your letter has been forwarded to me for review and response.

On April 29, 2014, AHS dispatched****** ***, Inc. to diagnose and repair any covered problems with two (2) air conditioning systems. Section D of the AHS plan provides that you are required to pay a trade service call fee for each trade service request you submit to AHS; and that if a particular repair or replacement fails within 60 days, AHS will send a service contractor to repair the failure and you will not be charged an additional trade service call fee. Section E-1 states that AHS will pay up to $10 per pound per occurrence for refrigerant, and that the customer is responsible for payment of any costs in excess of $10 per pound.

On July 7, 2014, AHS dispatched****** ***, Inc. to diagnose and repair any covered problems with an air conditioning system. As referenced above, a trade service call fee was due. The computer records indicate that the service contractor replaced the start and run capacitors on the air conditioning system and added four (4) pounds of refrigerant. On September 28, 2014, ***** ***, Inc. was dispatched to diagnose and repair any covered problems with an air conditioning system. According to the provisions of the plan referenced above, Ms.********** was responsible for a trade service call fee and any refrigerant costs exceeding the contract limit.

Please be advised that AHS will continue to repair any covered item until it has been reported that the covered item is no longer repairable and needs to be replaced. Should ********************* encounter any future problems with the air conditioning systems, she may contact AHS' Service Department directly at 1-800-******** for further assistance. AHS does apologize for Ms.**********'s frustration regarding this matter.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD OF TEXAS, INC.



**** ******
Customer and Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist





Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes I know what work was done to the home as I was here on all 6 days for them to fix the same issue just on different days. Took 6 days off of work to fix an issue that could have been fixed on the very first stop. Everytime the service guy comes out they try to sell me a new unit and just say this unit is old and needs to be replaced.

The bottom line is the samething broke 3 times and I had to make 3 service calls instead of 1 costing me $150 extra and I had to pay for freon twice as they "claim" the level was low, but when the first guy came he said its fine, the second guy said it was low (about 65 days after first visit) and the 3rd guy said it was low (after 70 days after the 2nd guy visited). These companies just lie to you to get you to pay for an item that they know we need but you guys dont cover to make money. They are not honest and AHS should be responsible for this.

11/20/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refusal to replace a defective product when the warranty states they will fix or replace a defective appliance.
Have an oven that isn't cooking properly and also reaches extremely hot temperatures on the outside of the oven. It has no calibration feature and is not working properly in cooking our food. I have never encountered an oven that is able to burn and blister fingers on the outside of the oven before. My 1 year old daughter has blisters resulting from touching it. Called AHS to get someone out to look and see why this oven is doing this and also to see if they can fix it. AHS sent 1st repairman that stated he agreed of the danger of this oven and its defective nature and told AHS they needed to replace it. AHS sent a second opinion and he also called AHS and stated the same thing. AHS has denied the replacement of the oven, even though in their warranty policy we can find several places that either give us coverage of this. We have taken it to several different members, asked to speak with supervisors, and have gotten nothing but rude and berating representatives. HORRIBLE customer service.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking either monetary funds to replace the oven, or a new replacement for this oven as stated per the warranty paperwork.

Business Response
November 10, 2014

Ms. **** *****
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: **************, AHS Plan No. 145954662; BBB Case No. 40100816

Dear Ms. *****:

American Home Shield ("AHS") is in receipt of your letter advising of the above referenced complaint. Your letter has been forwarded to me for review and response.

AHS dispatched two different companies to diagnose any problems with Ms.********' oven. It was reported to AHS that there were no mechanical failures with the oven and that due to the manufacturer's design there was no insulation in the oven door. Because there were no malfunctions with the oven, no repairs were authorized. Section A-2 of the AHS plan provides coverage for normal wear and tear malfunctions. Section I-6e provides that AHS is not responsible or liable for repairs or replacements when the malfunction is due to a manufacturer's use of improper design, improper materials or formulations, a defective manufacturing process, or other manufacturing defects. Based on the terms of the plan, AHS has rightfully upheld its warranty obligations. In an attempt to amicably resolve this matter, AHS is sending Ms.******** a $75.00 trade service call fee reimbursement the week of December 1, 2014.

The computer records indicate that on November 6, 2014, a recall was placed and The Repair Center was dispatched back to the home to diagnose any further problems with the oven. AHS will make a coverage decision based on the detailed information that is reported by the service contractor. Ms.******** may contact AHS' Service Department directly at 1-800-776-4663 for any further assistance regarding this matter. Ms.********' AHS plan has been cancelled per request and according to the provisions of Section L-4. Ms.******** will receive correspondence directly from AHS' Cancellation Department regarding this matter.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD OF TEXAS, INC.



***********
Customer and Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have requested another opinion on the oven, we did not authorize cancellation of our policy , but received a notice stating it was cancelled per our request. When we discussed cancellation with the company, it was left unresolved because we requested our entire payment back, not a prorated rate. The man did not listen, he told me he would escalate our request on to a higher manager because I did not accept cancellation with the prorated amount. We would like to be reinstated to our policy so we can get this oven issue resolved with another opinion

Final Business Response
November 20, 2014

Ms. **** *****
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: **************, AHS Plan No. 145954662; BBB Case No. 40100816

Dear Ms. *****:

AHS is in receipt of your letter dated November 17, 2014, enclosing additional correspondence from Ms.********.

As previously stated, The Repair Center was dispatched back to the home to diagnose any further problems with the oven. It was reported to AHS that the thermostat had failed and AHS has authorized the thermostat to be rebuilt according to the provisions of Section A-4. In the alternative, Ms.******** was also offered the option of a cash reimbursement based on AHS' repair costs in lieu of the oven repairs and according to the provisions of Section A-5c. Ms.******** can contact AHS' Purchasing Department directly at 1-800-******** (option 3) for any further assistance regarding the oven repairs and/or cash reimbursement option.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD OF TEXAS, INC.



***********
Customer and Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist


10/09/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AHS failed to execute the contract agreement. They unreasonably denied my AC replacement request.
I have paid AHS insurance for many years. One of my AC units stopped working due to Freon leaking. I requested the service and was told the unit needs to be replaced. However, AHS denied the replacement with the reason that the unit was not properly maintained. I did maintain the unit by changing the air filter every 3-6 months. The dirtiness of the coil is not the direct cause of the Freon leakage. This is a 17 year old air conditioning unit. The Freon leakage is due to the age of the unit.

AHS doesn't want to pay the replacement cost and is using arbitrary reasons to deny the customer replacement request.

According to the contract, the unit should be covered because when the contract was renewed on January 2014, the unit was in good condition. If AHS believes that the unit was not properly maintained and can not be covered by the contract, it should not have renewed my contract in January 2014.

Desired Settlement
I want AHS to replace my failed unit as soon as possible.

Business Response
September 24, 2014

Ms.***********
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: **********; AHS Home Protection Plan No. 139943372; Complaint Case No. 40099513

Dear Ms.******:

American Home Shield ("AHS") is in receipt of your letter dated September 15, 2014, advising of the above referenced complaint. The letter has been forwarded to me for review and response.

I have reviewed AHS' records regarding Ms.****'s air conditioning systems. On September 1, 2014, AHS dispatched Airtronics, Inc. to diagnose the problem with the air conditioning systems. On September 4, 2014, the technician reported to AHS that the evaporator coils for both the upstairs and downstairs air conditioning systems were leaking due to lack of maintenance on the systems. Section H-7 of Ms.****'s AHS plan provides that AHS is not responsible or liable for repair of conditions or replacement caused by failure to clean or maintain. Section H-9 of Ms.****'s AHS plan provides that AHS does not perform routine maintenance. The plan holder is responsible for providing maintenance and cleaning on covered items as specified by the manufacturer to ensure continued coverage on such items. For example: heating and air conditioning systems require periodic cleaning and/or replacement of filters and cleaning of evaporator and condenser coils. Therefore, AHS is rightfully not responsible or liable for the repair and/or replacement of the air conditioning systems.

Ms.**** disputed the diagnosis and in order to verify the diagnosis AHS dispatched Mann Air Conditioning and Heating Inc. to run a second opinion service request on the air conditioning systems. On September 11, 2014, the technician with Mann Air Conditioning and Heating Inc. reported to AHS that the evaporator coil for the upstairs air conditioning system was leaking due to lack of maintenance. The technician also reported that the evaporator coil for the downstairs air conditioning system needed to be cleaned. Therefore, based on Sections H-7 and H-9 of Ms.****'s AHS plan as mentioned above, I find that AHS rightfully denied the repair of the upstairs air conditioning system and the cleaning of the downstairs air conditioning system.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD OF TEXAS, INC.


**********
Customer & Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear Ms.******,

I have paid for American Home Shield Home warranty for eight years. In the past eight years, I had many service requests. But none of the contractors from AHS that responded to the service call told me that the AC unit needed maintenance. Even during the latest service on June 9, 2014, the technician from AHS didn't tell me that my AC needed maintenance.

Further more, according to the contract, if the AC was still functional when the contract was renewed in January, it should be covered. They never sent a technician to check the AC unit for the eligibility of the coverage when contract was renewed. The company just can not saying that the unit is eligible when they renewed my contract but saying not eligible when I need services. Shouldn't the technician from AHS report to me of my AC status in past eight years for my services request and told me of my unit was lack of maintenance before?

This AC is 17 years old. The reason of the failure of the AC is its age. The company just used every possible excuses to deny my request.

I strongly disagree their decision and ask them to replace my unit.

Thanks and Best Regards,
**********

Final Business Response
October 9, 2014

Ms.***********
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: **********; AHS Home Protection Plan No. 139943372; Complaint Case No. 40099513

Dear Ms.******:

American Home Shield ("AHS") is in receipt of your letter dated October 1, 2014, regarding the above referenced complaint.

AHS does apologize for Ms.****'s frustration regarding the air conditioning systems; however, please be advised that AHS' letter dated September 24, 2014, accurately and correctly states AHS' position based on the terms of the AHS plan. Therefore, AHS' position remains unchanged and nothing further will be done by AHS.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD OF TEXAS, INC.


**********
Customer & Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist

10/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My contract has been breached.AHS is refusing to honor their part of the contract with no written explanation for the violation as I have requested.
Dear Sir/Madam, below is the Complaint letter I had sent to AHS 8/12/14. (minus my name/contact #'s)It explains my Complaint and what I am going through with AHS. After this letter, a ****** called me back holding to the position that these items are code items, upgrades and modifications which I contend are not. Please let me know if the letter below is sufficient for your assessment. I will be able to fax the contract when requested. Thank you.

************, PA 19090
Work order Dispatch Number: *********, Contract # 149322842

COMPLAINT LETTER SENT TO COMPANY:

Dear Sir/Madam:
I am writing to inform AHS that I believe my contract has been breached. I have been asked to pay for Parts and components of a water heater which are covered as per my contract.
contact states:

Water Heater(Gas,Elect,or oil)
COVERED: All components and parts, including circulating pumps, except
NOT COVERED:Solar water heater,solar components-Ancillary holding or storage tanks-Noise-fuel storage tank & energy conservation unit-fuel & vents-Thermal Expansn tanks-instant hot water dispenser.

I was informed that the Gas Valve, Drip Leg and T & P drop tube are considered upgrades and code regulated items. No one has been able to refer me to the city/township code regulations that specify these items as upgrades. The only item my township considers an upgrade is the expansion tank which I am not contesting. I contend that the Gas Valve, Drip Leg and the T & P are parts and components of a water heater. A gas water heater cannot be installed without these parts and components.
I have been with AHS for about eight years and I must say that this ordeal has been extremely painful for me. The back and forth with all your staff has been grueling. It is hard for a regular citizen to contest with a big company like yours but it is right to stand up for what you believe is right hence I am pursing this.
I urge AHS to look into this matter and refund my out of pocket expenses for parts and components of a water heater that should be covered as per my contract.
If you contend that these items are not covered,
1/ Please provide me with the section of my contract that states that these items are not covered
2/ If this has to do with city/township regulation, please provide me with the reference regulation codes that determine that these items are upgrades.
3/ I would also like a listing of all parts and components of a water heater that are covered (these are not currently spelt out in the contract)
In spite of all of the above, I would like to acknowledge one of your employees a******** *. I believe she is in your retention department. I had called to cancel my contract and actually changed my mind after speaking with her. I thank her for her tone and strategy to calm a tense situation. She was able to line up different options etc. to keep a customer; which other staff members could not do. Please let her know I appreciate her customer service. (A valued employee I must say)
If I may suggest, in the future ( 2015-16 Contracts):
a/ Add all items not covered to the list of "not covered" as shown above. The gas valve, D/leg & T&P etc. that do not currently show as not covered.
b/ The statement "Covered: All components and parts, including circulating pumps..." is misleading and untrue if you require your customers to pay for some components and parts as you have required me to do. You may want to say "Some components and parts ..........."
I will expect to hear from you and expect a refund check for the gas valve, drip leg and T &P as soon as possible. Thank you.

Sincerely,
*****

Cc: Complaints
American Home Shield
P.O. Box****
Carroll, IA 51401-9901

****************
Initial Charge of total $675 before cost was dropped to $450. The breakdown of cost of $450 was not provided to me but I wanted you to have this reference.
Expansion Tank $275, Gas Valve, $150, T & P $75 and removal of old water heater $100.

Desired Settlement
As per justice and principle,it is only fair that they refund the money for the three items which I contend are parts and components of a water heater and are thus covered as per the contract.

Business Response
August 28, 2014

**. **** *****
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: ************; AHS Home Protection Plan No. 149322842; Complaint Case No. 40098892

Dear **. *****:

American Home Shield ("AHS") is in receipt of your letter dated August 25, 2014, advising of the above referenced complaint. The letter has been forwarded to me for review and response.

I have reviewed AHS' records regarding **.*******'s water heater claim. AHS dispatched ***** *****************, LLC to diagnose the problem with the water heater. On August 5, 2014, the technician reported that the water heater tank was leaking due to normal wear and tear. AHS authorized the replacement of the water heater.

In order for the technician with ***** *****************, LLC to complete the installation of the new water heater to meet the current codes and based on the terms of the AHS plan **.******* was advised that she would be responsible for the cost to dispose of the old water heater ($100.00), install the expansion tank to code ($275.00), install the gas valve to code ($150.00), install the drip leg to code ($75.00), and install the temperature and pressure drop tube to code ($75.00). Section H-2 of **.*******'s AHS plan provides that the plan holder may be charged an additional fee by the service contractor to dispose of an old appliance, system or component, including, but not limited to, water heaters. Section I of **.*******'s AHS plan provides that AHS is not responsible for any upgrades, work, testing or costs required to comply with any federal, state, or local laws, regulations or ordinances or utility regulations, or to meet current building or zoning code requirements, or to correct for code violations. Section H-8 of **.*******'s AHS plan also provides that AHS is not responsible or liable for the cost of construction, carpentry, or other modifications made necessary by the existing equipment or installing different equipment. Therefore, AHS is rightfully not responsible or liable for the additional cost with respect to the installation of the new water heater.

**.******* disputed the additional cost and in order to amicably resolve the matter ***** *****************, LLC advised AHS that they reduced the additional costs from $675.00 to $450.00. AHS admits no liability with respect to the additional costs **.******* incurred with respect to the installation of the new water heater and no reimbursement will be provided by AHS.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD CORPORATION


**********
Customer & Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Good day **. *****,

I thank the BBB for looking into my case and for your help in resolving this unfortunate incidence. Sadly, AHS is not addressing the issue at hand. AHS in their response point to items I am not questioning. I am not contending the amount for the disposal of the water heater or the expansion tank as in my research I know that my contract states I may be responsible for its removal and also in calling my township about regulatory codes/upgrades on water heaters found out that the expansion tank is a township upgrade required item but not the three items in question.

AHS continues to group the 3 items in question as upgrades and regulatory items but has not been able to provide the reference from any city, state or local laws or ordinances that state that the drip leg, the Temperature and pressure drop tube, the gas valve are upgrades or regulatory items. These items are parts and components of a water heater. You cannot fix a water heater without these parts and components. It is not right to point to a non existent law to make money off of customers.

AHS has not responded to questions.

1/ If this has to do with city/township regulation, please provide me with the reference regulation codes that determine that these items are upgrades.

2/ I would also like a listing of all parts and components of a water heater that are covered (these are not currently spelt out in the contract) The 3 items I contend are not listed as exclusions under parts and components not covered.

3/ Please provide me with the section of my contract that states that these items are not covered. (see under water heater)

From Contract:
Water Heater(Gas,Elect,or oil)
COVERED: All components and parts, including circulating pumps, except
NOT COVERED:Solar water heater,solar components-Ancillary holding or storage tanks-Noise-fuel storage tank & energy conservation unit-fuel & vents-Thermal Expansn tanks-instant hot water dispenser.

This has been a very painful ordeal for me. big establishments should not take advantage of regular citizens. AHS refers to reducing the cost of total amount paid. They do not tell you the pain I had to go through to challenge the initial total cost which was obviously unfair when you compare the cost of the items at the regular stores. I had called ********** and ***** to get pricing and I found out that AHS was going to charge more than double the cost and I challenged the inflation hence the total cost was reduced.

This complaint is not about reducing cost it is about the truth and abiding by contracts. Reducing the total cost does not make the items in question an upgrade by city or local laws or an exclusion of parts and components.

I will appreciate your continued investigation and answers from AHS to my questions above.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

************





Final Business Response
September 11, 2014

**. **** *****
BBB of the Mid-South
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

RE: ************; AHS Home Protection Plan No. 149322842; Complaint Case No. 40098892

Dear **. *****:

American Home Shield ("AHS") is in receipt of your letter dated September 3, 2014, regarding the above referenced complaint.

Please be advised that AHS' letter dated August 28, 2014 advises where in **.*******'s AHS plan she can find that the cost for any code upgrade (Section I), modification to equipment (Section H-8) and/or disposal (Section H-2) is not covered under the AHS plan. If **.******* has specific questions about these non-covered items quoted by ***** ***************** LLC she will need to contact ***** ***************** LLC directly for the regulation code number for city, state or national codes.

Additionally, AHS does not have the ability to regulate what ***** ************* LLC or any other service contractor can charge for items that are not covered under the AHS plan.

**.*******'s water heater coverage is listed under Section E-3 of her AHS plan. However, all service requests are subject to the terms and limitations of the entire AHS plan. Enclosed is a copy of **.*******'s AHS plan.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

AMERICAN HOME SHIELD CORPORATION


**********
Customer & Regulatory Claim Resolution Specialist

Enclosure

Page 1 of 179

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/09/1995Business started: 01/02/1971Business started locally: 08/19/1986
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark J. Barry (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Lynn Schroeder (Claims Management)Mr. Tom Courtney (Vice President and Division General Counsel)Mr. Cary McGuckin (Director of Digital Strategy & Marketing)
Business Category

Real Estate Maintenance Protection Plan, Insurance Companies

Products & Services

This company offers home warranty insurance.

Alternate Business Names
Prestige Home Service, Prestige Home Warranty, AHS, Home Protection One Corporation, Service Home Guard
Industry Tips
Automobile Insurance
Fraudulent Health Insurance a Growing Problem
Home Warranties
Travel Insurance - Is it Necessary?
Will Your Auto Insurance Weather the Storm?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Home Shield

889 Ridge Lake Blvd

Memphis, TN 38120

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Home Shield is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (901) 597-8000
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.