BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1991

MAA

Phone: (901) 682-6600Fax: (901) 682-6667

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

Customer Complaints Summary

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues10
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints21

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (21)BBB Closure Definitions
07/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of repair

Complaint: Sink in the master bedroom has been clogged for 6 days now. Made service request have yet to get a repairman sent here. Outside debris are in sink now
On Monday 6/16/2014 around 8am the sink in my master bedroom became clogged and would not drain. By 12noon of the same day the sink was still filled with water so I called the leasing office to put in a service request. On the next day I called around 12noon again to check on the status of my repair. I was told that the initial service request was not entered into the computer system, and that they were not aware of the status. I then proceeded to file a new service request, and was told that someone from maintenance would be at my apartment either that afternoon or the next morning. It is now Saturday night and my sink is still clogged. And for some strange reason there are now outside debris and dirt that have pushed up into my sink and are still inside of it. After me contacting the leasing office at least 2-3 times a day, attempting to reach the property manager three times, and filing two complaints with the corporate office I am still left with a problem that has not been resolved. On Friday the repairman came and left, but he did not fix anything nor did he leave any type of notation stating that he had come or if he would be back. The only way I knew he stopped by is because my roommate happened to be leaving the apartment at the same time he was walking inside. I am upset because not one person from the office has tried to reach out to me nor have they been of much assistance. Every time I call I am promised that a repairman will be on his way shortly or that someone will call me back. I can understanding having to wait 24hours on a service request to be completed, but this is nearing a week of me using my bath tub as a sink. The management on this property and the employees are unprofessional 8 times out of 10. But this situation has taken their lack of compassion towards their residents to a new level. Please assist me in solving this issue. No one wants to use or even be in the vicinity of a bathroom sink with leaves, small sticks, bubbles, and dirt floating around.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Sr. Property
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@maac.com
This work was completed on Monday 6/16/14. Our Service Manager went over again today to make sure they were happy. The resident said she satisfied with the completion.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response from the business is completely untrue. My sink was broken from 6/16-6/23. I have a picture with a timestamp plus call log records to prove that this statement is also incorrect. In addition to this, I have not spoken with anyone since the repair was completed. Therefore, I did not let anyone know that I was "satisfied with the work". This situation here is a direct example as to why I reached out to BBB in the first place.******, the property manager, never called me back after I attempted to reach her over three times and left messages for her with her staff. This apartment complex clearly is not concerned with their residents and will say anything to clear their name.

Final Business Response
Ms. ******* told me she was satisfied with the work that was completed. I offered her a good faith gesture of a $100 credit towards her rent due to these issues. Ms. *******'s account was credited and she told me she was satified.

06/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Resident referral fee.
As you enter the street that leads to the leasing office of ********** apartments, you will come upon a sign that says "resident referral $200.00"
When my niece and her boyfriend moved into the complex, I decided to take advantage of this offer.
On February 21st, I sat down with one of the women who works in the leasing office and gave her all the required information to receive my fee.
I was told it takes from 2 to 6 weeks to receive a
check.I waited 6 weeks and did not receive a check, so, I called the office and was told that the checks were no longer issued by the leasing office, but the corporate office instead, and that I would need to contact them. When I spoke with someone
From corporate, I was told checks don't come from corporate and that I would need to speak with the apartment management.
I received a call from the apartment manager, (*****)she asked me had I received my check; I said no, and then she told me I should check my mail.
Well, I checked my mail for next few weeks, and still had no check. I called corporate and logged a complaint and was
Told someone would give me a call. Again, weeks pass and finally got a call from someone at the MAA offices, she ask me had
I received my check; I said no. She said she would get back with me. That was yesterday (6/5/2014) At this point I feel like I'm being unfairly treated and no one
Can seem to provide me with any answers, I just get passed around from one person to the next. I NEED HELP.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Email: ***********@maac.com
Mr. ***** will receive a credit towards his rent for $200. we do not cut check anymore for referral fees. Thanks!

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized repair

Complaint: Year old carpet and padding was replaced with new carpet due to a stain by the door and padding replacement done adding to cost when not needed.
Upon moving into ***** station, **** ******* (Mgmt. Team) had told us that apt **** windmill lane apt 3 was just fit with brand new carpeting To which my roommate's and I were very excited. **** was very nice and accommodating upon moving in and me and my roommate had a friendly relationship with her. when I made a fairly large stain right by the front door in December of 2013, I went to see **** in her office and showed her pictures and let her know what happened. She informed me that since it was right be the door it wouldn't be a problem because it could "be replaced with tile or because it is new carpet we can cut up that portion and replace it" I offered to have it taken care of prior to moving out to which she replied do not worry about it. Right around 3 months passed and it was time to move out and we moved out. Around 2 weeks later we both get a bill stating reasonable cleaning fees (oven, fridge etc.) but along with a 1141.58 invoice for carpet replacement with a note saying "I hope he(myself *****) chooses to do the right thing and pay within 30 days before sending it to collections. The invoice for the carpet repair was not given and I had to ask for it in person 2 days ago. Upon reviewing the invoice the carpet was repaired yes along with the entire padding underneath the carpet. It was completely replaced before we both moved it and completely replaced before someone moved in. I have an issue with 230.69 cents for the "pad and cap n track" which were in perfect shape upon leaving. I did leave a stain and take responsibility for the replacement of carpet, however, I am being charged more than I should have been as well as when I brought the issue to **** ******** there was no follow up leading to this end result of paying for entire carpet replacement.

Initial Business Response
The situation has been researched and Kirby Station will refund half of the cost of the carpet replacement as requested.

03/26/2014Billing / Collection Issues
06/13/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 4
07/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: My vehicle was damaged by flooding along with several others in the complex.I notified the management that day. To date I have not had any response.
My vehicle was damaged in flooding caused by poor drainage in the parking lot.This issue has been ongoing according to other tenants.Several of us are without vehicles caused by this neglience.They have yet to address this issue with us.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@maac.com
An incident report will be created and I have contacted Ms. ******* to let her know. She has insurance with************. She wants to be contacted by our insurance company. I told her I would put that in my report.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ms****** did indeed call me with a response Thursday . She seemed very insensitive .She did not offer any concern for my problem What she stated was she would fill out an incident report and contact the property insurance company. I didnt ask her too However I am still angry that it took her that long to respond to me The drainage problem on the property is still the same.No indication that it will ever be repaired.

Final Business Response
Over the last few years work has been done on the drainage/creek that runs through the community by both*********** and the City of********. The City has a plan in place to make further improvements over the next few years. There has been no significant flooding incident since the last work was completed until the weekend of June 28th and 29th when there was a "torrential" rain event that caused widespread flash flooding in******** and the mid-south. We have notified our insurance company of the damage to Ms *******'s vehicle that occurred during this flash flood incident and an adjuster will contact her.



07/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
07/26/2011Billing / Collection Issues
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.