BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2014

Crestcore Realty, LLC

Phone: (901) 235-0721Fax: (901) 763-1997

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Upon viewing this home and before givng my deposit I was promised that work would be completed by move in date which was set for 8/15/14. Nothing!!!!
I was set to move in on 8/15/14 and could not move in due to the home still being borded up and the outside of the home looking unfit for my smaller children. I only recieve text messages and only phone calls when I report it being important. I was promised this home would be ready by the move in date being on 8/15/2014. I was told that even though the home is not fixed on the outside and still has boards on the windows and not work being done like promised that I should go ahead and move in. I asked for another home and was turned down after being told yes and I than asked for a refund of my desposit and first months rent. I was told I could not recieve my deposit back and I would only be refunded my first months rent which is total of 1250.00 because the owner was given the deposit already. I have not moved anything in the home. The front storm dooor has no glass, the gate is broken in the back yard, the garage is not fixed, theres a huge hole inside the garage and theres sewer pipes that are busted.

Desired Settlement
I would just like a refund of all funds given to the company. I was told after letting them know that I felt as if this would be a ongoing issue that the company would perfer not to deal with my services anymore.

Business Response
*** *****,

I just received your Complaint Activity Report for Case # 40098812: **** ***** (see attached).

As I always do, I read the complaint, looked through our files so I can understand our side of the story, and then called the tenant to discuss it.

In this case, when I called Ms. **** ***** earlier today (Wednesday, August 27, 2014), she said that we totally resolved her issue on Thursday, August 21, 2014 and that she had contacted the BBB to let you know.

I asked if there was anything else she needed from me and she said, "No."

It is my understanding that the tenant no longer wishes to pursue this complaint as we have met the "Consumer's Desired Resolution."

Thanks for your help in this matter.

******* *********, CPA, CFA
Principal Broker

CrestCore Realty LLC (Licensed in AR, MS, & TN)
5118 Park Avenue, Suite 510 Memphis, TN XXXXX
T 901.550.1998 F 901.763.1997 W www.crestcore.com

08/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1) Submitted $105.00 application fee along w/documents. Due to company error, application wasn't processed in due time. Now refund is denied.
On July 16th I contacted******* w/ Crest Core realty about a 4 bedroom home for rent in***** ****, MS that was listed on their website. Only July the 17th the applications were filled out online.

On July 25th I went into the office and submitted the $105.00 application fee along with the necessary paperwork requested. I was informed that I needed to fax everything else in by that evening. I faxed in everything else needed and received a confirmation that the fax was received. In addition, I text******* (the agent) and she confirmed that as long as I had the confirmation sheet that I was good to go. I was asked to give her until the 28th and we would have an answer on the house.

On July 29th, I was informed that there had been no response on the application as of yet. Then on July 30th I was asked if I paid the application fee of $105.00. When I informed******* that I had paid the application fee and submitted all paperwork,******* asked that I contact the office @ ************. I sent a text to the number asking on the status of the application and I was informed that the information had been misplaced, but it was found and it would be sent in later on that evening on July 30th.

Later on July 30th, I was informed by******* that I needed to send her a current copy of my *******,******,**** and Water bill. I informed******* that I did not have one because I have never lived in *******, TN. I also informed the receptionist of this information when I brought my deposit by the office. I cannot submit a bill for something I have never had. I informed******* and the receptionist at the front desk that I currently have lights in Mississippi. But have never had them in *******, TN.******* informed me that she understood and that she would have an answer for me asap.

On August 1st I contacted******* asking for a status on the application just to be informed that the property had been rented out to someone else. And she then asked if I would be interested in a 3-bedroom home.

I informed******* that I would not like a 3-bedroom home, and that if I wanted a 3-bedroom home that I would have put in an application for one. I needed a 4-bedroom home.

I also pointed out that my application wasn't submitted until almost a week later due to the company misplacing the paperwork which is no fault of mine. Also, due to the miscommunication of the employees within the office (at one point I had to request that******* speak with her co-workers since they work for the same company).

Due to the above, I requested a refund of my application fee. Since it was the fault of the company that it didn't get submitted until 6 days after I paid my application fee. This leads me to believe that the house was already rented, or that my application wasn't worthy to be sent in. How can one accept a money order payment of $105.00 yet not send off the application that same day?

I went onto the Crestcore website and I didn't see anything that says the application fee is non-refundable. I went throughout the website as if I was applying for another house and I still didn't see where on the application form it states that the application fee is non-refundable.

I contacted******* on August 1st requesting a refund, then again on August 2nd. Since I received no response I decided to submit a BBB report in hopes that this matter will be resolved.

Desired Settlement
A refund of the application fee which was $105.00. The application wasn't sent off until almost a week later due to an error on the company's end.

Business Response
**. *****,

Thank you for your letter and Complaint Activity Report for Case #40098383:********** ******. At CrestCore Realty, we always want to know how we are doing and we appreciate customer feedback.

In regards to this particular case, **. ****** never asked to speak with a CrestCore manager or supervisor. If she had, the management representative could easily have handled this dispute.

As soon as we received the official BBB complaint yesterday (Mon 8/11/14), we called **. ****** and refunded her $105.

Attached is the $105 check she picked up this morning (Tue 8/12/14) as well as her signature on the check and a copy of her ID.

According to the Complaint, the Consumer's Desired Resolution is to receive a refund of her $105. Since she picked up the refund this morning, we consider the dispute resolved, don't you?

Thanks so much for your help in resolving this matter. We really appreciate it.

*****************, CPA, CFA
Principal Broker

CrestCore Realty LLC (Licensed in AR, MS, & TN)
5118 Park Avenue, Suite 510 Memphis, TN 38117
T 901.550.1998 F 901.763.1997 W www.crestcore.com

08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Problems with air conditioning unit not working properly.. Unit has been replaced but still not cooling house..
On August 1st , rental payment received in the amount of $1200.. We started moving in on august 3rd, I noticed that the house was hot and thermostat at that time was reading 84 degrees.. I contacted maintenance and received a call and text stating that someone will be out to look at the unit. After tech came out call stating that problem had been taken care of , but to still monitor cooling . Aug 4 , house was cool mid - morning, but returned hot during the day.. Notified maintenance by voicemail and text , spoke with tech that previously came by phone and had stated that he would be out or was going to have unit condemned . Aug 8 contract company tiger paws came out to look at unit, tech stated that they was going to notify the results from them looking at the unit and needed to order parts.. This took place about noon that day. Later on that day I hadn't received any correspondence from the company so I contacted the tech with tiger paws, he informed me that he informed the rental office regarding parts that needed to be ordered. So I left a message again on the maintenance line and texted also. I received a call later that day from ****@crestcore. I informed him of everything that has been taken place and he stated that he would follow up with maintenance.. No call that day, so on Aug 9, texted My fiancee spoke with **** and was informed about the issue..@ this time we thought that we could make it through the night. Night time came and we noticed the temp changing in the house. Aug 10, called maintnance line twice and texted also.. No response as of 3pm today .. I took a picture of th thermostat and it read 85 degrees. I am the mother of 4 kid and we have been dealing with this issue since the 3rd. maintenance # again and response from **** stating that he would get on top of it and call back.. About 11 or 12, tiger paws came with another unit to put outside.. They stayed here about 2 hours connecting the unit.. The house appeared to start getting cool but later that evening, I noticed that the thermostat was on ON and was set to 45 degrees.. After putting it on auto and increasing the temp, about an hour passed and I contacted the maintenance phone again informing them about this problem..

Desired Settlement
To make sure my unit is installed properly so that we can get our house cool and stay cool on a regular basis and to have heat when we need it.

Business Response
*** *****,

I just received your Complaint Activity Report for Case # 40098529: ****** ***** (see attached).

As I always do, I read the complaint, looked through our files so I can understand our side of the story, and then called the tenant to discuss it.

In this case, when I called Ms. ****** ***** earlier today (Friday, August 15, 2014), she said that we totally resolved her A/C issue on Monday, August 11, 2014 and that she had contacted the BBB to let you know.

I asked if there was anything else she needed from me and she said, "No."

It is my understanding that the tenant no longer wishes to pursue this complaint as we have met the "Consumer's Desired Resolution."

Thanks for your help in this matter.

04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
have called to get fiberglass windows throughout the home repaired and no respond back. the window are held together with duct tape
fiber glass has fallen windows need repaired,I texted office on 2/20/14,2/24/14,and 3/17/14 no one respond back.The house needs painted inside and out,tile on porch has come up need repaired,outside fence and gate to backyard,need door in bedroom with secured locks it was kicked in when home was under foreclosure along with the window damages need a door in den area the window was knocked out the outside storm door is securing it as of now.
need kitchen cabinets replaced, the bathroom in master bedroom the sink needs replaced and the wood has rotted out

Desired Settlement
asking for everything to be fixed in a reasonable time and if I have to pay out of pocket I ask to be reimbursed or allowed it to come from the rent.

Business Response
I believe this matter has been resolved with Ms. **** as of Tuesday, April 1, 2014.

Our official response is as follows.

Unfortunately, we have another miscommunication with Ms. ****.

We have no record of any of the requests that she mentions in her most recent complaint (Case #XXXXXXXX). She has not been to our office. She has not written a letter. She has not asked to speak to a supervisor. Furthermore, the phone number she said that she dialed and texted was two digits off of our number.

On three separate occasions since we received this new complaint, we have asked her to forward the alleged texts messages that she sent. She has not been able to reproduce any of them.

Last Friday (3/28/14), I went to her house and inspected the property. Even during that meeting she did not provide me a written list of her repair requests.

We have continually addressed Ms. ****' prior issues and are happy to work with her in the future.

Since we took over management of Ms. ****' home last summer, we have fixed several minor and major issues including the water heater, the HVAC system, and the roof. We have work order #'s, contractor invoices, and cleared checks that document that we have spent over $6,000 during the past 8 months repairing and restoring her home, which actually belonged to her grandparents for the last 35 years and had thousands of dollars of deferred maintenance when the lender foreclosed on it in 2013.

To resolve this new complaint, we would like to enter a written agreement with Ms. **** whereby she commits to paying her rent and we commit to making additional repairs (currently, Ms. **** is very delinquent in her rent payments, but we have continued to work with her without filing a legal eviction notice).

We strive to be a good landlord and always go above and beyond in working with our residents. Our relationship with Ms. **** is no exception. We are happy to work with her under terms and conditions that are fair and equitable to all parties.

Best regards,

******* *********, CPA, CFA
Principal Broker

03/20/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.