BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2000

ALCO Management, Inc.

Phone: (901) 544-1705Fax: (901) 544-1744

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
04/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I'm charged for unnecessary repairs. The contractors stated that they where instructed to make the repairs by the manager. And for rent that's paid.
Repairs were made for LR and DR vinyl floor when the LR only has damage. I'm charged for prepn walls stain and 2 coats, when tenets aren't normally charged. The door jam was completely replaced when only 4in piece was detached and could have been hammered back. I'm charged for more blinds then move out inspection list damaged, but the maintinance work order list 3 replaced. The entire carpet was replaced when it was stain free, but had a small scorch mark(contractor stated the scorch mark). I paid **** rent but it was sent to collection as well. I've made several attempts to resolve it. I'm told that the DR had to be replaced as well because they couldn't patch up the flooring; although no damage was to that room. The LR had damage to the area where love seat was because the love seat was trapped in a cord and scratch the surface. I hung art in the unit so I'm charged over $400 to fill nail holes and paint. There are some charges that I'm responsable for but not to that extent. The manager evicted because the person that I had barred from the property came on the property without my knowledge. I wasn't home I was with police forensics and gave proof to that affect. Because ****** ****** and I have never had a good tenent and manager relation she chose to be vindictive. I called ******* ******** and they stated that they did what was ordered; although it didnt need it. And the contractor that's doing their building stated that they he were told to remove the entire door jam, and put a one up when I asked why was it so expensive to nail the wood back into place. I'm disabled and it took me longer than what they wanted for me to leave I couldn't remove all of my things, nor the clean up that I normally do when moving. But I chose to leave without fighting because I'm disable and I didn't invite the person to the property. But I can't afford the unnecessary repairs that have been sent to collections. They have **** rent and made a copy of the money order but still included it as well. Please assist me in resolving this matter.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Alco Management to adjust the fees to what the work actually consist of by removing the DR, and charge for particle LR since the area by the window was only damaged as well as the carpet. Make adjustment for painting when tenents don't get charged for removal of old paint when they leave walls the original color; as well as staining. If anything a coat a paint from my deposit I can understand. Adjust the fee for 12 blinds when they signed of 4, but only replaced 3 according to work order.

Business Response
Management attempted to clean and repair the carpet (charge on invoice $365.00). The carpet could not be cleaned so it had to be replaced. The door jamb was kicked in and could not be repaired. We had to replace the entire door jamb. We replaced 4 blinds in the LR, 1 set of blinds in the master bedroom, 1 set of blinds in the bedroom upstairs. Ms. ****** was not charged $400.00 for nail holes (see attached invoice). We did receive a check from *** on *********** we did remove the $770.00 charge of market rent and late fee. We also adjusted the blinds down to 6 blinds. We do not charge for normal were and tear. This apartment was a brand new apartment that had never been lived in and we had to put the apartment back to the acceptable move in condition. Ms. ****** chose not to complete the move out inspection with management when she turned in her keys. There were many damaged items we did not charge Ms. ******. We've contacted the collection agency and adjusted the balance. We have the move out inspection on video to show damages. If you need further information please feel free to contact us.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The contractor that cleaned the apartment and the carpeting states that the carpets did get clean but there was a small scorch mark in one of the bedrooms. The video show the unit at the time I had moved out not when the contractor had cleaned. The other contractor also stated that there wasn't damage to the entire doorframe. And the door that needed replacing isn't the doorframe that was damaged. The bathroom doorframe was replaced and the bedroom door was damaged. There still was no need to replace the living room and dining room flooring when only a fourth of the living room was damaged. And the invoice states that 12 blinds were replaced. And the collection agency states that I was on a rental special for $700 but I was removed and placed on $992 rent. If you go online the unit rents $725 now. At the time I did my lease that didn't end until ******** ***** why does the collection agency has documentation that it rents $992. Why was I charged to remove the paint when it's a new unit and as well as having it stained and repainted. And the rent for **** is still in collections.

06/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
THE RESIDENTS AT XXXX-XXX WAS GRANTED A CEILING FAN WITHIN 30 DAYS; HOWEVER, IT TOOK MANAGEMENT ROUGHLY 2-3 MONTHS.
WHEN WE RECEIVED THE RENEWAL LETTER, WE GOT A RENEWAL GIFT OFFER WHICH WE CHOOSE TO HAVE THE CEILING FAN PLACED IN THE 2ND BEDROOM.

AS STATED ON THE RENEWAL GIFT OFFER SHEET IN WHICH THE REGISTRY SIGNED AND MY HUSBAND AND ATTACHED IT TO OUR RENEWAL CONTRACT:
OFFER GOOD WITHIN 30 DAYS OF RENEWAL START DATE: X-XX-XXXX
THIS DOCUMENT WAS SIGNED BY THE REGISTRY EMPLOYEE ON 4-4-2014.

I HAVE CALLED THE OFFICE TO ASK ABOUT THE FAN AND YET I KEPT GETTING THE SAME RESPONSE "THEY ARE ON BACKORDER." IF THIS WAS SO, WHY DID THE OFFICE NOT TELL THE RENTERS THAT FANS ARE ON BACKORDER, DOES THE RESIDENT WANT TO CHOOSE SOMETHING ELSE? NONE OF THIS WAS DISCUSSED TO EITHER ME OR MY HUSBAND. THE OFFICE ALSO MENTIONED THAT MANY OTHER APARTMENTS ARE NEEDING CIELING FANS AND IT WAS SUCH A LARGE REQUEST. (I HOPE THEY COMPLAINED AS WELL). THE OFFICE ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE PEOPLE WHO INSTALLS THE CEILING FANS ARE CONTRACTED OUT AND NOT THE PEOPLE WHO WORK IN MAINTENANCE AT THE APARTMENT COMPLEX. THIS DOES WORRY ME DUE TO ALLOWING PEOPLE WHO DO NOT WORK FOR THE COMPLEX INTO YOUR APARTMENT TO DO SOMETHING IS BEYOND UN-SAFE. THOSE CONTRACTORS COULD BE THEIVES AND TAKE STUFF OR BROWSE AROUND THROUGH DRAWERS. THIS IS NOT THE WAY TO CONDUCT YOUR MAINTENANCE WITHIN YOUR BUILDINGS.

FINALLY AFTER CALLING THE OFFICE DURING MARCH, APRIL AND MAY, I ASKED FOR THE REGIONAL MANAGERS PHONE NUMBER TO CALL. AT THIS POINT THE RENEWAL GIFT OFFER WAS BEYOND 30 DAYS OF BOTH DATES ON THE SHEET THAT THE OFFICE ATTACHED TO MY RENEWAL CONTRACT. 30 DAYS FROM 3-15-2014 WOULD HAVE BEEN 4-15-2014 OR 30 DAYS FROM 4-4-14 WOULD HAVE BEEN 5-4-14. EITHER WAY, THIS WAS WAY OVER DUE. I CALLED AND LEFT A MESSAGE FOR THE REGIONAL MANAGER IN WHICH THE REGISTRY FRONT OFFICE CALLED THE NEXT DAY AND ATTEMPTED TO SPEAK WITH ME. THIS IS WHY I CALLED THE REGIONAL MANAGER DUE TO THE OFFICE NOT DOING THEIR JOB AND COMMUNICATING WITH THEIR RESIDENTS.

I MENTIONED THAT MY HUSBAND WAS A ELECTRICIAN AND IF THEY COULD GET THE FAN THEN HE COULD PUT IT UP. THEY KEPT TELLING ME THAT THEY DO NOT KNOW WHEN THE CONTRACTOR WOULD BE BACK OUT TO PUT THE FAN IN. THE NEXT DAY THE GOT THE FAN AND I PICKED IT UP AND MY HUSBAND INSTALLED IT. WE PICKED IT UP ON MAY 21, 2014 AND HE INSTALLED IT ON MAY 22, 2014.

I AM REQUESTING MONEY OFF OF RENT DUE TO MY HUSBAND DOING THE REGISTRY AT ********** JOB FOR THEM. HE HAS TO USE MATERIALS OFF OF HIS COMPANY WORK VAN TO GET THE FAN SECURELY UP AND HIS TIME TO DO THIS. THIS WAS SOMETHING THAT THE REGISTRY SHOULD HAVE DONE A MONTH PRIOR AND IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN DONE BY THE MAINTENANCE PEOPLE WHO WORK FOR THE REGISTRY AT**********. I DID PUT ON THE SHEET *RESIDENT MUST BE IN APT, NO EXCEPTIONS*; HOWEVER, I GOT NO PHONE CALLS FROM MAINTENACE ON WHEN WOULD BE A GOOD TIME TO INSTALL THE FAN.

I SPOKE TO ******, PROPERTY MANAGER I BELIEVE, IN FRONT OF THE OFFICE ON THE DAY THAT THEY WERE DOING A BLOOD DRIVE. I TOLD HER I WAS UNHAPPY AND I BELIEVED THAT WE SHOULD GET MONEY OFF OF OUR RENT FOR DOING THE REGISTRYS JOB. I DID MENTION THAT NOTHING PERSONAL AGAINST ANY PERSON IN THE OFFICE, BUT I WAS GOING TO REPORT THIS TO THE BBB. SHE SAID "WELL ITS GOING TO BE PERSONAL" TURNED AROUND AND WALKED OFF. AFTER THAT COMMENT, I DO HAVE A PERSONAL PROBLEM WITH ******'S ATTITUDE AND HOW SHE HANDLED THE SITUATION.




Desired Settlement
I BELIEVE THAT SINCE MY HUSBAND DID THE REGISTRYS JOB FOR THEM(INSTALL THE CEILING FAN WHICH WAS SUPPOSED TO BE COMPLETED WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE RENEWAL GIFT OFFER DATE 3-15-14) THAT WE GET MONEY OFF OF OUR RENT.

Business Response
We will gladly take $55 off Mr. & Mrs. ****** July rent for Mr. **** installing the ceiling fan. It is true that we were behind due to the high number of requests and regret their inconvenience.

12/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/27/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i am a disabilite vet. ******* ****** district propery manager at alco.has refused my complaint no andrew herman has lied about and made false statement that i went to hud. hud told me to go to ** ******* and she has done nothing that alco is going after me for complaint under hud. ********** let other apt dirty but is going after me for my complaint.

Desired Settlement
to get my money back and also to show that********** follow the rules and do not have people that he likes and do nothing.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title:********************
Contact Phone: 828*********
Contact Email:**************@alcomgt.com
November 20, 2014


The Better Business Bureau of West Tennessee, North Mississipi & East Arkansas
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125-8537

RE: Case # 40100889 ****** *******

Thank you for sharing the housing concerns expressed by Mr. *******. We are sorry to learn that Mr. ******* is unsatisfied with some aspects of his housing and we are eager to help resolve his concerns in a more appropriate venue.

Alco Management, Inc. owns and manages ********* Apartment; a community serving the housing needs of elderly and disabled individuals on a fixed income. We abide by all regulations set forth The Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) and have provided Mr. ******* with the appropriate channels to express and resolve his concerns. It would be inappropriate for us discuss the specifics of Mr. *******'s concerns in this public forum due to pending legal action and due to privacy regulations aimed at protecting the personal information of our residents.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any questions or concerns. Thank you again for sharing this information with us.

********* Apartments


*******************
Community Manager


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
a.herman has not done proper report on complaint on missy c-84 claiming that i was making noices where she was making false statement. then she called the police claiming i make dead threat on her. lies that she had maked up.where******* came to my apt whit 2 ea policemen. ******* did talking & the police did not explain why they came up to my apt.missy cannot file comp. because her mind is a 2 year old.

10/12/2012Problems with Product / Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.