BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2012

Payne Services Plumbing, Heating & Air

Phone: (662) 342-1770Fax: (662) 890-7952View Additional Phone Numbers8095 Industrial Dr, Olive BranchMS 38654-1913 Send email to Payne Services Plumbing, Heating & Air

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/2012

BBB has determined that Payne Services Plumbing, Heating & Air meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB verifies that BBB Accredited Businesses have required competency licenses when they apply for or renew their accreditation and encourages you to re-verify them. BBB does not routinely check licensing requirements or status on non-accredited businesses and recommends that you do so.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Payne Services Plumbing, Heating & Air include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Payne Services Plumbing, Heating & Air

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Root removal of Main drain. Payne failed to clear roots after about 15 min of work. Stopped and said could not continue. Charged 180$
Root removal attemp after 15 min work. Stopped and put all equipment in truck. Main was completly blocked now with water over flowing in yard. Pyne stated pay the 180$ and would come back only if 450$ more was paid. After 2 days trying to meet with owner. Payne said they will open the drain and attempt to clean the root out for an additional 450$. Payne said somtimes it takes 2 hrs to clean roots out and would do it with a 3" U cutter then a 4" U cutter. But Payne would not continue any work with out looking at the roots for an additional $450. I told payne I clean my roots every year for the past 10 years by going to **** **** renting a drain cleaner 3/4" x 100' cable and HD root cutter. No response Again stated pay a additional $450 and we will open up the main look at the root and clean them out with a 3" then a 4" cutter.

Desired Settlement
From what I have seen from workers and owner they have little regard for work done right. It would be impossible to let this company on my property with out a signed document a video camera or police to insure they do the simple job right.
They did not do the work and the 15 min of work created root chips and blocked slow flow I had the drain flow now there is no flow and want me to pay them to look at tree roots.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** - Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@payneplumbing.net
This is a letter that was typed up by myself in regards to this matter with a bank dispute.

Feburary 17, 2015 - Our office received a call from Mr. ****** stating that his sewer was backing up. He needed someone out as soon as possible.

Feburary 18, 2015 - I sent out our service tech, **** ****** to clear Mr. ******' sewer.
We have the invoice that was given to Mr. ****** and also was signed by Mr. ******.

Feburary 20, 2015 - Mr. ****** called our office again wanting to speak with Mr. ***** face to face. He explained that he has to clear out his sewer once a year and he uses these "saw" like heads to do it. He wanted to show Mr. ***** these saw heads. Mr. ****** arrived at our office around 4:00pm and spoke with Mr. ***** for about 20 minutes. Mr. ***** informed Mr. ****** that those saw heads would not fit on our equipment. Mr. ****** was very adamant that they would so Mr. ***** showed him our equipment. Mr. ****** agreed they wouldn't fit. They spoke of a solution to fixing the issue correctly, which is cameraing the line so find the spot where the roots are entering at. Mr. ***** informed Mr. ****** that we would be happy to come out (at not extra charge) and camera his sewer line. Using the camera, gives us a better view to the issue at hand and allows us to give our customer a clearer estimate into repairing the broken pipe. Mr. ****** agreed and left our offices.

March 3, 2015 - We had not heard anything else from Mr. ****** regarding this matter until we received a dispute with the bank.

It was found by the bank that we were in the right in this matter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They stated the main clasped and need 450$ extra to look at the roots.
Again
They stated they could not clear the roots due to my sewer system problems.
I do this every year for the last 10 years myself. I rent Homedepo equipment and clean out the roots.
and I am just a kid.
Payne Plumbing Services stated for 180$ they would clean out the roots but once they got to my home they wanted 450$ extra to use a camera to look at the roots and sewer line.
I will hire a second company to clean and inspect.
This is an easy job I personally do it all the time. Why in the world would I ever agree to 530$ charge when it cost me 60$ in rental equipment to do it myself is crazy.
It just a scam a business con job.
Payne Plumbing Services made a mistake on trying to jack with the wrong guy. This sorta business practices will work with little old ladies or the poor but not me.
When I get the recite from a second Plumbing Services I will add it to this BBB complaint.

Just called **** of ******* on issue. Payne plumbing service omitted the 450$ extra charge they needed to come back out and do the job right. I have a plumbing service company that stated they will do the job for $274 told **** of ******* about what will happen but they stated if a company enters into the property weather they do the job or not I they may not have a choice in this matter.
But
BBB makes a determination on work done and future work by other companies to fix the problem.
I will add the company tomorrow and the results.

Hired a second plumbing service company. Main sewer drain is fine and not collapse per Payne Plumbing Services suggested. Plumbing service cleared out all tree roots in about 5 to 10 min.
No extra $450 camera charge needed no 2 service charges one quick service.
but
Just to insure me that work was good this plumbing service used a camera at no charge and showed me their work.
As I stated before no 2 service call or extra camera use was necessary and all tree roots quickly cleared in less than a 30 min service.
To offer $180 to do a job then not do the job and request $450 additional money and a second service was unethical and not warranted.

Final Business Response
I am not sure where this $450 came from as we would never charge that much for a camera job. Mr. ***** and Mr. ****** sat in the ***** Services office and talked about this issue. Mr. ***** offered to come camera the line - at no extra charge - to see why Mr. ****** has to clean out roots every year from his sewer line. The $180 was for the first service call that my tech went out on and Mr. ****** signed the invoice which says "acknowledge the satisfactory completion of the above described work...etc" Only when Mr. ****** called to speak to Mr. ***** did an issue even come up. That is when Mr. ***** tried to offer a solution by having another tech come out and using the camera to locate his problem at no extra charge. As stated before, when Mr. ****** left the ***** office everything was fine until we go a letter from the bank which stated Mr. ****** trying to get $180.00 back to which I sent everything I have sent you and it was found in our favor that we did nothing wrong.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/27/1994Business started: 01/02/1990
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Danny Payne (Owner)
Business Category

Plumbers, Heating & Air Conditioning - Filters, Air Conditioning Repair, Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating & Air Conditioning

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Payne Services Plumbing, Heating & Air

8095 Industrial Dr

Olive Branch, MS 38654-1913

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8095 Industrial Dr 

    Olive Branch, MS 38654-1913

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Payne Services Plumbing, Heating & Air is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (662) 890-7953
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.