BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1986

Action Pest Control Company

Phone: (662) 895-4200Fax: (662) 890-4319View Additional Phone Numbers14950 Goodman Rd, Olive BranchMS 38654-7656 Send email to Action Pest Control Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1986

BBB has determined that Action Pest Control Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB verifies that BBB Accredited Businesses have required competency licenses when they apply for or renew their accreditation and encourages you to re-verify them. BBB does not routinely check licensing requirements or status on non-accredited businesses and recommends that you do so.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Action Pest Control Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Action Pest Control Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
11/19/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Who are these people? What is Action Pest Control?
When I arrived home around 11:00pm my roommate handed me a bill for $145.00 From Action Pest Control. I HAVE NEVER CONTACTED ACTION PEST CONTROL AND THEY HAVE NEVERCONTACTED ME!???! There is an invoice with my phone number in the invoice section.?? Is this a new or real company? Is this a scam. (I know if I went to somebody's house and painted it while they were at work and just left them a bill......it would be a scam).

Desired Settlement
who are you?
is this a new company?
is it your general practice to...just bill people?
What did you spray for? (Roaches, termites,ants)
Have you ever scheduled an appointment before going to someone's home? (Email,phone, mail)
If you are found to have similar complaints not only will you not get paid, I will see what other steps are necessary if any type of fraululent activities are transpiring.
I do not see any kind of warranty or contract or anything!
I will not ever just throw money out the window.
I await a full explanation.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********, Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@****************.com
We spoke with Mr. ***** and explained to him that we bought out ****************** and sent letters to all customers in January, XXXXX, informing them of the change. Our office called also. Mr. ***** acknowledged that he received them but had forgotten. When he received our bill for his termite renewal service he didn't recognize the company. He stated he would be getting in touch with you and let you know it was a misunderstanding on his part.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I spoke with ***** on 10/26/15 at 2:58pm. He explained that Action Pest bought out ******************. I also received a letter with a bill explaining what had transpired, AFTER THE SERVICE HAD ALREADY BEEN PERFORMED. (I saved the letter along with the envelope that was post marked after I placed the complaint with the better business bureau) ***** further explained that he would send me a contract since he bought the existing contract from ******************. (I still have my original contract from ****************** form back in 2000). I have not received a new contract. And as far as any difficulty in getting in touch with me by phone, I do not see the difficulty. If you (the better business bureau) would like to go to my ******** website and print off hundreds of phone calls that have been made and mail them to you I could. (I tried to copy and paste to create a file, but every time I changed to a new page on their site, it would not save the previous page). Mr. ***** ********'s response that I had "forgotten" and am "misunderstanding" do not seem to be an accurate account of the events that have transpired. I don't approve of Mr. ***** ********'s practice of spray, send a bill (with no contract) and explain later. (remember I still have the letter of explanation with the post marked envelope that I received after the service was performed). I am still waiting on a contract from Mr. ******** that he said that, "I will probably like better and be less expensive".

Final Business Response


Final Consumer Response
I received all information I needed through the mail and by speaking with ***** ********. After speaking with ***** ******** I feel confident that there was NOT any ill will or misrepresentation by Action Pest. After continued contact with ***** I feel good enough that I would actually reccomendAction Pest. Both paries believe that the post office is more that likely the culprit for the initial letter of explanation I never received. I consider the case resolved and sighned a 4 year contract with Action Pest. ***** ******** conducted himself in a polite, profesional and concerned representative of Action Pest.

08/14/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Services were cancelled. Contacted company several times. Was told refund check in mail. That was over 2 months ago. Never received return call.
Paid with credit card in the amount of $65.
Have credit card statement with amount cleared on 5/15/2015.
Contacted company at least 5 times. Can research phone records if needed.

Desired Settlement
Full refund

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **************************
Case # XXXXXXXX

Mailed two different checks. Customer never received. We never received them back and they had not cleared our bank. We hand delivered the check on August 4, 2015. We spoke with Mr. **** and he stated he would be retracting his statement.


Consumer Response
The consumer has indicated to the BBB that the issue has been resolved.

10/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pest control chemical not working worth a tut had them out here approx 5 months
My wife and I have had an exterminator out to our home to try to get rid of a roach problem and their exterminator a Mr *** ******* our here about 9-10 times and every time the chemical he used did nothing except get rid of about half of them roaches and beyond our disbelieve we can still see them roaming around freely after five months give or take a month or two. To our disbelieve we received a bill from them for $40 bucks and we paid their exterminator every time except when we had to call him back out within a week or two since the chemical he used was not working and Mr ******* told us if it doesn't work to call him back out. In which we did practically every month. My wife and I have decided since their spray was not working.

Desired Settlement
I have no idea really since we paid them good money for nothing

Business Response
Service dates:

4-2-15 Monthly Svc. done
4-20-15 Respray done, no charge
7-9-15 Monthly Svc. done
8-28-15 Monthly Svc. done
9-17-15 Respray done after complaint, no charge


After speaking with my technician, he explained that Mr. ****** had the worst roach problem he had seen in a long time. Due to the bad infestation, it takes many treatments to stop the reproduction cycle of the roaches. We started the initial service on 4-2-15. *** thoroughly treated and baited the home. Many roaches were killed. On 4-20-15 we went out as a respray and killed more roaches. This was a no charge service. Mr. ****** signed up for a monthly service but did not let us come out for his May or June services. *** called several times both months but was unable to get a service scheduled. During this time the eggs began to hatch again and the cycle of infestation and reproduction caused the roaches to increase again. He did let us come out for his July and August service which improved the problem. We have also been out since this complaint was issued and did a no charge service on 9-17-15, even though his September service is due. To date the infestation has improved considerably.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/07/1986Business started: 06/01/1985New Owner Date: 02/01/1998
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Billy Schubert (Owner)
Business Category

Pest Control Companies, Termite Control

Alternate Business Names
Action Control Company, Action Pest Control
Industry Tips
Pest Control Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Action Pest Control Company

14950 Goodman Rd

Olive Branch, MS 38654-7656

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 14950 Goodman Rd 

    Olive Branch, MS 38654-7656(662) 895-4200
    Fax: (662) 890-4319

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Action Pest Control Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (901) 327-7378
  • (877) 223-7378
  • (901) 854-3800
  • (901) 521-0181
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Companies

Pest Control Services
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.