BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Leatherwood Roofing

Find a Location

Phone: (901) 212-7087Fax: (901) 380-52207989 Megwood Dr, BartlettTN 38133-2069http://www.leatherwoodroofing.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Leatherwood Roofing is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB verifies that BBB Accredited Businesses have required competency licenses when they apply for or renew their accreditation and encourages you to re-verify them. BBB does not routinely check licensing requirements or status on non-accredited businesses and recommends that you do so.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Leatherwood Roofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Leatherwood Roofing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had Leatherwood Roofing install a metal roof, it has been leaking for 6 mths & he has not been able to fix it
My wife & I decided on a metal roof since we are close to retirement & we thought we wouldn't have to worry about it. Since he installed the roof & all the continued problems, we've researched the installation & he didn't install the roof correct, he installed it directly on the shingles & not the wood frames that was the correct way. We now have mold/mildew stained ceiling, walls & closet & although we clean it up it just comes back whenever it rains, hard or soft, just any rain. Below is a timeline of the roof leak. We paid cash in full, over $6K.



Date/Calls/text to Mr. ***********/ Mr. ************ response

Late March early April 2014 Original call to Mr. *********** about roof leaking in den and hallway

May 19, 2014 He is out of town, will be back on Thursday & he will come out as soon as he gets back

May 28, 2014 Call again to Mr. *********** about roof leaking still & no one has come out

May 29, 2014 He was out of town & will try to get his father to look at it

Jun 2, 2014 Call to Mr. *********** to see if anyone was coming out

Jun 3, 2014 He is sending out someone to fix it

Jun 7,2014 Someone comes out, climbs on the roof for 5 minutes & then gone

Jun 9, 2014 Call to Mr. *********** about roof leaking worse in both spots He will send his father

Jun 13, 2014 Call to Mr. *********** about when someone is coming out because the ceiling is leaking worse & having to prop it up with a brace to keep from falling He states his father worked on it on the 11th, my wife not I saw anyone on that date or the 12th

Jun 14, 2014 He will be out first thing in the morning

Jun 30, 2014 E-mail pictures & call Mr. *********** about ceiling leaking worse, now in 3 spots He states he's driving a truck now & he will send his father

July 1, 2014 He says his father is coming out then an hour later states his father can't make it until on the 2nd of July

July 9, 2014 He states he will come out & fix it whatever it takes

July 12, 2014 He is waiting on his father with the metal brake, finally show up 2 hrs. later, no metal brake, go up on roof for 1/2 hour, comes down & says they fixed it

July 19, 2014 Call again to Mr. *********** about ceiling leaking again worse

July 20, 2014 Mr. *********** & father finally go into attic to look for leak, find wet spot in attic, tear up a lot of insulation, caulk screw & say it's fixed

Aug 31, 2014 Call again to Mr. *********** about leak as bad as it was before He states he has to get a bigger screw to fit the hole & he will be out to put it in

9/4/2014 Call to Mr. *********** about when he would be back to fix roof He states he will be out today or tomorrow to fix roof

9/6/2014 He states his father has been ill but says he will come by on the 7th to fix roof, my wife & I were home all day & no one came or called



9/13/2014 Call to Mr. *********** about roof still leaking & when he might be out He states he will be out on Saturday the 13th Sept. Mr. *********** text back later to say he can't make, possibly tomorrow

9/14/2014 Mr. *********** comes out around 2 PM, goes up on the roof changes a screw & says that should fix it, no water test

10/2/2014 Rains in the afternoon & again later that night, roof leaking still, notify Mr. ***********, he says he's working this weekend but will call when he can come out. I inform Mr. *********** that all work from now on will have to be done during the normal work day as I felt we have dedicated enough weekends to get this fixed Mr. *********** replies OK

10/11/2014 Rains again, notify Mr. *********** about the roof still leaking, it has been nice weather since the last call Mr. *********** states that when it stops raining he will come out

10/14/2014 rains again, two more spots leaking in den along with the leaks in the hallway & bathroom closet, notify Mr. *********** no response

Desired Settlement
Since this roof was not installed correctly we are requesting a full refund so we can find a real company to install a roof on our home that we won't have to worry about, there is no way since this roof hasn't made it 1/4 of it's life it will ever be a good roof. This is the only settlement we will be satisfied with.

Business Response
*** *********** owner of Leatherwood Roofing
We installed the metal roof according to all specifications of the manufacturer, with absolutely no problems afterwards. Mr. **** called some time after the installation and reported a leak on a low slope area on the back, he told me the next door neighbors tree had fallen and had struck the house in that area and a leak had occurred. The area in question represents only a small fraction of the entire roof and there are no problems any where else. We are still looking into the problem and will continue until it is resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This roof was leaking before the tree ever fell down, the tree tops only brushed the gutters on the sunroom, never came close to this area. Mr *********** has not arrived when he says he will and after nine months the leak has gotten worse into another part of the house also. Mr *********** did not install this roof as spec go, he did not install the ribs on the roof for the metal, he attached this metal directly to the roof on top of the shingles. I really wished if never heard the name ************ he has totally ruined my home.

Final Business Response
In response to complaint ******** Leatherwood Roofing has worked to resolve issue and will continue to do so. But the customer's request for a full refund of materials and labor is unreasonable and unfounded.
It is our hope that this issue can be resolved on some sort of middle ground but it this point we're not sure what that is.

09/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I need completion of roofing job that included repair of chimney.
Around March 2012 I contracted with Leatherwood Roofing to install a roof-over of my existing roof as well as installing metal on the corners of my chimney as the wood was beginning to rot. The roof was properly installed by the employees of Leatherwood Roofing but the chimney work was delayed due to the owner's surgery of his hand. I told him no problem as he could get to it when he healed. Months later when I contacted him about finishing the job he said that his parent's house had burned and that he needed to help them through the insurance and rebuilding issues. Again I said no problem, that he could complete the job when he was finished dealing with his parents house situation. I have been patient, too patient according to my wife, but it has been almost a year and a half. After much pleading with **. *********** about water leaking into my den and a major storm system heading our way he put a temporary repair on the chimney. I have tried numerous times to get them to come out and finish the job. I get the same story each time, 'I am on a big job but I will get to it this week.' After a year and a half the wood has rotted and falls off after each rain and wind storm. It needs to be sided and sealed. It is time to finish the job or refund me some of the money so I can hire someone to do it.

Desired Settlement
Complete the job or refund me a portion of the contracted money so I can hire someone to do the job.

Business' Initial Response
I appreciate **. ******* patience with the chimney due to unforeseen health and family tragedies. I can finish the chimney next week. And will see it done personally.

Business' Final Response
Regarding the claim # above, the work has been started and is complete minus 2 small pieces that are on order at this time. They will be in tomorrow and we will be installing those. Will email you when they are on. Thank you.
*** *********** ***** Leatherwood Roofing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/28/1999Business started: 01/15/1998
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ben Leatherwood (Owner)
Business Category

Metal Roofing, Roof Decks, Roof Cleaning & Stain Removal, Commercial Roofing, Roofers

Industry Tips
General Contractors/Home Improvement Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Leatherwood Roofing

7989 Megwood Dr

Bartlett, TN 38133-2069

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 7989 Megwood Dr 

    Bartlett, TN 38133-2069(901) 212-7087

  • 4677 Tarkington Dr.(former) 

    Memphis, TN 38128

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Leatherwood Roofing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Metal Roofing

General Contractors/Home Improvement Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.