BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1989

IBC Manufacturing Company

Phone: (901) 344-5300Fax: (901) 344-5320View Additional Phone Numbers416 E Brooks Rd, MemphisTN 38109-2931 Send email to IBC Manufacturing Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1989

BBB has determined that IBC Manufacturing Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB verifies that BBB Accredited Businesses have required competency licenses when they apply for or renew their accreditation and encourages you to re-verify them. BBB does not routinely check licensing requirements or status on non-accredited businesses and recommends that you do so.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised IBC Manufacturing Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on IBC Manufacturing Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Their product will not dry.
We applied their ********* deck stain 5 weeks ago and it is still not dry. I applied it just as the directions instructed on the can. When I called their office all they did was insist it was my fault. They offered no fix to problem.

After talking to them I had to take a Nitro as I have a very weak heart....please help me

Desired Settlement
I want them to refund my purchase price and fix the problem ASAP at their expence

Business Response

IBC response to*****


IBC MANUFACTURING COMPANY
July 10, 2014
BBB Serving the Mid-South
Special Investigations & Dispute Resolution
Attn: ***** ********
363 Tyndale Drive Memphis, TN 38125
Re:Case #40096794:**********
Dear Mr. ********, I regret we didn't respond as quickly as you would have liked on this matter, but we spoke to Mr.***** after we received your first letter and I would like to point out the following:

1. He says he applied********** Deck stain.********** is not a deck stain. (please see attached label)********** is an Exterior Wood Preservative and Finish; it is an Oil-Based Wood Preservative. It is not a deck stain.

2. There are no directions for use on decks for********** Preservative. It is approved for use on log homes, shingles and shakes, siding, fences, rough lawn lumber, old weather wood and new porous woods. On page 2, we give directions for use for vertical surfaces not horizontal surfaces. The first sentence under Directions for Use states "it is a violation of Federal Law to use********** in a manner inconsistent with its labeling." There is no mention of decks on the********** label.

What Mr.***** is recalling is not supported by the facts. I'm not aware of him calling our office or anyone saying it's his fault. We received your letter and referred it to Mr. ******* ********, our sales person for Eastern Tennessee, to see the deck. He made an appointment with Mr. ****. He informed Mr.***** what I just stated above that********** is not approved for use on anything except what is stated on the label. We are running some experiments to see if we can help Mr.***** to alleviate his issue, but it is not a situation where he followed label directions. Mr.***** made an assumption that he could use********** on decks and the assumption was wrong.

I trust that the above explanation will conclude this case. We will try to assist Mr.*****, if we can, but he misused the product and bares soul responsibility for this misuse.

Sincerely,
*********. ******* PH.D.

President & C.O.O



Consumer Response

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The label/instructions states it is for WOOD, my deck is wood. NOWHERE on the label does it state, "for vertical surfaces only". NOWHERE on the label does it state "do not use on decks" it says "Wood"

Final Business Response

IBC response to Rebuttal 40096794

1BC MANUFACTURING COMPANY July 22, 2014
BBB Serving the Mid-South
Special Investigations & Dispute Resolution
ATTN: ***** ********
3693 Tyndale Drive Memphis, TN 38125
SUBJ: CASE #40096794 -**********
Dear Mr. ********:

I write to respond to Mr.*****' complaint regarding the *********® Exterior Wood Preservative and Finish.

IBC Manufacturing Company (IBC) understands that Mr.***** remains upset, and we regret that our attempts to address his situation did not meet his expectations.

To begin with, it is important to understand exactly what Mr.***** purchased. ********* is an exterior wood preservative and finish that exhibits pesticidal characteristics. As a result, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) must review and approve the labels for this product before it is sold. Because of the nature of this product, it is very important that users read and follow the label instructions. To reinforce the importance of the label, the EPA requires the label to contain the statement that "t is a violation of Federal Law to use ********* in a manner inconsistent with its labeling."

The directions for use provide instructions on how to apply the product to "log buildings, roof, wood siding, or fence." There are no directions for use on decks. The front ofthe label also states that the product is for log homes, shingles and shakes, siding and fences. It seems clear to us that these are the intended uses for this product.

We understand that Mr.***** believes the product is for wood and his deck is wood, therefore he could use this product on his deck. The label, however. does not state that it is for all wood products. The label states that if ********* "is applied to non-porous or film-covered surfaces which prevent or significantly retard penetration, reduced performance or even complete failure can result. Test first if in doubt." Decks are typically built with pressure-treated wood that lacks the porosity needed to absorb *********. That is why decks are not listed as a use for this product. It does not appear that Mr.***** tested the product before using it on his entire deck.

IBC cannot take responsibility when a consumer uses a product in contravention of the EPA-approved label.

However, in an attempt to assist Mr.***** with his issue, IBC did make two separate visits to Mr.*****' home.

Each time, IBC provided Mr.***** with tips and guidance regarding how to remove the product from his deck.

Because the product is not intended for the type of wood used to make Mr.*****' deck, there is no "quick fix" for the issues he has experienced.

IBC denies any liability or responsibility with respect to the misuse of its product. That being said, IBC is willing to reimburse Mr.***** the cost of the product he purchased (as shown on the enclosed receipt) if he signs a release.

IBC hopes that this satisfies Mr.***** and provides closure on this matter.

Sincerely
**********
General Counsel For and on behalf of
IBC Manufacturing Company
Enclosure
******************.
Memphis, TN 38109





Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/01/1956Business started: 01/01/1933
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Ignatoski (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Jaime Right (Assistant)
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers

Products & Services

This company offers wood preservative chemicals.

Alternate Business Names
IBC Manufacturing Co.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for IBC Manufacturing Company

416 E Brooks Rd

Memphis, TN 38109-2931

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 416 E Brooks Rd 

    Memphis, TN 38109-2931(901) 344-5300

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*IBC Manufacturing Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (901) 344-5341
  • (901) 396-5151
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Manufacturers & Producers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.