BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1961

Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation

Find a Location

Phone: (901) 226-5000Fax: (901) 227-6845View Additional Phone Numbers350 N Humphreys Blvd, MemphisTN 38120-2177 Send email to Baptist Memorial Health Care CorporationView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1961

BBB has determined that Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB verifies that BBB Accredited Businesses have required competency licenses when they apply for or renew their accreditation and encourages you to re-verify them. BBB does not routinely check licensing requirements or status on non-accredited businesses and recommends that you do so.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues9
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
08/25/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hospital refuses to honor insurance provider negotiated discount contract. Dr. office said I was in-network. Hospital at no time said I was not.
RE: Acct# XXXXXXXXXX BMH-Memphis
I had a procedure at BMH East on 12/16/2014 and through a mistake at the doctors office was assured that this hospital was in-network. No one at the hospital ever said I was not in-network when I signed in for the procedure. As a result my bill was highly inflated over what it should have been. Due to a lack of response by the hospital to requests from the insurance company for information it was 5 months after the procedure when the insurance company may a payment on 5/26/2015. At that time the hospital then billed me for the balance.

The first statement I received from the hospital showed that the provider negotiated discount was deducted from the total amount owed. It was after I had received the first statement that BMH received the insurance payment. When I received my 2nd statement BMH had added the provider negotiated discount amount back to the bill.

I called to ask them why and they added this amount back to the bill and was basically told they didn't have to honor their contract with the insurance company. I then called my insurance company and they assured me I did not have to pay the provider negotiated discount amount.

Due to the unexpected large bill due to the mistake my doctor's office made concerning my in-network status and BMH's failure to notify me I was not in-network I told the hospital business office representative I would have to pay this on monthly payments. I then began paying what I promised to pay even though the wrongful charge was still on my bill.

Although I was making payments, the hospital has turned over my account to a receivable management company.

I feel that BMH is wrong for adding the insurance provider negotiated discount back to my bill and equally wrong in turning the account over to a collection agency when I was making payments on the bill.

Desired Settlement
Resolution to this issue will come in three actions:
1): Remove the insurance provider negotiated discount amount that they added back to the bill and correct the balance to the amount it was on the first statement less the amount I have paid.
2): Remove the account from the collection agency and resume accepting payments directly from me.
3). Because BMH failed to advise me I was out of network and would have higher costs, they should write off the extra $1500.00 deductible I incurred due to their neglecting to advise me of the fact I was not in-network contrary to what I was advise by my doctor's office.

Business Response
I have a notation that the patient was informed of out of network liability, but it is a late note. In fainess,we wlling to honor the out of network discount and post an additional adjustment to his account to bring him to in network liability.
His in network deductible was still outstanding and that is $1500.00, plus he is responsible for 10% of allowed charges for total out of pocket liability of $1845.41.
To date, he has paid $200.00 so his remaining balance is $1645.41.
We did not turn him over to collections. He was offered a payment plan, but did not want to commit to the payment amounts required for this large balance. He was referred to our self pay outsource company to work his account.
It is always the responsibility of the patient to know which providers their insurance is in network with, hospitals and physicians, but because Mr. ****** states that his physician was insistant that BMH was in network, we feel that he should not be caught in the middle and are willing to adjust his account accordingly.
Please let me know if you need additional information.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This is acceptable. I have gone onto the *********** website and submitted the $1645.41 amount in full so this can be closed.

Just for clarity I was told I was out of network when I was scheduled for a follow-up treatment to the first procedure. When told this I immediately cancelled the 2nd procedure. I would have cancelled the first procedure if I had known.

04/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Never received a written billing from BMH about services provided August ***** Received call from bill collector about an unpaid balance feb ****.
Had Outpatient Surgery at BMH Memphis during August ****. Prior to surgey paid $100.00 as requested. Finanical personel stated that Insurance will be billed the remaining balance. During Feb. ****, I received a call from Medical Financial Services (***) about an unpaid bill from August 18,****. I explained to *** that I was unaware of an unpaid balance from Baptist Memorial Hospital (BMH). *** stated that BMH attended to mail my bill; however, had the wrong address. I told *** that I find that very hard to believe; since I work for BMH and I have received other mail from them without any issue. Then *** stated the amount that the Insurance paid on my bill and the $100.00 copay that I paid; leaving a balance of $685.82. I asked *** to obtain an itemized bill from BMH and mail it to me. One month later (March ****), I received another call from *** stating that they are still trying to collect an unpaid balance of $685.82. I told *** that I was still waiting on an itemized bill. *** stated that they would send in a request for the itemized bill. Today (April 3, ****), I received a letter from *** about BMH-Memphis had transferred my account balance of $685.82 to ***. Provider Account # is XXXXXXXXXX; and the master file # is XXXXXXX. In addition, the letter states that failure to pay this balance will result in notifying consumer reporting agencies. My credit score is greater than 700 and I would like to keep it above 700. I would like to know what my insurance paid for and what I'm being charged for, prior to paying the remaining balance. Can you please help me setting this issue or provide me with appropriate sets to take to prevent this from damaging my credit score. Thanks, ******* L. *******

Desired Settlement
A itemized bill from BMH-Memphis for services provided during August 18,**** And an agreement from *** that they will wait for me to received an actual bill and review it, before reporting me to consumer reporting agencies. Thank you again for your assist, ******* ** *******

Business Response /* (1000, 5, ****/04/06) */
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** System Direct
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@bmhcc.org
Our records indicate that a statement was sent to the patient on X-XX-XXXX to the address obtained during registration, after insurance payment had been posted. The patient indicates in his complatin that his address had changed & that the Business Office should have known, since he is employed by BMH. The HR system has no connetion to our billing system, so any changes to his address he reported to HR would not have updated the billing system. It is up to the patient to inform the Business Office of any changes to his address so all mailings to him will reach him.
The patient should have received an Explanation of Benefits from his insurance showing what his insurance paid and any outstanding co-insurance owed by him. At that point, he was aware of an outstanding balance.
**** is affiliated with BMH and has the ability to print and mail an itemized statement. I spoke to **** and an itemized bill has been mailed to the patient. I have also updated his address in our system and will mail him a copy of the statement previously mailed.


Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, ****/04/15) */
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I appreciate your time response; however, the response from *** is incorrect. According to *** response, it seem like I have recentely changed addresses and failed to notify BMH billing department of new address. In reality, I have been at my currently resident for 17 years; therefore, I was unaware of any outstanding balance on a bill from BMH. In addition, I'm still waiting on an itemized bill from BMH. According to *** (******), a letter was sent a week ago. I informed *** (******) that I did receive and notice from *** of an outstanding balance of $685.82 with BMH and that I should have received an itemized bill from BMH. *** (******) stated that he was able to view the itemized bill from BMH; however, he was unable to print it. In addition, *** (******) was not sure if the itemized bill was sent to the incorrect address that BMH had or the address that *** had reported. As a result, *** (******) was sending another request to BMH for an itemized bill to be sent to the address that *** has on file. Due to the fact that I have not received an itemized bill from *** or BMH which should show the $100.00 I paid prior to having my surgery; the amount paid by my insurance; and the remaining balance that I'm responsible for. I'm asking that this case (case # XXXXXXXX) remain open until I receive an itemized bill from either *** or BMH. According to *** (******), I must pay the balance reported to *** before May **** even if I ***'t receive an itemized bill as requested. If not paid by May ****, I would be reported to consumer reporting agencies. Again, I would like to thank you for responding so quickly to my request. However, this matter has not been completely resolved. Therefore, I'm requesting that you continue to assist me with obtaining an itemized bill from BMH; since I have a short timeline to pay balance stated by ***. If I there any other actions that you feel that I need to perform, please feel free to contact me. Thanks, ******* *******

Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, ****/04/20) */
I have received an itemized bill from BMH. Thank you for your assistance.
******* *******

01/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had network savings of $2226.20 plus payment of $889.37 was paid on my behalf for services on 12/5/14, hospital account#*********7.
I had network savings of $2226.20 plus payment of $889.37 was paid on my behalf for services on 12/5/14, hospital account#*********7. Only $1,336.83 of my network savings was applied to account #*********7 and $889.37. According to********** ********** of TN the $889.37 was paid towards my deductible of $1,185.82 which should have left me liable for only $296.55. Since the full network savings credit was not applied, Baptist is still showing I owe $1,185.82. This is not fair.

Desired Settlement
I want my remainder network savings credit of $889.37 applied towards my bill.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****, PFS Director
Contact Phone: ********
Contact Email: ****.*****@bmhcc.org
A statement was generated before the additiional adjustment could be posted to Ms.*******'s account. The current balance is $266.00.

05/20/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Required payment of full deductible before knowing what the deductible was going to be, then waited 2months to process the refund for the over payment
I was told I had to pay the full amount of my deductible up front for my MRI. When I received my explanation of benefits i found out I had over paid. This was 7 weeks after my MRI. In the same mail I received a bill from the doctor who read my MRI for the difference in my deductible. Baptist did not even process the refund until I called with the insurance company almost 2 months after I had my MRI and told me it would be 3-4 weeks before I would receive my refund. I will now be late paying the other doctors bill because I have to wait for the refund to afford it. Patients should not have to call the hospital for refunds. I received services on 3/1 and paid my full deductible on that day. The hospital did not submit the claim until 3/10 and was paid on 4/7. As of April 27th the refund had not yet been processed. It will be over two months of the hospital hold money that was not theirs to hold.

Desired Settlement
expedited refund. change in policy that does not require patients to pay deductibles until the hospital really knows what the deductible will be.

Business Response
On February 24, 2016 Baptist contacted Ms. ******'s insurance company to request the amount her insurance company said she would owe as a deductible for services to be received. In addition, Baptist requested the remaining portion of her out of pocket for her insurance plan. ********** advised Baptist that Ms. ****** had $500 in remaining deductible and $3.186.00 remaining as an out of pocket liability.

At the time of service, Ms. ****** paid the amount that ********** advised Baptist that she would owe for her services. Ms. ****** paid $500.00 via credit card on March 1, 2016. Thirty-Six days later, on April 7, 2016, ********** paid $33.08 on the claim and advised Baptist that Ms. ****** would only owe $355.59. This created a credit for Ms. ****** of $144.41.

The account was placed into a work queue for review and refund to Ms. ******. After review Baptist spoke to Ms. ****** and offered to print a check that she could pick up but she refused. ********** and Baptist provided Ms. ****** an explanation for the length of time that it took to pay the account and review it for accuracy. Ms. ****** refused all offers to hold the check for her to pick up and instructed Baptist to mail it to her home. The refund check was mailed on May 5, 2016.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Your response is simplistic and does not take into the person factor which is the issue.
1. you did not start processing the refund until 20 days after receiving the communication and payment from **** and only after I called to ask about it.
2. I asked when I could pick it up and was told I could pick it up between 9am and 5pm. I work 7am to 6pm and with work deadlines cannot often leave work at lunch. There was no option to pick it up earlier in the day, or later in the evening or to expedite the payment. It was not a refusal to pick it up but an inability to pick it up.
Per Baptists website thier values are:
Compassionate Care and Service
Teamwork and Trust
Innovation and Excellence
Respect for the Individual and the Value of Diversity
Their business office/practices have failed at compassionate care and service, by holding peoples money until they ask for it. they did what was convenient and beneficial to their business.
Over charging for co-pays/deductibles is a known issue with their facility, instead of driving for excellence in service they again do what is convenient for your business.
They have not instilled trust, i do not trust that they will treat me fairly or as a person, i trust that they will treat me at someone make money off of.
Respect - This they failed at exponentially, because they took no responsibility for Their actions and policies and blamed **** and me because we did not bend to what was convenient and to their benefit. Going forward I will avoid using Baptist facilities. There are other options in this city that treat their patients as people instead of money. It is too bad their business practices contradict their practitioners actions because the practitioners have always held to the hospital values.

02/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fraudulent billing practices by ********** I had a ************ removed at *********. They would not allow the surgery to go forward unless I "PAID IN FULL" They person that took my money said this amount was the "FULL AMOUNT FOR MY SURGERY" Later, after providing no more of their mediocre services they decide to extort an additional 110.00 dollars from me for no services. ********* said, "We will not provide services until we are paid in full!" and "This amount is FULL PAYMENT!!!" I called ********* and they came up the retarded excuse that they don't know how much a ************ removal is going to cost. A surgery they provide many times a day every day and they claim they do not know how much it cost. This is extortion, fraud and ******** fraud.

Desired Settlement
Billing adjustment, notification to medicare of their dishonest billing practices and an apology.

Business Response
2/8/2016

This patient was scheduled for a surgical procedure on 8/5/2015 based upon his physicians' orders. The surgical center admissions staff estimated his patient responsibility as $213.48 based upon the information given by the surgeon's office for the anticipated procedure. During the surgery the physician determined that an additional procedure was necessary that was not part of the original intended surgery. During the billing process the actual patient responsibility was adjusted to include an additional amount of $110 for the additional procedure.

The patient was called on 8/4/2015 (prior to the procedure) and notified of his initial patient responsibility. He said he could not pay this in full. Arrangements were made with him to pay $100.00 on the date of service and the balance he set up to be paid by automatic draft on September 5th 2015. Had the unanticipated additional procedure not been necessary, his patient responsibility would have been paid in full.

The patient was scheduled by his physician for a follow-up appointment on 8/10/15. He was notified on 8/6/15 that he was on the schedule to have a follow-up appointment related to the unanticipated additional procedure and that he had a remaining balance of $110 outstanding. The patient told the young lady who called him he could not pay anything and become very upset when informed he still owed for the additional $110. The patient became agitated about having to come back for the follow-up appointment. The patient was given his physician's telephone number to call and see if there was something else that could be done. The patient was later removed from the surgery schedule by his physician.

The patient was sent 4 statements and a final notice letter before he called to discuss his balance. The patient told the billing office he had paid in full on date of service. The billing office tried to explain that it was an initial estimate based on the original physician order and that there are times when additional procedures occur that are not anticipated. He began cursing at the billing office representative and the call was terminated. The account was turned over to our collection agency.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The 110 dollars they are referring to is for a procedure that si part of every ************ surgery. ********* is being dishonest again. I did agree to pay 100 on Sept 5th and was told this was FULL PAYMENT for the procedure I received. I PAID THE BALANCE IN FULL. They are trying to say the stint was a separate procedure but it is not. They never told me it was a possiblity that there would additional and sepaerate charges possible for a very common surgery they do every day. Teh stent is used in virtually every ************ surgery. They know this because they do this every day. Only later did they try to make it a separate and additional fee. They never told me this was a possibility and I DID NOT APPROVE ANY SEPARATE AND ADDITIONAL CHARGES. This is a classic bait and switch scam by an unscrupulous company. These people should be criminally prosecuted for ******** fraud.

06/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On January 12, 2015, I got sick while visiting someone in Covington TN.I went to Baptist Hospital on *** ** (Emergency Room). I am on disability and was told that if I could prove this that the State will pay my funds. I took my proof of disability to the hospital the next business day. After about a month they sent me a bill saying that I sent my proof of disability in to late. I talked to a man in billing. I can't remember his name. I have received two bills one for five hundred fifty three dollars from **** and another bill for one hundred sixty two dollars.
Product_Or_Service: Emergency room
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like BMH to keep their promise and send my information to the state to be paid in full.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** System Direct
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********************
Baaptist Memorial Health Care Corporation has a financial assistance program for our patients with no insurance which is income based. It is offered to every self pay patient who receives services and the amount of the discount is based on the income of all household members.
Ms. ******* presented to the ****** ** and received treatment on Jan 12, 2015. She had no insurance and was given a financial assistance application to complete and return to us within 30 days. She signed the acknowledgment of receipt of the financial application, copy enclosed. She returned the application on Jan 14, but upon our review, we determined that she did not include the required financial information on the other members of the household included in her application. A letter dated Jan 14, 2015 was sent to Ms. ******* advising her that the application was incomplete, telling her what information was needed and that the information was required within the same 30 day period, copy attached. She did not respond to our request for the additional information within our 30 day timeframe, therefore, her application for financial assistance was denied. She then automatically qualified for our self pay minimum discount of 50% of her total balance of $324.00 which equalled $162.00.
Every effort was given to assist Ms. ******* in getting financial assistance for her hospital bill. We have a program in place to assist our patients, but it is their responsibility to completely provide all of the required information within our 30 day timeframe.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
That is a lie. I did return the information asked f me on time. I took it to the hospital in ********* and gave it to a black female who works in the financial department. I don't know why they are doing this to me because I suffer from bipolar disorder and this really upset me. My friend is my witness that I did return the information indicated because he was in the car with me. If you need to talk to him please call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Final Business Response
She did initially return the form, but the information was incomplete. As previously provided, we sent the patient a letter explaining that we still needed financial information on the 2 other adult children living in the household because we base financial assistance on total income for the entire household. This completed information was not returned to us within the 30 day timeframe.
I am again attaching a copy of the letter we sent.

01/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a bill from Baptist on 01/19/2014 on account #EXXXXXXXXXXI had been making payments on several bills from my 15 days in the hospital I also had several out patient bills that I was dealing with, when I received this bill the total amount due was $243.20, since I had received my income tax check I decided to full pay some of my smaller bills with this one being one of the bills, I wrote a check for the full amount and wrote final payment on the bills that I full paid I have a copy of the check #703 dated 2/1/2014 with final payment on it, and Baptist cashed the check, now they come back a year later with this same account number saying that I owe them $243.20 with no explanation, so I sent them the copy of the check and today I received the same bill but this time they say that I owe them $256.80, the same account number but now an additional $13.60. I know that I paid all of my bills and would like for Baptist to leave me along. Please help me settle this because they have been harassing me for months with no explanation. I had so many bills that I was paying and kept up the all my payments.

Desired Settlement
I just want them to leave me along because I have full paid all my bills.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****, Sys Dir PFS
Contact Phone: 901-********
Contact Email: ****.*****@bmhcc.org
Ms. ***** had 3 open accounts with BMH. E13******** Balance $105.17
E133******* Balance $151.63
E13******** Balance $500.00

She was making monthly payments on all of the accounts and the payments were processed through our lockbox operations via ******** Bank. We identified and issue with the electronic file that FTB was creating for our posting process in which the oldest account was selected to post payments to regardless of the account number written on the patient's check. Because of this, the payments of $105.17 and $151.63 were incorrectly posted to account E13******** leaving a balance of $243.20, which Ms. ***** paid upon receiving a statement. Ms. ***** called our office to question why she had recieved statements on the 2 accounts that she had already paid, we realized what had happened, advised her that the payments had been missapplied to her oldest outstanding account and that we would transfer the payments to the correct account. Once that was corrected, it left account E13******** with a remaining balance of $258.80.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have my checks for all 3 payments and was never told that they had credited the wrong account and why would they come back a year later harassing me when it was their mistake if they had given me credit on the wrong account, I had 8 surgeries and many many bills and kept up with all my payments and do not owe this bill and why would they cash my check that stated final payment if it wasn't the final payment, I feel like they should have addressed the issue then, when I received my bill for the balance I paid it in full.



11/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was suppose to receive a refund check of $89.35 and I have yet to receive my money that is owed to me.
I received a bill in the mail for $89.35 from Baptist Hospital that was due on 09/16/2014. On 08/22/2014 I paid the bill in full. Afterwards I called 901-******** and the receptionist told me that the bill was a mistake and that I was going to receive my money back in check form. On October 3,2014 I still had no received my check. I called and spoke with *** and she told me that the check had been mailed out to **** ****** ****** ** which is not my address. My address is **** **** ** ***** Who ever lives at the ************* address cashed the check and signed my name. I have called back to 901-******** and spoken to *** every day since October 3. Everyday that I call I get the run around she keeps telling me that I need to go to my bank. I never even received the check because it was sent to the wrong address so what sense does that make to go to my bank. It is not my fault that the check was sent to that wrong address and whomever lives there fraudulently cashed the check. Baptist hospital and its receptionist in this department have been very unorganized and unprofessional. I do not care what has to take place, but I need my $89.35 back. My account # is EXXXXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive the money that is owed back to me which is $89.35.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****.*****@bmhcc.org
The refund check was issued and was mailed to the patient at the address we had on file. Ms. ***** had not notified us that she had moved. The check was cashed and had cleared our bank. Before re-issueing the check to Ms. *****, we have been trying to determine who cashed the check. We have identified the individual and Ms. ***** has stated that she is not aquainted with him. We are in the process of re-issuing Ms. ***** a replacement check and have verified her current address prior to mailing.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Baptist was notified of the address change the moment that I found out I was getting a refund. The receptionist failed to update the information. An apology from the hospital for its lack of communication and proper training of its staff would be acceptable. One of the first things that I did was notify them of the address change because I wanted to receive the check of course.

Page 1 of 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/1949Business started: 07/20/1912
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

TN Dept of Health-Investigations
Heritage Pl, Metro Center 227 French Landing #201
Nashville, TN 37243
(800) 852-2187
http://tn.gov/health

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Bill Griffin (Senior Vice President- CFO)
Contact Information
Mr. Jason Little (President & CEO)
Business Category

Hospitals/Clinics, Rehabilitation Services, Hospitals, Hospices

Products & Services

This company offers hospital care, minor medical centers and outpatient facilities.

Alternate Business Names
Baptist Memory Care Center - Collierville, Baptist Memorial Health Care Foundation, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Collierville, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Desoto, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Memphis, Baptist Memorial Rehabilitation Hospital, in affiliation with Centerre Healthcare, Baptist Memorial Restorative Care Hospital, Baptist Memorial Hospital for Women, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Huntingdon, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Tipton, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Union City, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Forrest City, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Booneville, Baptist Memorial Hospital - North Mississippi, Baptist Trinity Home Care & Hospice, Baptist Minor Medical Hospital - Cordova, Baptist Minor Medical Center - Olive Branch, Baptist Minor Medical Center - Memphis, Baptist Primary Care Center - Summer, Baptist Occupational Medicine (Occupational Only), Baptist - EMSC, Baptist Germantown Surgery Center, Memphis Surgery Center, UroCenter, Union City Surgery Center, BMG Primary Care and Walk-In Clinic, Crestwyn Behavioral Health, Baptist Heart Institute, Baptist Home Care & Hospice - Huntingdon, Baptist Home Care & Hospice - Southaven, Baptist Memphis Education Center/Auditorium, Baptist Women's Health Center, Kemmons Wilson Family Center for Good Grief, RB Wilson Medical Center, Baptist Minor Medical Center Bartlett, Baptist Rehab Germantown

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation

350 N Humphreys Blvd

Memphis, TN 38120-2177

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (901) 227-7123
  • (800) 422-7847
  • (901) 525-1160
  • (901) 795-5585
  • (901) 754-0384
  • (901) 276-2410

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (901) 227-3516
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Hospitals/Clinics

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.