BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1961

Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation

Find a Location

Phone: (901) 226-5000Fax: (901) 227-6845View Additional Phone Numbers350 N Humphreys Blvd, MemphisTN 38120-2177 Send email to Baptist Memorial Health Care CorporationView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1961

BBB has determined that Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB verifies that BBB Accredited Businesses have required competency licenses when they apply for or renew their accreditation and encourages you to re-verify them. BBB does not routinely check licensing requirements or status on non-accredited businesses and recommends that you do so.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues13
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
02/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: The nurse assisting with my wife care is very unacceptable and rude and not concerned about the sick people and has a nasty attitude.
My wife arrived by ambulance and when we arrived my wife was in severe pain and I heard the nurse say "Who is making all that noise" which was my wife and her and the guys said something else. She had a problem from there on. When the got her in a room in the ER which was room 23 and she brought a wheelchair in the room and my wife told her she cant get up and she just left the room with an attitude and said nothing. She seems as if she is racist towards black people by her actions. When she ask my wife a question she cut her off short with a attitude. I heard this place has nasty service anyway that's why I wanted the ambulance to take her to Methodist South Hospital and they said Southaven is the furthest they can take her. I called and complained to some man take came down to the room and said that he was going to talked with the nurse but that's not enough when it comes to people coming in for help and get treated like that. Further more I think he was the nurse side I don't trust that he will take care of this complaint.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** ***
Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@*********
Response to BBB, I was able to determine Mr ******'s complaint is directed at Baptiast Hospital Desoto. As stated by Mr ****** he did not want is wife brought to our hospital and was upset with the ambulance service. I determined Mrs ****** was evaluated and received medically appropriate care. Multiple hospital staff were involved in her care and I regret our staff were not able to overcome Mr ******'s preexisting negative opinion of our hospital and his dissatisfatication with the ambulance service for not taking them to his hospital of choise. This is a failure on our part and I have met with and couseled our staff involved in Mrs ******'s care.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/05/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: We have insurance eventhough my insurance covered everything They billed be 647 $ .
We have insurance eventhough my insurance covered everything They billed be 647 $ .I called them several times to fixed the problem and My insurance had teleconference with them to explain i do not need to pay 647$ because my insurance covers everything.They said ok after 2 months they gave my bill to collection

Business' Initial Response
***** originally paid this claim on Jan 3, 2013, but they underpaid since we are not in the ***** network. ***** has refused to pay us even in cases such as this when the patient was admitted through the Emergency Department. We have been in lenghthy discussions with ***** regarding their refusal to pay our claims correctly and this has just recently been resolved. As a result, we did receive additional payment from ***** on this account on August 13, 2013. The account now has a zero balance.
We will contact our collection agency and make sure that no negative credit reporting has impacted Ms. ********'s credit report.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/01/2013Billing / Collection Issues
04/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues
04/11/2013Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2
05/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Improper Insurance Filing and False information provided to get payment.
My ENT referred me to Baptist Memorial Hospital to get a CAT scan. My ENT assistant ******* called BMH and verified they were in network. When I arrived at the hospital they took me to this little cubicle and told me that my in-network benefits require I pat $980 today to proceed with the test. I paid the $980 and had the test done. When BMH filed the insurance claim it turns out that I am not in-network and did not owe $980 as I met my out-of-pocket expenses for the year already. I called and spoke with ***** ******* at XXX-XXX-XXXX who said she would get it straightened out and call me back. I never heard back from her and have left several messages. I also have left messages for ******* ********** at XXX-XXX-XXXX who is not calling me back either. On the explanation of benefits the hospital filed it is showing I paid $0.

Initial Business Response
I have reviewed the account in question. When the patient presented, we verified the benefits and Blue Preferred is in network with Baptist. Based on the verification of 50% co insurance, we collected $980 upfront pre payment towards the charge of the proceduure. Total charges were $2305.00, contractual write off was $1965.00, insurance paid $0 and the amount applied to the deductible was $340.00, which is patient responsibility.
This left a patient credit of $640.00 which was transferred to the patient's other outstanding balance from a hospital stay with dates of service 9/12 through 9-13-12 with a balance of $2557.26. This outstanding account was turned over to collections on 11-23-1012. There have been no patient payments made on the outstanding balance.
Please let me know if you have additional questions.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The previous outstanding account is not accurate and I disagree with the charges on the account. That is why is remains as unpaid. I did not agree to have the $980 applied in any other way then what it was intended for. BMH never called me and told me where the money was or explain if it was applied differently. Nothing should excuse their lack of customer service and their lack of response when I have called PLENTY of times. If it was correctly applied and legal to do that then I wonder why no one called me to tell me. I planned on $980 going towards my 2014 out of pocket expenses so when BMH MISAPPLIED the $980 that messed up all the other accounts at other hospitals because the full amount did not go towards my out of pocket expenses. BMH never explained to me that the $980 could or would be applied any where then what it was intended for. They failed to correctly explain billing procedures and took my payment knowing they would not need the full amount.

Final Business Response
Sorry that we did not respond earlier. We stand by our response given on 4/17/2014. We would be glad to discuss the account that was turned over to collection on 11/23/2012 with the patient to understand their concern about it. We feel that the $640 was applied correctly.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

12/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: MY NAME IS ***** ********** AND I WENT TO THE ER ON OR AROUND MARCH 26 AND NOW I HAVE BEEN SENT TO A COLLECTION AGENCY
MY NAME IS ***** ********** AND I WENT TO THE ER AT BAPTIST EAST IN MEMPHIS TN ON OR AROUND MARCH 26 2013 WITH VERY BAD PAIN IN MY BODY AND LEGS AND COULD NOT HARDLY STAND UP OR WALK. WHEN I ARRIVED AT THE ER I SAT THERE FOR ALMOST 3 HOURS AND WHEN I WAS SEEN THEY TOOK A THROAT CULTURE AND NOSE CULTURE AND TOOK BLOOD PRESSURE AND VITAL SIGNS AND I WAS RUNNING A FEVER, I WAS SEEN BY THE DOCTORS AND WAS TOLD " I HAD THE FUNK AND THEY DONT HAVE A MAGIC WAND" I WAS SENT HOME AND ACTUALLY MY FEVER HAD GONE UP 1 DEGREE FROM WHEN I CAME IN. THE NEXT DAY I FELT EVEN WORSE AND STILL COULD NOT WALK. I WENT TO MY FAMILY DOCTOR AND THEY TOOK A BLOOD SAMPLE AND MY WHITE BLOOD COUNT WAS OVER 10000 AND MY BODY WS TRYING TO FIGHT OFF AN INFECTION AND I WAS GIVEN ANTIBOTICS TO FIGHT OFF THE INFECTION. I MISSED 7 DAYS OF WORK DUE TO THIS ILLNESS. MY INSURANCE COMPANY DID NOT WANT TO PAY FOR THE SERVICES DUE TO THE STATEMENTS MADE BY THE ER STAFF AS I WASNT SICK ENOUGH TO GO TO THE ER???? I ASKED IN THE ER IF THEY COULD TAKE A BLOOD SAMPLE ON SEVERAL OCCASSIONS AND THEY SAID THAT WOULD NOT HELP THEM FIND OUT WHAT WAS WRONG WITH ME BESIDES THAT I HAD THE FUNK!!!!! AFTER I DISPUTED WITH MY INSURANCE COMPANY THEY ENDED UP PAYING THE BILL BESIDES THE 300.00 CO PAY FOR THE ER VISIT. I PAYED 100.00 THAT NIGHT BUT NOW I AM GETTING CALLS FROM A COLLECTION AGENCY AND BAPTIST WILL NOT TALK TO ME SINCE THEY DONT HOLD THE ACCOUNT ANY LONGER. I FEEL THAT I SHOULD NOT BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE CO PAY FOR ER VISIT DUE TO NOTHING THAT WAS DONE THAT NIGHT HELPED IN ANYWAY BUT IF THEY HAD TAKEN A BLOOD DRAW THEY WOULD HAVE SEEN THAT I WAS A VERY SICK PERSON WHICH IS THE STATEMENT MY FAMILY DOCTOR MADE HIS NAME IS ******* **********

Initial Business Response
Mr ********** presented to the BMH-Memphis emergency department with flu-like symptoms. He was seen and treated by the ER physician. We submitted his claim to his insurance company, but the claim was denied by the insurance for a non-emergency visit. Mr. ********** contacted our office to let us know that he was appealing this decision with ******* Medical Records were sent to the insurance for their review. ****** did reprocess the claim and made payment, but applied $300.00 to the outstanding deductible. Mr. ********** paid $100.00 when he was seen in the Emergency Department and the remaining balance of $200.00 is the remainder of the deductible.
Upon review of the records, BMH provided necessary care and treatment to Mr. ********** and we do not feel that any adjustment to his outstanding balance is warranted.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I ONLY AGREE WITH ONE STATEMENT MADE IN THAT I WAS SEEN BY AN ER PHYSICIAN. WHEN I WAS IN THE EMERGENCY ROOM I FELT LIKE I WAS A NUISANCE RATHER THAN A SICK PERSON THAT NEEDED MEDICAL CARE.WHILE I WAS IN THE WAITING ROOM AND WAS CALLED BACK I WAS STRUGGLING TO GET UP AS I WAS IN SO MUCH PAIN AND THE NURSE THAT CALLED ME BACK DID NOT EVEN ATTEMPT TO HELP ME BUT ONLY TO ASK IF I NEEDED A WHEEL CHAIR AND THEN SHE WENT AND GOT ONE BUT THEN MY WIFE HAD TO HELP ME INTO THE WHEEL CHAIR AND SHE JUST STOOD THERE. I BELIEVE THAT IF A BLOOD SAMPLE WAS TAKEN THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN MORE ATTENTION GIVEN TO ME AS TO FIND OUT WHAT WAS WRONG WITH ME AND NOT JUST PUSH ME OUT THE DOOR AND TELL ME THAT " I HAD THE FUNK" QUOTE FROM THE ER PHYSICIAN!!!!!! AFTER I LEFT THE ER THAT NIGHT I WENT TO THE DOCTOR 5 ADDITIONAL TIMES AND EACH TIME AN ADDITIONAL CO PAY OF $25.00 WAS PAID. I DO UNDERSTAND WHETHER I WOULD HAVE BEEN PROPERLY TREATED AT THE ER OR NOT I STILL WOULD HAVE HAD TO GO TO MY REGULAR DOCTOR BUT I FEEL THAT IT WOULD NOT BEEN FOR THAT MANY VISITS. I DONT KNOW IF YOU KNOW THIS OR NOT BUT IN YOUR ER ROOMS A SIGN ON THE WALL READS THAT IF A BLOOD DRAW IS TAKEN AND SENT TO THE LAB THAT WILL INCREASE WAIT TIME BY 2 HOURS, THAT IS WORKING OFF OF MEMORY ON WHAT THE SIGN SAYS BUT IT IS ALMOST LIKE BMH DOESNT WANT TO TAKE BLOOD SAMPLES WHICH WOULD CAUSE MORE OF A WAIT TIME. IN CLOSING I WANT TO MAKE SURE THAT BMH UNDERSTANDS THAT THIS IS NOT ABOUT THE MONEY FACTOR BUT ONLY A MATTER OF PRINCIPLE AND THAT I WAS NOT TREATED WITH CONCERN THAT NIGHT AS I WAS A VERY SICK PERSON AND COULD NOT HARDLY WALK. THE ONLY THING THAT I ASK IS TO PUT YOURSELF IN MY SHOES WHICH I KNOW MAY BE HARD TO DO BUT THINK HOW YOU WOULD HAVE FELT IF YOU WERE TREATED THIS WAY WHEN YOU WERE IN YOUR MIND A VERY SICK PERSON. IT WILL MAKE ME THINK TWICE ABOUT GOING TO A BMH HOSPITAL ER IN THE FUTURE

05/10/2013Billing / Collection Issues
11/21/2012Billing / Collection Issues
11/10/2011Billing / Collection Issues

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/01/1949Business started: 07/20/1912
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

TN Dept of Health-Investigations
Heritage Pl, Metro Center 227 French Landing #201
Nashville, TN37243
(800) 852-2187
http://www.state.tn.us/health

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Don Pounds (Senior Vice President)
Contact Information
Mr. Stephen C. Reynolds (President & CEO)
Business Category

Hospitals/Clinics, Hospitals

Products & Services

This company offers hospital care, minor medical centers and outpatient facilities.

Alternate Business Names
Baptist Tipton Hospital, Baptist Memorial Health Care Foundation, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Collierville, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Desoto, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Memphis, Baptist Rehabilitation - Germantown, Baptist Memorial Restorative Care Hospital, Baptist Memorial Hospital for Women, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Huntingdon, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Tipton, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Union City, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Forrest City, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Booneville, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Golden Triangle, Baptist Memorial Hospital - North Mississippi, Baptist Memorial Hospital - Union County, Trinity Health Care Services, Trinity Hospice, Baptist Minor Medical Hospital - Cordova, Baptist Minor Medical Center - Olive Branch, Baptist Minor Medical Center - East Memphis, Baptist Primary Care Center - Summer, Baptist Occupational Medicine (Occupational Only), Baptist Industrial Rehabilitation, Baptist Rehabilitation - Cordova, Baptist Rehabilitation - East, Baptist Rehabilitation - DeSoto, Baptist Rehabilitation - Midtown, Baptist Rehabilitation at DeSoto Athletic Club, Baptist - EMSC, Baptist Germantown Surgery Center, Memphis Surgery Center, UroCenter, Oxford Surgery Center, Union City Surgery Center, BMG Primary Care and Walk-In Clinic

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation

350 N Humphreys Blvd

Memphis, TN 38120-2177

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Baptist Memorial Health Care Corporation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (901) 227-5137
  • (901) 227-7123
  • (901) 226-1400
  • (800) 422-7847
  • (662) 538-7631
  • (901) 525-1160
  • (901) 795-5585
  • (901) 475-5545
  • (901) 276-2410

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (901) 227-3516
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Hospitals/Clinics

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.