BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2011

A Head Above Home Repair

Find a Location

(901) 277-3600MemphisTN 38117 Send email to A Head Above Home RepairView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2011

BBB has determined that A Head Above Home Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB verifies that BBB Accredited Businesses have required competency licenses when they apply for or renew their accreditation and encourages you to re-verify them. BBB does not routinely check licensing requirements or status on non-accredited businesses and recommends that you do so.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A Head Above Home Repair's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on A Head Above Home Repair

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
poor workmanship from subs and decking material issues
installed bad wood on deck sap coming up through
Deck part nailed part screwed down should be all screwed down. Nail holes thru ceiling used incorrect decking 5/8 vs 1/2 per contract. Poor attempts to correct issue of nail holes left homeowner to sand and restain

Desired Settlement
refund for my time to change out deck wood sand nail holes on ceiling and restain deck wood and ceiling. Also cost of materials to correct issues

Business Response

Better Business Bureau
3693 Tyndale Drive
Memphis, TN 38125

Dear Teri G:

RE: Case # ******** - ***********

This weighs heavily on me that Mr. *********** has written this complaint on the work we did at his house on Shelley Renee. I pride myself on giving the highest customer service in the Shelby County area.

My contract with Mr. ***** was to remove the existing cover from his patio and build him a new larger cover over the patio. We completed the work as contracted. In our agreement we were not to do the finish work - "No paint or stain on the cover."

In addition to the cover being built, we removed the old deck boards and hand rails from the existing deck that went around his patio. We replaced fascia boards under the covered area per his request. He requested that we just add the extras on to the bill. When it came to payment time, he told me how much he was going to pay, $7500.00, as he was disappointed with the nail holes in the ceiling. This amount was about $700.00 less than what I stated on the invoice. I agreed to his payment to make him happy. We did fill the nails holes in with a wood filler. The filler that was used did not take the stain that he used. We went back out to the house and dug out the filler and put in a stainable wood filler. He did the paint and staining himself.

On the decking issue, we installed a 3/8" bead board and a 1/2" sheathing on top of the cover. This adds up to 7/8" decking on top of the cover. This is 1/4" thicker than 5/8" decking.

With regards to the screws issue, my carpenters began the work using nails on the deck boards. They were stopped after Mr. ***** called me about this issue. We did not go back and replace the nails with screws for the few boards that have already been completed but finished out the rest of the deck boards with screws and added screws to the few boards that were nailed. My opinion was that these few boards were now doubled anchored.

Sap on the deck boards complaint - the boards he is referring to are treated wood. It is moisture coming out of the wood from the process of treatment to the wood. The customer stained the deck boards too soon. According to all manufacturer specs, you need to let treated wood dry for 4 to 8 weeks.

I have been back to the customer™s house several times to try to make him happy. Example: He marked the ground where he wanted the ceiling fan hung, we mounted it where it was marked. He said that was not the correct placement. We went back out moved the fan to a new spot. With this we had to add a junction box to extend the wiring. He asked if we could build a wood box to cover the junction box. We did what was requested, but he did not like the first box. I went back out and built another larger box for him at no charge. His statement to me as he was paying was, "It looks good. Now I just have to stain it."


After all the facts stated above, I am not sure why he has had to make a complaint as I have done all in my power to complete all tasks to his satisfaction. He has made payment to me, so the job is complete.


Regards,



Jody


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response we were unhappy with the nail holes and the deck being partly nailed and partly screwed in. Additionally there were many finish issues that need attention. Work was not completed as contracted. Additionally to set the record straight nowhere in the contact did it read "No paint or stain on the cover" nor did he remove the hand rails. My wife and I completed that task prior to the start of the deck work. I can provide a copy of the contact if needed as well as additional pictures.
Celling nail holes should not have happened. Poor workmanship 1st fix per Jody incorrect filler was used. He did attempt to correct and let me to sand and restained this should have done by Jody. Issue started with his contactor. Jody was aware of the stain we were using and he was shown the product. After 2nd fix on ceiling we found putty on the deck which will have to be corrected as well. Roof decking was clearly marked 5/8 not 1/2 as Jody states. He was questioned on this and stated it would be fine. As a result we now have nail holes. Even if they did use 1/2 plywood then the nails his contactor used were too long and again thus the nail holes. Poor workmanship with no oversite.
As a side we now have leak that required me to pull off some trim wood to let water drain. I put up piece of vent as a temp fix until we can find the source of the leak to prevent any wood rot.
As for the deck half of the deck is nailed and the other half is screwed in not a few boards as Jody states. There are a total of 26 boards that were incorrectly installed. He clearly told us that they only used screws on decks. Bad section should have come up and corrected. This was not done. After the decking was stained I questioned Jody on the boards that had sap coming out. He told us that were due to a new process for the wood and he had issues on another job like ours. We asked the lumber people at Lowes they did not know of any new process being used. At no time we informed to let the wood dry for 4 to 8 weeks. But according to Lowes the wood would have done this anyway and would have to be replaced. At no time did Jody make an effort to correct this. In fact I asked if he had extra decking from the job and I would make the repairs. He said he did not and I now have the wood to correct this from Lowes..
Bottom line is Jody was rarely on site to monitor progress. He had to be called by myself of issues on the site. Then trying to get him on site was difficult he said he come at a certain time and day and not call or show. Coming and going on his terms. What was supposed to take 3 days then 4 days with the fascia work took an actual 7 days. This is not including the callbacks. While he did make attempts to correct some issues after we told him were not pleased with the work other issues he did not. This leaving the homeowner to correct after spending 7500.00 dollars. This deck should be perfect. While we did negotiate the cost down after continuing issues and the lack of attempts by Jody I feel there are still issues to resolve. I now have to put in my time and money to correct these issues.

Regards,


Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/01/2004Business started: 03/01/2004Business started locally: 10/01/2009
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jody Tate (Owner)
Business Category

Home Improvements, , Kitchen & Bath Remodelers, Kitchen Remodeling, Carpenters, Remodeling Services, Handyman Services, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Carpet Layers, Ceiling Contractors, Home Repair & Maintenance, Countertop - Fabrication, Bathroom Remodeling, Painters, Roofers, Windows & Doors, Contractor - Sheetrock, Lighting Fixtures - Repair & Maintenance, Window Companies, Contractor - Interior Trim, Fans-Repair, Doors - Installation, Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors, Door Frames, Moldings, Carpet Installation, Fencing Contractors, Hardwood Floorers, Patio, Porch and Deck Enclosure Companies

Industry Tips
General Contractors/Home Improvement Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A Head Above Home Repair

Memphis, TN 38117

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A Head Above Home Repair is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Improvements

General Contractors/Home Improvement Contractors
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.