BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/01/2011

FedEx Employees Credit Association (Headquarters)

Phone: (901) 344-2500Fax: (901) 922-0433

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
12/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 11/14 used ATM to retrieve money off Rushcard (which is a non fee ATM) and the ATM read DISPENSING MONEY but no money came out.
After informing security and branch employees was told they had no number to contact the ATM service because that was not a part of Fedex. But that I needed to contact my bank since I wasn't a customer of Fedex Credit Union. Once out of the building the ATM then showed a message stating OUT OF SERVICE. I filed a dispute with Rushcard who's affiliated with Bancorp and currently its under investigation. My issue is that the amount that was attempted to be withdrawn was more than 75% of my payroll. $350. It has caused me to be behind on rent & car payment due to having to switch money around from thus bill to that bill and my payroll account holder Rushcard shows where the transaction was processed as if the money was dispensed. It is very frustrating especially at thus time of the year waiting on monies that you've already worked for yet have been taken from you.

Desired Settlement
My $350.00

Business Response
We were made aware of ************ concerns and immediately addressed the situation. While the bank who issued her debit card is who she needs to go through for resolution, we made the decision to work directly with **********.

This situation was resolved with ********** last week and she received the disputed money from the ATM.

04/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unresolved issue with Car Loan and Savings Account
I have two unresolved issues:

1) I had financed a 2005*************** which was paid off in 2010. Upon payoff, the credit association sent me a lean release letter but did not send me the original title to the vehicle. At the time, a supervisor had said that the title was lost but that the credit association would reimburse me for the fee charged by the state issue a duplicate title. I never had the need to obtain a duplicate title until now because I am selling the vehicle. But the title clerk has refused to assist as promised.

2) I have a savings account with $100 balance. My husband has the same exact account...but his account is accruing interest where as mine is not. Despite repeated calls to customer service, no one has been able to explain the discrepancy.

Desired Settlement
1) Please mail me the original title or reimburse me for the fee to obtain a duplicate title as promised.

2) Fix my savings account so it accrues interest as it should.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title:*************** **********
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email:*******@*****.com
We apologize for any inconvenience Ms. ********* has had in regards to this titling issue. After reviewing the issue and speaking with the title clerk, it seems when the loan was paid off four years ago, Ms. ********* was made aware that we never received her title and therefore could not send it back to her once the loan was complete. A lien release was sent in lieu to assist her in obtaining the title at that time. The title clerk did mail and email a duplicate lien release on 10/01/2014 for her records. Since the auto loan was paid off over four years ago, we typically would not provide compensation for a duplicate title. As a courtesy to Ms. *********, we went ahead and reimbursed the amount she will be charged in the state of Illinois on 10/10/2014 since we failed to notify her of the title not being received prior to close. As for Ms. *********'s second request, our Primary Savings accounts dividend rates are based upon tiers. These tiers can be viewed at www.*****.com/rates. We determined that her Ms. *********'s account is correct. If there are additional concerns, I would be more than happy to personally speak with her.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your response. I have received the check for the title fee...thank you. I consider that matter closed.

On the savings account issue, I disagree with your assessment. As I said before, my husband and I have the same type of account and they both have the same balance...his is accruing interest while mine is not. The amount of the interest is negligible given that we both leave a nominal $100 balance in our savings accounts...but the fact remains that the two accounts are behaving differently. His account number is 365727000. Please investigate and reply. Thank you.

Final Business Response
The following secure email was sent to*****:

Good Morning*****,

I was hoping to get you on the phone so we could discuss some specifics about your account since I know you have questions about the dividends. I did leave you a message with my contact information if this email does not clarify things for you or if you have additional questions.

I of course cannot give you specifics about your husband's account since I have not spoken with him to release that information. I can definitely give you some general information and hope that helps!

All of our members start their membership with **** with a Primary Savings Account. This account type starts earning dividends when there is a daily balance maintained of $500. If you are not seeing dividends post to your account, it may be due to the balance being insufficient. If you are seeing dividends posted to another account of this same type, you may want to check the date the dividends were deposited. It may have been from a time, possibly even years ago, when the balance did meet that requirement and has just rolled over in the account every period since then.

I apologize for our responses not being clear enough. Please feel free to contact me if you have any other questions.

Best Regards,

**************

08/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
An account holder for more than 7 years, I was charged dormancy fees on a savings account. I was contacted after 10 months and refused a fee refund.
As a 7+ year account holder and more 10 year employee of FedEx, I left FedEx in August of 2013 to pursue other employment opportunities. At the time that my employment ended, my payroll direct deposit into the account at the FECCA also ended. It was not until a few weeks ago that I became aware that the account was subject to dormancy fees. After becoming aware, I requested that the fees be refunded to my account totaling approximately $30 dollars. FECCA refused to refund the full fees claiming that the disclosure documents that I originally signed in 2004 stated that I was subject to the dormancy fees. I received no notification of the negative balance on my account despite the FECCA clearly having my contact information. I believe that the deductions from the account were unfair collection practices. Sufficient notice was not given and the FECCA had the contact information and resources to advise that the account was being charged. The practices are deceptive by their nature since no reasonable person would expect to pay for a "savings" account. If I had know of the fees, I could have simply closed the account.

Desired Settlement
Refund of dormancy fees and account closure. In the alternative, account closure with a zero balance.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** Later Compliance
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@fecca.com
We apologize for the misunderstanding regarding this account. When an account is opened, we provide members with the membership and Account Agreement booklet. On page 7, there is a statement regarding Inactive Accounts, as well as the Rate & Fee Schedule which clarifies that an account will be deemed Dormant if there is no activity within 6 months, and the monthly Dormancy fee is $10. There was no activity on Ms. *******'s account since August 2013, so her quarterly statements would have shown these fee assessments. Her account being in the negative was actually not due to these fees. As a courtesy, a NSF Fee has been reversed, along with one of the Dormancy Fees to ensure her account is not in the negative. We highly appreciate our long-term relationship with Ms. ******* and would love a chance to work out these misunderstandings and keep her business, regardless of her status with FedEx. She is welcome to call me if she is interested in keeping the account open or discussing anything further.

12/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Debit card was part of a compromised merchant account. Called to order new card on Nov 4th. Card was not ordered until 13th. No return call!
I received a notice on Nov 1st that my debit card was part of a compromised merchant account and that my card would be shut off on Nov 15th. I called on Nov 4th to order a new card and the representative ******** told me she would leave my card on until Nov 15th and would order my new card right away. I called on Nov 15th when my card was shut off and asked for a status update. I was told it was ordered and to give it another day. I called again on the 18th when the card did not arrive over the weekend. I was told they could cancel my card and reorder me another one but would be charged. I told them "no" and I wanted them to track my card to see where it was. No one ever called me back. I called again on Wednesday the 20th and again promised a call back. No one ever returned my call. Finally on the 21st I found out my card was never ordered on the 4th but rather on the 13th then not shipped until the 18th!!! This is horrible customer service and no accountability on the part of the bank.

Desired Settlement
Id like an apology from the representative who took this order. I spent over an hour on the customer service line just to find out she screwed up and was not honest.

Business Response
We take our member's time and confidence in us very seriously and we regret that *** ******* had a difficult experience.

After researching, we discovered that although the representative did order the card on the initial date, a keying error caused it to not be processed. Upon discovery of this, the card was ordered. We have since put procedures in place to detect issues such as this in the future.

I have personally reached out to *** ******* twice to offer our apology for this mistake. I have been unable to reach him but hope to speak with him to resolve this issue.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.