BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1986

Acura of Memphis

Phone: (901) 365-6565Fax: (901) 366-0892

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
11/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My vehicle has broken down 3 times within the last month for the same issue. Acura of Memphis cannot identify the problem. Vehicle is under warranty
Purchased a 2008 *********** for Acura of Memphis April 2014. June 2014 replaced rear brake pads,rotors, and sensors before I made first loan payment. On October 29,2014 my vehicle broke down on my way to work. I contacted Acura of Memphis and they told by Service Manager *** ******** to have the vehicle towed. I also ran my credit on this date as well to see if I could do a possible trade. On October 31,2014 spoke with *** ******** said my vehicle was ready for pickup and the battery was recaliberated which was the issue for the problem. October 2014 around 4:30 PM I picked up the vehicle and paid a tow bill fee of $69 and around 5:30 PM the vehicle broke down a second time. I contacted *** ******** and he told me to have the vehicle towed back to Acura of Memphis. On November 1,2014 I visited the Acura of Memphis Dealership to obtain a loaner vehicle as well as check status of my credit. I was told I had negative equity of $10,000, adverse credit, as well as I have put what was quoted as over 20,000 miles in a six month period. They offered me to trade for a 2012 *********** which I refused. On November 5, 2014 I received a call from******* **** in the service department contacted me and said I need a new battery and an alternator and in order for the warranty company to inspect the vehicle I had to replace the battery because it was not holding a charge. I agreed. On November 11,2014 I was contacted by *** ******** that my vehicle was ready for pickup. When I asked what was the issue with my vehicle the second time he said it was just the battery and once the new battery was placed on my vehicle that the alternator did not receive any failed readings. I paid $185.67 for the battery replacement. On November 14,2014, my vehicle broke down for a third time for the same issue. This time I had it towed to ************ because I did not feel confident in Acura of Memphis to fix my vehicle since they obviously cannot find the problem. I paid a tow bill of $30 to have the vehicle towed to ************ because it was 30 miles outside of my tow area. On November 17,2014 I spoke with ************** with ************. He stated that the new battery I just replaced was dead and it was not holding a charge so the diagnostic tests can be ran. ************** also mentioned that the vehicle had an oil leak which he thinks can be replaced under warranty as well as the rear tires needed to be replaced. As far as the issue that caused the vehicle to break down nothing can be done until a new battery is received and it could be the alternator or an electrical issue that is causing the battery to drain. No additional word about the vehicle has been received. I have emailed and spoke with the General Sales Manager *********** of Acura of Memphis as well as *** ******** Service Manager, and ********** Parts and Service Director in regards to this vehicle. ********** offered to refund me the money I paid for the tow bill as well as send over a battery replacement to**** since the new battery I purchased on November 11,2014 was covered under warranty. On November 17,2014 I emailed the owner of Acura of Memphis************ my issues and I have yet to receive an email or phone call in regards to this matter from him.

Desired Settlement
I would like to replace my **************** with a new vehicle. I would also like to be refunded fees I have incurred since I have purchased this vehicle. I honestly do not belief that due diligence was done on behalf of Acura of Memphis when they sold me the car. I feel as if the vehicle was not properly inspected when they allowed me to purchase the vehicle and now that I am having problems with the vehicle I am receiving comments from the General Sales Manager***** ****** as to why did I purchase the**** in the first place and I am unable to get a loan for a new vehicle due to my credit. He also mentioned to me that I refused to take a deal on the 2012 *********** which is safe and reliable. In my opinion I do not feel comfortable purchasing another used vehicle because of all of the problems I am having with my current vehicle and if I do decide to downgrade my vehicle, it will be my decision and I would get something new versus purchase something used. I did not got into Acura of Memphis to purchase a vehicle. I was only there to do an oil change and since the my salesman offered me an opportunity to have a lower vehicle payment as well as the fact my current warranty on my 2010 ********* was about to expire, I made the decision to trade my vehicle which I had no issues with. I did not know that six months later I would be having these types of issues. Otherwise I would have kept the vehicle I had. This has been a devastating experience for me and the last thing I need is for a General Manager to belittle me and make me feel guilty for purchasing a vehicle from a dealership I've purchased three vehicles from. I have never had any issues with Acura of Memphis until now.

Business Response
At Acura of Memphis, we want to ensure that all our customers are happy with their purchases. As we sell vehicles of all makes and models to meet our customers needs; they do require varying degrees of maintenance and repair when they exceed their factory warranties and are sold AS/IS. We have reached out to the customer and are refunding her expense per her request. We have come up with a vehicle replacement, and are working on another one that will meet her expectations.

10/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a car from Acura of Memphis I didn't want the car I expressed that to the dealership i was stopped 3 times and I still refused the car it wasn't that I couldn't afford it or I didn't like it I really wanted to wait till tax time as I expressed but these salesmen were not taking no for an answer they were like sharks and I was overwhelmed with how much they were trying to get me to purchase the car so I gave in after hour's of propersitioning me I told them about my credit and first it was im approved then I t went from that to I need a co-signer I told them I don't have one they kept pressuring me to find someone so I called my grandmother's house after being drilled by the dealership I even told them that she's not going to do it she said no as I stated to them then they had me call her again and they would talk to her they convinced her to sign then IT went from that to the car has to be in my grandmother's name so they convinced her to to get the car i was told that I didn't have to worry about a down payment before I arrived but that was a lie it went from a 1000.00 to 500.00 I told them I don't have the 500.00 so they convinced me to come in when I get paid but after I did everything went to ground they said that the application had to be done over my grandma resign the application she did then it had to be done again and she didn't want to do it again so they tried to convince me to pretend that I'm my grandmother gave me information to tell the bank so I can keep the car and keep it in my grandmother's name without her knowledge so I refused now I have to turn the car in this issue isn't my fault yo yo scammed I was now I have lost 790.00 insurance and down payment this is not right and my grandmother receives 900.00 a month i make 2800 hundred a month how is that she can afford the car and I can't they told me they were gonna take care of that and they did but now I'm walking away with nothing it's not fair that was all on them and now im suffering because Acura of Memphis

Desired Settlement
I would love to have my 790.00 dollars back and a apology for taking advantage of me and for talking to me like I'm a child or a criminal

Business Response
Acura of Memphis did refund the $790.00 on 8/27/2014. The check was written to the grandmother because the deal was the grandmothers name. I spoke with the client personally on behalf of the owner. Each party left that day with the feeling the issue had been resolved. I have attached the check and evidence of both names.

07/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a service light come on in my new 2014 acura mdx. I was told one price and charged twice as much. Went from 300 dollars to 634.67.
I will never go back and feel I was taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement
Want a refund for any dollar amount over the three hundred figure I was told on the phone twice.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title:***********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email:*******@acuraofmemphis.com
I have communicated with the customer and refunded the money he had a question about. If any further action is required pleas let me know.

04/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Haven't received our tag.
I purchased a vehicle for on 2/28/14. We've taken the truck up to the dealership at least 3 times for maintenance issues since the purchase. We inquired about our tag on the last visit two weeks ago. One of the managers stated they didn't have an accurate phone number for me on file. I gave them my number again and also gave them my wife's number. Today 3/28/14, my wife phoned up there to inquire about the tag once again and the receptionist stated that needed an accurate phone number and that I needed to come up there and sign the title for them to apply for my tag. This is very disturbing because we've given them the number on several occasions. However, them claiming to not have an accurate number is still no reason for the dealership not to contact us for something as pertinent as a tag. They do have an accurate address on file so it seems that someone would have used common sense and contacted us through mail. Have my wife's check not cleared I'm pretty sure they would have found a way to get in touch with us. This just goes to show that salesmen are only out to make money and not take care of their customers after a sale is made. We personally will never buy from this dealership again because their business practices are horrible! It should not take 30 days to file for a tag. Management and the salesmen need to take classes on the steps from beginning to end for when a customer purchase a car with cash.

Desired Settlement
I will be going up there today to sign the title. Hopefully they will give us another drive out tag. The only thing I ask is that they phone or write us when the official tag arrives. They have our number and our address. However, just in case they claim not to have either one of the two... XXX-XXX-XXXX and **** ******* **** **** ******** TN XXXXX.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***** GM
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******@acuraofmemphis.com
We apologize for the inconvenience and delay in the customer receiving their license plates. Traditionally dealers do not apply for tags on a cash transaction, this is done as a courtesy for the client. In this case we had a delay in receiving the title from the prior owner. You have my sincerest apology for not having the correct number and not making other arrangements to reach you. We now have the plate, and I have left a message on your voicemail to that effect. Please consider me your personal agent at Acura of Memphis, and feel free to contact me anytime.

08/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Acura of Memphis has the worst sales person in the world and most unprofessional. Would not recommend them if you are trying to purchase a car.
Sales person ******** ***** at the Acura of Memphis location was extremely unprofessional. He was extremely pushy, forceful, over-ambitious, rude, immature, asinine, chauvinistic, and xenophobic. Additionally, he made inappropriate remarks because I decided to continue shopping for a vehicle. I was mislead about the purchase price of different vehicles and what all the packages included. Further the sales person ******** ***** abused his power by attaining my cell phone number from my credit report and sent inappropriate and unprofessional text messages to my phone. He stated: "Doesn't help me and my family. Be considerate of others time before you go out looking for personal gain". I believe I have a right to buy whatever I wish with my money and if I don't look out for my personal gain, who will? I would not recommend Acura of Memphis to purchase a vehicle from. There is better service from other Acura dealers any where in the world. I think his actions represent the dealership as a whole and they should do better training.

Desired Settlement
Not applicable, or an apology and call from the GM would be nice.

Business' Initial Response
Acura of Memphis requires that its staff and management treat our clients with dignity and respect. We do not allow this type of behavior and apologize for any angst experienced by *** *****. I was able to speak with *** ***** on Monday the 19th, and will personally provide any assistance needed from this point forward. We wholeheartedly apologize and request the opportunity to reconcile our relationship.

Page 1 of 2
10/18/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Emotional distress.
On 7/30/2014 I received a Visa card in the mail that stated I had been qualified for a vehicle. I called the 1 800 number enter my Information and a recording said I had been qualified and that Mr. ***** ******* would call me. Shortly after that, I received a phone call from Mr. ***** ******* who told me I was approved for a vehicle and I scheduled an appointment with him to complete the paperwork and pick up my car.After I arrived after telling him I would have to catch the***** Bus; I also walk almost a mile; he said that they had made a mistake and that my income would not be enough. I asked how did he approve me he said that he had some old information. I asked how could that be when I had put my updated info in 1-800 number. I was extremely discouraged;because I had travel from one side of town and walked to get a car he had called me two days in a row to come and get. I feel that my emotions were tested and that I was presented with a false hope; because of my need for a vehicle which I explained before I arrived. I was told that it was zero down and I had been approved.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting $ 5000.00 dollars for the emotional stress that was placed upon from this situation. I experienced a period of discouragement and bewilderment.

Business Response
We did schedule an appointment for Mrs. ******** and based upon the information that she provided us over the phone we did in fact have a pre-qualified for her (subject to income and bank stipulations of course).
After having Mrs. ******** in and reviewing her stipulations for the pre-approval she failed to meet the bank guidelines and income requirements in order to fulfill her pre-approval (we do not ask about income on the 800 number for credit applications).
We did inform Mrs. ******** that a cosigner may greatly improve her chances of an approval but at this point in time we would not be able to help her get a new vehicle.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not except their reply, Because I was told, by the salesperson that he never got the information that I had called into the 800 number he is lying and trying to keep himself free of the wrong that they have done. I want to be compensated for the distress that was caused by him not looking things up properly.

11/04/2014Problems with Product / Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.