BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2007

Icon Collision Services, LLC

Phone: (901) 213-3266Fax: (901) 213-33172160 Spicer CV, MemphisTN 38134-5600 Send email to Icon Collision Services, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2007

BBB has determined that Icon Collision Services, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB verifies that BBB Accredited Businesses have required competency licenses when they apply for or renew their accreditation and encourages you to re-verify them. BBB does not routinely check licensing requirements or status on non-accredited businesses and recommends that you do so.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Icon Collision Services, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Icon Collision Services, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Icon Collision painted a high quality aftermarket hood for me. It was delivered to me with paint defects such as pitting, a run, and cracking.
Icon Collision performe a paint job on a new fiberglass hood I purchased for my Camaro. The hood was from a top manufacturer MPD1 who hand-makes these hoods and test fits them to an identical car to perfect the fit. I have found on online forums that customers of MPD1 have said "I know I love my hood, top notch quality." "I personally have a MPD1 Z-Force hood and the quality is excellent and a perfect fit." "MPD1 Hood here. My body shop guys were blown away at how little prep this hood took and they were all very impressed by the quality." The reason for these quotes is to show that there is no issue with the quality of the MPD1 hood that I provided.

Icon Collision quoted me to properly prep, prime, and paint the hood for an initial amount of $416.02. I decided to use Icon for the job and dropped off my car. The next day, Icon Collision called me to let me know that they would need to bill $248.44 extra to prep unprimed fiberglass on the edges and underside of the hood. I agreed to the additional amount. I expected, having paid for prep on the hood, that a proper prep would be done, however, this was not the case. Due to improper preparation, the paint job had pitting throughout the paint job (most noticeably around the edges), cracking underneath the clear coat around the edges, and a 3"-4" long paint run on the underside of the hood. I expected a professional quality job but what I received was much less.

The hood should not have left Icon Collision like this, however I decided to bring it back and allow them to correct it. I pointed out the aforementioned issues to the Co-Owner Mario and left the car with them to correct. After several days, I was informed the car was ready. While picking up the car, Mario told me that if I had any further issues with the job to contact the other owner, Tim. After bringing the car home and inspecting the job, I found that Icon Collision had attempted to correct the issue by blotting touch-up paint (on a new paint job) in some of the pits in the paint. There will still pits that were untouched and the edges and paint run had also been left untouched.

I called back that evening and spoke with Mario who told me, "Like I told you earlier, if that's not good enough then you need to call back tomorrow and speak with Tim." So I waited until the next day and called Tim. Tim attempted to inform me that my hood was received in horrible condition, so that is why it doesn't look good, I know this to be false as the other shops who I had quote the job were impressed with the quality and build of the hood. After discussing the issue further with him, Tim asked what I wanted done. I told him I wanted the job fixed and the issues corrected (which would likely have taken repainting some or all of the hood and properly prepping it.) He proceeded to tell me they would not make any further attempt to fix it and that they never should have taken the job. He also told me that I didn't pay them enough to do the job and expect an outcome different than what I received. Basically, that I shouldn't have expected a quality outcome.

So my questions would be; If they never should have taken the job, why did they take it? If I didn't pay enough to expect a quality outcome, why didn't they quote me more? And if they aren't going to give me a finished quality paint job, free from a majority of imperfections, why should they be paid?

After this ordeal, I took the hood to Collisionworx Express who agreed that the finish on the hood was in need of repair. They informed me that the hood was improperly prepped which resulted in the poor quality finish and that they would need to strip the finish on the edges and underside of the hood, then repaint it. In addition, they would need to wet sand the finish on the topside of the hood in an attempt to get out some of the pitting. If this didn't work, they said the topside of the hood would also need repainting. I was quoted an amount of $488.78 for this repair.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a resolution by form of a refund in the amount of $488.78 to cover the cost of repairing the paint finish on the hood.

06/27/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Icon Collision refuses to honor a lifetime warranty on previous work. False accusations of previous damage to the area of repair.
On Tuesday May 13th 2014 at approximately 1:30-2pm I took my 2005****** ** 470 to Icon Collision to have them honor a prior repair performed by them in 2011. The drivers side rear panel has started to pop out of place and the paint has started to chip. I started to notice this issue approximately 6 months after the work was completed by Icon but didn't worry too much about it. As time went on it continued to worsen I knew the repair was not done properly. Upon arrival I spoke with advisor **** ***** who took a look at the vehicle and immediately said that the vehicle looked as if it had been hit and advised he would call me within a couple of hours. I did not receive a call that day. The following day I called Icon Collision and spoke with **** ***** and he advised that the SUV had been hit and that Icon would not honor the warranty because of such. The SUV has not been hit nor has it involved in any type of accident or incident. **** advised that he could repair the drivers side rear panel for $367.00 or something close to that which I refused. I will not spend another dime with a company of these ethics and poor business practices. This vehicle has always been fully covered under insurance therefore I have no reason to not have had any incident or accident repaired immediately. The vechicle has been taken to a highly recommended body shop and advises had it been repaired properly this type of issue should not be happening. Also no damage from the vehicle being hit was disclaimed as well.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Icon Collision to pay for the repair. I do not feel comfortable with them repairing my vehicle.

Business Response
see attached file

5/26/2014

RE: Case #40096093:**** *******

Mr. ********,

Icon Collision Services disputes Mr. *******’s claim that we would not honor our lifetime warranty for defects in material and workmanship. I do not question Mr. ******* in the fact that he believes the bumper has not been impacted. However the facts in collision damage show otherwise. The paint has spider cracked due to the substrate( the plastic bumper in this case) being flexed past the point of the paints’ ability to flex. Once the spider cracks happened to the bumper, moisture and contaminants accumulate in the cracks and the paint begins to peel. Another sign of impact is the fact the bumper has popped loose from the retaining clips on the left quarter panel. The last sign of impact is very noticeable in picture 3 below. This type of spider cracking is very common and anyone in this business knows what causes it. Mr. ******* is welcome to take his vehicle to ***** of Memphis and see the Service Director **** **** for a nonbiased opinion. I would also entertain from Mr. ******* any specific descriptions of exactly how the work was performed improperly other than simple accusations.

I instructed **** ***** to offer Mr. ******* a goodwill discount on the repair. I will even go further and offer to repair the bumper at my cost of 200.00 plus tax in an effort to repair any bad feelings Mr. ******* has toward Icon Collision. We pride ourselves on our reputation and would never not honor our warranty. We have not had a BBB complaint in over five years while performing 500000 thousand plus in monthly repairs. Our record speaks for itself and I hope Mr. ******* continues to patronize Icon Collision.


Sincerely,

*** *******
President
Icon Collision Services, LLC.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I strongly disagree with the response. The vehicle has not been hit or involved in any incidents since the repair from ICON. The rear quarter panel is popped out because of the rivets have popped out. This vehicle was taken to an independent unbiased repair shop and confirmed that the rear quarter panel has not been stressed at all as **** the Icon rep advises.

I feel like I was sold a worthless warranty and feel future consumers should be aware of this going forward. Totally unacceptable

Final Business Response
See 2nd response attachedI am a consumer of products as well. When I have an issue with a product or service I purchase that has a problem, I ask for the manager or owner and speak with him in person. I have not talked or heard from Mr. ******* about his complaint. I have offered a concession to repair the bumper at my cost of 200.00. Mr. ******* seems intent on making this issue something it is not. I have provided pictures of impact damage that has caused his bumper issue. I have provided a reasonable explanation of what caused this issue. I advised that he go to ***** of Memphis for another opinion. Mr. ******* has only provided you with accusations with no theory as to how this could be defective. For paint to crack and the "rivets" to just pop loose all at the same time doesn't sound plausible to even a lay person in my opinion. Since there are no rivets securing his bumper in the first place, I request you dismiss this ridiculous claim against my business and advise Mr. ******* to come see me and accept my concession offer as goodwill on my part.

Sincerely

*** *******
President
Icon Collision Services, LLC.



Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/25/2007Business started: 03/01/2006
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Russell (President)Mr. Mario Donati (General Manager)
Business Category

Auto Body Shops, Auto Repair Services

Products & Services

This company offers auto body repair services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Icon Collision Services, LLC

2160 Spicer CV

Memphis, TN 38134-5600

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2160 Spicer CV 

    Memphis, TN 38134-5600(901) 213-3266
    Fax: (901) 213-3317

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in West Tennessee, North Mississippi & East Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Icon Collision Services, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 31, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Body Shops

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.