BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 29/06/2012

Holland Home Services

Phone: (604) 325-2032Fax: (604) 327-30708155 Main St, VancouverBC V5X 3L2 Send email to Holland Home Services

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 29/06/2012

BBB has determined that Holland Home Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Holland Home Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Holland Home Services

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
02/18/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In ************ I asked Holland Home services to clean my gutters and power wash the glass roof over my balcony, and they quoted me $*** including tax for these services. I agreed to this amount and gave them my credit card number and they arranged to have employees come to my house to complete the service. I heard them outside when they arrived and opened the door to say hello but they did not ask me any other questions while they were there or let me know when they were finished. They did not complete the work I asked them to do, they cleaned the gutters on the main house but when powerwashing the balcony roof they just hosed all the leaves and branches down to the gutter at the edge of the roof and did not clean this out, now the gutter for the glass roof is full of branches and back-spilling onto the roof itself.
On **************** they billed $*** to my credit card. I called the company when I received this bill in ******** to ask why I was billed more and was told that the manager would have to call me back. He called me back the next day but said he would have to investigate and get back to me. He did give me a partial refund of $** as I was billed for the gutter cleaning and power washing services at a higher rate than I was quoted, however he had also charged me an additional $** for blowing off the shingled house roof, which I did not ask them to do. I have had this company clean the gutters for 3 years and I have never had them perform this service, nor did I ask them to do it this time. I have phoned and spoken to the manager an additional 3 times about this and each time he has told me he will look into it and get back to me but he has not called me back.

Desired Settlement
Please refund the additional $** I was charged over what I agreed to pay and remove the leaves from the gutter of the glass balcony roof.

Business Response
Dear *****
We want to thank you for your concerns. We take pride in addressing our issues right away and apologize for the initial delay. Once ****** was in contact with you I believe all was dealt with in a timely matter and to your satisfaction.
We hope to continue servicing your home in the future.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After I opened this complaint, ****** called me and promptly completed the work and refunded the money I was overcharged. Thank you very much for your help. Holland Home Services has always done great work for me in the past and I'm happy to see that they were able to resolve this issue!

05/04/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Holland Home Services sent a team of workers to our strata property to clean the gutters without these services having been requested by any of our strata members.

Holland Home Services sent a form letter in October declaring that they would send a crew to our property to perform services. In past years, their form letter included the sentence "You will need to call us to get the services listed below". This year, upon review, this sentence was not included in the letter. Unfortunately this form letter arrived as I was departing on a business trip. I thought little of it, as I remembered in the past that sentence "You will need to call us to get the services listed below". I intended to call them in late November when all the maple leaves on the city-managed maple trees lining our street were blown off. I intended to discuss other gutter repair needs at that time as well.

I called Holland Home Services on November 26 2014 to discuss arrangements for gutter cleaning in mid-December, and to discuss gutter repair needs. I was informed at that time by a Holland representative that a crew had already been to our property on November 25. I took photographs of our gutters on November 26, showing many leaves in the gutter, because winds on November 25 afternoon and evening had blown a considerable amount of leaves from the maple trees onto our roof - which is why we never call for gutter services until we see that all of the maple leaves are off of the trees.

I can't even imagine it is legal for a business to say "we think you need such and such service", show up and perform service without such services being solicited, then slip a bill in the mail slot. None of our strata members had called Holland prior to my calling in on November 26 2014.

I called Holland Home Services this morning, December 3 2014 at about 10 am and spoke to a representative about this problem. She then asked me to hold while she found a manager. ****** then took the call. I described the problem, that Holland had - unsolicited - sent a crew to clean our gutters, unfortunately at a time too early, as there were still too many leaves on the street maple trees. ****** began to argue with me that Holland had sent a letter in late October, and I discussed with him that in prior years such letters stated "You will need to call us to get the services listed below". I said it was unfortunate that they sent a crew early, without any of our strata's solicitation, and that we had other gutter repair issues that we had wanted to discuss. ****** took on an angry tone of voice, said "Fine, I will cancel the invoice, I don't want to work on your property any more, find yourself another company" and hung up on me.

Desired Settlement
The settlement we are seeking is a statement in writing from Holland Home Services that invoice # XXXXX is cancelled, and no charges from our strata ** **** are owed to Holland Home Services.

The settlement I was hoping to negotiate was that Holland would cancel billing of invoice XXXXX, come out and perform the gutter repairs we need (for which we are happy to pay, as we have done in the past since 2010 with this company) and at that time re-clean the gutters and submit an invoice for services solicited by us.

Business Response
Dear ***************,

We want t thank you for your past patronage, we have appreciated your business.

Your concerns regarding the gutter cleaning we acknowledge our part in this, and accepted your request that

invoice # ***** be cancelled.

Although we may have differing views on all of the facts, we made a mistake and accept our part in this.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to work with you again.

Sincerely,
****************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept this response and thank *************** for his efforts to address this issue.


01/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues
05/18/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Window Cleaning, Contractor - Retaining Wall, Pressure Washing, Roofs-Treatment & Maintenance, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/04/1986Business started: 09/06/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Pieter (Peter) Vanderlee (Owner)
Business Category

Window Cleaning, Contractor - Retaining Wall, Pressure Washing, Roofs-Treatment & Maintenance, Gutters & Downspouts


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Holland Home Services has received 3.7 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Holland Home Services

8155 Main St

Vancouver, BC V5X 3L2

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8155 Main St 

    Vancouver, BC V5X 3L2(604) 325-2032
    Fax: (604) 327-3070

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Holland Home Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Window Cleaning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.