BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2002

Trademasters Automotive Ltd.

Phone: (604) 792-3132Fax: (604) 795-752544467 Yale Rd W, ChilliwackBC V2R 4H2 Send email to Trademasters Automotive Ltd.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2002

BBB has determined that Trademasters Automotive Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Trademasters Automotive Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
12/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a ****** spray in bed liner for my 1984 ***** pick up truck on Sept 11/2012 from this company. Within one year the spray on liner on the tailgate began to peal. I stopped in earlier this year to have them look at the tailgate, and was told that they could try and glue it back down. Not the kind of repair I would have asked for.

Recently though I had noticed a few spots in the box of my truck that did not look right. So just a few weeks ago I started to pick at one of the spots. The spray in liner lifted easily. I was upset about this, but waited a day or so before I decided that I wanted the liner to come off, since clearly it was not sealed tight and would allow water to work under it and rust out my box.

I had assumed that the removal of the liner would take a lot of work, since they advertise that this spray in bed liner is supposed to adhere to the box and be virtually impossible to damage and remove.

Well it took me, and my friend, probably 10 minutes to pull this spray in liner out of the truck box, with nothing more then our finger tips. We found a fair amount of rust starting in many places. So much for the claims on durability and adhesion!

I was extremely angry over this, and sent pictures and information to the company through their website. I was contacted a couple days later from the Owner(?). We did not make contact at this time and I returned his call, was not available to speak with me at this time.

We played phone tag for a week or so, but it seemed that they would not contact me, unless I contact them first. For the last 10 days or so I have not made any attempt to phone them, and have had no contact.

I have tried contacting Corporate ****** over the last 2 weeks as well, to see if I could get them involved. I have left two messages with them and have had no contact from them either.

So I assume that they feel that this horrible failure of their product is of no major concern.

Desired Settlement
I do NOT want another spray in liner applied to my truck. But I would like some sort of monetary re-reimbursement for the failure of the product to meet the advertised properties, qualities and promises of this spray in bed liner.

Business Response
In response to the complaint from the above noted customer. The bedliner was installed Sept 2012, within one year there was peeling on the tailgate. The customer did come in for the concern about peeling,(I will take his word for it because I do not have a record of this meeting) and we did not do any repairs at that time(this is reflected in the complaint) or any other time.
My next correspondence from the complainant was Oct 16 2014. This was an email with pictures basicaly outlining the complaint you received. The last paragraph asked me to review his email and pictures.
I did review the pictures and called him. We did play telephone tag and whenever he called, and I missed him, he told my receptionist that he would call me back. However, I always called by the end of the day, I didn't wait for him to call me. The last time I returned his call, I gave him my cell phone number and told him to call me anytime. My last call was never returned.
My next correspondence was Nov 13 2014. the customer posted, on the corporate site, his concerns. Head office contacted me and I relayed my review of the pictures and email as well as the comments posted on the corporate site. Posted as follows
1. The customer chose not to have the liner repaired initially. Leaving the liner unrepaired for one year allowed water penetrate and migrate between the metal of the bed and the ****** allowing the product to separate, therefore making it easier to remove.
2. The customer decided to remove the entire liner, never giving us the opportunity to resolve this issue prior to that occurring.
3. We believe that due to the above noted facts, the customer completely voided any warranty provided by Trademasters and ******. So now, to ask for monetary reimbursement is not a fair or reasonable request.

However, I have mailed a cheque to the complainant for the full amount.

If you can add this to the file as we discussed yesterday that would be great.

*****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I consider this matter resolved. Thank you.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Truck accessories, Truck Bedliner - Spray On, Truck Bedliner, Recreational Vehicles-Service & Repair, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems-Engine, Brake Service, Automobile Repairing & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/09/1994Business started: 31/03/1978Business started locally: 01/01/1988
Contact Information
Principal: Casey Hillton (President)
Business Category

Truck accessories, Truck Bedliner - Spray On, Truck Bedliner, Recreational Vehicles-Service & Repair, Mufflers & Exhaust Systems-Engine, Brake Service, Automobile Repairing & Service

Alternate Business Names
419064 BC Ltd, 419064 B C Ltd

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Trademasters Automotive Ltd.

44467 Yale Rd W

Chilliwack, BC V2R 4H2

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 44467 Yale Rd W 

    Chilliwack, BC V2R 4H2

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Trademasters Automotive Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Truck accessories

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.