BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/06/1975

Mister Transmission

(604) 984-0371890 W 15 St, North VancouverBC V7P 1M6 Send email to Mister TransmissionView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/06/1975

BBB has determined that Mister Transmission meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mister Transmission's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
10/17/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
07/30/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My husband and I had an issue with one of our gears not shifting immediately in August of 2013. We called around to find our best option for shops with courtesy cars as I have a ************* condition and a large family and we are not able to ride transit for extended periods. We have a Mr. Transmission just down the road from our home and we would have gone there but when we spoke with *** at Mr. Transmission in *************** he told us that they provide courtesy cars at no cost to their customer.

We took our vehicle to Mr. Transmission in *************** and picked it up Aug 2/2013. The issue that was happening when cold was now happening when hot or cold. We called Mr. T and were advised to give it a bit of time that the lines maybe were a little plugged up and would run smoothly over time.

We went for our 2 week check and were told that the vehicle was running smoothly and there seemed to be no issues.

In winter 2013 the transmission started acting up more. We took it in to Mr. T ***************. They said that the vehicle was running fine and that there seemed to be no issues. We left but the issues still remained.

May 3rd-5th the transmission started slipping in R and running very roughly in general. On May 6th we went to ******************** to have it looked at. They confirmed that the transmission was running very hot and the oil smelled burnt, as well as multiple gears slipping.

May 7th we called and spoke with *** at Mr. T ********* and he said we could take it to Mr. T ******* to have it diagnosed. Mr. T ******* confirmed the issues and an appointment was scheduled with Mr. T *************** for May 12th.

May 9th we called ***(Owner) at Mr. T in *************** about providing a courtesy car. *** did not live up to what he said when we first went there which was that they provided courtesy/rental cars at no cost and said that no they do not do that.

May 12th-22nd our vehicle was in the shop without a courtesy car. When we got it back it immediately started slipping in reverse and 3rd was not shifting right, the problem was even worse. We went back to ******* and were advised that it was running far hotter than it should be, radiator might be the problem, the new oil was still smelling burnt and seemed to have a loss of lubrication. We called Mr. T ********* later that evening and scheduled an appointment for the next morning, this time *** had no problem providing a courtesy a car for us.

May 23rd we dropped off our vehicle. When we picked up our vehicle R was fine but after a few days minimal driving 2nd or 3rd was slipping.

June 13th we took the vehicle to ******************* for a 2nd opinion. We met with ***, who was a friend of ***'s from Mr. Transmission. *** took it for a test drive but the vehicle was hot from running all day and no problems occurred. *** advised us to ask for an extra year of warranty at no cost, due to the extra problems *************************************************** We then went into Mr. T for our two week check up and to let *** know of our problem. We took it for a test drive with *** driving it but again it was warm and no problems occurred. Afterwards, we asked about him extending the warranty *************************************************************. *** said that we would have to bring it in some evening and leave it overnight so that they could determine the problem when it was cold to insure that they could find it(as the problem would be more likely to occur when it was cold). He was clearly against giving us an extended warranty******************************** He brought up how he had to pay $45 plus tax per day on the rental car he rented for us*********************************** but we argued that because he told us in the beginning that he had courtesy cars that we wouldn't have come there if we knew that he didn't have them. In the end, he was adamant that he would not rent us a car again ****************************************************************************************************

July 7th we called Mr. T Head office and were told to talk to ******(customer service manager). She was out of the office so we left a message.

July 8th we called ****** and told her of our issues. She said she would call *** at *************** Mr.T and get back to us.
****** called after speaking with ********* and told us that apparently we had only been in 3 times(in Aug, Thanksgiving and then recently in May), when in reality we have actually been in 6 times(Aug 2013, 2 weeks after, winter 2013, 2 times in may May 2014, and June 2014). ********* had agreed to let us drop off our vehicle at ******* Mr. T and they will pick it up and drop it off there but they will not provide a rental/courtesy car or an extended warranty for us. ****** continued advocating for *** and told us in these exact words: "courtesy cars are you know like totally courtesy like that's not part of like a shop that's not part of their program or whatever". I told her again that when we called around to Mr. T that *** himself told us yes they do provide courtesy cars in the form of a rental car and that we can pay the rental car company and Mr. T will reimburse us the cost. I also told her that right on M. T's main site under services, it states that Mr. T provides Rental OR Courtesy Cars. I then said that to not live up to what we were promised in the beginning and then expect us to pay $400 for an extended warranty for issues that should have been fixed a year ago was ridiculous. ****** denied that the website says anything about courtesy cars, stating that she was on the website as we were speaking and she knows because she "works here" that it did not say this anywhere. I directed her to its exact location. When she realized that it actually does state this on the website she immediately went back to Mr. T offering a rental car and that's it, that maybe *** had offered it before but that it will not be an option now. She told us that Mr. T does not offer courtesy cars. She then suggested that we drop it off at the Mr. T down the road and that *** could have a look at it and if it needs further work that someone from Mr. T *************** will pick it up and drop it off again when they are done. ****** said that there is nothing she can do about the warranty or about a courtesy car. ***************************************************************************************************************************************** I told her that I didn't feel she was empathizing with our situation or trying to understand what is going on. ****** then said that she does "feel sorry for us". I told her I didn't need her to feel sorry for us and that if she couldn't help us then who could? I asked to speak with someone higher up who could help us. She stated "well there's nobody" and then she said the best she could say to us was what she had already offered. I told her that she was not the head of the company that there was someone who supervises her and that I would like to speak to the next person up. She finally said I could speak with the Regional Manager but that he wouldn't be in for a week. After speaking with ******(Customer Service Manager for Mister Transmission Head Office)I wrote an email to ************ regarding these issues. I then took a screen shot of Mister Transmissions website page where it sates that courtesy cars are available. Later in the evening I was going through there website to make sure I hadn't missed anything and discovered that they had deleted the rental and courtesy cars available line from there site. I still have the screen shot saved if you would like to see it. We have not heard back from anyone at Mister Transmission and our warranty expires on Aug 9th. Mister Transmission is well aware of this.

Desired Settlement
We would like for our vehicle to be fixed properly as the issues are still remaining from the first repair in August 2013, as well as additional issues.

We would like for a courtesy car to be provided as we were promised that it was and would be by ***(owner of Mister Transmission ***************)when we first spoke to him before fixing our vehicle originally back in August 2013. At that time and up until July 8th 2014 the website also stated that courtesy cars were available.

We would also like for an extended warranty to be provided to us at no charge, given that they have not fixed our transmission correctly in an entire year of returning to them with it multiple times, to ensure these problems don't still remain.

Business Response
We originally rebuilt the transmission in August of 2013 and had the vehicle back in May of 2014 for a warranty repair. ***** brought the vehicle over to us and I drove her and her family to their home in *******, brought the van back and repaired it. however there was a problem shortly there after, as we found a sealing ring in the back cover wasn't sealing properly. So we got it back to the shop to fix at which time I provided them with a courtesy car (which we paid for) as she said they had to get to **************** for******** appointments. We had the problem fixed that afternoon and they picked it up on the following Monday. Now there was a clunk or flare one time when cold once warm didn't do it. ***** took the van to ***** at ******************* had him roadtest it and he found no problems and I believe it was checked at another shop as well. ***** then contacted ****** in customer service at our head office and ****** apparently had one of the operation managers call and suggested they take the van to *** at our ******* location as they live close by and leave the van overnight so they could test it cold and see exactly what was going on. *** tried it the next day. He felt a slight flare/clunk on/off the throttle(copy of multi check will be faxed to you) At this time I decided that I would call ***** arrange to get the van back , provide her with transportation and do what we had to do to fix it and I would extend the warranty for a period of time. I talked to ****** told her I was going to call ***** to set up a time for her to get the van in and deal with it. As it turns out ****** called back later telling me ***** called and told them she had traded the vehicle in. What do you do with this now??

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mister Transmission's provided response is a short, ********** and inaccurate summary that does no justice in explaining the difficulty of which we were subjected to in the midst of our efforts to have our transmission properly repaired, and their initial promise to provide a courtesy car honored.

There are also discrepancies in their response concerning the amount of "Clunks" or "Flares" witnessed by *** of Mister Transmission ******* in his Road test & Multi-check(We also have this report). As noted in the Road Test & Multi-check report by ***: "experiences 1 clunk coasting uphill & then back on accel & also 1 coasting downhill & then back on gas, with customer driving exp. a slight flare when back on accel. around a corner & also felt a slight flare on downhill when back on gas". If I'm correct, that's two clunks, and two flares. Not one. Another discrepancy
in Mister Transmission's response is that when we took our vehicle into ***** at Stan's Transmission, it was because we had experienced multiple clunks on a daily basis and again, not just one like they said. We had also already been to Mister Transmission *************** multiple times for diagnostics and they said they found nothing. The situation is further belittled in their response when they state that after the first warranty repair "there was a problem shortly there after"... The problem occurred directly after picking it up from them as if the problem was never fixed. In fact, it was worse. This leads us to believe that the vehicle was never even test driven after their "Repairs". They also said that the third repair was simply for a sealing ring, my paperwork states that the third repair was to replace the 3rd and Reverse gears. After picking up our vehicle from the third repair it was almost immediately apparent that there were still issues.

After the first complaint to the BBB regarding this matter, we were contacted by the Operations Manager of Mister Transmission. The Operations Manager heard our problems and was able to work out a resolution between ourselves and Mister Transmission **************** The Operations Manager offered to have our transmission repaired and transportation provided as well as an extended warranty. This is exactly what we had asked of Mister Transmission ********* and been blatantly denied.

Unfortunately, our experience with Mister Transmission has been a lengthy nightmare, softened only by our experience with the Operations Manager's ability to give us what should be expected of any upstanding business, but was denied to us by ***************'s location.

At this point Mister Transmission *************** is not able to follow through with their resolution of repair and warranty as we have sold our vehicle back to the dealer, however they still have not had the decency to live up to their wrongs in all of this.



Final Business Response
on July 23rd, I replyed to the rebuttle and I was offering to call the consumer get the vehicle back, provide a courtesy car and fix the problems when ****** called from the Head office and informed me that they had traded the vehicle in for another vehicle .

Regards,
***********

Final Consumer Response
Consumer rejects business' response.

12/05/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Transmissions-Automotive, Automobile Repairing & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1975Business started: 01/01/1974
Contact Information
Principal: Robert McFegan (President)
Business Category

Transmissions-Automotive, Automobile Repairing & Service

Alternate Business Names
Geromotive Industries Ltd., Mr Transmission

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mister Transmission

890 W 15 St

North Vancouver, BC V7P 1M6

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 890 W 15 St 

    North Vancouver, BC V7P 1M6

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mister Transmission is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Transmissions-Automotive

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.