BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 17/06/2011

OnTop Roofing Ltd.

(604) 812-6536PO Box 78099 Rpo Northside, Port CoquitlamBC V3B 7H5 Send email to OnTop Roofing Ltd.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 17/06/2011

BBB has determined that OnTop Roofing Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised OnTop Roofing Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on OnTop Roofing Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Earlier this year (**********************) I noticed drips coming off the roof that were not happening prior to On Top Roofing installing the new shingles on the roof. I called the company and spoke with ************** about the drips and I understood *** to say he would come and have a look at it when he was in the area. *** took my telephone number and I understood *** to say ** would call before coming to see the roof. ** never called or came down. Then the drought set in and I totally forgot about the drips. Now that the rains have come I noticed that the rain water was flowing underneath the shingles that overlap the facia boards (I believe that is what they are called). On ************* I called On Top Roofing twice. I did not note the times I placed the calls as I never anticipated not having my calls returned. I left a message with a ****** who did not identify ******* and asked *** to have ***** to call me regarding my roof that the company installed on ********* and described the issue as best I could. I did say that I was not sure if it was somthing to be concerned about but wanted him to come and have a look. I understood *** to say *** would relay the message to ***** to call me. NO RETURN CALL. I again called later that day and reached the answering machine. Left a message for ***** to call me. NO RETURN CALL. ************* at approximately ** am I called On Top Roofing again and got the answering machine. I left a message for ***** to call me. I called the cell number and received the answering machine. This time I did not leave a message given the announcement was the same as on the land line. NO RESPONSE. I again called at **** pm and this time I reached the same ****** I had spoke to previously requesting to speak to *****. I understood her to say that ***** was very busy, **'s on a roof right now working. While I was talking with *** I understood her to say "I have ***** on the phone right now and will have *** call you right back". NO CALL BACK. I waited about ** minutes and called again and asked the******* "what's up-isn't he going to call me back. I'm begining to think ** is avoiding my calls". I understood *** to say that ** tried calling me and my line was busy. ***************************** I had not called out or received an incoming call during the time I waited for a call back and told *** so. I then understood *** to say, ** would be returning *** calls later in the evening and I said that would be okay and that I was going out to cut my grass. NO RETURN CALL that eveing. On ************* at approximately **** am ***** called. I explained my concern regarding the rainwater flowing underneath the shingles that overlap the roof. I understood *** to say "I have no idea what your talking about" and that ** would have to come down and see it. He asked my address which I gave ***. I understood *** to asked if it was in ****** to which I responded yes. ** then asked if it was about ************ which I responded yes. I understood him to say "I hope it's not a waste of my time". ** said ** would come ****** "is that okay". I replied yes and asked *** approximately what time ** would be here(my home). I understood *** to say around ** am. *** asked if he did my roof and I replied "yes, that's why I'm calling you". I asked *** please ensure ** comes down as I'm concerned about the roof and before the rains come in. I understood *** to say **'d be here. *************************************** I waited and called On Top Roofing at **** pm and got the answering machine. I left a message as to whether ***** was coming down or not and that ** was supposed to be at my home at ** am and it's now ****pm. I wanted to know if he was coming or not ********************************************************* NO RETURN CALL. It is now ***************** and still no response from *****. I must add that I was somewhat taken aback by *****'s attitude when I spoke to ***. When ** and *** crew did the roof ** was most pleasant, helpful, and informative. Now that I have a concern with perhaps the workmanship I found *** attitude to be somewhat*****. I have been, in my opinion, cordial and non accusatory. All I wanted was to either confirm there is no issue and if there was to fix the problem.

Desired Settlement
All I want is for ***** to repond to my calls, keep his word and come down to see what my concern is and to either honestly ensure me there is nothing I should be concerned about and if there is something I should be concerned about to fix it. The documentation I have from him indicates that "All workmanship will have a warranty period of 15 years rom the date of completion which does not include repair or replacement due to misuse or abuse". Neither has occurred. ****************************************************************************

Final Consumer Response
regarding case # ******* - the issue has been resolved. ***** came down to look at the roof and informed there is no concern. Thank you for everything.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Contractor - Drainage , Waterproofing Contractors, Commercial Roofing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/2007Business started: 01/01/2007
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Jason Palmeter (President)Customer Contact: Shelley Smith (Manager)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Contractor - Drainage , Waterproofing Contractors, Commercial Roofing

Products & Services

This company specializes in new, replacement and repair residential and commercial roofing - ashphalt, tar and gravel, metal, cedar, cedar conversion.

Service Area

Serving all Lower Mainland and Fraser Valley - Hope to Whistler.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

OnTop Roofing Ltd. has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 78099 Rpo Northside 

    Port Coquitlam, BC V3B 7H5(604) 812-6536

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*OnTop Roofing Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.