BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 16/07/2004

B.Q.R. Systems Ltd.(operating as Best Quality Roofing)

Phone: (604) 716-5325Fax: (604) 524-532561A Fawcett Rd, CoquitlamBC V3K 6V2 Send email to B.Q.R. Systems Ltd.(operating as Best Quality Roofing)

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Best Quality Roofing Systems is a residential/commercial roofing company servicing the lower mainland and is a Re-Roofing, New Roofing, Torch On/Shingle company with 24/7 emergency service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 16/07/2004

BBB has determined that B.Q.R. Systems Ltd.(operating as Best Quality Roofing) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised B.Q.R. Systems Ltd.(operating as Best Quality Roofing)'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on B.Q.R. Systems Ltd.(operating as Best Quality Roofing)

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/21/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

We had part of the roof on the top floor replaced with torch on and some flashing that was also placed over the fascia and over an existing metal awning. The flashing was to cover and make sure that there was no water that would leak in from under the flashing. I was suspecting that there was some water coming in from under the flashing and also possibly from a different part of the flat roof that the company rebuilt. We have an invoice that shows the company authorizing the warranty(from Richard Otteson) also guarantee no leakage coming in from under the flashing. I called into the office on Feb 22, 2015 requesting the company come out for possible warranty issues....offering that I would pay for any issues that were not caused by their workmanship. I did not receive a phone call back regarding this issue for 2 days. So I called back and spoke to ******************** regarding this issue and again told her that I was willing to pay for any additional work that would be done that was not covered under the warranty just so I could get them to come out for a service call************************************. The roof techs came out on Feb 25, 2015 and stated that inside leak under flat roof was caused by loose nails in roof tiles not covered under the warranty and that they would need to leave it to the office to determine if the leak under the flashing would be covered. The roof techs replace the loose nails with screws with rubber gaskets and re-sealed the flashing over the metal roof. Lisa told me that they would not cover anything other than the flat roof. I have an invoice that they request to be paid in full. She requested a copy of the invoice to see the guarantee. I emailed her office with the invoice attached March 8, 2015 and there has been no response from the company.

Desired Settlement
Some of the warranty coverage deducted from the new invoice.

Business Response
******* contacted us to attend for the leak issue, we were not able to attend immediately due to scheduling of previous commitments to other clients. We attended site to discover the leak issue was not related to our workmanship but due to another issue with the roof system. Our technicians repaired the area on site and to my knowledge the leak has not continued. I forwarded ******* the invoice for the services rendered by email. ******* contacted me to inform me that he had a written note on the original invoice from 2010 that states we guarantee the flashing would not leak. As the flashing was not the issue of the leak I was unsure of what ******* required from us with the invoice at this time. I advised ******* to send me the original invoice so I may review it and discuss with the owner. This did take time on our end between talking to the technicians on site, the owner and myself. I contacted ******* to discuss further and asked him how he would like to resolve this issue. I offered to discount the invoice for additional time on site of .50 hour which he agreed would resolve the issue.

Consumer Response
Thank you for the second email the first one went to my junk mail. BQR resolved the issue before your first email was sent out. I am satisfied with the result and was dissatisfied with their customer service on warranty issue.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Flat Roof, Skylights & Solariums, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Contractors - Gutters, Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/07/2004Business started: 01/01/1999
Type of Entity


Incorporated: March 2007, BC

Contact Information
Principal: Richard Otteson (President/Owner)Customer Contact: Lisa Schick (Office Manager)
Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractor - Flat Roof, Skylights & Solariums, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Commercial Roofing, Contractors - Gutters, Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

Roofing Repairs
24/7 Re-Roofing Projects
New Roofing Projects
Torch On Roofing
Laminate Shingles
Cedar Roofing
Cedar Conversations
Metal Roofing
Gutter Replacement

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

British Columbia, Vancouver Lower Mainland

Alternate Business Names
Best Quality Roofing Systems, Best Quality Roofing

Photos & Videos


Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

6 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for B.Q.R. Systems Ltd.(operating as Best Quality Roofing)

61A Fawcett Rd

Coquitlam, BC V3K 6V2

To | From


1 Locations

  • 61A Fawcett Rd 

    Coquitlam, BC V3K 6V2(604) 716-5325
    Fax: (604) 524-5325

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*B.Q.R. Systems Ltd.(operating as Best Quality Roofing) is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.