BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 30/11/2007

Coldwell Banker MacPherson Real Estate

Phone: (604) 437-1123Fax: (604) 298-8788View Additional Phone Numbers5489 Kingsway, BurnabyBC V5H 2G1 Send email to Coldwell Banker MacPherson Real Estate

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Coldwell Banker MacPherson Real Estate provide complete Property Management, Leasing and Real Estate Services for Residential and Commercial Properties.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 30/11/2007

BBB has determined that Coldwell Banker MacPherson Real Estate meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Coldwell Banker MacPherson Real Estate's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Coldwell Banker MacPherson Real Estate

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Property Manager allowed the tenants to break the tenancy agreement. Tenancy expires July 31, 2015 but tenants left July 11, 2015. The Property Manager did not collect the rent for the period July 1-11. He did not conduct a move-out inspection, he was not present and did not collect the keys for the house.

Desired Settlement
We want the rent in the amount of $656.97 collected and remitted to us and the security deposit of $997.50 released to us for us to be able to cover the hydro bills in the amount of $946.62.

Business Response
In Response to this complaint, please see the following:

Preamble:

The tenant started a lease with the landlord (Our Client,****************************) on November 1, 2014. Once the weather dropped to lower temperatures it was discovered that heating system in the home was not adequate to heat the home and the tenants were without adequate heat for 2 months. Once the heat issue was resolved the landlord decided to list the home for sale in April only 5 months in to their 1 year lease term. The tenant after having been mistreated by the landlord for the duration of their stay decided to vacate the property before the end of their lease.

1. We did not allow anyone to break their lease. This was the tenant's decision, which was reported to the landlord by myself once we were made aware of their intention to vacate the home. The owner was not in a position to mitigate and re rent the house because they were already negotiating with a Buyer to sell the home at the end of July, which in fact assisted the landlord in the sale of the home because the Buyer wanted to move into the home.

2. The tenant advised our office that they did not intend to pay the rent for the last month due to the compensation they felt they were owed for the landlord's breech of the agreement. They further agreed that the landlord could retain the Security Deposit in the amount of $997.50 to cover the balance of the time they stayed in the residence. Which we reported to the landlord so they were aware of the tenants intent. All funds that we collected from the tenant including the security deposit were released to the client in July and we have zero funds owing to them. We have not received any direction from the client to peruse this matter any further other than what has been done to date.

3. I personally met with the tenant at the home at 9 am on July 11th and conducted the property inspection of the home. The home was left in stellar condition and I left the keys and remotes on the kitchen counter for the owners who were living in one of the 2 basement suites. I advised them they would find them there and that I retained 1 key to lock up and they could retrieve this from me if they wanted.

The issues this client has are a landlord and tenant matter and has nothing to do with the services we provided to them. We performed our duties as outlined in our agreement with the client, which was to assist in renting the home and the management of the tenancy. It is our opinion that the landlord created the negative outcome of the tenancy due to the uncooperative nature in which they conducted themselves in the matter.

If you need further clarification on this please feel free to contact me.

Consumer Response
**********************************************************************

to me
Hi ********,

Below is our response to Coldwell Banker MacPherson Real Estate ***************************************************

Regards,

**************************************

My wife and I do not accept the Property Manager's response. We did not mistreat the tenant and we did not breach any material term of the tenancy agreement.

As full time employees, my wife and I were fully aware that we would not be able to handle the management of our property let alone handle emergency situations if they arose. We also knew we would be out of town a lot to visit the province where we plan to retire. This is the reason we hired a professional as property management is a job that requires expertise, skills and resources.

The property management company website boasts of "our proven 20 years of experience and unmatched client satisfaction give you the professional property management services you need and the customer care you deserve", and yet when we were asking for his help with the scheduling and supervision of the heating contractor, the property manager said it was new territory for him *******************. He also quoted us $75/hour to supervise the contractor (*******************). We were already incurring unbudgeted costs and could not afford any more so my wife took time-offs from work. ****************************************************************************************************************************

***************************************************************************************************************************************************** From ***** documents it can be gleaned we did not take the heating complaint lightly. Whenever the Property Manager asked for authorization to call for service and repair we responded right away even when we were out of town. The Property Manager accuses us of uncooperativeness and yet we spent close to $6,000 for the repairs, services, and portable heaters. We abated 100% of the tenant's hydro and gas for November and 50% for December.

However, despite our efforts to solve the problem, the tenant demanded $1,000 compensation and threatened to bring us to the Tenancy Board. We suggested to the Property Manager ******************* that we work on a proposal for the tenant but he did not reply, he did not bother at all, and in another email ******************* merely told us to pay up.

This made it very clear to us that we cannot rely on the professional services of the Property Manager when we retired and moved out of B.C., hence, we decided to sell our property not without making sure we followed the rules and regulations regarding selling a tenanted property. It was the tenant who gave the notice to end the tenancy on July 31, 2015 and yet they left surreptitiously on July 11, 2015.

As for the Property Manager's response ********* that he personally met with the tenant at the home at 9 am on July 11th...etc., his email to us on July 11, 2015 ******************* was devoid of such information. We were not provided a move-out report. We believe the Property Manager was aware of the tenant's intention to move out that is why he went to the property on July 11 but advised us, his clients, after the fact and he even had the gall to tell us the tenant would not pay rent and any more utilities. *************************************************** the Security Deposit did not cover the balance of the time the tenant stayed in the property. Is this the customer care we deserved?


Industry Comparison| Chart

Real Estate Management, Real Estate

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 28/11/2007Business started: 16/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Real Estate Council Of B C
900 750 W Pender St
Vancouver, BC V6C 2T8
(604) 683-9664
http://www.recbc.ca

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Rob MacPherson (President)
Business Category

Real Estate Management, Real Estate

Products & Services

Individual Rental Management
Apartment Building Management
Commercial Building Management
Leasing Services
Real Estate Sales

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: ClosedSun: Closed
Service Area

Vancouver Lower Mainland and Fraser Valley

Alternate Business Names
MacPherson Real Estate Ltd

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Coldwell Banker MacPherson Real Estate

5489 Kingsway

Burnaby, BC V5H 2G1

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5489 Kingsway 

    Burnaby, BC V5H 2G1(604) 437-1123

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Coldwell Banker MacPherson Real Estate is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (778) 882-0211 - Cell
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Real Estate Management

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.