BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 18/10/2013

Falcon Railing and Superdeck Inc

Phone: (250) 765-2248Fax: (250) 765-2414View Additional Phone Numbers747 Fitzpatrick Rd, KelownaBC V1X 5E2 Send email to Falcon Railing and Superdeck Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 18/10/2013

BBB has determined that Falcon Railing and Superdeck Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Falcon Railing and Superdeck Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Falcon Railing and Superdeck Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
11/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
We ordered a railing from Falcon on May 7th and were told that it was going to be 3 weeks to install. We removed our existing railing on May 28th as the contractors were finished here and despite calling and emailing repeatedly without communication we figured that it would be close to the new railing install. Finally over 6 weeks later on June 19th the installers came with the railing and told us our old **** deck needed to be replaced. We placed the order the next day on June 20th. We were told the deck would be removed Wednesday June 25th and the new **** deck installed the same day or next & posts same day or next with all being completed by the 27th and we would have our glass in place by June 4th. July 4th our **** deck was finally installed. The job was done so poorly - the edges were coming up, there were large gouges in the sides of the material. They came to inspect and 4 members of the team there agreed that is was very poorly done and the solution was to rip it up and redo it. They went to put up the railing in the interim so that we could have use of our deck in the summer. But the entire railing was made completely wrong and had to be fixed. I made them aware of the fact the week needed to job completed in 3 weeks as we had a family visiting with small children and had to have a railing, they agreed it would be no problem, however they no showed a number of times further. After considerable yelling they were able to come and install the railing with temporary glass for the weekend. We were told that they would come and fix the decking within the next week, two maximum. They reneged again saying that it was month end and would have to do it the following week. I said that we were on vacation from work and not keen about having our balcony ripped up again. They promised it would be no more than 1-2 days. Tuesday August 5th the railing was removed and the deck surface ripped up. The glue was wet (something they didn't warn us could happen) and they wanted to let it dry. They assured me it would be done by the weekend. Wed and Thursday the glue was still wet but I was assured it would be finished Friday or Saturday. I was told that they would be there 7am Friday - By 11 I had to call 3 times Friday to get an answer that they were too busy and it would be Monday. Monday is here and they still haven't shown up to do the work. I have been left with an unusable deck and barbeque and patio furniture in my living room for our week of holidays. To top all of this off we have a young child who is just mobile and it is dangerous and unacceptable. We have had to cancel playdates, barbeques and other social functions and watch our child like a hawk - not just this week but since the end of May. It has been very frustrating and inconvenient. My husband and I have taken numerous days off work to wait for contractors who don't show up.
Finally there has been considerable damage to our property. We had just painted the exterior of the area where the decking was to be replaced and had just replaced the stairs going down from the deck.

The damages to our property are:
- An electrical outlet on the deck was blown quite substantially in both spots on the receptacle. It was so bad that our tenants smelt Electrical smoke and questioned them. The electrician said there would have been flames. Not only did they deny this all but they didn't let us know it happened and we had to bring an electrician in for a few hours to discover the source of the electrical smoke in our suite below.
- Barbeque Cover was ripped during installation
- Post on the deck was completely butchered - hunks were missing out of it paint was scratched.
- Side of the house had ugly white silicone that is smeared everywhere on the hardy plank
- Our new stairs had the cement type material dropped in big gobs in about 4 places and hardened on the stair tops
- Where the railing was mounted for the short term the touch up paint dripped all around the freshly painted edge of the stairs
- The sliding glass door was scratched badly on the glass when removing the faulty duradeck.
None of these damages have been addressed aside from to say that none were caused by Falcon. The customer service from their sales rep was a one line email saying 'wasn't us blame someone else'. We fired him but the owner and production manager haven't been any better. I actually have had to ask them to not be on our property unless we are home as I do not trust them, however they haven't honoured this, nor given any communication about when the job will be done. I literally have had to call close to 8 times for every time I get a call returned with details. Everyone agrees this has been a mess but no resolutions have been decided. I could go on but you can see the frustrations... It is summer in the Okanagan and we ordered a railing May 7th and it is August 11th. Totally unacceptable.

Desired Settlement
****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** I want this balcony and railing finished IMMEDIATELY & PROPERLY and I want some financial compensation to hire the contractor and painter to fix what they did, plus the bill for the electrician, the new glass door, etc... and something for my time for having to continually miss work to be here...

Business Response
Sept 5th 2014
Better Business Bureau
Case #XXXXXXX
**** *********
4870 Carmel crescent
Kelowna, BC

Our company Falcon Railing and Superdeck Inc, was hired by the complainant, to install new 5mm glass railings and stair picket at her home. When our installer went to install, he commented to the homeowner that the vinyl on her deck was in really rough shape and should be replaced before the railings are installed. The customer came into our showroom and picked out an 80mil thick vinyl called ***************, which is our top of the line vinyl and comes with a 20 year manufacturer warranty. 60mil is standard vinyl thickness.

After we installed the vinyl, the customer called and complained that she wasn't happy with the final product. We sent out our installer that day to resolve her issues. The customer called again and said that she was still not happy. So we sent our installer back the next day. She then claimed that our installer damaged the wooden cladding on one of her posts. Our installer was adamant that the damage was pre-existing.

The Customer called and said she was having a party with young kids and wanted the railings and glass installed on the current vinyl, even though she wanted us to remove and replace the vinyl with a different installer. We complied the very next day with the railing install and glass was sourced from our stock and also installed that day. We then waited for the customer to give us the go ahead to remove the railings and replace the vinyl. As soon as she called, as per the customers request we sent a different installer to complete the job. We had some weather delays but completed the vinyl within a week. We then installed the railing and ordered new glass. Once the glass was delivered we immediately went and installed the glass. The customer followed up saying we damaged her sliding door glass and got paint on her fascia boards. We tried working with the customer to make her happy, and all of us at falcon railings involved feel as though we did everything in our power to please this customer.

It saddens us that with all the efforts we put in, we couldn't come to an amicable completion. We would like nothing more than to resolve this, and appreciate your assistance in doing so.

***** ****** Installations Manager
Falcon Railing and Superdeck inc.
250-765-2248(B) 250-864-3371(C)
*****@falconrail.com



Consumer Response
What a frustrating response. We never requested a different installer, not once. We were offered one by the owner ********************************************************** The damage was very obvious and not preexisting and the time frame was absolutely noting as noted by Falcon. ********************************************************************************************************************** no owner or manager ever came to check and never called to follow up. The number of delays were ridiculous. We had to phone for 2 weeks before we even got a call back. They knew about the deadline for the party a over a month in advance and promised the entire deck would be finished by then. We ordered the vinyl in early June and were told it could be done within two days... This goes back since May and we still don't have the correct glass in our railing or the gate bolted to wall properly. Nor do we have any word from Falcon when we can expect a final resolution. They have not done anything to attempt to fix or call to follow up. We have not had a single call from management to discuss. **************************************************************************************************************************
Final Business Response
Falcon Railing and Superdeck Inc is working directly with the client to resolve the issue.

10/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My three week project has dragged on for five months with no completion in site. I absolutely regret contracting Falcon Rail and Superdeck. **************************************************** Company remains unapologetic. Based on my experience thus far, I do not believe the company intends to finish this project. I have been extremely patient and given the company an option to end this project.
*******************************************************

Desired Settlement
I am filing this complaint with the hope that one of the following arrangements can be agreed upon:
1) Company finishes project to my complete satisfaction by October 13, 2014. My complete satisfaction includes, but is not limited to, the following corrections:
a.One glass panel is to be replaced because of defects when installed (the sales associate witnessed this defect in June)
b.Frame brackets that affix glass to frame are to be turned the correct way because half are currently backwards
c.Glass panels are to fit squarely and evenly in the frame. All panels should be equal distance from edge of panel to frame. The panels are currently uneven inside the frame and some panels fit differently inside the frame than other panels. I expect the glass panels to all be the same distance from the frame.
d.Compensation or repair to the damaged house siding from the first installer's negligence.

OR

2)Company agrees to leave project unfinished and that I owe no more money. The company and I will agree to this in writing.

Business Response
We at Falcon Railing and Superdeck are sorry that we couldn't perform this job to the customers satisfaction, and we agree to his resolution of eliminating his balance owing to compensate for our unsatisfactory performance. Thank you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I am disappointed that the company cannot complete the project as agreed upon but feel this a fair compromise. The balance owing on the unfinished project will be eliminated and I consider this matter closed.

01/16/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Railings, Contractors-General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 14/05/2009Business started: 18/11/2005
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2010, BC

Business Management
Principal: Brad Grittner (Sales Manager)Don Haines (General Manager)Dwayne Nicholson (Owner)Donald Olsvik (Production Manager)
Business Category

Railings, Contractors-General

Alternate Business Names
Falcon Railing Mfg

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Falcon Railing and Superdeck Inc

747 Fitzpatrick Rd

Kelowna, BC V1X 5E2

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 747 Fitzpatrick Rd 

    Kelowna, BC V1X 5E2(877) 551-2248
    (250) 765-2248

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Falcon Railing and Superdeck Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 551-2248 - Website
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Railings

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.