BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 31/03/2015

Ashton Service Group

Phone: (604) 283-2372Fax: (604) 273-1460View Additional Phone Numbers140 4631 Shell Rd, RichmondBC V6X 3M4 Send email to Ashton Service Group

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 31/03/2015

BBB has determined that Ashton Service Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ashton Service Group's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ashton Service Group

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
01/31/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
04/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues
06/22/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were under contract to purchase a property. I contacted this company and asked if inspecting a heating system (boiler)prior to subject removal, was something that they did. I was told that I could either pay by the hour and get a verbal report or pay $400 and get a written report. I choose the written report and scheduled the inspection. As I was to remove subjects the next day I asked if the report would be ready in time. Not only did the person on the phone assure me that it would, so did the technician when he was met on site.

The technician did a thorough job and as he handed me my copy of the work order again assured me that the written report, including options and costs, would be e-mailed to me before the end of the day.

No report. I contacted the company the next day to inquire and was put through to the manager. He belittled my request for the written report, claimed that the work order had all the information on it. ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Not caring for the attitude, I have to admit that I cancelled my credit card before the charge could be processed.

A month and a half later I get an e-mail from their accounting department asking me when I intend to pay the invoice (one was attached - it had the wrong address on and stated that they had performed a complete tune up on the system). I told her that I would pay the bill when I had received the written report I had been promised. Nearly another week passed before I was e-mailed a report that was a page and a half long. It did contain all the information, including costs, etc., that I would have needed to make an informed decision regarding subjects *********************************************************

**********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I am seeking an apology for the misrepresentations made by their company representative (technician) *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response
On September 8, 2014 this customer placed an order to have a boiler and hot water heater inspected as she had put an offer on a property and wanted to know the condition of these two pieces of equipment. Originally she was informed of a $79 dispatch fee and she renegotiated the terms of the call and was offered that Ashton would waive the dispatch fee and set it up as a major tune-up inspection and provide her with a written tune-up inspection report. She accepted this offer and declined to have the inspection done on September 11, 2014 but scheduled for September 12, 2014. There is no note of any kind in the information provided that a detailed computer generated report only would be accepted and a hand written report would be refused to be accepted.
Ashton technician ************ (red seal journeyman) attended the site on September 12, 2014 and found some items of concern regarding the long term viability of the boiler system, he wrote out a detailed report identifying the problems the boiler had and gave the client the handwritten report. She left the site immediately and was unavailable for a telephone call the technician gave her for the additional costing options for the possible options.
On September 13, 2014 the customer called the Ashton office demanding a typewritten report identical to the handwritten report she had received the previous day. She expressed that she expected it the previous day, which was as previously stated not listed in the notes as a result of any of the conversations with the Ashton call takers. The comments listed all said she would receive a written report which she did, only she refused to accept a hand written report, despite it being on official company paperwork, it had to be computer generated.
She said she could not read the carbonless copy and she was emailed the scanned copy of the original hand written report. She also received a basic verbal listing of various options that were available for the particular issues with that boiler system. These ranged from several hundred dollars for a minimal repair to over $15,000 for a major reworking of the entire heating system. She was not the owner of the property and as such there was no option for a complete, detailed quotation which would require performing heat loss calculations for example and going over all potential options available to her especially since she had expressed that she had abandoned her purchase of the property.
In subsequent conversations with Ashton staff she agreed that she had the service provided but would only pay her bill after she received a computer generated recap of the detailed findings report and a verbal ball park guesstimates of potential repairs for a home she did not own. The report was provided to her, she paid her bill.
Her expectations were never detailed or possible to provide to her on the timeline she demanded after the fact with Ashton. We never agreed to a type written report within four hours of her inspection, she was provided immediately a hand written report in the home on the day of the inspection but she refused to acknowledge or accept the report.
At all times Ashton was professional and did fulfill the work requested. We stand behind our service and pricing.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Boilers-Service & Repair, Carpenters, Contractor - Gas, Drainage Contractors, Heat Pumps, Heating Contractors, Plumbers - Commercial, Plumbing Drain & Sewer Cleaning, Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Water Heater - Tankless, Air Conditioning Equipment-Service & Repair, Furnaces - Heating

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 14/03/1995Business started: 01/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

British Columbia Safety Authority
200 505 6 St
New Westminster, BCV3L 0E1
(778) 396-2000
http://www.safetyauthority.ca

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2001, BC

Business Management
Principal: Patti Allen (General Manager)Julia Williams (Vice President)Brian Williams (President)
Contact Information
Anna Antonio (Accounts Receivable)
Business Category

Plumbers, Boilers-Service & Repair, Carpenters, Contractor - Gas, Drainage Contractors, Heat Pumps, Heating Contractors, Plumbers - Commercial, Plumbing Drain & Sewer Cleaning, Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Water Heater - Tankless, Air Conditioning Equipment-Service & Repair, Furnaces - Heating

Products & Services

Ashton Service Group is a plumbing, heating & air conditioning company serving both commercial and residential clients in Metro Vancouver. They employ licensed professionals and registered apprentices.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMTue: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMWed: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMThu: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMFri: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMSat: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AMSun: 12:00 AM to 12:00 AM
Refund and Exchange Policy

This company warranties their work for one (1) year. If they install new piece of equipment, they will provide you with manufacturer warranty and options for extended warranties.

Service Area

This company serves Metro Vancouver covering Richmond, Vancouver, Burnaby, Surrey, White Rock, North Vancouver, West Vancouver and Vancouver property.

Alternate Business Names
Ashton Service Group Inc

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

4 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ashton Service Group

140 4631 Shell Rd

Richmond, BC V6X 3M4

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 140 4631 Shell Rd 

    Richmond, BC V6X 3M4(604) 283-2383
    (604) 283-2372

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ashton Service Group is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (604) 283-2383 - on website
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.