BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 31/01/2008

Poulin's Pest Control

Phone: (604) 433-2500Fax: (604) 437-6984View Additional Phone Numbers2621 Kingsway, VancouverBC V5R 5H4 Send email to Poulin's Pest Control

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 31/01/2008

BBB has determined that Poulin's Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Poulin's Pest Control's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/17/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We recruited Poulins to get rid of squirrels in the attic of our home. They came and set a trap on the roof and caught one of the family of squirrels. The kept saying that they were coning back to catch the others but did not return. Many months later they returned and set up a trap on a fence between our home and the neighbors home. They caught another squirrel but not the ones that are going in out attic. They claim that we used another company and they are cleaning up af. WE had a company install netting to keep pigeons off of our roof 10 years ago. The squirrel problem is new. Poulin's guarantee thir work for 1 year and we would like opur money back.

Desired Settlement
refund so we can hire a company to do the job.

Business Response
I have read the complaint and know the situation well.

The long and short of the storey is we were called out to solve a squirrel problem. The squirrels were getting into a soffit area located at the front of the home, through another companies work that was done for pigeons. We only did a patch job so to speak. It was recommended that all of the previous work done be removed and redone but they did not want to do this as they were getting a new roof and the roofers would have to remove all of our work anyways. We returned several times and sealed up some other areas the squirrels had gotten through after the original areas.

We have a one year warranty on material and installation. These are wild animals, with a mind of their own and we cannot predict, nor warranty that they will not chew their way through something else.

The last time the customer called I went out there myself willing to fix pretty much anything just because these squirrels have caused them a lot of grief but I simply cannot even get to the area at the back of the home that the squirrels are getting into. This area was not a part of the original work done by our company. When I realized I could not help them by sealing this up I offered one of my technicians to come out and try to catch them in a live trap and suggested they have their roofer seal up this area when he is up there with all the proper safety equipment. We went out 3 times in one week and caught one squirrel. We did not charge anything. They do not want to pay for more trapping.

I cannot keep spending time and money on this problem for them when it really has nothing to do with the original work done. It's like having a plumber fix a plugged pipe in your home and finding out later there is another one in a different part of the house. They are not going to come out again for free. It's the same situation.

If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me at your convenience, thanks.


Best regards,

*************

Branch Manager
Poulin's Pest Control
2621 Kingsway
Vancouver, B.C. V5R 5H4
***********************************************************************************************************************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control-Exterminating & Fumigating, Pest Control Supplies & Equipment

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/10/1970Business started: 08/01/1946Business started locally: 01/11/1970
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ministry of Environment - Integrated Pest Management
PO Box 9342 Stn Prov Govt
Victoria, BCV8W 9M1
(250) 387-9502
http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/epd/ipmp/index.htm

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1970, BC

Contact Information
Principal: Lincoln Poulin (General Manager) Don Poulin (President)
Business Category

Pest Control-Exterminating & Fumigating, Pest Control Supplies & Equipment

Alternate Business Names
N. L . Poulin Ltd

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Poulin's Pest Control

2621 Kingsway

Vancouver, BC V5R 5H4

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2621 Kingsway 

    Vancouver, BC V5R 5H4(604) 433-2500
    (888) 621-2111
    (604) 861-9573

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Poulin's Pest Control is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 621-2111 - Toll free
  • (604) 861-9573 - Cell
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control-Exterminating & Fumigating

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.