BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 30/07/2004

Pro Painters

Phone: (604) 543-7776Fax: (604) 543-72565671 136B St, SurreyBC V3X 3N9 Send email to Pro Painters

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 30/07/2004

BBB has determined that Pro Painters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pro Painters' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
04/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**************************************************************************************************************** poor craftsmanship ****************************, ******* has been back and he cud not correct the mistakes and then he sent out workers who fixed one problem yet left another. My hall has white wall boards part way up, they left such a mess ************************************** my wall boards were full of lumps and full of paint brush marks and shiny in some spots, dull in others, they came back and sanded and repainted but they did horrible repair and I still have shiny and dull wall boards and they missed some of the spots they sanded as well my white wall boards do not stop where they meet the wall but go up onto the wall, when they did this, they then
ran a brush along the painted wall so I now have a
two inch line before the paint merges with the rolled wall colour. ************************************************************ My major concern in having this house painted was the Hall Walls and the Master Bathroom, ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
We have an alcove in the enterance way and they have painted it twice but it sill is shiny and dull in spots. However through all this my major complaint is the Bathroom. When ******* came to
Quote I showed him the wall over the Stand Up
Shower and how the paint looked like it was weeping 24/7. He advised me they cud fix this, well I gave the walls days to dry but first time out they did it again. He redid it again but told me not to take such long showers, then it did it again an I discovered they had not painted the crown mouldings around shower. Their supplier after long conversations told me the walls were not prepared properly prepared and not given proper 4 hours drying time and because my walls were mahogany it cud take up to 4 coats but drying time must be followed. In October when ******* came back to try and fix it again he told me he wud talk to the supplier and get back to me
It is now March and I hate to have a shower or use
this bathroom as the stains on the wall are SO BAD
*********************************************************** And he never got back to me.

My Quote stated Laundry & Entrance way complete
They did not paint behind the washer or dryer and
baseboards stopped by them after several conversations with ******* they did paint behind
and my front doors were finally painted but he stated they don't do Steel Doors (my quote says
entry and hall complete)

They left a big piece of gyproc by my kitchen
light switch, they fixed it poorly I might add but
again they used a brush and I have a nice shiny sport around it which happens to be on my main wall.

When this all started I was told 2 maybe 3 days,
***********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I paid $3500. for this. There is only one way it can be corrected and that is to re-sand and paint the hall including the walls as you cannot go back over a painted surface and not get brush marks unless it is redone. The bathroom definitely needs
to be re-done in the shower as well I forgot to mention they redid one small wall which was Dark Blue and put a primer on it but again no 4 hours and shud have had another coat.

**********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Business Response
******************* paint job was done in early spring of 2012. Since then she has called three times for me to come back to do touch ups/repairs. I responded to her every time and sent my painters back to do what she required. And every time I was there I told her if there was anything else she needed to just contact me. The last time I was there in July 2013, since then I have not heard from her and I assumed everything was fine. However, I will call her to make another appointment for coming back again to do whatever else necessary to make her happy.

Yours truly,
***************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
******* is incorrect in his response. He was here
last time on Oct. 7th and we had a long conversation
about my bathroom and his Suppliers comments, when he left he said "I will get back to you and fix it"
While he tried once to fix some problems he called a Painter back however it seems they repair one problem and leave me with another. I indicated the only way to correct the problem and all the brush marks would be to repaint boards and wall. Once a wall etc. is painted you can never go back and just retouch even I know that. The bathroom wall is
going to require maybe primer first and then at least 4 hr between coats

Final Consumer Response
******* from Pro Painters has telephoned me to come out but I will be away until April 13th at which time he will arrange a visit
Will advise if actions will take place.
***************************************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Painters

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 28/07/2004Business started: 01/01/1992
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Vincent Truong (Owner)
Business Category

Painters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pro Painters

5671 136B St

Surrey, BC V3X 3N9

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pro Painters is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Painters

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.