BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/11/2004

Top Move Inc

Phone: (604) 299-6614Fax: (604) 299-6631View Additional Phone Numbers5059 Regent St, BurnabyBC V5C 4H4 Send email to Top Move Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/11/2004

BBB has determined that Top Move Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Top Move Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Top Move Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
These movers made costly damage. One $*** cabinet was completely broken in the move. The other matching cabinet (we had two) is it perfect condition still. The company said it was bought from Ikea so it was not good quality but it was in excellent shape and it was important to us. It was not repairable so they took it away. Our walls are badly gouged and will beed to be completed re-done. And another piece of wood furniture (display stand) has a large gouge in tbe wood. I complained several times to the manager but he lied and said my husband refused to sign a waiver which is absolutely not true. They gave us only $100 credit back for damages and losses that total $**** or more.

Desired Settlement
$1000

Business Response /* (***0, 5, 2015/09/04) */
******************************************************************************************************
On *************, we didi the move for Mrs. *****.At the time of loading,our crew member communicated to me that there are two indentical cabinets that are made of particle board and one of them in particular is very unstable and wobbly.He has talked to the ******* and he indicated that he is aware of it and just take it.He wrapped the cabinet by tape to make it more stable and loaded it in the truck. At the unload,while the ******* was watching them from the outside of the truck they put that particular cabinet on a 4-wheel dolly to bring it out of the truck. When they put it on the side on the dolly and try to move it the whole thing collapsed into pieces. At the end of the move, the ******* agreed that it was a bad piece and if they could just take the broken pieces away and dump it. that is what we did.
There was also a Kingsize mattree that was huge and at their new place it had to go upstairs to their bedroom and there was a 90' turn on the staircase.Her ******* helped the two man crew to take it upstairs since it was so big and my crew indicated to him that since we have to bend the mattress at the 90' turn on the stairs and it is so big it will rub against the wall.He said we have no choice and have to get it upstairs to the bedroom, and that is what the three of them (including her *******) did. The mattress did not have a cover, and even if it did by rubbing against the wall it would still make marks.
12 days later (*************)I received a first email from Mrs. mason, about the cabinet and the wall and have been communicating ever since. After a couple of weeks of communicating with her,I indicated that we want to resolve this matter amicably and provided a credit of $*** to her **** as a courtesy to her. The cabinet collapsed on it's own due to being made of particel board and being assembled very poorly, and it was not a result of our crew's action. The second identical cabinet was assembled better and did not fall apart, but it was still not stable at the unload. her ******* was the witness to it collapsing at unload, with otu our crew doing anything to it but to place it on the dolly.
In the light of the above, I will still try to contact Mrs. Mason again and see if we still can resolve this matter between ourselves.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My ******* agrees that the movers caused all of the damage and asked me to file this complaint. Top Move has portrayed the incidents as if my ******* agreed that the damage was acceptable. My ******* did not expect the damage and losses and did not agree to them. At the end of the move he and I asked about compensation because we were upset. We had not Agreed to damages. We had requested much more padding and mattress covering and that was not provided to us even at an extra cost. It was not an option and I think good movers who want to protect the house and funiture should have bubble wrap and mattress covering and lots of good padding. There were only a few dirty moving blankets which just semed to slip off. In my previous email communications after the move and damage I asked about insurance for damages. Why does this company have bo insurance to cover all of the damage that occured? I should also mention that a display cabinet has a big gouge out of it and we had to have the interior walls rrpaired and then repainted. Our kayaks were dragged around with furniture resting on top of them so they got all scraped up in the bottom so that will cause their performance to suffer. Nothing was done cafefully. We only got $*** for all tbe damage but it will cost us over ****.

Final Business Response
I got the pictures of the chip in the display cabinet, which was not mentioned at all initially.However, in order to resolve this matter, I will have ****************** which is a professional furniture repair company come to your house and fix the chip on the display cabinet, at our cost. With regard to the mattress you can only put mattresses in mattress bags(you can not bubble wrap them), and a lot of our customers buy that themselves and we put the mattress in there or the customer requests for one and we bring it to them. By the way, all of our trucks have an average of 70 moving blankets in them as well as a variety of dollies(there was not just a few blankets). The scuff marks on the wall would have happened even with the mattress bag on the king size mattress, because the mattress had to be bend drastically to go up the stairs and you ******* was the one helped them bend the mattress and we warned that it will rob against the wall and he said we have to get it up there to the bedroom. With regard to the particle board cabinet that fell apart at the unload, it was nothing that our movers did that caused the whole thing to fall apart. Again when they were loading this cabinet it was so wobbly that my crew wrapped it in tape hoping it will hold, right in front of your ******* and they warned him about it, since we have had **** bokkcase before that the same thing happened to it. Because it is made of particle board and not assembled really tight. You can contact our insurance company and they will not cover it because it was not documented when the move was done and also we have to tell them our side of story of what happened.
In the light of above, I am still trying to settle this matter amicably. As mentioned I can let ****************** contact you and set up a time to fix the chip in display cabinet, at our cost, and also provide you with an additional $*** credit (total of $***) to resolve this matter.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I did send an email to Topmove on **************** with photos of the wall damage and display cabinet damage. Our kayaks also **** badly scraped by being dragged over gravelly concrete with furniture on top of them. We did request mattress covers many times and they were never provided (not bubble wrap for mattresses but other moving companies told me they use bubble wrap for delicate pieces of furniture and display cabinets and glass).
I will accept the $*** and the repair ************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Movers - Office, Moving Services-Labor & Materials, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Moving Equipment & Supplies, Delivery Service, Seniors Moving & Delivery Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/12/2003Business started: 01/11/2003
Contact Information
Principal: Cody Shah (Operations Manager) Shahram Mehrrostami (President)
Business Category

Movers, Movers - Office, Moving Services-Labor & Materials, Moving Assistance - Packing, Unpacking, Organizing, Moving Equipment & Supplies, Delivery Service, Seniors Moving & Delivery Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Top Move Inc

5059 Regent St

Burnaby, BC V5C 4H4

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5059 Regent St 

    Burnaby, BC V5C 4H4(877) 867-6683

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Top Move Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 867-6683
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.