BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/10/1989

LaPorte Moving & Storage Systems Ltd

Phone: (604) 276-2216Fax: (604) 247-2133View Additional Phone Numbers14571 Burrows Rd, RichmondBC V6V 1K9 Send email to LaPorte Moving & Storage Systems Ltd

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/10/1989

BBB has determined that LaPorte Moving & Storage Systems Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised LaPorte Moving & Storage Systems Ltd's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on LaPorte Moving & Storage Systems Ltd

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
04/10/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged the same amount twice by the company $******* for the same move. The charges were made on February 27, 2015 and March 2, 2015. I discovered the double billing on March 12, 2015 and immediately reported the error to Laporte by phone. The company acknowledge they charged the amount twice in error and stated they would refund the amount back to my credit card. I have made numerous phone calls to inquire about the status of my refund but have been told to wait as the refund would be coming. I am no longer receiving any communication from the company after my last email on March 18, 2015. I have still not received a refund to this date. I have a contract with Laporte and a receipt stating I should have only been charged $******* once not twice.

Desired Settlement
A refund of of $******* for the overcharge,

Business Response
"Hello ******.

I received the complaint below and after review I've determined an inconsistency in the customers statement. LaPorte Moving is not actually NOT responsible for her being charged twice and therefore I request that this complaint be removed from our record as that is a strong allegation. Please see my explanation to follow.

It is true that the customer was charged twice for her move, however, this was not done by us. On the customers credit card statement, which she should provide you to back this up, you will see LaPorte Moving on one charge and ********************** on the other. That is a considerable difference in responsibility compared to the scope of the complaint. As this customer was our booking and we did provide part of the services, we did process payment in full. However, the remainder of the service were provided by an ********************** driver and subsequently they processed the second payment in full, in error. Basic miscommunication.

I do know that our accounting department was contacted by this customer and subsequently an attempt to correct the situation was ongoing and after attempts on our side to have *************** handle the credit, this has been finally done by us instead. As *************** is a corporation, it is at times difficult to get administrative tasks done in a timely manner. To make matters worse, we're a small company so a credit of this size is quite difficult for us to process. The matter went back and forth, an excessive amount of time transpired and it is unfortunate but this customer is an honest bystander in the dispute and we sincerely apologize.

To admit we could have done more... I can't confirm. ******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Complaint:
I was charged the same amount twice by the company $******* for the same move. The charges were made on February 27, 2015 and March 2, 2015. I discovered the double billing on March 12, 2015 and immediately reported the error to Laporte by phone. The company acknowledge they charged the amount twice in error and stated they would refund the amount back to my credit card. I have made numerous phone calls to inquire about the status of my refund but have been told to wait as the refund would be coming. I am no longer receiving any communication from the company after my last email on March 18, 2015. I have still not received a refund to this date. I have a contract with Laporte and a receipt stating I should have only been charged $******* once not twice.



Regards,

*******************
Operations Manager

************ - Phone
LaPorte Moving & Storage Systems Ltd."

Consumer Response
Hello ******,

Thank you for your call today. Please see my reply to Laporte's statement below.

I respectfully reject the business' response below as I still have not received a refund as of April 1st at 11:45am. I consider this issue unresolved until I receive a refund of the double charge. I would also like to provide some clarifying points.

1. I provided my credit card to Laporte on April 27th by phone. I was informed that payment was required in order to schedule delivery for the following day. As reflected on the credit card statement I provided, I was charged the same day by *****. I was then charged again by Laporte Moving on Mar 2nd which is contrary to the statement below.

2. According to the contract attached, Laporte indicates on the Terms of Payment that payments are made to ***************. I have also contacted *************** who have also stated that the refund should come from Laporte. Regardless, I authorized one charge for my move on my credit card and I did not provide my credit card to ***** so if an error was made it is ultimately Laporte's responsibility to resolve.

3. I appreciate the explanation below that there was a miscommunication between Laporte and Atlas however this information was never relayed to me previously. However, this is now the fifth time that I have been told a refund was processed. I have been advised to wait a few days for the refund to appear and none has appeared to this point. At a complete impasse, I contacted the BBB to assist in a resolution.

As you can appreciate, it is a hardship to carry an additionally $**** of debt *********************************************************************************************************. I will continue to wait for my refund and hope that this can be resolved quickly.

I would ask that these documents only be viewed by you as they contain personal and financial information.

Sincerely,

*************

Sent from my iPad

Final Business Response
The credit was done. Depending on your bank this may take a few business days to show but we have the receipt that this was in fact taken care of.

I have provided the information as it was presented to me and I have apologized once again on behalf of the company.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have received the refund from Laporte on my credit card. *************************************************************************

10/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Loss of several items by ******* Moving Company during the move from Richmond to our new home in Surrey on August 5th, 2014. After several calls to the moving company, we were told that if we did the packing, they are not responsible for any loss. ***********************************************************************************************************.
1. ******* delivered boxes for us to pack our belongings in.
2. Who is responsible if the boxes are not delivered to our new home in Surrey?
3. *********************************************************************************************
The missing boxes include kitchen items and an I-Pad for total value of $520.76. We are seek-
ing replacement of important lost documents elsewhere.
We paid ******* $3232.95, which included insurance
for the move.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking payment of $520.76 from ******* Moving to cover the replacement cost of the missing items.

Business Response
We are able to offer the refund of $212.63 which is the cost for our optional Transit Protection in the amount of $202.50 + gst. No further claims will be accepted.

"This response is sent on behalf of Mr *******. As stated in the complaint, it is true that he is not a daily participant of the company but remains the owner and President. As the claim was initially declined by our office staff as per policy and subsequently appealed by the customer, the matter was brought to Mr *******'s direct attention. He has overseen the process throughout to this point.

To clarify, because only an authorized insurance broker can legally sell "insurance", we actually offer Transit Protection. This is essentially a service offered by moving companies to provide the customer with the option to have repairs or compensation in the event DAMAGE occurs during the course of their move. As per the Ministry of Transportation, the alternative is to have Released Coverage which is based on the weight of the item(s) at $0.60 per pound only.

Transit Protection is based on industry standards and as such has its own limitations, similar to any type of warranty, damage or loss coverage offered across various industries. It would be unreasonable to believe that any claim filed will be accepted by the carrier for the sole reason that the coverage was purchased or based on the total cost of the service. The coverage provided by the moving industry will never include allegedly missing or damaged contents of an owner packed carton. Due to the fact the contents are unknown, there is a high possibility of misrepresented and fraudulent claims. Even as a customer service it is not possible to accept liability for contents that were not packed by our crews.

Many variables exist outside the control of the moving company that can contribute to a customer not locating a carton after their move. On a move of this size there can be hundreds of cartons relocated and placed throughout the new home. There is also a chance that some cartons were incorrectly labeled, placed in the wrong rooms, or even mistakenly disposed of during the unpacking process that happens over the next number of days. It is unfortunate that the blame immediately falls on the moving company and a demand to provide compensation is made without any clear indication of liability.

To summarize the situation, there are so many possibilities outside of our control that we simply cannot provide every customer with a 15% credit on the total cost of their move."


Consumer Response
The response from ******* Moving is acknowledged. They continue to deny responsibility for our losses, yet offer a lesser amount as compensation for our losses. We understand any further action in this matter would be useless with such a cynical attitude.
They may send the quoted $212.63 to the address where most of our belongings were delivered;

XXXXX - XXa **** ******* **** *** ***

We appreciate the assistance of the Better Business Bureau for relaying our complaint to them
.

**** & ****** *******

08/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On July 2013, the staff of La Porte Moving & Storage System Company came to our house in Port Moody, BC where they packed our household items and moved them to their storage. Based on our request on May 2014 they delivered our household items to our condo in Port Moody, BC. Unfortunately a lot of our household items had been damaged or lost. I contacted the company by phone and left them numerous messages however to no avail. I sent them emails but still no response from the person or persons who are responsible to follow our case. After having called them 5 to 6 times, I received one phone call back from them. After having send La Porte Moving & Storage System Company so many emails and phone calls, they have finally started to work on our case. When I signed the agreement with this company, they sold us insurance to take care of damages that might happen to our household items. Unfortunately they don't honor their insurance policies. They have been trying to come up with so many different excuses to avoid taking accountability and responsibility of all the damages and lost items of our household. We are so frustrated and angry from the way they are handling our case. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
They should fulfill their obligation and pay for all the damages and missing items.The total comes to $7,000.00

Business Response
Basically the customer has asked for compensation in regards to missing items which he is unable to prove because he signed a legal binding document accepting his shipment delivered as complete.******************** *************************************************************************************************************************** He knows that in the event that it's determined there is missing items on the bingo check-off sheet at the conclusion of delivery, the moving industry honors whatever value is placed on those items by the customer. Call it books, call it pots and pans, call it china. Give it a value and the van line has to honor the claimed amount, unless it really is ridiculous.

However, that is only if the customer checks off each item as it is delivered into the home. At the end we review the bingo and if there are numbers still unchecked, we will spend a great deal of time looking through the home to find it as it is usually just missed when it was called out or checked off incorrectly. That's the problem. This customer did not elect to do the check off of each number, therefore neither side can prove their case. It then defaults to the statement that he accepted the shipment as complete.

Last correspondence from the customer was demanding $4000 and since I am only able to authorize $1500, which he flatly refused, I left this with ***********, the owner and president of the company. I have come back from vacation to see *his email************************************************* the statement************ and the signature by the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, he did not mentioning that his company had created a system where you have to choose between paying extra money (in my case 3 men X $148.00 per hour) to receive your household items by checking the number on each box or they deliver everything that they have in their truck. According to their driver, my delivery would have taken extra two to three hours by going through this procedure. I have never gone through such an experience with any other moving company in the past.
**************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** When La Porte Company gives you their quotation they never mention anything about their delivery system. *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
Secondly in his reply he didn't mention anything about how his company broke the wooden container of our silverware. After they broke the wooden container in their storage they put the broken parts and silverware (spoons, forks, Knives) in a blanket and wrapped it up with tape. La Porte Company packed all our household items. When their packers came to our house, they said, these wooden boxes are strong enough so they don't need any blankets and were wrapped by just using tapes. Unfortunately some of our silverware is now missing and his company doesn't want to pay for their damages. In his reply he didn't mentioned that they also sold us insurance and now they don't honor their insurance. In their reply to me, they stated that they are not in insurance business.*************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Yes, I accept to settle with $4000.00 instead of my original claim of $7000.00. Because I was so frustrated by sending so many emails and so many phone calls ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Final Business Response
Our offer of $1500 as a goodwill gesture / cash settlement still stands for the time being. I speak on behalf of the owner and president of the company. Since the customer has pursued this avenue of resolution despite our constant communication, this will now be our final offer. I have been requested to state that if this offer is rejected, he is prepared to allow the matter to go to arbitration if necessary as the amount demanded is far beyond reasonable. Unfortunately in our industry, we do our best to appease our customers but we do encounter many instances of fraudulent and misrepresented claims for damages and loss.

We have a well documented process showing our efforts to resolve the matter. A history of communication via emails. A completed report from our vendor showing all possible repairs were completed at our expense. Finally a signed document showing that the customer willingly chose to accept the shipment as complete which nullifies any claims for lost items as this claim cannot be substantiated. Based on court precedents and industry customer service standards, we feel that this offer of $1500 is more than enough and should be seen as a means on our part to prevent this matter from proceeding any further.

I thank you for your assistance.

Regards,
*********************
Operations Manager

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** They broke the wooden container of our silverwares and lost some of our silvers items. When I claimed the damage, the management of La Porte Company responded to my claim stating and I quote, "In regards to your claims for missing items, I suggest that you file a separate claim through your home owners policy as you will likely see more favorable results." They broke the wooden container then based on their suggestion I should go to my home insurance and file a claim for my missing items. As you can see in their recent response they thought that I filed complain with BBB to receive more money. ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** For proving that I am not after money, I accept their offer of $1500.00 instead of my original claim, which was $7,000.00. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

06/12/2014Delivery Issues
08/06/2013Billing / Collection Issues
12/04/2015Billing / Collection Issues
07/08/2015Problems with Product / Service
06/25/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Storage-Household & Commercial, Piano & Organ Moving

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 28/11/1988Business started: 01/01/1983
Contact Information
Principal: Ron LaPorte (President)Customer Contact: Trevor Harder (Operations)
Business Category

Movers, Storage-Household & Commercial, Piano & Organ Moving

Products & Services

This is a full service moving and storage company, providing packing, moving, and storage services for local, national and international moving.

Service Area

Serving all lower Mainland BC, Fraser Valley, Canada, US and International.

Alternate Business Names
Atlas Van Lines (Canada & USA) Agents

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for LaPorte Moving & Storage Systems Ltd

14571 Burrows Rd

Richmond, BC V6V 1K9

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*LaPorte Moving & Storage Systems Ltd is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (604) 986-4100 - PH:
  • (604) 590-0006 - PH:
  • (604) 888-2118 - PH:
  • (800) 867-2088 - PH:
  • (604) 931-6694 - PH:
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.