BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/10/1989

LaPorte Moving & Storage Systems Ltd

Phone: (604) 276-2216Fax: (604) 247-2133

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
10/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Loss of several items by ******* Moving Company during the move from Richmond to our new home in Surrey on August 5th, 2014. After several calls to the moving company, we were told that if we did the packing, they are not responsible for any loss. ***********************************************************************************************************.
1. ******* delivered boxes for us to pack our belongings in.
2. Who is responsible if the boxes are not delivered to our new home in Surrey?
3. *********************************************************************************************
The missing boxes include kitchen items and an I-Pad for total value of $520.76. We are seek-
ing replacement of important lost documents elsewhere.
We paid ******* $3232.95, which included insurance
for the move.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking payment of $520.76 from ******* Moving to cover the replacement cost of the missing items.

Business Response
We are able to offer the refund of $212.63 which is the cost for our optional Transit Protection in the amount of $202.50 + gst. No further claims will be accepted.

"This response is sent on behalf of Mr *******. As stated in the complaint, it is true that he is not a daily participant of the company but remains the owner and President. As the claim was initially declined by our office staff as per policy and subsequently appealed by the customer, the matter was brought to Mr *******'s direct attention. He has overseen the process throughout to this point.

To clarify, because only an authorized insurance broker can legally sell "insurance", we actually offer Transit Protection. This is essentially a service offered by moving companies to provide the customer with the option to have repairs or compensation in the event DAMAGE occurs during the course of their move. As per the Ministry of Transportation, the alternative is to have Released Coverage which is based on the weight of the item(s) at $0.60 per pound only.

Transit Protection is based on industry standards and as such has its own limitations, similar to any type of warranty, damage or loss coverage offered across various industries. It would be unreasonable to believe that any claim filed will be accepted by the carrier for the sole reason that the coverage was purchased or based on the total cost of the service. The coverage provided by the moving industry will never include allegedly missing or damaged contents of an owner packed carton. Due to the fact the contents are unknown, there is a high possibility of misrepresented and fraudulent claims. Even as a customer service it is not possible to accept liability for contents that were not packed by our crews.

Many variables exist outside the control of the moving company that can contribute to a customer not locating a carton after their move. On a move of this size there can be hundreds of cartons relocated and placed throughout the new home. There is also a chance that some cartons were incorrectly labeled, placed in the wrong rooms, or even mistakenly disposed of during the unpacking process that happens over the next number of days. It is unfortunate that the blame immediately falls on the moving company and a demand to provide compensation is made without any clear indication of liability.

To summarize the situation, there are so many possibilities outside of our control that we simply cannot provide every customer with a 15% credit on the total cost of their move."


Consumer Response
The response from ******* Moving is acknowledged. They continue to deny responsibility for our losses, yet offer a lesser amount as compensation for our losses. We understand any further action in this matter would be useless with such a cynical attitude.
They may send the quoted $212.63 to the address where most of our belongings were delivered;

XXXXX - XXa **** ******* **** *** ***

We appreciate the assistance of the Better Business Bureau for relaying our complaint to them
.

**** & ****** *******

08/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On July 2013, the staff of La Porte Moving & Storage System Company came to our house in Port Moody, BC where they packed our household items and moved them to their storage. Based on our request on May 2014 they delivered our household items to our condo in Port Moody, BC. Unfortunately a lot of our household items had been damaged or lost. I contacted the company by phone and left them numerous messages however to no avail. I sent them emails but still no response from the person or persons who are responsible to follow our case. After having called them 5 to 6 times, I received one phone call back from them. After having send La Porte Moving & Storage System Company so many emails and phone calls, they have finally started to work on our case. When I signed the agreement with this company, they sold us insurance to take care of damages that might happen to our household items. Unfortunately they don't honor their insurance policies. They have been trying to come up with so many different excuses to avoid taking accountability and responsibility of all the damages and lost items of our household. We are so frustrated and angry from the way they are handling our case. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
They should fulfill their obligation and pay for all the damages and missing items.The total comes to $7,000.00

Business Response
Basically the customer has asked for compensation in regards to missing items which he is unable to prove because he signed a legal binding document accepting his shipment delivered as complete.******************** *************************************************************************************************************************** He knows that in the event that it's determined there is missing items on the bingo check-off sheet at the conclusion of delivery, the moving industry honors whatever value is placed on those items by the customer. Call it books, call it pots and pans, call it china. Give it a value and the van line has to honor the claimed amount, unless it really is ridiculous.

However, that is only if the customer checks off each item as it is delivered into the home. At the end we review the bingo and if there are numbers still unchecked, we will spend a great deal of time looking through the home to find it as it is usually just missed when it was called out or checked off incorrectly. That's the problem. This customer did not elect to do the check off of each number, therefore neither side can prove their case. It then defaults to the statement that he accepted the shipment as complete.

Last correspondence from the customer was demanding $4000 and since I am only able to authorize $1500, which he flatly refused, I left this with ***********, the owner and president of the company. I have come back from vacation to see *his email************************************************* the statement************ and the signature by the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, he did not mentioning that his company had created a system where you have to choose between paying extra money (in my case 3 men X $148.00 per hour) to receive your household items by checking the number on each box or they deliver everything that they have in their truck. According to their driver, my delivery would have taken extra two to three hours by going through this procedure. I have never gone through such an experience with any other moving company in the past.
**************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** When La Porte Company gives you their quotation they never mention anything about their delivery system. *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
Secondly in his reply he didn't mention anything about how his company broke the wooden container of our silverware. After they broke the wooden container in their storage they put the broken parts and silverware (spoons, forks, Knives) in a blanket and wrapped it up with tape. La Porte Company packed all our household items. When their packers came to our house, they said, these wooden boxes are strong enough so they don't need any blankets and were wrapped by just using tapes. Unfortunately some of our silverware is now missing and his company doesn't want to pay for their damages. In his reply he didn't mentioned that they also sold us insurance and now they don't honor their insurance. In their reply to me, they stated that they are not in insurance business.*************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Yes, I accept to settle with $4000.00 instead of my original claim of $7000.00. Because I was so frustrated by sending so many emails and so many phone calls ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Final Business Response
Our offer of $1500 as a goodwill gesture / cash settlement still stands for the time being. I speak on behalf of the owner and president of the company. Since the customer has pursued this avenue of resolution despite our constant communication, this will now be our final offer. I have been requested to state that if this offer is rejected, he is prepared to allow the matter to go to arbitration if necessary as the amount demanded is far beyond reasonable. Unfortunately in our industry, we do our best to appease our customers but we do encounter many instances of fraudulent and misrepresented claims for damages and loss.

We have a well documented process showing our efforts to resolve the matter. A history of communication via emails. A completed report from our vendor showing all possible repairs were completed at our expense. Finally a signed document showing that the customer willingly chose to accept the shipment as complete which nullifies any claims for lost items as this claim cannot be substantiated. Based on court precedents and industry customer service standards, we feel that this offer of $1500 is more than enough and should be seen as a means on our part to prevent this matter from proceeding any further.

I thank you for your assistance.

Regards,
*********************
Operations Manager

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** They broke the wooden container of our silverwares and lost some of our silvers items. When I claimed the damage, the management of La Porte Company responded to my claim stating and I quote, "In regards to your claims for missing items, I suggest that you file a separate claim through your home owners policy as you will likely see more favorable results." They broke the wooden container then based on their suggestion I should go to my home insurance and file a claim for my missing items. As you can see in their recent response they thought that I filed complain with BBB to receive more money. ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** For proving that I am not after money, I accept their offer of $1500.00 instead of my original claim, which was $7,000.00. ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

06/25/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
As the consultant was viewing our belongings in order to make a quote we mentioned that we would have a piano moving company move our pianos. She guaranteed us that Laporte could do this just as well. When the grand piano arrived at the apartment we were told that it was impossible to get it on the elevator. We were also told that the upright piano could not be moved into the new location. After contacting the piano moving company we were originally going to hire, they successfully moved both pianos to their new location. Laporte was unaware that a grand piano is moved keyboard end down in an elevator. We paid an additional $1,300.00.

Desired Settlement
The pianos were stored for 1 week prior to the move. We are not expecting the company to cover the full $1,300.00 but would like to be reimbursed for the 1 week storage of the grand piano and the portion of the cost that was allotted for the pianos. Most importantly that a fair amount stress was caused when a company that supposedly can move a large piano informed that there was no way it would fit in the elevator. Possibly a training session is in order.

Business Response
**********************
File #****

We provided an estimated cost of $3,879.75 to the customer. Our actual charges ended up being less, coming to $3,698.63. The customer had originally planned to move the 2 pianos separately with a different company, **********************************, at an additional cost above and beyond our estimate. In the end, our salesperson agreed to include the piano moves within the cost of our estimate. Case and point, the customer had budgeted for a much higher cost from the start.

Most important to note, we were not provided with an opportunity to rectify the situation which would have saved the customer most of the additional cost. Specialized piano moves do come at an additional cost, but as we received the bulk of the customers business, our piano surcharges would have been much lower than using ********* just for these.

Overview of the situation:

We have moving crews with different skill sets. The crew that moved this customer in and out of our storage is able to move pianos 95% of the time based on standard circumstances. For more difficult piano moves like these, we have specialized crews that would only deal with the pianos as they are able to minimize the risk of damage to the item or property. Putting a piano on its keyboard is a very high risk maneuver and I appreciate that the crew didn't attempt it if they were not comfortable doing so. Normally I would send a piano crew out same day or later, however, I was not given the opportunity to rectify the situation because the customer had immediately called ********** accepting their additional cost was her own decision.

In response to the customers comment about training, I will clarify that piano movers do not move household goods. The crew she hired to move the 2 pianos in the end are the same as my piano movers, they would not have been part of the crew that moved the remainder of her household. They only move pianos.

As stated in our confirmation letter, ************************, as well as at the bottom of our Confirmation for Delivery out of storage, we have requested many times that the customer advise us of any foreseen or implied difficulties. I understand that the average customer is not going to be fully aware of what is considered difficult but when the elevator is considerably small, it may be noted to us that there is a chance the larger items won't fit.

I do not feel that we are responsible for the customers decision to pay ********* for the same services that we could have provided given the opportunity.

I will however, still offer $200 as a customer service to show good faith.

To be understood that the customer would have been responsible for additional charges to us as well due to the circumstances being above and beyond in relation to the high risk piano moves.


06/12/2014Delivery Issues
08/06/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Storage-Household & Commercial, Piano & Organ Moving

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.