BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/09/2004

Kelowna Movers Ltd

(250) 765-1125395 Adams Rd, KelownaBC V1X 7R5 Send email to Kelowna Movers Ltd

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/09/2004

BBB has determined that Kelowna Movers Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Kelowna Movers Ltd's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
11/29/2013Billing / Collection Issues
06/11/2013Billing / Collection Issues
10/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Over $1000 OVERCHARGE FROM ESTIMATE:* DETAILS: Kelowna Movers employee attended & provided full estimate to move household contents from Kelowna to Chilliwack. After estimate, we needed to extend delivery to Chilliwack by 4 days. ********* said no problem; when asked about extra costs for that, he said not to worry, its only 4 days & did not provide a cost. ************************************************************************* Movers arrived to UNLOAD truck at new home in Chilliwack. ***** "senior" mover needed payment before unloading. Credit card given then we noticed discrepancy. **** called their office & requested reason for discrepancy. They said they didn't have copy of Bill of Lading due to office mix-ups & we had the only copy & that **** would contact us. Haulers began unloading truck as***** payment had been immediately processed. DISCREPANCIES/OVERCHARGES: 1- $600.00 WHS flat fee (*** said this is for the extra 4 days of storage). That's $150 per day! Originally he said not to worry about it & no cost amount given when asked.2 - $637.86 packing/and or unpacking services (*** said that this was for handling mirrors/pictures. The mirrors/pictures were all discussed with the Estimater and would have been part of the original quote.3 - Under Special Notes, they estimated 5 wardrobes and we only needed 3 so the actual cost should have be reduced on the Bill.4 we had 435 pounds LESS in total weight than on the estimate - should have been a cost REDUCTION for being underweight from the estimate.DAMAGED GOODS: 3 glass table inserts smashed (packed/unpacked by movers). Outdoor furniture - damaged/frames scratch. Box Italian crystal glasses smashed. *** refused to resolve any of these issues when contacted.********************************************************************************************* All of his staff though, were very good. We are currently in dispute with *** and his company to fix this overcharge ******************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
$637.86 extra packing/unpacking fee AND the $600 WHS fee refunded. We would even be willing to deduct a reasonable amount for the 4 day extension of the move-in date (not $600 as charged though! Something more reasonable like $50/day = $200). Also we want to be reimbursed for the cost to replace glass table inserts & repairs/replacement of the outdoor furniture (chair metal frames all scratched up): Total Settlement requested $1200.00

Business Response
Good Morning:

This is in response from the written complaint to you by ********************** regarding the move for **********.

Our Moving Consultant did a visual survey for this move June 30/14 moving from Kelowna to Chilliwack and possibly requiring storage in Kelowna. The line haul charge of $ 2022.30 in the estimate was based on the estimated weight of 6741#. The actual weight on the Bill of Lading was 6306# for a line haul charge of $1891.90, thus there was a reduction in cost to reflect the lesser weight of 435# and is reflected on the Bill of Lading.

The move was booked with a load date of July 19th/14 and the delivery date was initially July 23/14. We then got a call advising that the possession date was now July 25th/14. We then got a call and an e-mail advising they would like to change the delivery date to the afternoon of July 30th/14 to allow for some cleaning and painting of the new premises. This meant another 5 day delay right into the busiest week of the month. While I did agree that we would honour their request, I did not say there would be no charge for storage or a hold over fee during the additional extension of time. In order to book this unit for moves we would have had to unload the shipment into storage and then reload for delivery and the cost would have been close to $1500.00 plus storage. We opted to charge the lesser $600.00 for the hold over fee.

With respect to the packing charge, at the time of the estimate we were only responsible to pack 5 wardrobes and provide and pack 2 Queen mattress bags. This customer was only charged for the 3 wardrobes that were used on their move. When loading the shipment, it was noted that there were 12 pictures that required packing for transporting that had not been completed by the customer. The packing charge was $708.74 and we allowed a 10% discount. We cannot be expected to provide this additional service without a charge.

I checked over the listings and the driver did note some conditions at the time of loading for the patio chairs as being soiled and a further notation for the patio table (18,19,20 as soiled, rubbed and scratched prior to loading. These were not brand new and for most outside furniture, we do find them to be in a "used" condition.

We do not feel that the additional charges, ************************************************ were for services we provided to accommodate their change in the delivery schedule.

With respect to the damages they are claiming. I will check with the crew with respect to the glass table inserts and the box of crystal glasses would not be our responsibility unless they could prove negligence on the part of a crew member.

We are sorry that our service was not to their satisfaction but we felt we cooperated with their requests for extending the delivery time, charges for the hold over and the packing that was necessary to ensure safe delivery of their pictures.

Sincerely

*********************************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. Re: Packing Charge - Pictures; ********** states above "We cannot be expected to provide this additional service without a charge". Understandably, but when the estimate was conducted, the full contents to be moved were discussed with the estimator. The 12 (original) paintings were on the walls and were part of that estimate; they were not hidden in a closet or added after the estimator came. The estimator and later the haulers were aware of the preciousness of these originals. If extra charges were to ensue, it should have been noted at the time of estimate (something simple as adding 'packing paintings not included' or 'customer responsible for packing paintings'. Or if there was to be a charge, an estimate of that cost should have been in the "Packing Charge" section of the Estimate, especially when it was such a SIGNIFICANT charge ($708.74 less 10%). NO WHERE on the estimate does it indicate details about the PACKING of or NOT PACKING of the paintings. We hired them as the experts; IF properly protecting the paintings are not automatically included in their estimates, it should have been recorded on the Estimate that it was discussed so that it is clear for all parties. thus eliminating the need for a dispute on this. If the $708 charge had been divulged to us on the Estimate, we would have certainly packed the paintings ourselves and taken them in our own truck.

2. Moving date extension & storage: The moving date was changed from July 26th (as indicated on the Estimate) to July 30th to allow time to repaint inside the new house. Above,*********** denies saying that there would be no charge for storage or a hold over fee during the additional extension of time, BUT did ********** say that he told us what the extra cost WOULD BE for that extension? No, because he didn't! That is a significant added expense and if he had he told us when we asked for the extension that the additional cost for 4 days storage was $600+, we would have opted to keep the July 26th date and had the haulers load the items into the centre of the rooms or garage while the painting was done. If they had appropriate business procedures in place, when an Estimate is changed by an increase of over 17% ($600+), a new Amended Estimate contract SHOULD have been provided to eliminate any issues of billing discrepancies like the one we are having with them now. ************

3. Scratched outdoor chairs: We agree that the table did have a couple of scratches on it before loading. Our complaint is that the chairs did not and were scratched in the move. The Inventory Forms indicate the patio chairs as being only soiled, not scratched, so it is the moving company's responsibility to provide compensation for the damage.

4. Broken Glass: We look forward to hearing how they will handle the broken glass table inserts.

Note: On moving day when we discovered the cost discrepancy and had requested clarification, the office said they didn't have a copy of the Bill of Lading and that ours was the only copy. They couldn't deal with the discrepancy until they could see a copy of it (and they actually wanted to take our copy). We had to solve that issue by us taking a picture of it on our iPhone and emailing it to their office. ********************

We still stand on the grounds that Kelowna Movers refund us $1237.86.

06/15/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 22/09/1994Business started: 07/11/1987
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Ken Taylor (Owner)Customer Contact: Jori Cooper (Customer Service) Gladys Taylor (President)
Business Category

Movers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kelowna Movers Ltd

395 Adams Rd

Kelowna, BC V1X 7R5

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kelowna Movers Ltd is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.