BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 16/03/1992

Optimum West Insurance Company

Find a Location

Phone: (604) 688-1541Fax: (604) 688-1527View Additional Phone Numbers600 4211 Kingsway, BurnabyBC V5H 1Z6 Send email to Optimum West Insurance Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 16/03/1992

BBB has determined that Optimum West Insurance Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Optimum West Insurance Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Optimum West Insurance Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our insurance policy (#********) was only for one year and expired on Oct. 27, 2013. We got a call from the broker (#****) about renewal, but we decided against it, and never renewed it. We paid the premium in full for the one year when we bought the policy. However, the company sent us a bill for $90, claiming that the current term is Oct. 27, 2013 to Oct. 27, 2014, and that the policy would be cancelled on March 6, 2014.

Desired Settlement
Rescind the statement of $90 and send us a letter of apology from the broker who renewed the policy without our approval or signature and from the company for mailing us the bill by mistake.

Business Response
We apologize for any misunderstanding. Insurance renewals are issued automatically and stay in effect even after the expiry date to allow for delays in payment. If an issued renewal policy is returned to the broker, we are able to cancel the renewal with no charge for the time we were on risk. It appears the misunderstanding came from the delay in receiving back the renewal policy from the broker. Please be advised we will waive all charges related to this situation and apologize for any misunderstanding. You were a valued client of ours and we hope to be able to serve you again in the future.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for the delayed response. The renewal policy has been with the broker all this time. We never have any knowledge of or agreed to any coverage after the term ended on Oct. 27, 2013. Besides the waiver of the bill and the apology, we also ask: If a late payment or an outstanding $90 statement has ever been reported to a credit bureau or collection agency, please cancel the reports and restore our AAA credit rating. *****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Final Consumer Response

08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We signed a contract with our insurance company for home insurance totaling $********.The contract dates were from *************************.On *************, 6 1/2 months later, we received an increase in our policy saying that we owed them $****** more for the remaining time of our contract ($******/yr) because they decided to change our policy and increased the amounts by the following:****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************. We purchased the entire house & property for $******* and no this wasn't a deal.2. We don't even have any detached private buildings at all.3. We have bare bones personal property.4. We don't even want additional living expenses at all as we have another house we can live in.They gave no indication at all why they increased the amounts in all categories and gave me no other options.I have told them repeatedly that I disagree with the changes to the original contract and want the contract to stay the same until the term has expired. The broker has now stopped responding to my emails and phone calls so I then called the insurance place directly, explained the situation and they refused to talk to me. *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I am asking for the following from my insurance company:1. They honor my original contract and keep everything the exact same at least until the contract expires on ***********.2. They state in writing that my contract is currant and valid.3. They do not show a void or a default on payment.4. My insurance rating stays at 100%.5. They do not bill me for anything extra whatsoever now or in the future.Thank you for your consideration in this matter.

Business Response
**********************************************************************************************************************
The broker sold the insured a comprehensive homeowners policy, based on an insureable amount of $******* to replace the home. Due to high values, it is our company's rule to order an inspection and appraial on all homes valued over $*******. The broker was already aware, the insured was made aware, and an independent inspector attended the home on **************** with the insured present. A comprehensive, 31 page inpspection/appraisal resulted showing a value of $*********. This is a high end, beautiful home! The inspection was shared with the broker, broker advised the insured and an endorsement was produced increasing the limit to $*********. An additional premium of $*** was generated. The broker has confirmed that the details/rationale for the inspection/valuation increase were explained thoroughly to the insured. A number of items from the insured BBB complaint require addressing. Market value and reconstruction value are not the same. The fact that the insured paid $******* for the house is not indicative of what it would cost to re-build this house. The insured purchased a comprehensive homeowners policy which includes a sub-limit for detached structures, it is a built in part of the policy. The insured did not purchase "bare bones personal property", the insured purchased comprehensive, all risk, guaranteed replacement cost coverage. The contents limit is calculated as a **% of the building limit, once again part of the comprehensive policy. Additional living expenses are part of the comprehensive policy the insured purchased. All of these extensions were on the orignal application and policy the insured signed/received. The broker has confirmed he did not stop speaking with the client, the client did not like his answer/explanation and stopped speaking to him. When the insured called us looking for advice we referred them back to their broker, as this appears to be a communication problem between the broker and the insured. The policy was not void/cancelled, the insurance is still in place. A claim was reported by the insured on ************** which is being adjusted. The insured has canclled the policy effective ***********.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am requesting:
1. A copy of the "31 page inspection" however that my be.

OR

2. Cancel the outstanding $****** owing & agree that my insurance was pain in full and in good standing order for the entire 1 year term.



Final Business Response
***Document Attached***
Attached is a copy of the appraisal. It is comprehensive and provides a breakdown as to how the value of the house was arrived at. Of interest, there is an open claim on this policy right now for damage to the main floor including the kitchen, entrance way, bathroom. The amount of the claim is currently sitting at $*********. The appraisal value of $********* includes a total of value of $****** for floor coverings for the entire house. Considering we are looking at a claim of $********* for the tile in the kitchen, entrance way and bathrooms that leaves $****** to replace the flooring for the rest of the house. Would this be enough? If the insured can provide an independent appraisel that supports their position that the $********* is incorrect we will certainly take this into consideration.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for sending me the appraisal. However, I do not agree ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
Final Business Response
I did speak with RMS yesterday they re-looked at their inspection to ensure no errors, and are confident that it is accurate. ***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Companies-Other Than Life

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/09/1980Business started: 01/01/1904
Contact Information
Principal: Travis Goldstraw (Manager) Julie Deschamps (Accounts Payable) Krista Kuehn (Manager, Business Services)
Business Category

Insurance Companies-Other Than Life

Products & Services

This company is a subsidiary of Optimum General Inc., a publicly-traded company. Optimum General Inc. provides insurance products in eight provinces and two territories through its four subsidiaries.

Service Area

This company has informed the BBB that all consumer inquiries within BC that are not part of the Greater Vancouver District Area should call 1-800-663-0597 to avoid long distance charges.

Alternate Business Names
Optimum General Inc., Optimum Group Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Optimum West Insurance Company

600 4211 Kingsway

Burnaby, BC V5H 1Z6

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 600 4211 Kingsway 

    Burnaby, BC V5H 1Z6

  • 1500 425 de Maisonneuve Blvd 

    Montréal, QC H3A 3G5(514) 288-8725 ext 252

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Optimum West Insurance Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 663-0597 - Toll Free
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Insurance Companies-Other Than Life

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.