BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/10/2008

Riverside Heating & Plumbing Services Inc.

Phone: (604) 513-4115Fax: (604) 882-4906View Additional Phone Numbers204 20445 62 Ave, LangleyBC V3A 5E6 Send email to Riverside Heating & Plumbing Services Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/10/2008

BBB has determined that Riverside Heating & Plumbing Services Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Riverside Heating & Plumbing Services Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Riverside Heating & Plumbing Services Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 6 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had called this company on **************** to replace my hot water tank as it had failed and needed to be replaced. I was told by Matthew that no problem they could fit me in the next day *************** between ***********. At ****** I called the company to find out where they were however I got an answering machine, At *** I called the company again saying I needed a call back so if I needed to get someone else then I would have time. At this point due to me being without hot water for 2 days I decided I needed to find another person to do the work. I called the company again on **************** and talked to Dave and expressed my unhappiness with them just not showing up or even giving me a call back to explain that another emergency came up. When I said this he told me that I am only a **** dollar job and other clients are more important. *****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
If the company cared and wanted to provide the best possible service then they should have apologized instead of making excuses and even before that made a simple phone call. I had to pay $****** more to get my hot water tank repair because I had to then call another company on an emergency call out. I want others to know that they take the risk of having them leave you high and dry because they lack customer service.

Business Response
All jobs are booked and confirmed with the office at riverside. no onsite appointments are made with technicians. We apologize on behalf of our technician for misleading you to a non confirmed appointment.
Such a job takes from 3-4 hours to complete. In this case we had to move scheduling around for the customer. Jobs are taken into consideration of importance. Riverside will be in contact with the customer within 1-2 days of calling. in this case the customer was upset for lack of same day service but was in contact with us daily.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not feel that Riverside Heating and Plumbing is forthcoming with their response to concerns with their service and I feel that they are not willing to take any ownership for their lack of customer service and leaving the customer standing there without a courtesy call if they cannot show up is completely unprofessional.
As they stated in their response to my complaint, technicians do not book jobs only the office staff are allowed. As I found there company on the website and I called the only phone number that is provided I would have to assume as a consumer that a qualified office staff member would be picking up the phone and able to help me with my needs as a consumer. If technicians are answering the phones then the company is lacking in structure and due to this is impacting present and future clients. It is the responsibility of the company to ensure that clients are not getting mislead by false information and empty promises.
As I had made multiple calls to Riverside and talked to the same person before booking my job, they at no time said they were a technician and I would have to wait for office personal to assist me. I was also given a quote of price and availability of the type of hot water tank that would be best for my situation.
As a business, they should take responsibility for any and all of their staff's actions and be forthcoming and considerate of the customer's time and stress levels during their situation. As I had to take a day off work to wait for the company to show up on the agreed time, this caused me to lose pay and also time to get another company in to resolve the issue during regular working hours which was not possible.
As Riverside has also stated in their response to my complaint, they said that they would call the client in 1-2 days of calling. As a consumer I feel they should have made this clause known to me up front that they cannot provide a call back right away if they are unable to make the arranged appointment. If I would have known this I would have continued my search for another company that could communicate in a timely manner and understands the values of customers that make there company stay in business and also I would not have had to pay for an after hour's emergency call.
To close the only way that I would feel that Riverside is true to their statement that they apologize that their technician had made a mistake is that the company pays for my lost time which is =$****** and the emergency call overage which is= $****** that I had to take on due to them not showing up as agreed apon. This would show me that they value their customers and will do what is necessary to make things right if they have made a mistake.


Final Business Response
Emergencies were issued to riverside that day. Thus throwing the schedule off. This being are extremely busy time of the year we had to put mr. Weller on hold for a few days. we have emergencies just like the fire department does except we put out the water. Or fix your heat source so your not freezing. If you can't justify this concept. We judge it by people. In your case two buildings were without heat or hot water. Resulting in many people compared to one. The customer was stressed this and told we would find the appropriate time to slot him in.
We apologize for your misunderstanding.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
If this company would have actually read the complaint and not just made up excuses the responder would know that the service was not ever requested for the same day. They had told me the day and time they would come and do the service. Therefore it is very clear by their responses that they are not willing to resolve this issue in a professional manner. I feel that they need to lose there BBB rating due to not even attempting to resolve this matter. There is no integrity in this company.

02/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We first called riverside to have them come and fix our gas fireplace in mid ******** as it would not stay lit. We made an appointment and when someone showed up they immediately had issues seemingly not able to diagnose problem. He seemed very unsure and unknowledgeable about how to go about diagnosing the situatuon. He also made frequently calls regarding what to do to other parties. After "diagnosing" the problem to be the "PART" he put the fireplace back together (leaving out small, and to us, unidentifiable parts and tried to install glass upside down) he said he would source part and return. At this point he charged us $*** plus tax (and A FULLS DAY PAY LOST) and said he would have to source part and return to finish completion of repair and that the money was in "good faith" and will be applied to the total at the end as he yet has done NOTHING to repair fireplace. That was the LAST time they have ever tried to contact us. After three days we called and were told in no uncertain terms and ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************** ******************************************** We tried calling 8-12 times over the next week as we are still without any heat in the dead of winter. Once we did get someone on the phone (appx two weeks later) they were extremely rude and again we were told in NO UNCERTAIN terms that they ALREADY TOLD us they dont make the part and go buy a new unit for apx. $********** and basically top stop calling them. We called another company and they came and replaced the part and was quick, efficient, friendly and charged us the same amount as riverside for completing the repair from start to finish. (*******************) ************************************* ********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** Next i talked to Matt. Who said hes going to look into because this is not right and asked if i could email both copies receipts to verify what they did and that the other company was able to repair and for the cost that they charged us for doing nothing. Another week went by where i called the office every day and the ********* confirmed they had email but agin NO ONE EVER CALLED BACK. I have since learned they are all family... A ****** ************ and ********. ******************************************************************************** *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I want my money back for services NOT tendered. **************************************

Business Response
RIVERSIDE HAS A SERVICE FEE OF $*** FOR DIAGNOSIS OF THE PROBLEM.THIS INCLUDES TECH ON SITE AND THE FIRST HALF AN HOUR. NOT INCLUDING PARTS.
THE PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED AND FOUND THAT A THERMOCOUOPLE WAS NEEDED TO FIX THE FIREPLACE. CUSTOMER WAS TOLD BY OUR TECH THAT WE NEEDED TO SOURCE THE PART.(DUE TO INCONVENIENCE OF STOCK)
RIVERSIDE TECHNICIANS SOURCED OUT PART TO FIND THAT; OUR WHOLESALER PARTS DEALER DID NOT STOCK THAT PART DUE TO AGE.
AS WELL AS, ANOTHER WHOLESALER(DELCO) TOLD OUR TECHS THE PART IS NO LONGER IN STOCK, AND WOULD HAVE TO SETTLE FOR DIFFERENT OPTIONS.

THE CUSTOMER WAS TOLD THIS INFORMATION BY US AND THAT TO FIND THIS PART; A COMPANY MUST ALREADY HAVE IT IN STOCK SINCE ITS BEEN DISCONTINUED.

SUGGESTION TO CUSTOMER WAS TO FIND NEW PRICE FOR NEW INSTALLATION OR TO KEEP SOURCING THE PART.

RIVERSIDE DID COMPLETE THE WORK OF THE DIAGNOSING OF THE PROBLEM AT THE SITE FOR $*** PLUS TAX.

12/03/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating Contractors, Furnaces - Heating, Propane Gas Plumbing, Gas Burners, Engines-Natural Gas, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Plumbers - Commercial, Plumbers, Contractor - Drainage , Boilers-Service & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 20/02/2008Business started: 01/09/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

British Columbia Safety Authority
200 505 6 St
New Westminster, BC V3L 0E1
(778) 396-2000
http://www.safetyauthority.ca

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2009, BC

Business Management
Principal: Davis Desjarlais (President)Mathew Desjadins (Shop Manager)Jarrett Desjarlais (Operations Manager)
Contact Information
Kevin McGuire
Business Category

Heating Contractors, Furnaces - Heating, Propane Gas Plumbing, Gas Burners, Engines-Natural Gas, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Plumbers - Commercial, Plumbers, Contractor - Drainage , Boilers-Service & Repair

Products & Services

This company is a full service Plumbing, Heating and Gas Contractor serving residential, strata and commercial customers. Replacement, service and repair.

Service Area

This company serves Greater Vancouver, all Lower Mainland BC and Fraser Valley - Head office Langley, BC


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Riverside Heating & Plumbing Services Inc. has received 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 6 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Riverside Heating & Plumbing Services Inc.

204 20445 62 Ave

Langley, BC V3A 5E6

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Riverside Heating & Plumbing Services Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (604) 881-4330
  • (778) 997-0446 - Darlene Direct
  • (604) 368-5753 - Kevin Direct
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.