BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/07/2007

A-1 Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (250) 448-8456Fax: (250) 448-56162 991 Richter St, KelownaBC V1Y 2K4 Send email to A-1 Heating & Air ConditioningView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/07/2007

BBB has determined that A-1 Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A-1 Heating & Air Conditioning's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A-1 Heating & Air Conditioning

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired this company to check an issue with the furnace at my rental property and to call me before they performed any work and report. They requested my credit card number prior to sending anyone out, which I provided and confirmed I would not like the credit card charged, rather pay by cheque or email money transfer. I did not receive a call once they diagnosed what was wrong,but rather received an e-bill, which I promptly paid. This call out did not fix the issue, so I had to send them out again. Once again I requested to be informed as to what the situation was and once again they did not provide me with this, rather a bill. I called and emailed many times requesting to know the status of the furnace prior to me paying the bill, which they then debited from my ********** without my authorization. During this whole process I also had to hire another company to come to the home and actually fix the issue, as they had done nothing but charge my credit card. I just recently received an email from the company claiming they were going to take me to collections for an outstanding bill, all which have been charged to my credit card without my consent.

Desired Settlement
Their business processes are unreasonable and lack a great deal of proper management. I am requesting they shred my credit card information and withdraw their claim to any work that they say they completed, and have already charged me for, and rescind their statement of collections procedures. This company has already been paid from me twice for work not actually completed **************************************************************

Business Response
Dear Ms. *******,
If you would check your invoices the first call for no heat was Oct. 1/2014.
Invoice # **** for 140.70. We found the furnace was extremely dirty including the flame sensor and the coil. Once we serviced the furnace it was test fired numerous times and did not fail. The furnace was operating properly when we left.

16 days later we received a call again that the furnace was not working. We found the thermostat had failed and replace the thermostat. The furnace was test fired numerous times and did not fail. That was invoice # **** dated Oct. 17/2014 for $176.40.

6 days later, Oct. 23/2014 we were called again. Obviously your furnace had numerous problems possibly caused by the flooding and restoration work. It sometime happens that you fix one problem and then you are able to diagnose other problems. We replaced a sticking limit and test fired the furnace. Everything
was working when we left. That was Invoice # **** for $24.36.

I understand that you called on a week-end after that that there was no heat again. Due to a problem with our answering service we did not receive that message on the weekend. We understand you called someone else to come check the furnace. To compensate you we did reverse the last bill for $ 24.36.

We did collect billing information from you when you first called on Oct. 1/2014 where you did give us authorization and your credit card information for billing.
That is standard practice for service for out of town customers as you should understand. ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************ There is nothing wrong with the practice of collecting information to guarantee payment for work a customer has requested.

The payment I processed was for Invoice # **** Oct. 17/14 for $176.40 for the thermostat replacement. You had said you would send a cheque for the previous Invoice # **** Oct. 1/14 for 140.70. That bill is still outstanding. That is why I contacted you. The work was done, the furnace was operating correctly when we left and worked fine for 16 days until your thermostat failed.

I hope this clears up any confusion you may have had. All the invoice were emailed to you as instructed. We would appreciate your prompt payment of your outstanding balance so no further action is required. Please check your copies of invoices or I can email them or mail them if you need new copies. There is no reason for contacting the BBB. We just want to be paid for services provided.

Thank you.

Also note that we were not asked to call before doing the work and we were told in an email to charge it to the credit card if it would go through or she would send a check, which we never received for the first invoice.
We have been paid once for only one invoice not the two.
As we have one invoice still out standing from October we contacted her by email in January about payment, so far we have not received a payment on this invoice.

We were told there was another company there before us, perhaps we are being confused with them.

- This was her response to our email of Jan. 29

Thank you for replying in a timely manner this time. I have already filed the complaint with the BBB, as my email stated.

Also thank you for the breakdown of what it was that your technician went out to fix. Every time I called out your company I asked to be notified of what the problem was, and asked multiple times after the work was complete when I received the Invoice, to be informed as to what was wrong. In all these months no one has provided me with answers, not even the Invoices.

*******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

***********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
****** *******

01/29/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Contractors, Heating Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/03/2005Business started: 01/11/2002
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Alan Ewbank (Owner)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Contractors, Heating Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A-1 Heating & Air Conditioning

2 991 Richter St

Kelowna, BC V1Y 2K4

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2 991 Richter St 

    Kelowna, BC V1Y 2K4(250) 448-8456
    Fax: (250) 448-5616

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A-1 Heating & Air Conditioning is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.