BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 30/04/2008

Langley Handyman Services Ltd.

Phone: (604) 625-4655Fax: (604) 625-4433 52 20071 24th Ave, LangleyBC V2Z 2A1 Send email to Langley Handyman Services Ltd.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 30/04/2008

BBB has determined that Langley Handyman Services Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Langley Handyman Services Ltd.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Langley Handyman Services Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Job was not completed. Was not given a breakdown of materials used and breakdown of timesheets. No communication. Was just given a bill and told to pay.

Desired Settlement
I want the drywall mudding done that I paid for. a breakdown of materials used and timesheets as to how he arrived at the hours I was billed for.

Business Response
The client asked us to do some work on her bathroom.

We gave her a rough estimate of 23 hours labour and $*** in materials to do the work and she was fine with that.

She was going to do the priming, painting and any other tasks that she thought she was capable of.

We removed the shower base and some drywall, and did some drywall repairs where the vanity had been removed.

She was going to purchase a 32" shower base and surround for us to install.

When we arrived to install the new shower base but she had purchased a 28" one piece shower stall instead. She had also sanded and painted the drywall repairs around the vanity area to her satisfaction. We did not charge her for this trip.

We explained to her that it would cost a lot more to reframe the shower opening and re-plumb the water supply lines and drain to fit the one piece unit. It would also be too small a shower when finished.

She said she would return it and pick-up a 32" shower base with a centre drain.

We arrived to install the new shower base but she had purchased a shower base with a rear drain. We charged her 1/2 hour for this trip.

We explained that we would need to jackhammer the concrete floor to adjust the shower drain to fit the shower base.

She asked us to pick-up a suitable shower base and also to install some french doors. She said she understood that it would add to her bill and that she could afford 3 days (24 hours) plus a little more for the french doors. We did not charge her for picking up the new shower base. The french doors required framing the rough opening and constructing the jambs and stops to suit the doors, then drywalling to finish to the other walls.

We arrived to install the new shower base and frame the french doors but she had left the wrong key and we couldn't get in to the house to do the work. We did not charge her for this trip.

We returned to install the shower base and frame the french doors. She had also purchased a shower surround that luckily fit the shower base fairly well.

We installed the drywall around the shower and french doors, taped and mudded to 2nd coat. She was leaving for Mexico at this point and asked us for an invoice before she left.

We did not manage to get an invoice to her before she left, so I dropped one off at her house so that it would be there for her when she got back.

This invoice was for a total of 30 hours labour, the shower base and $406.57 in materials.

I called her 3 weeks later and she said she had our cheque ready for us and to pick it up at *******.

When I got there she seemed OK but wanted to show me the bathroom and the french doors. ************************************************************************************************************** There was also a piece of casing missing from around the door.

She said she was not going to give me the cheque but was going to rip it up and get in touch with the BBB.

She wanted us to finish the drywall work for free. She also wanted to see the time sheets for the workmen and the receipts for the materials.

I left and the next morning she left me a message that she had left a cheque under the front door mat. The cheque would be for $*** less than the invoiced amount and that we could pick up the $*** after we had finished the drywall work and provided her with justification of the man hours and material costs.

I have no problem showing her the time sheets and receipts but I don't think it is fair of her to ask us to do the drywall work for free.

I propose that she keep the $*** and use it to pay another contractor to finish the drywall and trim. The $*** should be more than enough to cover the cost of completing the work.





Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I never expected the work done for free. I still don't know how the hours was made up as my *** and I came home several times to talk to the contractor. He was never there. Still do not know what the breakdown was for materials. I was just told that they are honest. Its not about the $*** dollars. Its about the aggravation of dealing with this contractor. If he is so honest why not just provide timesheets and labor costs. not complicated to understand.

Final Business Response
The staff and tradespeople at Langley Handyman Services Ltd. strive to do the best possible job for our clients and will continue to do so.

In this situation, I propose that the client keep the $*** and use it to pay another contractor to finish the drywall and trim. The $*** should be more than enough to cover the cost of completing the job.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
************. I am still at a loss why the contractor will not provide details of how my invoice was made up. He keeps saying he is honest. Prove it.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Handyman Services, Painters, Contractor - Alteration & Renovation, Floor Coverings & Installation

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 29/12/2003Business started: 01/01/1993
Contact Information
Principal: Donna May (Vice President) Lyall May (President)
Business Category

Handyman Services, Painters, Contractor - Alteration & Renovation, Floor Coverings & Installation

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Langley Handyman Services Ltd.

52 20071 24th Ave

Langley, BC V2Z 2A1

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Langley Handyman Services Ltd. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Handyman Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.