BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/03/1958

Pacific National Exhibition

Phone: (604) 253-2311Fax: (604) 251-77732901 E Hastings St, VancouverBC V5K 5J1 Send email to Pacific National Exhibition

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/03/1958

BBB has determined that Pacific National Exhibition meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Pacific National Exhibition's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Pacific National Exhibition

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
10/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On August 26th at 6:00pm, my partner and I purchased 2 fair gate passes ($16.00 each) which cost, in total, $32.00. Our sole purpose for visiting the PNE was to see the *************** Exhibition. After waiting in line for 20 mins we purchased our gate passes and proceeded to the gate entrance. There was a small sign on a pole stating that all the time slots of the *************** exhibition were full. Before we entered through the gate, we asked the PNE gate attendant for a refund because the only reason why we were there was for the**************** Exhibition. Since there were no time slots left, we had no reason for going to the PNE. He told us to go to Guest Services to ask for a refund, but he needed to scan our tickets first before we entered. We went to Guest Services and there was 1 attendant and a Supervisor. There was also 2 other women who purchased fair gate passes because they wanted to see the ************** Exhibition, but also found out the time slots were full so they were also asking for refunds. The attendant told us as well as 2 other women that they do not offer refunds, but we could fill out the "Comment Form" online to file our complaint. When we asked to speak with a manager they told us we couldn't talk to a manager and that a manager would contact us if we filled out the comment form. When we asked them why the signs that told pass holders that the exhibition was full were at the gate entrance and not at the ticket booth, they responded that they told the gate attendants but they didn't listen to them. Moreover, when we suggested that they move the signs to the ticket booths so this situation would not happen to another individual this evening, they said that they would tell the gate attendants to move the signs. However, when we left after filing our complaint the signs were still at the gate entrance and not at the ticket booth. This whole experience was incredibly frustrating, and disheartening. What is also problematic is that there is no refund system in place for individuals who are in a similar situation like myself. My greatest concern is the lack of management present at the fair grounds. There was a supervisor but he had no management authority. He could not offer refunds and only repeated what the guest services attendant had said. I don't understand the purpose of a supervisor if they cannot make managerial decisions. My second concern is the lack of communication between Guest Services and the front gate/ticket booth attendants. This frustrating experience could have been avoided if the signs were moved to the ticket booth.**************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded $32.00 (the amount for 2 fair gate passes).

Business Response
From: **************
Sent: Friday, September 05, 2014 11:25 AM
To:*********************
Subject: ***************

Hi ****,

I received your complaint from the BBB. I'm sorry to hear that you missed the *************** exhibit. Although our tickets are non-refundable I would be happy to come up with some compromise. If you wish to attend ******** during September of our fright nights in October I would be happy to honor you tickets. Hopefully this will help add value to the tickets that you purchased.

Please let me know if this would work for you.

**************************************
PACIFIC NATIONAL EXHIBITION
*************************************************************************************************

From: **************
Sent: Friday, September 12, 2014 1:06 PM
To: ******************
Subject: RE: ***************

Hi ****,

I just wanted to follow up with my previous email. I have not heard back from you yet and was hoping to resolve everything with you. I apologize for the inconvenience and would like to make this right with you.

Thanks,
**************************************
PACIFIC NATIONAL EXHIBITION
*************************************************************************************************

09/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Sunday, August 7th/2014 my family and I went to the PNE. At 7:17pm, I purchased two *** tickets for the ride called Revelation. Before going on the ride (but giving the ticket girl our tickets), we realized that we wanted to take advantage of their advertised offer for two rides, being the Revelation and the Drop Zone for a special price. We were not asked if we wanted the special offer. I went back to the desk and asked the cashier ***** to upgrade my tickets to include the special offer. When she told me that I could not "upgrade" my ticket because I had already given the ticket girl my tickets, I asked for a Supervisor. She told me that she called ******* to come and assist and she would be there shortly. About 20 minutes later when ******* did not show up, I asked the cashier to ask for ******* again. I also did ask where ******* was to approach her and show her my receipts. The cashier said that she had no clue, that she would call ******* again and that we should just wait there because ******* was on her way. About 40 minutes later when ******* did not show and we were all upset of just standing there, we sat down on the bench next to the Drop Zone. When I sat down, it was on a protruding nail which was not hammered down during construction. I asked the kids to wait there (so that nobody else could sit down) and found two 1st Aiders. They in turn called maintenance who hammered the nail down. They asked if I was injured. I told them that I was but nothing to go to emergency for. Now very upset, I went back to the cashier, took her name and asked her where ******* was. She replied that she still didn't know, that she called for ******* 2-3 times already and that me and my other 5 family members should just wait because ******* was on her way. Upset and watching the impatience in everyone's eyes, I bought two more tickets at *** and told her that I will be dealing with this issue later.
On Tuesday Aug 19th/2014, I called and spoke to ******** (Guest Services) at 8:33am. After telling her the story, she told me that she would call me back within the next couple of hours. I explained that I just finished a graveyard shift and had to go back again that evening and that I specifically did not want to receive a phone call after 2pm. I told her how important this timing was, to not neglect. At 1:21pm when not hearing back, I called Guest Services 3 times but was not able to talk to anyone (voicemail only). At 5:36pm while I was in deep sleep, I received a phone call which woke me up. The girl did not introduce herself and began speaking immediately. I told her how she was not supposed to call me at this time. She did not care and continued to explain why the incident at the PNE was my fault. She told me that it was my fault because I did not ask for the location of the Supervisor to actually go and find her myself. ******************* I told her that I did ask for ******* twice, waited for over 40 minutes for her and even asked where to find ******* myself. I told this phone representative that I was specifically told by the cashier 3 times to just wait there and that ******* would be coming soon. ************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************ she replied that Sunday was an extremely busy day and that ******* was completely overwhelmed with other issues. I told her that the PNE's staffing issues were not my problem, that I just spent over **** for tickets for me and my family and that any company that had an event with thousands of people attending should have more than one Supervisor working. She said that it was only ******* that night. I asked for a Supervisor and was told that one would contact me after 11am because that was when the office opened. ************************************************************ I called Guest Services back to now complain about being woken up and wanted to speak to a Supervisor immediately. I was told that a Supervisor would call me by 10am ********************************************
Wednesday, August 20/2014 nobody called me again until the afternoon. I spoke to a girl named ****** who immediately told me that there was nothing that could be done for me considering I gave the tickets for the rides to the ticket girl that day. *********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************use Guest Services was not helping me, calling me at times that I requested against, speaking rudely to me and in fact blaming me! She did not apologize for waking me up and did not care when I told her that my issues were not rectified. When I questioned her Supervisory skills, she told me that she was not even a Supervisor (as promised). I asked for her name (because I wanted to make sure for this complaint). She said, "Why, I already told you". She then told me that the girl that I spoke to yesterday was in fact a Supervisor! ********************************* ******************************************************************************************************* available at the PNE on Sunday, August 17th (one of the busiest days the PNE will see), she replied, "we can't predict that this Sunday was going to be busy and that is why there was only one Supervisor". ******************** also told me that it was my fault for not tracking down the Supervisor ******* down that day. I ************************************************************** decided to ask for a Manager. Without apology, she told me that she would contact a Manager named ***** and took my phone number again.
On Thursday, August 21st/2014 when no one ******** call me back (after multiple growing issues), I called the same ***************** and asked for Guest Services. The girl that picked up said that she would not transfer me over to ***** because he was a manager and that I had to speak to an assistant manager instead. I briefly explained the troubling situation, the last representatives request for ***** to call me back anyway****************************** When calling back again, I finally got the representative to allow me to leave a message for****** via voice mail. I have not heard anything since. Who should know about this to make corrective actions happen? I am a very patient person who wants some answers. I am tired of repeating this story to everyone I meet and converse with on Social Media.*******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I want my money back for the 6 expensive**** entrance tickets, ****** for the rides that we could not even enjoy, compensation for the continuous developing issues, including being injured (with proof) that are not being rectified.**********************************************

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *********************
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email:***************
The guest and his family attended the PNE and Playland on Aug 17th. On August 26th, I spoke with the guest. I apologized for the experience and told him that his concern should have been dealt with in a more efficient manner. I apologized for the delay in calling him back, but explained that his limited hours that we could contact him made it problematic. I agreed to refund him the tickets for the revelation and invited he and his family to the fair next year so that he could have a better experience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I do accept the response from the business. As per the Manager, ************, as soon as the PNE slows down/ends he will send me an email to finalize:
1) Refund for the cost of the rides ************
2) Tickets for my family for next year***********. As I may have misunderstood how many tickets are being offered, I must ask for this confirmation please. Also, once again for varification, I am supposed to keep this email until next year and then contact ************ to obtain these tickets when the PNE opens up.******************************************************************* I am extremely satisfied for the level of professionalism and respect that ************ has shown toward this complaint and the rectification thus far. Thank you.

11/22/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
09/19/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/28/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fairs Festivals Trade Shows Etc., State Fairs, Non Profit Organizations, Amusement Places

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1943Business started: 01/12/1942
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

British Columbia Safety Authority
200 505 6 St
New Westminster, BCV3L 0E1
(778) 396-2000
http://www.safetyauthority.ca

Business Management
Customer Contact: Paul Bussanich (Director of Public Safety,Parking,& Guest Service)
Contact Information
Principal: Michael McDaniel (President/CEO)
Business Category

Fairs Festivals Trade Shows Etc., State Fairs, Non Profit Organizations, Amusement Places

Alternate Business Names
PNE

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Pacific National Exhibition

2901 E Hastings St

Vancouver, BC V5K 5J1

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2901 E Hastings St 

    Vancouver, BC V5K 5J1

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Pacific National Exhibition is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Fairs Festivals Trade Shows Etc.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.