BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/11/2012

R Raven Electric

Phone: (604) 834-2635Fax: (604) 466-8087View Additional Phone Numbers22737 126B Ave, Maple RidgeBC V2X 2N7 Send email to R Raven Electric

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/11/2012

BBB has determined that R Raven Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised R Raven Electric's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on R Raven Electric

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/04/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I got *** to give me a quote on some electrical work I needed in my kitchen. He said the job would cost $**** plus tax. After it was all done he gave me a bill for $******* I asked why so much more and he just said all the stuff they did and I said yeah that was included in quote.
I paid him the $**** and left a poor review on ******. A week later he questioned me through text about my review and I said it was an honest review. He said it would hurt his business. I said if he gave me back the $*** He overcharge me I would be happy to take the review down, he said yes. Later that day he said he talked to his lawyer and I am using extortion to get him to give me money! ****************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I would like the $*** he overcharged me.

Business Response
************************************************************************

Attn: **********
Re: Case # ******************************

********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** I.
I was under the impression that ******** was happy with the work, as she stated on her text message to me. I don't understand why she says I was angry towards her. The only communication that I had with her was via these text messages. I was surprised that she wrote a negative review.
What I had told her when looking at the work to be done, ( which was quite a while ago) was that because it was a renovation, the cost for the work would be based on time ($*****/hour) and wholesale material plus **%, (my usual rates). To install six pot lights ( which was the electrical work discussed) , I told ******** that she was probably looking at about $*******.
The work actually done was installation of ten pot lights, removal of bulk heads, re-routing wires to kitchen outlets after the bulk heads were removed and relocating switches due to future/new window and door installations to be done, (which was never discussed during the visit when I quoted her the $******* for six pot lights). Only the installation of six pot lights was discussed.
I pride myself and my employees on customer satisfaction. I was surprised at the negative review she wrote after she told me how happy she was and that she was looking forward to having us do more work for her in the future( as she wrote on her text messages to me, even after she had paid her bill).
******** paid for the amount of work that was performed, (as I explained to her in my text messages) and she stated that she was happy.
I feel it's unfair that she wrote such a negative review (after stating how happy she was and how she was looking forward to having us do more work for her), after we worked so hard to try and keep her costs down and ensure that she was happy.

Sincerely,

*********
R Raven Electric
************

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When *** came to give us a quote he saw the rewiring that needed to be done and the amount of pot lights we needed. He said it would be $**** and broke it down like this 2 guys at $** per hour each and $** per pot light. The guys were there for 7 hours so all the work they got done within that 7 hours is what I paid for. When I texted him to tell him I didn't understand my bill he was very defensive and he lied to me. He said he called them at 4pm and they were still at my house (8 hour day) even though they were gone just before 3. At this point I realized I wasn't going to get anywhere with him and I no longer trusted what he said.

Final Business Response
I am willing to give ******** back $****** in labour costs, since she claims my employees were only there for 7 hrs (it was actually 8 hrs) the first day (which was to install 9 pot lights, remove bulk heads, re-route wires to kitchen outlets after the bulk heads were removed, and to relocate switches due to future/new window and door installations) and only 1/2 hr (it was actually atleast 45 min) the second day (to install an extra pot light which she requested). It would be physically impossible to do all of the work in that amount of time. I'm also not charging her for the extra hour it took for me to drive from************, to the ************** ****** and back, to pick up pick up that particular type of additional pot light. My labour cost is $**/hr not $**/hr as ******** stated in her text msg (***********). $**/hr has been my hourly rate for quite a few years. The cost for the material is $****** (as per my wholesale receipts plus **% as discussed with ********). This type of job is difficult to give a quote for due to it being a renovation. All of my renovation work is always based on time plus material. The $**** cost which I had originally discussed with ******** was an estimate based on the installation of 6 pot lights only. (Not for the installation of 10 pot lights and the additional labour to remove bulk heads, rewiring of outlets and relocation of switches). It was not a quote. Renovations are always based on a time and material basis.
I did not suggest to ******** that if she took down her review I would give her back $***. That was her suggestion and at the time I thought well I have no choice because I pride myself and my employees on good customer satisfaction. After giving it some thought however, (and seeking some advice) I thought why should I pay for some of her renovation costs out of my pocket. I am willing to give her back some of the labour cost ($******), to give her the benefit of the doubt, even though she did tell me she was "happy" with everything after she paid her bill and although my employees were there for the amount of time she was billed for.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will accept. It's not what I believe to be completely fair but I can appreciate Raven Electric meeting me half way. Thank you

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electricians

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/10/2004Business started: 01/03/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

British Columbia Safety Authority
200 505 6 St
New Westminster, BC V3L 0E1
(778) 396-2000
http://www.safetyauthority.ca

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Ray Raven (Owner)
Business Category

Electricians

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for R Raven Electric

22737 126B Ave

Maple Ridge, BC V2X 2N7

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 22737 126B Ave 

    Maple Ridge, BC V2X 2N7(604) 467-8289
    (604) 834-2635
    Fax: (604) 466-8087

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*R Raven Electric is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (604) 467-8289
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electricians

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.