BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 30/07/2004

The Software King (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (866) 684-7313Fax: (604) 879-7314900 555 Burrard St, VancouverBC V7X 1M8 Send email to The Software KingView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 30/07/2004

BBB has determined that The Software King meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised The Software King's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service13
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on The Software King

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (23)
07/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

They are a supposed software reseller. *********************************************** I purchased a copy of Windows 8.1 only to discover that the code they sent doesn't actually activate the software. *******************************************
I have tried to email them, call them chat with them online and they are unresponsive to everything.

Desired Settlement
A refund. Simple.

Business Response
we already spoke with this customer. we had mistyped his original key. we called the customer to clarify and a new key was issued. he immediately activated his software while on the phone with us and the customer was happy.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This complaint stems from a clerical error on the part of the business. The business was quick to resolve the error. I consider the complaint closed.

01/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

On December 30 I purchased a copy of ************************. The Order#: XXXXXXXX, Code: MVPXXXXX
I didn't know, and the website didn't explain, that the program comes in 32 and 64-bit versions. The version used needs to be the same as the version of ********* installed on my computer. What I was delivered was a software key to the 32-bit version which I downloaded but can't install because I am running 64-bit. They asked me to contact ********* which I did over a period of several days trying to get the correct version. I was finally sent a key by ********* for the 64-bit version but it is only the trial version. After 60 days I have to pay ********* for another license. I asked Software King several times for a solution but they keep referring me to ********* who tell me I need to deal with the vendor. I have asked for a refund but they say I can't get one because the unusable 32-bit license is registered in my name.

Desired Settlement
Delivery of the correct software or a refund.

Business Response
Order has already been refunded.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you.

07/04/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/07/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

In September of 2014 we provided services to The Software King in the form of sponsored content advertising. The campaign ran as contracted. After numerous follow ups we still have not received any payment from the company. We have not even received a reply to the e-mails.

Desired Settlement
Payment of outstanding invoice ($**50)

Business Response

I'm afraid we are not at all familiar with any outsourced content advertising done last year. We had a marketing contractor working for us for a few months last Summer called ****** was it perhaps he whom you dealt with? His email was disconnected after he was let go towards the end of last year so perhaps that is who you've been emailing with no response? He tried to engage many of his friends and previous associates for work with us (without approval) but we stopped all of them, or so we thought, before he was let go. Sorry if you somehow slipped through the gaps but the work was not approved by us in any way.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The contract and execution of the content campaign was from August 2014, you said that ****** was let go at the end of 2014. The work was authorized by ****** who was employed by you and had a SoftwareKing e-mail at the time of the campaign.

I can provide a copy of the contract, the actual sponsored content on ***********, a post campaign report and the emails of follow ups that were sent to both ****** and

Please confirm that we will be paying your owed invoice from Aug, 2014 immediately.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We didn't go on his word. We signed a contract and ****** was a representative of SoftwareKing at the time (you provided him with a company e-mail address, contractor or not). On our part we executed the campaign fully as contracted (which you can still see at this URL *******************************************************************************. *******, it's $**00. We did our part, it seems reasonable to expect that regardless of your direct involvement in the campaign you can see that you received value from us and we are now receiving nothing in return.

Final Business Response
We have no further information to contribute to this complaint.

06/26/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Web site indicated instant gratification - immediate downlaods. I purchased and have been waiting for an hour. I got two emails - notification of purchase and an email indicating that they need to approve my order, which was paid by ****, so I don't know why they need to approve?

Anyway - I am reinstalling my home machine after a disk crash and this seemed a good option as I could download.

Their website is clear - they offer immediate download, with no indication that I have to wait on the weekend..

Desired Settlement
I want my software.

Business Response
From the email thread we have with you it looks like you got your software within a couple of hours of ordering, we do apologize for the delay but at times of high fraudulent activity (which often happens at the weekend) we have to add an additional review process so to ensure license keys are not delivered to scammers using stolen credit cards. For the majority of the time we are instant gratification, hope the delay didn't cause you too much of an inconvenience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I understand there are security issues, but other companies don't have processes that work like this. It's Software King's choice to market externally around "instant gratification", but if they do that they should be accountable to that message. If customers respond to this message, decide to proceed with the purchase as a result, and then have to wait (even an hour), it is a misleading message. Perhaps the company should alter it's website messaging to avoid problems like this in the future. The way the current messaging is structured, it is duplicitous.

My situation may be unique (****************************); I had a hard disk crash the week prior, ordered a replacement drive, and spent the weekend doing the hard drive install, restoring and updating the OS, restoring files from my cloud backup provider, and finally restoring my apps, including Office. I did not have the original DVDs, nor could I find the license keys for Office 2010 (it was OEM'd on my Dell desktop). MSFT and Dell were pointing fingers at each other on who could supply me with the license key. When I poked around on line and saw Office 2013 was only $115 and could be immediately downloaded, I decided that I would be better off buying the new software.

When I ordered Office 2013 I had already been dealing with Dell, Carbonite, MSFT, Intuit and other amazing on-line / phone-based support teams through the weekend. The max wait I had was ~15 minutes, and all were extremely professional and easy to work with. When I saw the software king website and offer (immediate gratification), I was thrilled, and purchased it.

I spent the weekend getting our home system back up and running, and was going to be traveling on business for the week, so did not want anything left undone. When the delay came about, it was frustrating because there was no explanation. I just sat there and waited, sitting at my desk, minute by minute, hoping for a response from the company. They had my money, and I had absolutely no idea if I had just been ripped off or was dealing with a less than professional organization.



Final Business Response
Again, we are sorry for the delay and the inconvenience it caused you. It happens on less than 1% of orders through us and it will never happen to you again as you are now on an approved list. Hope your system is back up and running now.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm not satisfied - the only thing that will satisfy me is for the exceptions that the company identifies as excuses for not delivering per their website to be listed on the website. In other words - Instant Gratification, except on weekends and for your first transaction.

04/09/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/10/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/02/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computer Software & Services

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 19/07/2004Business started: 01/09/2002
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Winston Cabell (Owner)
Business Category

Computer Software & Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for The Software King

900 555 Burrard St

Vancouver, BC V7X 1M8

To | From


2 Locations

  • 900 555 Burrard St 

    Vancouver, BC V7X 1M8


    1125 Fir Ave # 119 

    Blaine, WA 98230

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*The Software King is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Web Addresses


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Computer Software & Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.