BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 29/01/2010

Zippee Carpet & Upholstery Cleaners

Phone: (604) 823-0005Fax: (604) 795-7140PO Box 2302 Sardis Station Main, ChilliwackBC V2R 1A7 Send email to Zippee Carpet & Upholstery Cleaners

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 29/01/2010

BBB has determined that Zippee Carpet & Upholstery Cleaners meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Zippee Carpet & Upholstery Cleaners' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Zippee carpet cleaning attended #XX-XXXX *************** to wash carpets in upstairs rooms and stairway due to an ongoing insurance claim to the residence. The employee attended the residence and the carpet was cleaned and stretched the job was done well. I had come home briefly talked to the employee as my mother had hired the company and the employee left, shortly after the employee left I noticed some bubbling of the laminate the floor is not that old about a year approximately. I asked my mother in detail what happened after the employee finished the floor he must have spilled water or chemicals when disconnecting his equipment as he was wiping off the floor in the area he was working my mother lifter up a rubber tray that was there and there was water underneath it. My mother called the employee and I talked to him he said he had a few jobs and that he would stop by as I did not know when he would finish his other jobs I had to run an errand I left when I came back he was at the house. I mentioned that the water damage was in the area where his hoses were and he admitted to wiping water off the floor but he said the damage was already there. I said there is no water source near where the floor is damaged and the floor is not old the rest of the floor is fine everywhere else the employee ********************************* said "there is nothing I can do for you" and left. In my last conversation with this employee-owner? He knew I had mentioned some issues with the restoration company and some work they had done so he called them and said the company said I wanted the flooring replaced I said this is false the issue was the underlay the floor was perfect and I have all emails regarding this issue with the restoration company. ************************************************************************************* I said the damage isn't that bad if the flooring is still available a box or two should repair the damage ********************************************* and in the location of the damage NOTHING else could have caused it.

Desired Settlement
Repair of the floor and and an apology

Business Response
Response to complaint:

Dear ***********,

We begin by apologizing if you believe you were addressed in an unacceptable manner. Our company believes customers should be treated respectfully at all times. We apologize if you perceived us as being rude and uncaring about your concerns with the laminate flooring.

We were, also glad to read that you were pleased with the carpet cleaning and carpet stretching.

In regards to your concern related to damage to the laminate floor at the entry way, we believe that we are not responsible for the "bubbling" of the laminate floor for the following reasons:

-the laminate floor, in question, that our company was alleged to have damaged was not cleaned nor installed by our company. We are a carpet cleaning company and do not clean laminate floors.

-we acknowledge that some misting did occur on the laminate floor, an area approximately 1ft width x 3ft length (about the surface area of 1 stair), directly at the base of the stairway. When cleaning the last step of the stairway, a mist commonly does occur, as the surface area of each stair is quite small and shorter strokes of the wand are used.

-the mist was on the laminate floor momentarily, and was promptly wiped up with an absorbent cloth that our technicians carry at all times during service. To leave the floor damp would have posed a serious slipping risk to your mother, the technician or anyone else present. At the time the mist was wiped with the cloth while your mother was present. The amount of mist wiped up did not even remotely saturate a standard size work cloth (10 in x 10 in), and it was put back into the technician's pocket.

- If there was a copious amount of water on the laminate floor, as suggested by your complaint, the wand would have been detached immediately and straight suctioning would have been done. We again reiterate that leaving any amount of water on a smooth flat surface would be very unsafe and would be promptly wiped up

-upon receiving your phone call that "bubbling" had occurred on the laminate floor, our technician who completed the work was able to return within 1 hour. After the technician assessed the 2 bubbles to the laminate it was noted and discussed with you that we could not have damaged the laminate flooring for the following reasons:

*the area of laminate that had came in contact with the misting was directly below that last stair of the staircase, an area (approximately 1ft wide x 3ft length), where no bubbling was present.

*the first bubble pointed out (approximately dime sized) was a distance of at least 4ft from the base of the stairs, next to the rubber shoe tray at the front entrance. No misting had occurred at that distance from the stairs.

*the second bubble, (approximately dime sized) was showed to our technician under the front door mat. However, the front mat was in the same spot during the service call, and had to be rolled up to the reveal this bubble. The front mat was not steam cleaned. Lastly, the distance from the base of the stairs, where the area of misting occurred, was at least 5ft from the second bubble. We were perplexed how water could have reached that distance, when the only area of misting was at the base of the stairs (and had been immediately wiped up) and the mat was unmoved and completely dry during our service.

*our technician was able to inspect the 2 affected areas within an hour of completing the work. There was no sign of moisture, and the "bubbles" were hard. If recent water damage had occurred the 2 bubbled spots would have been soft and damp. The harder bubbling indicated old damage.

*our hoses and wands are a closed system and are not disconnected in homes but rather outside beside our vans.

In summary, we are a company that has been in business for nearly 40 years, and we stand by our work and would address any concern we were responsible for. For us to leave a laminate floor wet would be extremely irresponsible as it poses a huge risk for falls and slipping. We pride ourselves in providing excellent service and attention to detail.

For the reasons cited above we do not believe that our company should be held responsible for the damage to the laminate floor. We are sorry your service experience with our company was unsatisfactory. We would quickly respond to your complaint if we had damaged the laminate floor. We strongly believe that we are not responsible for any damage to the laminate floor.

We are aware that the Better Business Bureau provides an opportunity for mediation. To help resolve this issue, we are available to meet with you and a Better Business Bureau mediator.

Regards,

Zippee Carpet Cleaning


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept Zippee's response to the claim as the carpet cleaner does not seem to be explaining things remotely close to what happened the bubbles in the laminate are 2 and a half feet from the stairs not 4 and I called the employee later to inform him that more floor had bubbled by the stairs where he was working. The excuse of the bubble being hard is quite poor, the laminate top is hard as I have had laminate before the water in the layers below push up the top layer try putting water just on the top layer of laminate and see if the material softens the top layer is made to be hard and durable the weak spot is water penetration in the lower layers. The top of the laminate would remain hard this is not real wood but rather a vinyl or hard plastic layer. The rubber mat spoken of was put behind the door as it was sunny day and work was being done so it was relocated the mat is there for my work shoes because they get dirty the carpet cleaner makes it sound like the entrance is the damaged area it is not, nobody enters the house and takes off their shoes behind the door in the stairway area you would box yourself behind the door and the stairs which doesn't make sense and I can provide pictures. I reiterate there is NO water exposure in the area that was damaged the rest of the floor is perfect there is laminate by a kitchen sink if a person was sloppy and didn't look after their house you would expect to also find damage in those areas. I fully agree to arbitration but the attitude of this company leads me to believe nothing would be resolved as I stated before it is the point, the damage will be repaired the whole floor was not ruined it is just a pain to deal with and more care should have been taken as this damage WAS NOT there before. The worst part is when someone comes in after a complaint in an argumentative fashion and repeats "there is nothing I can do for you" over again multiple times, hopefully something can be resolved with this process I am not attempting to tarnish anyone's reputation but the facts are the facts all damage is isolated in the area the carpet cleaner was working and the rest of the floor is fine as I stated I will be purchasing some laminate and someone will repair the floor but the person who damaged it should be dealing with it as I would expect a business with a good reputation to do so.

Final Business Response
We again apologize that the service experience with our company was unsatisfactory.

We still believe that we did not damage the laminate floor. It was neither cleaned nor installed by us.

The minor amount of mist to the base of the stairs could not cause bubbling when it was wiped up within seconds. Bubbling to the laminate floor would take a more substantial amount of water then a mist, require to stay on the floor for an extended amount of time and would develop over a much longer period of time then 1 hour. The mist that occurred to the base of the stairs was wiped up within seconds by the technician.

Furthermore, in an attempt to bring this matter to closure we are prepared to do one of the following;

1. Access the mediation process offered by the Better Business Bureau, to discuss a resolution to this complaint.

or

2. Give ********** a refund($100)for the carpet cleaning that allegedly damaged the laminate floor, as a gesture of good will.

We believe this is a reasonable "middle ground" that acknowledges our policy of customer satisfaction with our work.

Hopefully, this will bring closure to this matter.

Respectfully,

Zippee Carpet Cleaning

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have yet to determine the cost of damage on the floor so I cannot accept this resolution yet, the laminate will arrive within the next week or two and had to be ordered. I will at that time get a floor person in to repair the damaged sections of the laminate. I apologize for the late response as I had to track down the exact type and color of laminate and pull a piece of the floor out for a sample. I will keep the cost of the repair as low as possible and then hopefully we can resolve this matter.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Upholstery and Rug Cleaning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 22/12/2009Business started: 15/11/1973
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Janette Lamotte (Treasurer) Chris Lamotte (Director)
Business Category

Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Upholstery and Rug Cleaning

Alternate Business Names
Zippee Building Maintenance Ltd
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 2302 Sardis Station Main 

    Chilliwack, BC V2R 1A7(604) 823-0005

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Zippee Carpet & Upholstery Cleaners is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Carpet & Rug Cleaners

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.