BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/1990

Sleep Shop

Find a Location

Phone: (604) 278-8147Fax: (604) 278-4151View Additional Phone Numbers12540 Bridgeport Rd, RichmondBC V6V 1J5 Send email to Sleep Shop

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/1990

BBB has determined that Sleep Shop meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Sleep Shop's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I've bought a mattress from this shop on Sep. 9th 2014, ***************************************************************** The day after, I called the shop and said this mattress does not have good quality , they said that it needs to time to adjust your body .After a week I went there and said that I have low back pain ,again they said no problem it will be ok don't worry. About two weeks ago my wife came to Vancouver and after two nights she said that the mattress is not good because I have low back pain.Again I called to them and they said no problem come and change it . We went there and they said it needs to pay a lot of money (800 CAD) ************************************************ Today you can see that the mattress is completely deformated and ***** (worker of the shop) confirmed that the mattress does not have good quality.My receipt does not have any information of prices .I've bought two mattresses and the other one is ok.
Product_Or_Service: mattress

Desired Settlement
Please return the mattress.and give back my money.

Business Response
******************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** We have a 30 day trial period for our customers from the date of delivery. This service is provided in writing to each customer on the back of their invoice as well as a brochure that is accompanied with their copy of invoice. This service allows the customer to try their mattress for 30 days to ensure they have selected the right choice of comfort. If over this period the mattress is too firm or too soft, they can come back to the store and re-select (1 time only) for another mattress of equal or greater value of the original purchase. This customer had from September 11 (delivery date) to October 11 for their trial period. Our staff in store have provided the necessary information regarding the break in period and adjustment. Given his complaint about the perceived defect, is another process which we are happy to facilitate, but is different from a comfort issue. Even though the customer is passed his 30 day trial period, we still gladly welcomed him to come to the store to try other mattresses. By HIS OWN choice and preference has chosen 2 other models which are more expensive. Our staff showed him and his wife possible options within the same range in price but he was adamant that we should sell him the higher valued and quality models close to what he originally paid. We even offered the 2 models at discounted prices which we absolutely did not need to do but still did.

In the end, he was not satisfied with this and felt that we are not being fair. ***************************************************************************************************************************************

We are more than happy to continue to work with the customer to fit him and his wife in a more suitable product to meet their needs. If that necessitates a different type of mattress than that it his choice. If we need to go through the process of a warranty claim with the manufacturer we can certainly assist him there as well.

Please let me know if you need further clarification.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
dear sir
*******************************************************************************************************************************************You said my complaint is because I came there alone and my wife was not there , but I came and called to your store at least four times in the first week after mattress delivering and I think all of your staff know me , but your responses were the same I need to adjust my body to that .On the other hand I've bought two mattresses and I didn't have any problem with another one .
You said I didn't want to change this mattress with another one , but the mattress you suggested to me without any extra money , can bought in other stores by 250-300 CAD and I've paid 1050 CAD for this mattress.and the other one we selected and have the same price with my mattress at the time of my purchasing , you said I need to pay 800 CAD more.although my invoice does not have prices in details *************************************
************************************************************************************
In the end if you want to solve the problem, I prefer to refund it or change it with another one with the same price at the time of my purchasing, **********************************************************************************


Final Business Response
Dear Mr. ***********

Thanks for your reply. I will address each of your statements below.

************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************** You had also shopped at other retailers that same evening and produced a price comparison for me to beat, which I obliged and beat the price from our competitor. We suited you into a mattress that you chose, amongst several options that I gave you. What I also said in my first response, was that on your initial visit to the store, the purchasing decision was made on your own, without your wife. I wasn't referring to any subsequent visits.

We are acknowledging that you want to change your mattress. We have 2 options for you.

1. We can send a rep from the supplier to inspect the mattress and if they deem your current mattress is faulty and its worthy of an exchange, we will gladly facilitate this at no charge to you.

2. If you would like to come back to the store and decide to exchange your mattress to another one you feel is more suitable we will also gladly accommodate. If however, you choose a mattress that is higher valued in price, you will have to pay the difference. I will gladly work out a discounted price, but be assured that will only depend on what you re-select.

You are now well over the 30 day comfort exchange period. Please let us know as soon as possible how you would like to proceed.

Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear sir
I went to the Sleep Shop store and I have chosen another mattress a*********************************************************************************** . They promised to send it on December 6th 2014 ,so I'm waiting for doing their promise. If they change it I will not have another complaint .
best regards

02/07/2013Billing / Collection Issues
01/17/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Beds-Retail, Bedding-Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/02/1991Business started: 01/01/1978
Contact Information
Principal: Haji Manji (President)
Business Category

Beds-Retail, Bedding-Retail

Alternate Business Names
Haji's Sleep Shop & Upholstery Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Sleep Shop

12540 Bridgeport Rd

Richmond, BC V6V 1J5

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • 1379 Sumas Way 

    Abbotsford, BC V2S 8M9(604) 859-7861

  • 19971A 64 Ave 

    Langley, BC V2Y 1G9(604) 532-7861

  • 12540 Bridgeport Rd 

    Richmond, BC V6V 1J5

  • 1020 West Broadway 

    Vancouver, BC V6H 1E6(604) 267-7860

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sleep Shop is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (604) 466-4252
  • (604) 468-9786
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Beds-Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.