BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Bath Solutions of Surdel

(778) 593-0099View Additional Phone Numbers8219 111B St, DeltaBC V4C 4T2 Send email to Bath Solutions of Surdelhttp://www.deltasurrey.bathsolutions.ca

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 09/04/2015 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Bath Solutions of Surdel's rating include:

  • 15 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 13 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Other2
Problems with Product / Service11
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bath Solutions of Surdel

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I hired Bath Solutions last year to redo my 3 bathrooms.
They were suppose to start work May 4th, 13. No one showed up or called. Then they said they would start the next week.
They changed that to the next day.
They worked in my house on and off for almost a month. It was suppose to be a week long job.
Now I have not heard from them and there is renos not complete. I called the install man many times. Never answers or gives me excuse after excuse.
Now I have called the owner **** spoke to him on April 9th. He said he would get back to me.
I have called every day and he never answers or gets back to me.
I paid in full a year ago and my 1 week reno is still not complete.
I have even given extra money to **** the installer to do more work and he has never done that or gotten back to me.

Desired Settlement
I just want them to finish the bathroom renos or refund money back to me so I can hire someone to complete them.

Business Response
I spoke to the customer during the week of April 21st. I went to his place and reviewed the issues outstanding. We discussed that I will have one of my installers go by the week of May 5th to take care of the issues in hand.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Bath solutions has come by and done most of the work. Still waiting for one more thing to complete the downstairs bathroom.
I am also waiting for the installer AC to refund me the money I gave him to do additional renos which I have never had done or heard from since December 2013. He owes me at least $1500 in cash that I gave him to buy materials for work he has never done. I want this money back. I can not get a hold of him. Bath solutions said they would get hime to call but nothing as of tonight.

Final Business Response
There is one last item to correct for this customer, which is a filler for his bathroom cabinet. This will be completed by June 7th, 2014 or before depending on the customer's availability when we are in his area this week.

Regarding the customer hiring the installer to do other home renovations, not of the bathroom type,or through Bath Solutions, I can only talk to the installer to rectify this. There was never a contract done between the customer and Bath Solutions for non-bathroom reno needs. The customer hired the installer on his own and I only was notified by the customer on this after the complaint filed with the BBB. I have shown the customer that I will rectify any outstanding issues with the contract between him and my business, which is 95% complete. The last issue will be dealt with this week as mentioned.

I will speak to the installer again on him completing the other work that the customer hired him to do, outside of any Bath Solutions agreement. I will try and get a resolution as well.

02/11/2015Delivery Issues
04/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract signed **********
work to be done 6 to 8 wks form date
Started contacting owner end of Nov. about the work. ********************************************* As of Jan 2015 he no longer assoicated with bath solutions and has stated wopuld refund money. ************************ deposit has not been returned. keeps telling me waiting for money from someone else. It is 6 months now **************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I want my deposit returned.

03/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello,

We would like to file a formal complaint against Bath Solutions of Surdel and specifically the owner, **** ******. We originally contacted **** to perform two washroom renovations for us for a fixed price of approximately $10,000, with a deposit of $5,000 paid on September 2, 2014. Work was scheduled to be complete in a one week time frame. Upon paying our deposit **** stated work would begin in early November; however, **** took several weeks to start the project as noted below. In short, our bathroom took several months, was extremely low quality, and is still not complete. **** asked for additional money around Christmas time, but we refused to pay more until completion as per the payment terms. Throughout the process **** ignored e-mails so we had to go to ********************* for resolution. Upon contacting Bath Solutions, ****'s franchisee license was taken away. Our job was left in limbo and ********************* cannot do anything to complete our job. In the weeks since we were left high and dry, **** ****** opened a new company called **** ******* in which he changed his name from **** to ***. The mobile number remains unchanged (XXX-XXX-XXXX). He currently advertises on ********** and in local advertisement, ****** ******* ****** ***** Issue #: ******** by ** ******
Before beginning the process we reviewed the BBB's website for reviews; however, no information or complaints had been filed. ************************************************************************************************************************************
In summary, we have been left with two uncompleted bathrooms and **** has opened a new company under a different name.

The story:

Our project was scheduled to begin on November 3, 2014; however, no one showed up to work and no notice was given. We tried to contact **** repeatedly to see when work would begin. **** kept stringing us along saying work would begin in the next few days, which required us to take more time off work. Work finally began 3 weeks later on November 24th with one of ****'s workers coming to our home.
On November 25th the employee began to do plumbing work. Although it is not clear if the main shut off valve was closed or not, the employee cut a pex line which caused our home to experience a flood and resulting in water damage. The employee then proceeded to go to the main shut off and in the rush of things, caused damaged to the main valve which to this day is still broken.
The water caused damage to the ceiling in our downstairs main foyer. In speaking with ****, we were assured that the damage would be taken care of at no cost. Work never began and we are still in limbo with possible mold spore growth.
Work continued to proceed over the next few weeks on the two bathrooms. Demolition was complete, a subfloor was put down, tile was laid on the floor, and millwork was installed from the 25th of November to the 16th of December. From the 16th to the 2nd or 3rd of January, work was stagnant and broken up with very little work performed as the employee was waiting for supplies and materials.
Throughout the process we tried to contact **** asking for progress updates and when the "1 week project" would be completed. Over the Christmas holiday break we were guaranteed several times that **** would be dropping off supplies for his worker, but he never showed up even though the worker was at our house ready to work. Materials were finally dropped off by **** on the January 3, 2015 which included the toilet, lights, and a few other small items.

Outstanding work includes the shower surround not being installed, the trim is not complete, shower doors are not installed, mirrors not installed, towel bars are not installed, and several other items have not been completed. In addition the drywall repairs have not been complete which was caused by the water damage and the main house shutoff valve is still broken.

Around the 6th of January we sent a list of deficiencies to **** in which we never heard a reply. Around January 10th, we contacted Bath Solutions about the lack of communication. We were informed only then that **** was no longer a franchisee.

Attached are the photos for our renovation. As you can see the quality is subpar to embarrassing.


Deficiencies and quality of work:
Water damage - During the second day of demolition a worker claims to have turned off the water in the bathroom and then proceeded to cut the pex pipe. Water caused damage. It seems odd that the worker did not drain the water by turning on the tap and instead just cut the pipe. Damage is shown in photos 7350 to 7362. We have been assured by **** that the drywall damage will be repaired at no cost to us but work never began.

Drywall & patching - The employee took several days to complete the bit of patching as so much mud was applied as shown in 7365 and 7377. Also the work was done in pieces as in only patching one area, waiting for it to dry, then a few days later completing another area which lead to delays. In addition, the contractor decided to install normal drywall behind our shower surround instead of water resistant gypsum wall board.

Cabinets - As shown in 0369, the handles were put on incorrectly and were not fixed until we pointed out the issue. As shown in 0377, 0381, etc. the cabinets have been installed with no care and the finish cabinetry has already been damaged. As shown in 0389 the cabinets have been hacked away for plumbing.. we understand cutting holes is required but to just cut large holes is sloppy.

Floor preparation - The plywood subfloor was put down in hacked up pieces as shown in 7371, 7379 and 7380. Also anti fracture membrane was not applied prior to laying the tile.

Floor leveling - The grout lines generally line up but the floor is completely unlevel even though leveling compound was used. As shown in 7382 / 7383 / 0395 the compound caused a inch and a half gap from the original floor level at the door entry... but the floor is still not level when you look at photos 7386, 7389, 7390. A solution was only proposed after complaining about the height of the gap but the solution its self is unprofessional. The solution basically involves taking one floor transition and gluing an additional piece of wood to it to make up the gap which is clearly not to industry standards. We are not satisfied with the solution and at no point was any other solution proposed. Several of the tiles appear higher than others which cause a nuisance when walking with bare feet.

Grouting issues - Instead of tiles being cut properly and door frames being removed, the installer has fixed all of the issues with more grout as shown in 0375, 7446 , 7447, 7448, 7450, etc. Clearly this is not done professionally.

Caulking issues - Caulking at the toilets looks unprofessional as shown in 7444. Also the installer caulked around the sink hole then placed the sink on top but he did not completely caulk around one of the sinks.

As shown various photos, quality issues exist for almost all areas of work including demolition, floor preparation, drywall, millwork installation, and tiling.

Desired Settlement
Alerting people of this business and the new business that has been created. Old business has closed so no settlement can be reached.

03/17/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Feb 20, 2014 I paid by registered cheque to **** ****** $16000 for materials to complete renos on 2 bathrooms. The work was meant to take one month. It is now one year later and I have only had one bathroom renovated and am now paying for material again for someone else to renovate the 2nd bathroom. I have even had to pay $750 for a bill that **** ****** (Bathroom Solutions) did not pay to the marble cutters for the 1st bathroom. If I did not pay this I could not have my marble for the 2nd bathroom. We have repeatedly requested money owing from **** ****** all to no avail.
So he did not perform the work as in the contract and has failed to reimburse monies owing for the 2nd bathroom. In a nutshell, I estimate he owes me $8,000 as I have paid for materials x 2.

Desired Settlement
A refund of money for materials for the second bathroom. Estimated amount being $8000.(half of the !6,000 paid a year ago)

03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed a contract with the company Oct 21, 2014 and gave a deposit of $3700.00 (half the cost of the job) The completion date was Dec 14, 2014. To date nothing has been do9ne. I have phoned and e-mailed with very little response from the company. I have asked for my deposit back and told the owner last week that if I didn't receive the deposit by last Friday I would submit a complaint to the BBB. When the owner does get back to me he always has excuses as to why he hasn't started the job.

Desired Settlement
I want my deposit of $3700. back.

03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
on Sept.30, we hired **** ******, owner of Bath Solutions of Delta and Surrey to renovate our bathroom and install a new shower. We agreed to a price of $4,808.00 total and **** asked us for a $2,400.00 deposit which we agreed to on our Visa card. **** also advise the job would begin within 4 weeks and would take 2 days to install. After 4 months of excuses, on Jan.14,2015 we asked **** both in writing and on voice mail for our $2,400.00 back and we cancelled the renovation. Since then **** has not returned our emails or voice mails. ****************************************************** we just want our money back.

thank you,

***** & **** ********

Desired Settlement
We just want our deposit of $2,400.00 in full paid back to us for work that was never started. We no longer want our bathroom renovated by this company. Our agreement we signed said all work would be completed by Nov.23rd, 2014 which did not happen.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Bathroom Remodelling, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Tile Restoration

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/05/2012Business started: 30/04/2012
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Jeff Murphy (President) Geraldine Murphy (Director)
Business Category

Bathroom Remodelling, Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs, Tile Restoration

Alternate Business Names
Murphy Enterprises Ltd., Bath Solutions - Delta & Surrey

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bath Solutions of Surdel

8219 111B St

Delta, BC V4C 4T2

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 8219 111B St 

    Delta, BC V4C 4T2(778) 593-0099
    (800) 639-2284

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bath Solutions of Surdel is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 639-2284 - toll free
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Bathroom Remodelling

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.