BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 31/07/1997

K M F Automotive Ltd

Phone: (604) 438-0222Fax: (604) 438-0228View Additional Phone Numbers7080 MacPherson Ave, BurnabyBC V5J 4N3 Send email to K M F Automotive LtdView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 31/07/1997

BBB has determined that K M F Automotive Ltd meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised K M F Automotive Ltd's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on K M F Automotive Ltd

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
December **, 2014 I took my **************** into KMF Automotive to have the clutch replaced. I had no previous problems with this car except the clutch had worn out and needed replacement. I was billed $**** for the work and advised that it came with a 1 year warranty.

In February 2015 I started noticing odd noises coming from the car when I let the clutch out. It was around this time that I noticed an oil leak where I park my car in front of my house. I was able to get the car back to KMF on April ** 2015 and after waiting 3 hours I was told by **** that the car would have to be dismantled to determine the problem and this could cost more money. Having limited resources and not wanting to leave myself open to more charges after having less than successful experience with this mechanic I continued to drive the car. The noise got worse and it became obvious that there was a serious problem.

In June 2015 the car was no longer drivable and I called KMF Automotive and was advised by **** that I had probably ridden the clutch too hard and may have burned it out and that he would do the repairs but it was up to the manufacturer of the clutch hardware whether it would be covered under warranty, and I got the feeling by the way he was talking that it was probably not going to be covered. I had not driven the car hard and was in fact babying it because I could not afford any more repairs on it.

I decided to take the car to another mechanic who I had come to trust for his opinion. He said it sounded like the clutch and or transmission. When he took it apart it appeared that the clutch and pressure plate were not ridden too hard and in good shape, but the pilot bearing had completely failed and was in pieces and caused all the problems. The main oil seal to the transmission was damaged as well and was leaking a considerable amount of oil. The pilot bearing and seal were part of the "guaranteed" clutch job from KMF.

At this point I needed another clutch job in addition to the replacement of the transmission which had been affected by the broken pilot bearing as this bearing was unrecognizable upon removal. I come to this conclusion because I had not had any problems with this transmission before, and within 2 months after the clutch was initially replaced was the first time any noises or leaking oil started. The total bill for the clutch and transmission job from ****'s Auto Repair was $****.

KMF Auto has since offered me ***$ cash or ***$ of in store repair. Neither of these amounts come close to the damages that I incurred which total $****. Since this offer we have not been able to reach an agreement. I am requesting the full cost of $1867 which is what it cost me due to the initial substandard workmanship and or materials.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking compensation for my damages resulting from the faulty repair which total $1867 performed by ****'s Auto Repair. The repairs are as follows; transmission (***$), clutch (***$), transmission fluid (**$), crankshaft oil seal (**$), labour (***$), flywheel resurface (**$) and taxes (***$).

Business Response
Unfortunately **************'s **************** did come to us a couple of months after we had replaced his clutch. After checking the noises that the vehicle was making it was quite evident that the noise was coming from an internal bearing or gear inside the transmission and we informed ********* that the transmission was definitely noisy and that we would have to open it up to confirm where the noise was coming from. I would never let a customer leave my shop if I could warranty a part that still had sufficient time remaining in the one year warranty period. After our team checked the noise we were confident that his noise was a transmission issue and not a clutch failure. If the clutch was installed incorrectly (which it definitely was not) we would have noticed symptoms relating to the clutch, such as slipping or shuddering, lack of power on inclines such as steep hills or mountains, Making the vehicle inoperable and the vehicle was not showing any of these signs. He refused our recommendation for the removal of the transmission due to financial issues. If he would have allowed us to open it at that time he would only be liable for the transmission and labor and we would have saved his clutch at that time. Regrettably we heard back from ********* when his vehicle was no longer operational. He had brought back the remaining parts of the clutch that we had originally installed and I agreed with him completely something inside his transmission had come apart and had completely destroyed his clutch. Unfortunately for ********* the fact that he needed a another transmission screams and confirms our suspicions that this was not a clutch failure it was a transmission failure. If there was a clutch related issue all ********* would need the second time it was done would be a new clutch kit and based on the remaining clutch life his clutch was still fine. What ********* experienced with his **************** was a transmission failure which ultimately damaged his clutch.

2 points should be remembered when investigating these claims.

1) A transmission can destroy a clutch, not the other way around, meaning a defective clutch or broken clutch cannot damage or destroy a transmission but if a part of the transmission comes apart or breaks internally then it could and usually does damage the clutch kit. Pilot bearings do not damage transmissions. It could damage a clutch disc and pressure plate but not a sealed manual transmission.

2) The only reason we offered to compensate ********* in any way shape or form was out of common courtesy because we value all of our clients. The offer still stands if he wishes to take it.

We hope this clarifies any questions that any and all parties have with regards to *********'s complaint and we hope he can enjoy his vehicle trouble free for years to come.

Regards,

*****************

Owner KMF Automotive Ltd
************
***************



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Unfortunately, this business is not attempting to come to any resolution, it is only providing excuses for its substandard labour practices and unwillingness to stand behind its 'guarantee'.

At the time of the initial repair on December **, 2014 there was absolutely nothing wrong with my transmission. Within 2 months of the repair, my ********** exhibited all the tell tail signs that the pilot bearing was failing. The pilot bearing/bushing supports and centers the transmission input shaft and clutch disc and when it fails you will hear noises and vibrations when the clutch is disengaged. This was the first sign that I experienced. The pilot bearing is responsible for keeping the transmission shaft, which is heavily connected to the transmission itself, from moving around. Once the pilot bearing fails/breaks, which is what happened in my case, the shaft is then able to move in places it is not suppose to which leads to damaging the internal components of the transmission itself. For KMF Auto to say "Pilot bearings do not damage transmissions" is simply untrue. The transmission input shaft is held in place by the pilot bearing. This is the pilot bearings main purpose. Once the pilot bearing is compromised, the input shaft is no longer held in place and the transmission input shaft will begin moving around inside the transmission causing the gears and synchronizers to be off resulting in the transmission popping out of gear and louder noises/grinding. This was the second sign that I had experienced.

On top of these signs my car started to leak oil as well which was not mentioned in the response back. This oil leak only happened after the initial repair and around the same time that the noises started to occur in the middle of February.

This information is based on well-documented industry data and readily available online, sources can be provided. If I am unable to come to a resolution through the BBB, I will be taking my case to small claims court. I am asking for the full amount of my second repair which included a new transmission, clutch, oil seal, and labour which totals $*****.


Final Business Response
Clearly there has been zero progress in this matter. We have been more than accommodating however we are still in this predicament I will state it again there has been no proof or simple evidence that our brand new clutch damaged his used transmission. We are not responsible for his transmission failure. I would like the BBB to come to a sensible conclusion with this case in a timely fashion.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Automobile Repairing & Service, Brake Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 23/07/1997Business started: 01/10/1986
Contact Information
Principal: Khosro Khandashti (President)
Business Category

Automobile Repairing & Service, Brake Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for K M F Automotive Ltd

7080 MacPherson Ave

Burnaby, BC V5J 4N3

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 7080 MacPherson Ave 

    Burnaby, BC V5J 4N3(604) 764-1718
    Fax: (604) 438-0228

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*K M F Automotive Ltd is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (604) 764-1718 - Mike Direct Cell
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Automobile Repairing & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.