BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1998

Carter Honda Shop

Phone: (604) 736-4547Fax: (604) 732-42631502 W 3 Ave, VancouverBC V6J 1J7 Send email to Carter Honda Shop

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1998

BBB has determined that Carter Honda Shop meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Carter Honda Shop's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
03/11/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
12/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Carter Motorsports did not follow through with any aspect of the sale without continued encouragement to get things done.
Carter Motorsports instructed me clearly to pay all the HST in my home Province and then charged me the PST in British Colombia. They indicated they would file the paperwork for the rebate and have not done this.
Carter Motorsports said they would ship the Original windshield and vehicle cover to my******** address on June 18th. I have received neither to date.
Carter Motorsports sold me the bike "as new" but I discovered repaired and un repaired damage to body components after taking delivery. One small side cover had been damaged and not repaired. The side cover on the saddle bag had been damaged and painted with overspray on other parts of the bike frame. It would seem to me that something had fallen up against the bike...likely another bike.
I have the conversation by phone, email and in person well documented.

Desired Settlement
Windshield and Bike Cover delivered as agreed.

Rebate for overpayment of sales tax processed as agreed.

Replacement of damaged body work.

Business Response
First, we are disapponted to hear that Mr. ***** is not completely satisfied with his transaction.

Second, the parts that Mr. ***** requested to have shipped where shipped to the address he provided prior to this complaint.

This was a brand new bike, put together by our staff. At time of delivery there was no damage on the bike and if there was we would have noted in on the bill of sale. Our motorcycle manager was personally involved in all aspects of the transaction and no concerns about any damage where raised at the time of delivery.

The bill of sale shows that no PST was charged on this transaction. If Mr. ***** has made an error on the form and meant to say that he was charged GST than that would be a correct statement.

If Mr. ***** can provide us a government document that shows that he paid the full amount of the HST due in his home province we will issue a cheque in the amount of the GST that he paid in B.C. Please forward this document to the attention of **** ******** and the address on the Bill of Sale.

Thank you and I look forward to receiving the HST documents so we may issue a cheque for the amount of GST paid in B.C.




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

***Please see attached for a copy of the receipt***

The parts in question if shipped to my working address or my home address have never arrived. Is there any tracking data available as I asked for from the very beginning to prove that the parts were shipped and if so where they are at the moment. Just exactly what address was it shipped to?******************************************************************************************************************************************* As it was Carter Motorsports responsibility to ship those parts, I suggest they ship them again.

The bike had damage which was only evident when removing panels for suspension adjustment and checking oil after taking delivery. I have time and location stamped digital photos ******** that indicates the time this damage was noticed.***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
I did indeed make an error on the form. It is GST I meant to indicate....a copy of the receipt indicating payment in full in ** has been faxed to **** ******** and emailed to ***** *****..copied to the BBB agent. This is the same receipt I showed the salesman at the time of purchase which at that point made no difference. *************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
Final Business Response
Business has advised they have resolved directly with the consumer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Two of three issues have been resolved.....the damaged condition in which the machine was delivered has not been addressed. I feel that the BC BBB has done everything they can to help resolve these issues and I thank them for their help to date. ***********************************************************************************************************************************************

Thank You

Industry Comparison| Chart

Automobile Repairing & Service, Patio Equipment & Supplies, Motorcycles-Service & Repair, Motorcycles, Automobile Parts & Supplies-Retail, All-Terrain Vehicles

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/07/1996Business started: 01/04/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Vehicle Sales Authority
208 5455 152 St
Surrey, BCV3S 5A5
(604) 575-7255
http://www.vehiclesalesauthority.com

Contact Information
Principal: Bill Mitchell (President & CEO)Customer Contact: Geoff Jessup (General Manager)
Business Category

Automobile Repairing & Service, Patio Equipment & Supplies, Motorcycles-Service & Repair, Motorcycles, Automobile Parts & Supplies-Retail, All-Terrain Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Carter Motorsports

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carter Honda Shop

1502 W 3 Ave

Vancouver, BC V6J 1J7

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the Lower Mainland, Thompson - Okanagan, Northern, Central and Southern Interior BC, and the Yukon.. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carter Honda Shop is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on March 4, 2014. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Automobile Repairing & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.